(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

toot,
Cannot use medela pump on Avent VIA cup, but you can pour the expressed milk to VIA cup. Medela pump personally come with its btl tt connect to the pump.
I think so cos avent btl is slightly wider in diameter. However, now many other brand oso have wider diameter. Eg Pigeon oso have wider btl.

so see you all there, if really no seat do let me knw. i shd be able to reach ard 7 or maybe earlier. depend on hw fast i walk

Hi p1nk1e,

The iQ Uno is the single electronic breast pump that comes with battery pack. The Duo is the double but no battery pack. I thinking of getting the Uno cause thinking of expressing at work too and my work place may not have a suitable place to express that has electric supply.

Hi dorothy,

Anyone knows if the Medela Swing is good? I like its design and size..and it is suitable for a full-time working mom. But I still find it quite expensive.

Hi p1nk1e,

It's actually Avent iQ Uno (iQ being that Avent claims it is intelligent enough to "learn" from your manual pumping and adjust the pump action from that.)

artemis
oic - me realli suaku *blush*
but avent really expensive.. which is why i'm going for medela instead... any reviews?

hi pinkie,

I think it depends on what model you buy. Medela has its own expensive model i.e. PIS, whereas for Avent the high range model is the IQ duo. Both models cost around 600-700.

According to xiao yun, medela swing cost about $275, which might be in the same range as Avent IQUno? This one I'm not sure.

i heard from my colleague that pigeon warmer can use for avent bottles also,was thinking whether to get the avent manual or avent Uno,cos both are just single pump,any 1 got any advice?will buy dual electric pump after deliverybut need to get a single 1 just in case and also when go back to work,not so bulky

hi Artemis
I am only going for session 1, if there are any useful notes for session 1, i can scan and email to u :>
if there are any useful notes for session 2, u can scan a set for me too? Thanks so much!

hi tute,
medela swing is dual pump,but avent uno is 1 pump,so medela is cheaper

blueginger
i hv gynae appt on 10 Nov. then need to send my girl to my mum's place. So will probably be late but will try to rush to the talk on time. better dun arrange to meet you gals in case i'm held up in traffic, etc.

last time, i didn't buy any NB size diaper. The pack provided by hospital was enuf for my gal. but i was using clothe nappies during the day. hence, if you are just using diaper, getting one pack of NB size should be ok.

goodbabyb
sure, we can meet up after the talk. but we don't recognise each other leh. how to identify you huh?

i find the avent manual pump good enuf for me. initially i was thinking of getting a cheap pump first, if really no good, then get an electric one. who knows it served me very well. convenient too when bring to office cos no need electrical plug. i bought it 3 years ago at JL for $61 - $10 - 5%. so it's about $49.

dorothy
don't think we will receive confirmation letter for the talk leh. when i called to check, the person also told me my seats are confirmed and read out my name and my hubby's name. she said just go to the talk on that day can liao. so i suppose they will just check against their name list when you are there.

how's the gathering tonight? where did you gals go to in the end?

Re: Bottle Warmer
I didn't use bottle warmer leh. Always use hot water to heat up the milk. didn't know some nutrients will be spoilt if water is too hot. at most next time i don't use those freshly boiled water, those in thermos flask shouldn't be so hot bah..

hi stephie,

really gd investment,now the manual pump $90 plus already,
so the difference between the manual 1 and the Uno is ard $160
i had pm u my hp no

dorothy ,

i also dun think the avent pple will be organised enough to send us letter to confirm,i find them very disorganised,a bit pissed off with them

Medela pump can use the converter and pump into the Avent bottle directly. Think you have to order from Drugstore online or from The First Few Years.

I did the glucose test during my frist trimester and poke 3times (1poke every hrly) to ensure. Super sweet drink is none other than glucose drink. I'm declared clear aft this test.

Anybody legs get swollen these days and have cramps as and when it comes?

goodbabyb,

ah...so medela swing is dual pump...i didn't know that, coz everytime see the pic only see one pump connected to one controller...

just to get my understanding correct, dual pump means can express milk from both breast right? does it also mean can do both at the same time?

thankful,
u did ur glucose test so early?

i will be doing mine in 2 weeks' time. Just have to drink a bottle of sweet drink an hr before the doc appt. Then go there do blood test.

So far no swollen legs for me.

Hi dorothy,
Yes, I would like to. May I know what details you need?

hi stephie,
Can share some advise with me on the nappy. I used diaper for my girl. It way too expensive especially NB always poo poo. Wondering if I should use nappy for my #2. Does it really save $$$?

I'm selling away this brand new maternity/nursing top I bought from Gap Maternity online...coz it doesn't fit me. Selling at $40 (original price is $45). Its suitable for ladies size 16-18. Its a very flattering cut.

1049638.jpg

Click here to see details on GAP website
http://www.gap.com/browse/product.do?cid=35426&pid=508078

Colour: Black
Size: XL
Material: High-quality imported stretch cotton. 95% Cotton, 5% Spandex.
Details: Crossover V-neck, empire waistband.

PM me if interested please. Collection at Queenstown, Bishan or Vivocity on weekdays and Bedok on Sundays.

Stephie,
OIC. Will reserve a seat for you if allowed to. SMS us when you are here.
Thank you for your advises on diapers.

Dorothy, cheryl, piglettail
How is the gathering last night? Where you gals have your dinner? ANy photo?

morning ladies...

we met at kushinbo last night, went straight for the food, hahaha...didn't take pictures.

Dorothy, Cheryl, Eliaw and me were there.

Yalor. Pregnant mum by then should be very hungry liao. Food more impt than taking photo.

Did you all have time to shop ard? Any grab?

Hi p1nk1e,

Not you sua ku lah... Is I never put the full description.

Hi tute,

The iQ Uno is about S$279 (pump only) the last time I checked at Mothercare and Metro. But I looking for the complete set that comes with the bag, some bottles and teats. Not sure if they will be selling at the event.

Hi goodbabyb,

Sure no problem. I am trying to setup my blog. So if I succeed, I will upload there and provide a link here.

How was the food at Kushinbo? <sigh> Worked till 8:30 pm last night. Boss wanted a last minute "discussion" with me that lasted 2 hours.

I noticed this morning that my nipples had some cream coloured crust. So I peel off and then I noticed some liquid coming out... Have I started to lactate this early?

RE: Diapers

My mother-in-law also suggested that I use cloth nappies at home and diapers when going out or when people visiting. But the thought of washing all those nappies... :p I heard wash baby stuff must use baby detergent is it? Then can I use my normal washing machine to wash?

I saw some mummies comment that the Nepia diapers quality is not very consistent and sometimes leak. But theirs is mostly the large size. Will the new born and small size have that problem too?

hi artemis,

i think can still use normal washing machine to wash but then u need to wash almost daily, it would be a waste of electricity...according to my mum babys clothes is not that dirty (other than poo stain) so at most u need to soak it longer and use the softener (this will keep the material soft). i personally don't believe in putting softener into the holder in the washing machine, somehow the clothes doesn't come out smelling nice and the fragrance doesn't stay v long...normally i paused and pour the softener during the last rinse. but can only do this with a top loader washing machine, unfortunately i bought the front loader so cannot pause and put softener
i will most likely handwash...and do the spinning using washing machine...

Anybody knows b/w iq uno and swing...which one makes louder noise?

hi tute,

dual pump means can express milk from both breast :> Uno can only do 1 side at a time,then switch over to the other side,so more time needed,Dual can do both at the same time:>

hi blueginger,

u going for the parenting talk,what avent items u intend to get?

tute,
u attending which session?

goodbbb,
I just need teats n their wipes. Not much things cos many stuff given by my colleague.
Will see if I need more things where I'm there.

RE: Diapers
My mum have the same comments that we can use cloth nappies at home and diapiers when gng out. So I just bought one pkt of newborn diaper so that when visiting PD or gng out can use.
For cloth nappies, must get nappy liners. Heard it can be reuse if baby urine. Only change when u have soiled liners. It is oso more airy for the baby, not easy get rashes compared to wearin diapers. Disadv: have to wash a lot of nappies a day. Waste on water and can be very tiring for us. Usually hand-wash nappies cos the material oso not very suitable for machine-wash. I bought a baby washing powder to do washing. If baby can use normal washing powder then dun have to buy anymore. Cos u din know if your baby have sensitive skin or not. My friends & mum said dun need all baby softeners or laundry powder. Waste of money.

yea dor, me and snowbelle going for second session, the phillip event. will share the notes with u all then.

Re: diapers/nappies

i bought cloth nappies from KL,i think is the anakku brand, 12pc in a pack at about RM 22.also bot baby kiko nappy liner, 100 pc at RM8.90. anakku/pigeon wet wipes 200pcs at RM9.90. I'm not sure whether it's cheaper here in Sg becuase i was too excited when there were sales going on in KL, so i tot nvm la just buy first.
Anyway i compared the diapers prices in KL and SG, Same. So i will get all from here instead.

tongtong,
I'm not sure abt nappies price. I got my nappy liner at $8 for 150/100pcs anakku/O'Diaper brand. Total 250pcs. should be enough to last for a mth or more. Wipes should be cheaper, JL sales pigeon brand 3pack for $10.10 I dun know how much in a pack.

blueginger, yea nappy liner you got is cheap!let's say bb poo 6 times a day, then need to put 6 pcs a day, yea maybe can last for a mth or more.

I find that my tummy is very hairy... what about you gals?? dunno why hairs started to grow on the tummy ever sicne i got pregnant.

tongtong,
I feel I want to undress the baby so that every times poo no need to change nappy liao. Kekekekeke.

No hair on tummy leh.

Hi tongtong,

I think that is normal pregnancy symptom. I also have hairs growing and it grows in a straight line. :p

RE: diapers/nappies

I would think that between nappy liners, washing, hanging/drying, folding, keeping, baby washing powder and electricity versus diapers, I may end up choosing diapers. The effort involved seems staggering. I don't think I want to expend that much effort especially during my confinement period when I heard is not good to squad or sit for long periods.

RE: baby wipes

J&J brand is not good? I saw a pack of 3 selling for S$6.90 at NTUC.

Hi Tute and Goodbabyb

The Medela Swing is only a single pump
http://www.medela.com/newfiles/pumps_personalUseElectric.html#swing

I was at Robinson's yesterday, saw it at about $330. But they packed it together with a cooler bag ans some breaspads, total $359. So more exp than the Avent iQ Uno..

I really can't decide which pump to buy..I asked my hubby and I think we kinda decided to buy only after I give birth. Coz dunno whether baby can latch..dunno how much milk I will have..etc

Hi Tong Tong
I also find my tummy hairier..exp at the belly button! Before I found out baby was a boy, hb says must be a boy and his reasoning was more boys hormones. hhehe..but when I told my fren who had a gal she also said her tummy was hairier

Hi, Artemis. I have the same problem as you. :/ Cream coloured crust and clear liquid is. Don't know what it is. Can't be colostrum right cos we are supposed to have that only after we delivered? Any second time mummies can advise?

sorry,i confuse medela swing with medela electric,think medela electric not as gd as swing,so cheaper??
for nappy liner,is it reusable?can it be washed?thot nappy liner are like sheets,used must throw?which brand nappy liner better?where to buy?

sorry,i confuse medela swing with medela electric,think medela electric not as gd as swing,so cheaper??
for nappy liner,is it reusable?can it be washed?thot nappy liner are like sheets,used must throw?which brand nappy liner better?where to buy?

re: hair on tummy
me too, got more hairs. starts forming a line too. btw, mine is bb girl.

re: medela pump
swing has a 2 phase suction like PIS. heard that noise level is lower compared to electric. probably that's the reason for more expensive.
it's expensive for a single pump. if need dual pump, might as well get PIS

re: nappy liner
it can be washed and reused as long as only urine on it. throw away when bb poo

Just got back home. Received the Isetan promo leaflet. The Avent Express Baby Food Warmer (old model) & 3 packs of baby wipes (SGD60) is exclusive to Isetan Scotts. So are the following:
- Pigeon Cooler Bag & 3-pc Storage Bottle Set (SGD55.90)
- Fisher-Price Miracles & Milestones Playful Puppy Gym (SGD79.90)
- Ameda Lactaline Breast Pump & The First Year Sesame Street Infant Feeding Set (SGD350) Comes with free breastfeeding course for first 15 customers.
- NUK Steam Steriliser, Food Warmer & Bottle Cleanser (SGD168) Comes with free NUK goodies bag + first 15 customers get free baby bath and massage course

You also receive SGD50 Isetan voucher if you purchase the Combi Miracle Turn Stroller.
- TJT 350 (SGD498)
- TJT 450 (SGD629)

Not that I am working for Isetan :p Just wanted to share some of the relevant stuff. There also seems to be a lot of children's fashion on sale but the brands all foreign to me except for Barbie, Disney, Kickers, No Rules and Hot Wheels. 15% on Medela products so those interested in the Medela pump may want to go take a look. I not so brave to tackle the crowds at Isetan Scotts. :p The sale is from 7 to 22 Nov. Good luck

Hi kitsune_sg,

I found this while taking a breather at work:

About the middle of pregnancy, your nipples may drip a small amount of clear or yellowish fluid called colostrums. This is a sign that your body is preparing for breast feeding. Colostrums can dry into a crust around your nipples and should be washed off with only warm water since soap and alcohol dry out the skin and make your breasts sore. If colostrums leakage is a problem, wear a cotton or absorbent pad in your bra. To avoid irritation or infection, the pad should be replaced when wet.

(from http://www.allayurveda.com/pregnancy/pregnancy2.htm)

hi girls.. glad to see everyone's doing great. Just wanted to let you know that i was at the Fridge to Go showroom earlier, the guy said that if you can get 15 orders, he can give you 15% discount. FYI
Enjoy your pregnancies!!

Hairy
Hair forming a line is normal for pregnant woman. Stated in the book.

Pump
What I know is Medela is better brand compare to the rest of the brands. Especially now the dual phase advanced technology. 1st phase stimultation like baby suckle and 2nd phase is suction of milk. This pump is good for those whom seldom latch on and need to pump their breastmilk out.

Creamy liquid from breast
It's normal for pregnant woman to have creamy liquid coming out from the nipple. As you go thru different stages of pregnancy, your breast will begin to prepare for milk production. Thus you will find your breasts are pain and more fuller than before. Increase in cup size is also a sign that there's milk in your breast. So whichever time you deliver (2nd trimester or 3rd trimester) your breastmilk will comes 1 or 2days after delivery. I was told not to wear wired bras since 1st trimester as this will hinder your breast from going thru the milk production. Even those nursing bras with underwire also try not to wear them even though they are softer than the normal bras.

fairfield,
My first few urine test positive to sugar so I need to go thru glucose test early. Most pple have 1poke after 1hr but mine have total 3pokes and stay there for 3hrs. Thankfully negative.

Artemis,
It's true that Nepia S and M are ok on the absorb the urine. However Nepia L will have leaks. Not sure why as well. Never try Nepia NB before so not sure whether leak a not.

1mummy told me 1st mth to use disposable diapers then thereafter use cloth diapers in the daytime and diaper in the nite. Cos 1st mth baby always poo so you will need to change many times. Thus would you be able to wash all the cloth diapers and dry them in time. You need lots of cloth diapers on hand.

oh ya forgot to add. I was told also mummies do not use soap to wash your breasts and nipples. This will dry up your skin. So it's best to just wash with plain water.

Patsy,
Welcome back! What's the price range for Fridge to go? Which is better model to keep breaskmilk for long hours? You have any ideas?

goodbabyb
ya, it was a good buy then for the pump. happened to chance upon the sale so just grab.
got your PM liao.

jas
not sure if using cloth nappies really save lots of $ (considering the effort, water required for washing). didn't really calculate the cost. it was my mum who wanted to use cloth nappies, so just follow suit.

blueginger
if you are reserving seats, must get 2 cos hubby coming along. but no worries if not able to. Will PM you my hp no. then you let me have yours k?

tongtong
i didn't experience hairy tummy previously. now don't have either. hopefully won't have loh.

artermis
J&J wipes are not bad. hospital gave one pack. quite thick. is it in pink packaging?

hi stephie,

can pm me ur hp no also?
thanks so much!

hi thankful,

would it be better to buy the fridge to go during our 3rd mth maternity leave?just nice for us when we need to go back to work,maybe we consolidate order then??does fridge to go has warranty??

Hospital will change the brand of wipes as and when it's due. The last time KKH used Pigeon wipes. Now KKH used J&J. So it all depends on the hospital I guess.

goodbabyb,
Hoping Patsy can advise us as I'm not sure whether who is organising to do the purchase. I was hoping to get more info before deciding whether to purchase a not. Maybe you wanna start the ball rolling in asking who is interested to purchase and put up a list then.

good morning!!!
was on mc yesterday.. due to migrane... the night b4 din sleep...(too excited due to the craby that i took during the buffet!!!)

gathering
tho the group is small(just the 4 of us) but it was fun... esp to see all the tummies grow!!!!hope to go to the next one soon... (next sat!!!)

baby wipes
last time, i only need how to use pigeon one... never tried the rest before.... but recently abt 1 yr ago, i starting using this angel wipes.. to me, it is cheap n good... tho my gal is 7.... she will need wipe when we go out.... from what i know.. the angel wipes is abt 3 * 80pcs for $5.50... think one of the cheapest... good to stock up esp during JL sales....

tummy hairy
ya... mine turns more hairy....
no worries, cos after birth will go off.

cloth nappies
i only used it during my confinement as my mum doing so i paisay to use after confinement... but this time round, i will use it during daytime as i will be having a helper....cheaper? maybe long run.... shouldn't be that dirty unless poopoo...i think better on bb's skin... cos cotton more cooling ma....

try this link for fridge to go...
http://www.fridge-to-go.com.sg/

dun think i getting as i was blessed with a medela cooler bag already....

jas
heehee.. maybe u can update me with yr edd, bb gender, gynae's name, hospital, area of residence.thanks

cheryl,not really alot lah...after our dinner, i went back feeling so tired... tried to sleep but cant....

ya... TGIF!!!... finally!!!

i went back too tired... knock out....

btw, do u all experience blank out?? i have experience these few times, the feeling is like totally blank and i start to walk zigzag.... cannot even walk straight like drunk like that... it will take awhile to recover from it