(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

wow medela pump is so expensive? I heard from my colleague she bought hers for one hundred and eighty something. The electric kind. Maybe there are many different models. Maybe i should go down and check it out.

yeah, there's different model...so far i've seen single pump, medela dual pump, medela swing, pis and pis advanced. the best review so far is pis advanced but of course it's the most ex as well..

medela pump
i think the cheapest one(electric single one) is $194 before disc...i bought this from someone in the forum for $110(brandnew)...

yipy/apple
total since preggie i put on 5kg... but from found out preggie til week19, i put on only 1kg... but from week 19 to week 26, i put on 4KG!!!!i think i overeat liao...

oh no, just discovered i had piles..although i dont have constipation!! urghh.. maybe too heaty and havent been drinking enuff waterrrrrr becuase shopped whole day and forgot to drink water. urgghhhh

Hi, Tute. The Arms Reach Mini cosleeper I bought is $139, the bigger one also on offer $199 but I think it's too big for you and me. See my blog for more details.
http://www.anewpiggy.blogspot.com/

Hi, Dorothy. How did you get Dr Loh to give you the BB's weight? Do you see him at TPS? I asked my gynae, Dr Judy Wong, last week when I went for my check up and she said she can't measure BB weight, can only refer to a weight chart and can't even see the average weight until 27th week leh. I want to know my BB's weight too. :/

cheryl, heehee... but yr bb bigger mah...

kitsune, actually i went with the intention to discuss with him abt choice of delivery n also to find out about bb's weight(cos i read that both u n garfield were not told abt the weight)
ya, saw him at TPS....but when i went in to scan, he auto tell me the weight of bb(in fact, the weight can be found on my scan).. n then he asked me what i wan (natural or c-section)... heehee... he definitely win my hb's trust!!!!

i think weight is also just an estimation

blog
kitsune, heehee... u put me to shame man(well maintained blog... after my gal's exam(next tues).. i will work hard!!!)

kitsune, the bottle dry rack. i saw it at BHG... selling at $9plus... so me now writing for their 20% disc then cheong.....

Haha, thanks Dorothy. I just went to add a new post about my antenatal class. This session very informative. Do you attend their antenatal class too? If not, can read my post. http://anewpiggy.blogspot.com

Re: Weight
I must ask my gynae next time I see her. Wonder why she can't tell me if Dr Loh can. Hope that won't make her angry, must ask in a joking way. :p

Thanks for the bottle rack tip. Think I won't be going to Robinsons sale this weekend. Bought most stuff previously and not near to my home. At least, I know how much it costs, maybe can buy from Kiddy Palace since my cousin lent me her discount card.

cheryl, ya!!!! bb not another B!!!!

kitsune, not attending the antenatal class cos this one not my first one....last time attended before.... not useful to me
i think at the delivery suite, i forgotten everything...
ya, can ask leisurely... btw, when u gg for yr next appt? my will be end of nov(my week 30)

kitsune, sigh.. pink colour.... i cant get anything pink for my Gervaise...hb banned me....
shiok hor, me still waiting for my overseas spree tuff to arrived....ordered some sleepsuits too

Oh ya Dor, I forgot. Hee. Your first one also born at KK? Why your hubby ban you from buying pink? He don't like pink ah? Actually, my favourite colour is baby blue but don't want pp to think that my BB is a boy lar. Other people also start buying things in pink once they know it's a girl but I'm ok lar.

dorothy,
i also put on 5kg from start till now. It's ok lah, in fact, i feel the weight gain is not obvious, cos its all at my tummy only leh.

Just went for check-up but they dun weigh/scan bb, only managed to hear heartbeat and gyne measure my stomach.

btw, anyone having constipation these days? i just started, and its quite bad.

Dor, only 5 kg? I think okie wah! I think i put on abt 8 to 9 kg in total liao since my last visit................Chiam.

By the way ladies, do u have a list of things that I should prepare/buy? Can PM/email me? Thanks.

Chiam, i slack, my husband also slack.

I bought a couple of bras and two nursing bras frm Thailand. Cheap. The cotton nursing is from Triump with no wire and cost less than SGD20 each.

Hi Apple79, dorothy, tute,

which brand of fish oil u all taking? can get it at outside phamacy? I seldom eat fish so thinking of taking fish oil better.

Hi yipy,

the brand i am taking is Naturecare and is from my gynae. Not sure if outside is selling. But I did check naturefarm and GNC, din see this brand ard.

hi apple,
you can check out kitsune's blog. she's got a list there. http://anewpiggy.blogspot.com i also got some lists from the mummies in this thread but it's in my coy laptop so no access right now.

i'm also thinking of going to bkk. but hb has reservice till early dec...dunno if i'll be too big to travel then.

hi yipy,
i'm taking neurogain - very easily obtainable at any pharmacy. i think retail price about $30+

hey fairfield,
i had constipation during 1st tri. nut disappeared from 13 - 22 weeks, now seems to be back again. trying to eat more fibre and drink more water lor. moderate walking supposed to help too!

kitsune, cos he dun want his boy to be mistaken as a gal....boy colour veri boring... blue, white...sigh...

yipy, i also taking nerogain... yest, me just got a bagful of supplements.... sigh.. hope to finish before i popped...

fairfield, me also constipation... guess it is due to the supplements that we take... so drink more water...

walking
btw, i read that walking is a good form of exercise for preggie ladies.. so me will continue to walk home from kembagan mrt... save $$$

apple, cos towards end tri2 to due... usually the weight will shot up one!!(veri veri fast)... i scare... also my appetite is super super good....so i need to control myself...i have been craving for durians... yet to start... i gained 17kg from my first pregnancy.... i hope this one abt 10kg enough....

kitsune, dr loh also showed me where my placenta n also anylsis the amt of fluids to me....
so yest appt veri informative...

yipy,
I taking neurogain fish oil. gynae selling 40. guardian selling ~35. I bought mine in malaysia RM52.

re:weight gain
i total gain about 3kg. however bb is now a bit underweight 500g at 23 weeks. kinda worry... so now trying to eat more nutritious food.

my tummy sudden balloon for the past few days. Monday measured my 'waist' (already can't find my waist
) was 27", today already reached 30". so now officially upgrade to maternity clothes liao.

re:constipation
i on/off will get it. think is due to the multi-vit that taken. too much iron, and the feeling is not good. so, try to drink more water, eat yakult.. hope can get better.

Xiaoyun, shiok hor!!! just 3 kg!!! dun worry abt bb's weight cos their weight will also shoot up before they r due....

dor,

yaloh. very shiok to gain only 3kg. on all the scan that i did before 23 weeks all show that bb is on the bigger size. so, i heck care about the weight gain and just eat per normal. but now, bb is below 50 percentile, i very scare liao. trying to consume more vege, tofu, fruits, protein, etc. last night tried to cook some simple stuff, e.g, steam egg, steam tofu+chicken, brown rice porridge. hope bb can gain more weight.
but i got the craving for sweets stuffs, don't dare to take too much as afraid of diabetes.

re:yakult
i think no problem to take daily. just that it's a bit sweet, taking 2 bottles a day may be too much sugar. try vitagen less sugar?
btw, anyone dare to take the vitagen collagen? don't know preggy can take or not..
i alternate between meiji yoghurt and yakult cos yoghurt has some fruit/nata de coco inside.

Hi, Dor. Oh I see, no wonder. I got some baby blue clothes for my girl too (those that I bought before knowing it's a girl) but since they are for first 3 months. I bo chap, intend to use them. At home, nobody see also mah, who cares... But actually best to buy neutral colour so boy and girl can wear next time. Haha.

Did you know that the 4 gynaes that I heard are good at KKH are all "Service Champions" this year (Dr SF Loh, Dr Judy Wong, Dr Benjamin Tham, Dr KT Tan). Saw the poster with their faces posted at KKH.

I think i gain alot of weight too! Last measured my tummy yesterday was 35.5" *shy*

kitsune, thanks for sharing your blog, love reading it!

wha so many posts...can't keep up!

JL Sales and BHG
Hehe went shopping at JL again yesterday..the 20% discount is only for members. So far found the JL sales quite good, escecially the one 2 weeks ago where they had the 30% rebates.
I also know that BHG (Formerly Seiyu) having 20% discount, almost storewide. I went to the one at Junction 8..almost all the baby stuff on 20%. Not sure if the sales still on coz I was there last week.

Spring Maternity Sale
I read the email forwarded by my friend, the sales is only at Suntec.

For breast pumps, do you think it is advisable to buy after delivery? My friend got 1 electric pump, then found she had to total breastfeed exclusively. So she bought another dual pump and total spent close to $1K! Hmm...dunno if able to breastfeed or not leh

i am now waiting for sales that are similar to JL 20% + 30% (rebate voucher) + 5%. too bad didn't buy stroller that time.

but ho, do you all think that it's very difficult to spend the rebate voucher? it can't be used on promotional items. now i got about $140 of it, don't know how to spend. good thing is i requested them to be all in $10, otherwise it's even harder to spend.

re: breast pump
me, i think i will be too busy after delivery and no time to shop for it. and I don't think my hb will be patience enough to get a particular model that i want. also, afraid that if fail to get bb latch on, can use the pump to reduce the engorgement.

i bought a manual one during the JL sale. it's so much cheaper. $102 before discount, and < $60 after discount. in fact, i am still eyeing for the medela PIS advance which is very very ex. told hb about it, he said i crazy. in order to save that amount of money, he said he will help me pump when my hand tired. :p

cheryl, me too... boring... nothing to do...

kitsune, ya... saw that poster yesterday...

sweetpea,maybe u wan to borrow from her if she is not using the breastpump....

xiaoyun, that medela PIS veri ex!!! i think it is worth it if u can breastfeed til bb 1 yr old...

dor,

agree with you.
furthermore, i m still working. there isn't 'pumping room' in office. and toilet no power plug. hence, i doubt electric one suits me. don't think i can bf till so long too. let me see how. for the 3 months maternity leave, i will use the manual one first. if really tired, i might try medela swing cos heard that it's not bad either.

Good day to all mummies,

I m in my 2nd trimester, bb in 24 mths + 1week now. I had gain 8kg so far...bb's weight is 752g... Wow really can eat in this stage. Do alot of cooking myself at home nowadays, have to lor coz me staying alone without parent & in-law. Any soup rec to share with me for mummy & bb? thks ;)

hi xiaoyun,

i am also waiting for sales that are similar to JL 20% + 30% (rebate voucher) + 5%,was hoping another better offer will come along then,we must keep each other informed :>

just to check,my left leg is a bit swollen at the ankle,is this considered as swollen feet?how to cure it?what may have caused it?

i bought quite a number of stuffs from the john little sale, was at marina square,and john little had this member card which you can sign up for free, so on top of the existing offers, u get additional 20%. good deal. I got the play pen which was quite cheap.

hihi, long time had not log in liao...
Cant log in during office hours...

I dun know abt my bb weight but scared he is too small. Cos the last visit during 20 weeks, i onli put 1 kg...
Just measure my tummy is on 31 inches....
Really scare tat my bb will be too small...
Onli 2 weeks later then get to c my gynae.
Must ask him abt my bb weight.

Cos me still got morning sickness till now...
Poor me...

Starry70

I was @ JL (MS) 2! Indeed a gd buy. Bought a few items, alot of pple.. I saw the 2 playpens, I wonder which 1 u bought.

healthy bbb,

I rem there's 1 playpen costs abt $89 b4 discount. Even my hubby aso said gd buy!

yun,

Dun worry 2 much abt the weight. Guess main reason is u still having MS, hw's ur appepite?

As long as ur gynae can assure u tat bb is growing well, shdnt be any pro. Anyway, usually our weights will shoot up rapidly during the later stage...