(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

sorry didn't get to plan for the mj yesterday. I was admitted into mt. e yesterday morning for contractions and pre-term labour. it was sooooo painful!! may have to be here for the next few days..

morning ladies...

patsy, glad to hear baby is growing well.. u rest lots and update us again okie? dun stress, relax...

ladies, i have a question..i've asked this problem before but now the pain is driving me up the wall leh. will ask dr during my visit this week thou i have a feeling he will tell me it's 'normal pregnancy syndrome'...

my nipples hurts...*very very paiseh* esp when i wear a strapless bra.
i have bought new strapless bras in bigger cup sizes and 'ribcage sizes' but it still doesn't work. went to maternity shops but most of the strapless bras are either too big for me (they usually start at 36 (aka 80)) or are the 'tube bra' kind with no cup shape and support (cos they are too big for me).

any ladies with recomendations on what i can do or where i can find comfortable straplessless bras?

hi dawn!! congrats and welcome!! i'm with dr. loh too =)

hi moi dar, i don't know the exact situation you are facing, but based on my own conversations with my hubby (re considering if i should not work eventually), my conclusion is that males have slightly different goals for the family.

i am generalizing here, but i think overall for females, spending time with our loved ones is very important. for males, providing for their loved ones materially is very important. to me, both are important and the key to it is balance.

for eg. if you have started shopping for baby stuff, especially gadgets, you will realize that baby stuff can range from $ to $$$$$$. men being men, tend to get attracted to the high end gadgets (machum cars, hi-fi etc), which naturally cost more.

for my hubby, he wants double income so that we can better provide for our families including parents (both sides are retired, with little savings). he also would like us to be able to build capital and savings faster so that we can retire earlier together.

of course, as you have pointed out, it means less time for me and baby together. but it helps to understand where he is coming from (and i don't disagree with him completely).

so to me, a good compromise is to find a job with flexi hours and/or part time. then i get to spend more time with my kid, and at the same time contribute to provide for a better life for our families collectively.

have a good chat with your hubby. not good to be resentful of the situation....

ATTENTION TO all mummies going to the avent event!

Please dont send me the money! Garfield, since you sent me already i will register yours together with mine. since can have max 2 couple in 1 chque

REason being i called PHillips but they cant let us issue a single cheque with all the payment! I can only issue a cheque up to a maximum of 2 couples. Since some of us going as a single, some couple, some 1 session only and some 2 sessions, i would have to issue different cheques for different categories. somemore they only recognise one person's name and not all the names. ie they wont be issuing any tickets, they will only recognise by registered name on that day.

So the lady ask me to request you all to register SEPARATELY. So STUPID RIGHT!!! she said she needs separate cheques for recording purposes. aiyoh!!

Anyway if any of you got time you can also call her and ask again, see wehtehr we can send in 1 cheque. including my own friends, altogether 17 person. If not, then i think you all really need to send the chque your own already!

patsy, pls take care!

re:staying at home, full time.
hmm..i too wld like to stay at home after delivery or work part time. but hb not keen on the idea. i guess i have to be fair to him, we did enter into this committment together and we have to share the load together.
aslo, for me i have selfish reasons...i have always been lazy to work la..heheh..maybe coz i havent found what i really want..so i have to change my mindset also la..
and another thing, hb family, all of the ladies, work or own their own business so he's used to women woking...for me..only 1 of my aunts are working.

garfield
my hb also thinks the same way, wants us to be comfortable.
And he very stress whenever we have to spend $$ on the preparation stuff. so i just have to 'straightened' him out la..tell him have to spend means have to what..

on a lighther mode....last weekend i went clothes shopping for hari raya with him..
wah..very boring man...most of the clothes i cant find my right fit...too small or too big..
in the end i bgt two simple tops tt looks quite elegant for me to wear now...and faster go home coz his face very long already...hehehe

purple,
ya agree it's very stressful. for example prams, started out with the maclaren at 300+ then got attracted to quinny at 700+ and now in love with aprica at 1000+. *GOSH ROLL EYES* i think we need to do some serious $$ planning haha

dor,
went to baby hypermart yest, the maclaren techno xt going for $459 with 10%. so mothercare is cheaper cos giving 20% (but only limited to grey colour). i asked the mothercare staff - they say this is the best possible price and even DEC sales will not be lower. not sure about baby hypermart though.

my friend got his at kids' mall at $269 but without warranty cos they are not authorized distributor.

garfield
ya ya...$$$$...
i have a feeling at baby hypermart, if u buy togther with someone elso, they might be able to give u better price, coz when i was there, she said there's no particular promotion time.

our maclaren also left with that grey color, i just hb to take it..bb will be sitting on most of the grey anyway..hehe..

tong, thanks for the info...
i called them already... that girl Roslyn like anything also veri sure... anyway, i have registered for myself/bluegin/cheryl n also piglettail since the 4 of us are going as individual.

bluegin/cheryl
i have sms u on this.
piglettail, i dun have yr hp... so let me know yr decision.

Patsy,
Please take care and rest well. Hope you can discharge soon.

Tongtong,
I've already transfered $16 to you yesterday. So now I just call them and register separately, right?

Detailed scan...
I just did my detailed scan on Sat and really glad that bb is doing well. 100% confirmed bb is a girl and quite a naughty one too. When the doc showed me the bb, she was quiet and kuai-kuai... after the doc praised her and started to take the measurements, she started turning round and round... and playing hide-and-seek with the doc... my hb was laughing away and the doc almost expoded :p The doc said my bb shld be a tall bb like me coz the length of her thigh is quite long.

Hi, was reading the thread about whether to continue to work after delivery. Just to share my experience. Before we got married, I already hinted to hubby that if we have kids, I want to have the luxury of looking after BB. So, no condo, we bought a cheaper 5rm resale flat at Tampines near in laws to qualify for 40k grant. We took a 30 year loan, so that can pay off housing loan with just his income. We qualify for HDB loan so a bit less stressful than bank loan, at least the interest is fixed. Now that I'm expecting, chose KKH to save money on pre natal and delivery charges cos I'm govt servant so can claim 90% of bills.

But I calculated the sums yesterday, if I were to work part-time not even quit and be full time mum, the allowance for parents, my own insurance, meals, transport etc will wipe out all of my take home pay. And if I don't work, All these expenses going to come from hubby's pocket or dip into my savings. We won't be able to afford to send BB to a better playgroup, attend enrichment classes (swimming, piano etc), bring them on holidays unless Malaysia etc and our retirement nest egg will be on hold or even dwindle. Anyway, after calculating, told hubby looks like I can't afford to quit.

So, Plan A now is work full time, and get in laws to look after BB, Plan B is to work part time if arrangement with in laws don't work out, finally Plan C then to quit totally if I can ever take that plunge. I think it's important to sit down and list down all the household expenses then go through with hubby so that you know what you are prepared for life with just 1 income or 1.5 income. I think hubby will also be more supportive even if you do decide to be FTM if it's a joint decision after careful consideration/calculation.

hey kitsune, hi!!! was just trying to find the link to your blog cos didn't keep it. can post it here again??

many thanks!!

my hubby looking for a cartoonist to do something for his coy, so i told him your hubby draws very well and want to show him =P

hi kitsune,
agree with your views on being FTM.

when we first got married, we capped our basic expenses based on the salary of the party with lower income. so it is indeed possible for either one of us to stop work.

however, will have to forgo a lot of frills if indeed i become a FTM. won't be able to indulge in my parents and children as much as i would like to. for me, being able to support my parents so that they don't need to worry about money is very important.

so the bottom line for me is that i would prefer to have 2 incomes, can make do with 1.5 income, but 1 income is (for the time being) a distant possibility.

dear mummies

is there any cause for concern when you see pink streaks when you wipe the vaginal after urinating..hmm..i been seeing that on the tissue paper after i go toilet since yesterday. Duno if its because i tried too hard to pass my stools over the weekends, causing the bleeding. Do you think i should observe for another day or so?

ok to summarise:

Group A) cheque issued by Dorothy
Dorothy-session 1 ,$5
Blueginger-session 1 , $5
Piglettail-Session 1, $5
Cheryl- Session 1, $5

Group B) The lady in charge said 1 cheque for max 2 couples only.. so stephie, yun and garfield, you need to sort that out amongst yourselves liao..

Stephie + hubby - Session 1, $8
Yun+hubby - Session 1, $8
Garfield +Hubby Session 1, $8

Group C) Cheque issued by tongtong
Snowbelle+hubby - Session1+Session 2, $16 Angie+hubby Session 1+Session 2, $16

As for Moidar+hubby - Session 1+Session 2, $16 , think you got to issue the cheque yourself already?

hi all...

Dororthy, thanks for helping me register! so do I send in the money seperately or together with you (since can only have 2 names on 1 cheque)?

Did you register my name for the event as 'Piglettail'? Then i will write that at the back of my cheque to indicate to the Avents/Philips people it's from me.

Garfield, thanks for your advise! I will check it out--similar products at the shops..thou they look like cooling pads to cool the breast rather than the nipples? but i m desperate already...arrgh.

strollers/baby cots
I recall there were 2 shops mentioned often-Baby Kingdom and somwhere else...that sells a big variety of big baby items at good prices? could I have the name of the shops and location?

hb and i are first time parents and totally blur, all our immediate close friends are not married or no kids yet. so far the only places that we 'know' that sells baby items are the children department of departmental stores like BHG, Metro, etc,etc...

We went to look at strollers for first time yesterday at BHG, and hb look worried after 'surveying' the prices and things we need to buy. i know he's getting worried about the finances... reality is kicking in.

i feel quite bad cos i cant contribute much/help to improve our finances at this stage (since i can't try to change a job for better salary for now until i deliver).

Any tips on where i can go shop for those big items at good prices?

hi kitsune
i agree with what u said. actually i think my hb will agree with u totally!
currently on hb's salary is just nice for us, so during my maternity period, we will try out the one income thingy, coz im currently a contract staff, no maternity benefits.
anyway, hb also pointed out tt hopefully in 2-3 yrs time, when his position is better, maybe i don have to work.
our hdb house is bgt directly frm hdb, so it was cheaper and we are looking into ways to make our money grow...have used cpf $$ for some investment funds. and when bb is born will open up some kind of savings, so tt his education is kinda secured later on..
other than that, we have to live it out, no point plan so much,later got stuck.

hi tongtong and dorothy,

thanks for helping to arrange the Avent/Philips event

Dorothy, let me know how you'll like me to pay you okie?

Starry70, i think it will be advisable to call you gynae and see what he/she says?

piglettail
me too..my salary not helping much as well but at least im at a less stressful job which was what i wanted during my pregnancy
the other place is baby hypermart. they are next to each other. at kaki bukit area.
actually im also confused with all these places tt offer good deals, im not the type to shop ard and do surveys..

yea starry, i think it's better if you go see your gynae since u had it since yesterday. are you still having it now? pink discharge is also a type of bleeding leh. gynae might give you hormone pills to stabalise.

Hi, Piglettail. The two stores are Baby Hyperstore and Baby Kingdom. I went to both but prefer Baby Kingdom for its friendly sales staff, BB hyperstore stuff quite bo chap. It's a Shun Li Industrial Park near Kaki bukit (forgot the street name). Anyway, one of the MTBs from Jan thread bought her Capella S705 stroller there at $285 but I found a cheaper supplier selling at $265, got free delivery too. http://kiddybee.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=1_36&products_id=157. Better check prices first before buying.

faten, i will also do the same for bb, ie have savings account or education fund for the bb.. in fact i bought a savings plan , 10 years when i am pregnant ( that time i havent realised i'm pregnant). what a coincident that i will treat that as an endowment plan for bb! hehe

will you all get any insurance for bb?? issit necessary?

tongtong
actually im CLUELESS as what to get..not much knowledge abt this stuff..hehe..
a bank recommend just open normal savings acount..but i was thinking of like an endowment plan..but dunno how its works..hehe..
insurance?? im not sure...most prob..does an endownment plan cover tt as well?
i think my hb's insurance will cover us as well.

Tongtong,
I thought you will be sending yours together with Garfield's? If you are sending mine as well, then I'll let them know. Thanks.

Tongtong,
I feel that getting a medical insurance for bb is more important compared to saving or life insurance. 'Coz bb young maybe more problematic lor... So that will be my top priority... other insurances can wait until bb deliver... I'm planning to meet up with my financial advisor to see there is any suitable plan. Will let ya know then.

piglettail, can i have yr full name? cos that i can issue chq... i have told the lady in charge that i wanted to register for 4 person n to make payment in one chq....

single income
actually in sing where standard of living so high veri difficult to depend on one income... before i join my current company, i took a 3 mths break... so during that time, we survive on my hubby's pay only... i can only say that a lot of sacrifices to make... no rest/no shopping....
but i really enjoyed myself with my gal....

i hope to look for another job after my ml... dun think will be a SAHM... like purple, will use my ML as a guideline to see whether i can survive at home with 2 kids or not....

blog
kitsune, i like yr blog... i wanted to start one for my kids but after a while... i'm lost

just i have to spend more time to read blogspot manual before starting....

garfield
thanks for yr pricing...

Hi, Dorothy. Thanks, actually starting a blog really isn't difficult. I'm not into computers or technology. So, I thought it'll be tough too but in the end, it's just typing your thoughts and uploading photos. Quite easy to manage. Just try it, it can be work in progress, just don't share the blog address yet lor until you are ready to show it to other people. hee.

I think buying insurance for baby is important too. Another additional fixed expense though so not fair to impose on hubby alone. :p

kitsune, heehee... my hubby said i too ambitious already cos i wan a lot of things to be added into my blog....
then he also dun wan to help me.....
so u gg kkh hor... me too!!! since our edd is the same... we might met each other there...

hi ladies..
i wanna ask some weird qns..heheh..
do anyone of u exp, MS, gassy and uneasiness when entering a new trimester or new month, when tummy suddenly becomes big overnight?

is there any relation btw big bb/tummy to early delivery?

Haha, I know what you mean, my hubby also the same lar, he only like to draw cartoons but don't like to write, scan and post pictures. I think he finds it boring. Also, men are less lor soh than women lar so less emotions/details to share.

The other day, I was nagging him that he not contributing to the BB online research, eg. surf web for bulk purchase or second hand items to save money, taking measurements for BB's room layout, reading other people experiences etc. Guess what he said. He said, "I do mah, I read our blog at work." Peng san man. I mean he should be writing it with me and not reading what I write at work right?

So, I said, what's the use of you reading my blog? Then he got hurt cos I called it MY blog and not our blog. Complained to our BB that he needs to start his own blog liao cos of what Mummy said. Don't know whether to laugh or be angry also. ;P

Wa, I really hope so. I'm getting anxious about the pain and delivery process liao. Will be great to meet someone I know there.

Hi Dorothy,

Thank you thank you....

My full name is Angela Lim.
I've also pm you my mobile no. before lunch.

purplecurlz, yes i still have a lot of wind/gas/bloatedness...not when im entering a new month but it's an ongoing thing leh. haha..

yes, my tummy expanded by a lot over the last two weeks, since our first mtb gathering... now im in maternity clothes/babydoll tops + maternity bottoms full swing.

Kitsune, thanks for the information on the two baby stores and the kiddybee place

Any mummies here experience cramps at the side of your tummy (naval button level)?

Been having this cramp everyday for 5-10mins each time and i need to lie down and rest so that the cramp will go off.

Rang up m midwife and she told me its the muscles thats stretching!

Anyone care to share?

piglettail
me too, i have to start buying my maternity tops already, most of my tops cannot fit aldy.
my tummy suddenly doubled last week.
i will be 24 weeks next week, so i guess shd be big ready now..and i think i have gained abt 2kgs so far..now abt 63kg. maybe coz since last week, ive not been fasting also, feel tired with big tummy ard..hehehe

faten, so nice of having weight gain of only 2kg!! i think i have gain 6kg so far and I am in my 21st week this week!

sigh, my cramp comes everyday and almost at the same time!

hi there
just want to ask, what are some of the things you all have bought already for your baby? so far i only got car seat and a hand me down avent manual pump. Hb wants to wait for end of the yr to see if there's any offers.

Andrea,
do monitor yr cramp just incase it is not pre-mature contradiction.....

doink, u can refer to kitsune's blog as a reference....for what to buy...
http://www.anewpiggy.blogspot.com/
so far, i got a baby wrap/baby sling n also my breastpump....
budgetting cos dun wan to overspent.... u can also go for handowns stuff if u dun mind.....

piglettail, heehee... forgotten yr name is Angela Lim... payment can wait.... i settle the paperwork first....

piglettail/purple, congrats on yr promotion to M wear....

kitsune...wah you buy alot of things liao...

dorothy...ya..waiting for hand me downs but not so nice to ask pple for it..so have to wait and see who will be first to pass over..;p at this time probable settle the furnishing stuff first