(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

hi linda
thats my fear too..coz during my 20th week scan, i noticed my bb weigth abt 300++g.
im worried on sat bb will suddendly double..coz abt 2 weeks ago, i gained abt 2kg.
but does heavier bb means diabetic bb? coz now all the weigth just estimation only wat..

guess will be ok for me on 24th.. if cant make it when date draws nearer will let u know, cheryl.

any mummies not working now? staying around chin swee area (chinatown area)?

now that u all say, i oso think maybe my bb will be big wor... during my 20week+ detail scan bb was 400g... but the sonographer say i m in my 21week at that time

hi faten

20th week, w 300-350g is fine. mine is on a bit of big size cos is over 350.
my gynae ask me to control sweet stuff cos my grandparent got diabetic history so got to watch out. going for check up next mon, hope everything is fine.

its normal for you bb to gain double. dun worry.

patsy,

very very happy for ya

linda,
we will remind/motivate each other not to eat the raw stuff, dun worry.. i was eating raw food bi-weekly until week 16.

piglettail,
ok... but hb not around can pinch a little la... heehee. dunno where i read, says sashimi is good for preggy, but must be very fresh.

cheryl, your gynae never say anything meh when your bb weigh 400g then? how many weeks are u now?

linda

i havent see my gynae ever since my detail scan... next week den see... well but the sonographer say his size n weight average..

now shd be ard 22weeks

hmmm, dunno how they measure and gauge? aiya, actually still too early to say if bb is too big or small. few more mth to go, will be lotsa changes. we jus eat per normal, hungry jus eat... haha... let the bb absorb by itself.

Hi cheryl,

I should be able to join on 24 Oct.

Hi linda,

I'm taking the Friday night class 7 - 9 pm. The pre-natal classes are taught by Mrs Woh Boh Boi.

Hi Patsy,

You remember to take care, stay joyful and leave all the household chores to your HB :p

How come you gals all know the weight of your baby? Is it have to ask? It did not occur to me to ask wor.

My gynae said that sashimi can eat as long as from a good restaurant, is freshly cut and kept frozen on ice when served. :p So I told my HB can only eat at high class Japanese restaurants.

hi patsy,
so happy for you!!! jia you jia you!!!

hi linda,

hi cheryl,
24th oct ok for me

i also dunno how heavy my baby is. everytime have a long list for gynae but when i'm in his office forget to ask. next time must write down haha!!

pig out session
24/10/07
melt???
1. dorothy
2. cheryl
3. garfield
4. piglettail
5. blueginger
6. linda? (tbc)
7. Artemis

who else

Count me in on the 24th. I should be free.

You know girls. My scan on monday was 21 week plus and my bb weight was 470g but doctor didn't say another about controlling my weight gain. Have gained 12kg so far liao...
and my silly sister kept saying, you so fat, so fat. So demoralizing.

Actually just went to melt for high tea on Sunday. The ambience is good but the spread is not fantastic. Dessert is so so as well.

Pasty, Jiayou!!! Glad to hear such good news.

I have a few symptoms which you gals didn't mention. Don't know whether I am the only one suffering from it.

1) I have milk ducts growing around my arm pit around, so can see little bumps underneath it. Experienced the same thing when I had my first one but this time round, it turns blue black. Asked my gynae and he said it's normal.

2) Maybe due to weight gain and bb's heavy weight, I now have a weak bladder. I leak a little everytime I cough and sneeze, especially now that I have a flu. So much so that I have to wear Tien Na, the pad for weak bladder. I remember I had this problem only in my last trimester when I had my girl. Anyone else have this problem?

3) My areola area keeps peeling. Am wondering whether I should apply anything to moisterize it. Any advice?

Garfield,
Which part of Katong do you live?

moi_dar,
ur bb weight shd be ok lah. Mine was 450g at 21 weeks. Gyne said bb is at a healthy weight, but then again, he might base the weight on angmo babies.. my nipples also very dry and peeling.. think must start on nipple cream soon.

I have no idea how much I weigh now, only know that I've put on 3 kg from start to 21 weeks, but yet bb seems quite tall and big, so think most of the weight gain went to him.

RE: Baby stuff
I wun have any hand-me-downs, so got to buy everything from scratch. So far only bought 5 sets of NB clothes and 3 blankets.

patsy,
hope everything will turn out well for you!

patsy
glad to hear your updates and that everything's fine.

Re: Parenting Talk
I really give up on the organiser. Got a call on Mon saying that the session is full and i cannot attend anymore. told the girl i alr mailed the cheque last week when she asked if i had mailed. then she said will return cheque back to me. fine. then i realised yday that they cleared my cheque on tue! really don't know what they are doing. me so furious too.

those who are gg - enjoy your session and share with us what's interesting

Re: Pig out session
Next wed i can't make it. join you gals next time.

Re: Baby's weight
i thought my bb's wt was 349g at Wk 20 but hubby remembered as 394g. If it's the latter, then like too heavy liao. Will check with gynae next sat.

linda
welcome

moi_dar
sometimes when i sneeze very hard, also experienced little leakage. sob sob. so you are not alone. i heard must practise more kergel exercise, something like holding and letting go of urine stream. do it regularly a few times a day will help strengthen the muscles.

pig out session
24/10/07
melt???
1. dorothy
2. cheryl
3. garfield
4. piglettail
5. blueginger
6. linda? (tbc)
7. Artemis
8. moi_dar

who else

Stephie,
You are very early today.
We can have a gathering after the parenting talk session, so that we can pass info to you while it is still fresh.

moi_dar,
1) Due to homo changes, your pigmentation might change. Hence it is normal to have darker armpit, etc. Since your gynae said it is ok, there should not be any problem.
2) I oso have this problem. Now I'm excerising kergel. Training your urinary area hold it tight just like the way you hold your urine and release. Repeat this pattern 10times. Do this excerise 2-3times a day. It should improve. This excerise is oso good in training for delivery.
3) Areola area oso affected by homo change. If it is not itchy. Just leave it alone. otherwise you might need to apply nipple cream, but consult you gynae beforehand.

Patsy,
Congrats to you and chilli padi. Hope to hear more from you. HUG HUG to you.

Patsy, good to hear that things are better now.

Everyone is talking abt weight of bb, how can we know if bb is in a healthy weight or over/under wt? My bb is 484g at 22weeks+. Gyn says its average wt leh.

Stepie, Moi_dar, I thot there is something wrong with me cos I also exp leakage when I sneeze too hard. So I guess its normal symptoms then.

hi moi_dar,
i stay near the catholic church. opp butterworth8

i'm also getting dark lines under my armpits. i actually applied my whitening cream haha =P

hi ladies...

what does milk ducts look like? i have 1-2 'bumps' growing near my aerola, looks some what like pimple. i thought they are 'clogged pores'?

yesterday was still happily eating away, today i feel bloated even without breakfast.....only managed a cup of water and some toast. strange strange body!

Hi linda,

The pre-natal classes on Wednesdays, Saturdays and Sundays are taught by Mrs Wong Boh Boi (you will have to call up ParentCraft [62514090] to check on actual timings). But Friday evenings is more convenient for me so I signed up for Fridays.

Hi Garfield9,

I know what you mean but I am worse than you. I made out a list of questions to ask since my first visit and added on to it over time and still forgot to ask. Only remembered to ask what can eat or can't eat. :p My HB says I live for food now.

Hi moi_dar,

Don't worry about your symptoms if your gynae says it's normal. Stephie and blueginger's advice on practising kegel exercises are sound. More information can be found here:

- http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kegel_exercise
- http://kidney.niddk.nih.gov/kudiseases/pubs/exercise_ez/
- http://www.childbirth.org/articles/kegel.html

I would recommend you to get a nipple cream from your gynae to apply if you feel very uncomfortable with the peeling.

Not sure if you ladies would be interested:

Introduction to HypnoBirthing, The Mongan Method for a Gentle Birth Experience
Why use hypnosis to birth your baby? Find out what it is all about and start your journey to a safe, gentle, reverent birth experience. For parents planning a pregnancy and for those already pregnant.
1 hour
Includes:
30 minutes discussion of the tenets of hypnosis and how it can be used to your advantage for birthing your baby
15 minutes video of hypnobirths
15 minutes Q&A

Date: 29 October 2007
Time 8 - 9 p.m.
Venue: ParentLink, 17 Carpenter Street 05-01
RSVP: (Seating Limited) [email protected] or 9451-7702

I got this information from emailing her.

Hi piglettail,

I believe the bumps around your areola are Montgomery glands. Please view this for more information:
- 12_159000%2C00.html, http://www.ivillage.co.uk/pregnancyandbaby/pregnancy/tri2/qas/0%2C,12_159000%2C00.html
- 48dw-2%2C00.html, http://parenting.ivillage.com/pregnancy/pfirsttri/0%2C,48dw-2%2C00.html
- http://www.babycenter.com/0_breast-changes-during-pregnancy_262.bc?Ad=com.bc.common.AdInfo%407893c499

Tong2- Ha.. I'm not eating much.. still my usual portion.. just eat for the sake of eating & baby.. no cravings thou & abstaining meat that smells..

Girls..Is it possible to get water retention now? my foot feels tighten during night time..

hi loinky,
same here. me have poor appetite. so always very envious that dorothy, piglettail have such yummy food!!

water retention - i got it when i was about 3months plus. it comes on and off. usually when i dont' exercise much or dont' drink enough water.

hi loinky,
Yap. But usually will have it during the 3rd trimester. I have mine when I'm week12. Drink more cranberry juice or walk more loh. I have it control at this moment.

I din eat much too. Sometime even cannot finish my portion.

re water retention

i don't have it at the moment but heard from one of my colleague that if you have water retention should put your leg up.

Thanks for all the advice.

Kegal exercise doesn't seem to help much leh... or maybe I too lazy to do it? he hehe

To the doctor, everything seems to be normal. Haiz. Really wonder why we still need to see them on a regular basis if everything is normal.

Wonder whether should write in to complain about the avent organiser. So frustrating!

Hey Garfield,
We live within walking distance! I stay across the SPC petrol station, about one bus stop away from your place
Which whitening cream are you using? I'm using the Nivera whitening cream... but doesn't seems to help.

By the way, ppl. I have finally been granted an interview! Hurray! But the pay super low, $7/hr only. That's like what I used to earn when I was still a student. But was thinking, it is better than staying at home and not doing much.
Best part is, the office is situated at Orchard Road. Ha ha ha... so can go shopping after work.

moi_dar,
Congratulation for getting a job. yalor. better than nothing mah. Atleast you still can use the salary to buy baby stuff. U can go shopping during lunch too, esp when there is a SALE.

I go back to dig out the breathing method. See if you can do it correctly. Let you know tmr.

toot & loinky,
yalor. I sleep with my ankles resting of bolester. SO used to it until I forget to mention this. In 3rd trimester, we will need a lot of pillows. cos need it for backache and leg rest, mayb tummy rest too.

moi_dar...yes very near!!! i frequent the chicken rice stall opp the SPC station and also punggol nasi lemak =)

congrats on finding a temp job!! must go shopping more often (take it as exercise) and let us know if there are any good lobangs / sales on!!

i'm using garnier whitening correction pen. only started, so dunno whether effective or not. but i know the garnier whitening mask for face is very effective! i bought 6 pieces for $10 at the JL sale. use fortnightly....it does lighten pigmentation marks on my face.

hi Patsy,

glad to hear that..stay cheerful & take care!

i will opt for natural birth, maybe with epidural. But i heard if half way baby still not out and which need go for c-section, need to pay the price for 2!!! is it true?

dunno anyone experience the numb feeling on the hand? my left hand always feel numb and now worst, every morning feel my palm pain and cannot hold toothbrush

Hi loinky,

It is possible to get water retention. Do remember to drink lots of water, don't take too salty foods and prop your feet up when resting. Getting HB to massage legs is also a good way to relieve it.

Hi moi_dar,

Congrats on the potential job! Orchard is a good place to work. If you note any sales must let us know. :p

Hi cheryl,

Have you checked tried wearing a pelvic support belt? I read from this (http://www.babycentre.co.uk/pregnancy/antenatalhealth/physicalhealth/pelvicgirdlepain/) that it may help relieve the pain.

I have been feeling a fluttering feeling in my lower tummy... Is that fetal movement? :p

happybee,
Basically, you pay for the eqpt n service. everything you used.

yap. I have numbness on my RH fingers as well. N wrist pain. Hard to hold my toothbrush every morning. It is due to water retention. My gynae said it is OK. sometimes I oso cannot write using my right hand. Remedy: I just use my left hand loh.

hi cheryl,
hmm..maybe try posting in the other threads (those who have delivered already) to seek feedback?

that's what i did when trying to find out if i need a fridge to go if i return to work and need to breastfeed...i went to the mar07 thread cos the working mummies there already return to work and would have some experience.

aiyoh...then i must ask gynae which method is best for my baby size and me :p

ya blueginger, sometimes i also cannot write with my left hand(am left handed), maybe we should help each other hor...heeheee

hi artemis,

Thanks for posting the links!

the first two didn't work but the last one works o.k.

so i guess this is part and parcel of pregnancy...