(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

bkkgal.. i also intend to store cord blood.. u mean got extra charges when doc help u take the cord blood?

I haven call cordlife yet.. dunno what i should ask..

i din chat with my neighbour,.. maybe becos mine was planned c-sect... we register together. we wasnt inform of the upgrade also.. they bring us to the ward den we knw de... i go to the ward 1st den c-sect.. have to prepare alot things ma. shave and check bb heartbeat

C-sect mummies, can u share how much did you spend in ALL inclusive of gynea + anesthetist(sp?) + hosp stay + PD fees (for pd to check bb) + any bb fees *before* claiming medisave, and how many bedded u stayed at? Thanks, I'll be v appreciative!

sweetpea,
i cannot eat in moderation....*sob sob* the 3 evils of CNY goodies that i simply cannot resist are pineapple tarts, bak kwa and kueh lapis

blue,
yummy right? luckily i shared my tin with colleagues or else i will finish on my own too!!

berry,
re pineapple - some pple believe that pineapple (fresh ones) should be avoided during pregnancy. i'm not sure about cooked ones like pineapple tarts. hence the question.

re gleneagles,
personally, i really like glen E (stayed there for my appendicitis op). didn't choose it not bcos i don't like it. but bcos my gynae is head of dept at KKH and he doesn't deliver anywhere else. so no choice....left it as that.

cheryl,
your son name confirmed already or not? i getting confused...every few days change once =P including your nickname

berry

my hosp bills and bb hosp bill is 5k plus b4 medisave.. i opted for 4-bedded, den free upgrade to 2-bedded... den total cash payout is 800

Oic...then my tabulation will not be useful for you. Can try going to the Jan and Dec threads. A lot of mummies posted details of their bills there. That's where I did my research to decide which insurance plan to go with.

dor,

while garfield they all kept talking about pineapple tarts, I remembered i read somewhere that there's another way to induce labor -- eat fresh pineapples!!
heard that it's quite effective. you may wish to try...

cheryl,
ok, will update your son's name in the list shortly..
u were shaved again ? thot after BW, shd be quite clean & neat liao rite ?
for urinating, only the 1st time immd after c-sec, urinating is uncomfortable, after tat is normal for me..

Garfield, ooh good idea!! Thanks hehe! Actually I am just curious to know, cause just realised that after adding up all the doc + hosp basic package and PD fees, I am expecting to pay around 10K (give or take 2 K) in all, and that hasnt even covered any possible complications (touch wood) or additionals yet. Just wondering if thats the norm.

<font color="ff0000">Updated pop list</font>

<table border=1><tr><td>S/N</TD><TD>Nick</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD> AD </TD><TD>Gynae</TD><TD>Hosp</TD><TD>Gender</TD><TD>BB Name</TD><TD>BB wt</TD><TD>Deliver Type </TD></TR><TR><TD>1</TD><TD>Grumpus</TD><TD>4-Feb</TD><TD>14-Jan</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD></TD><TD>1.86kg</TD><TD>c-sec </TD></TR><TR><TD>2</TD><TD>Mini</TD><TD>9-Feb</TD><TD>15-Jan</TD><TD>Jocelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD></TD><TD>3.160kg</TD><TD>natural w epi </TD></TR><TR><TD>3</TD><TD>Linda</TD><TD>1-Feb</TD><TD>18-Jan</TD><TD>Yvonne Chan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD>Cheyenne</TD><TD>2.6kg</TD><TD>spinal c-sec </TD></TR><TR><TD>4</TD><TD>Kitsune</TD><TD>1-Feb</TD><TD>22-Jan</TD><TD>Judy Wong</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD>RaeAnne</TD><TD>3.255kg</TD><TD>natural w epi </TD></TR><TR><TD>5</TD><TD>Kelly</TD><TD>14-Feb</TD><TD>22-Jan</TD><TD>Judy Wong</TD><TD>MT A</TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD>Stella</TD><TD>2.6kg</TD><TD>natural w epi </TD></TR><TR><TD>6</TD><TD>Jess_Yew</TD><TD>4-Feb</TD><TD>22-Jan</TD><TD>Kowa</TD><TD>MT E</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Javier</TD><TD>3.085kg</TD><TD>c-sec with epi </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>Cheryl</TD><TD>14-Feb</TD><TD>25-Jan</TD><TD>Adrain W</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Vernon Loh Jin Feng</font></TD><TD>3.1kg</TD><TD>spinal c-sec </TD></TR><TR><TD>8</TD><TD>Cuclainne</TD><TD>5-Feb</TD><TD>25-Jan</TD><TD>S F Loh</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD></TD><TD>3.98kg</TD><TD>c-sec </TD></TR><TR><TD>9</TD><TD>Maruko ting</TD><TD>9-Feb</TD><TD>26-Jan</TD><TD> John Yam </TD><TD>GEH</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Nigel</TD><TD>3.14kg</TD><TD>emg c-sec with epi </TD></TR><TR><TD>10</TD><TD>Casa</TD><TD>8-Feb</TD><TD>26-Jan</TD><TD> Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Andre</TD><TD>2.985kg</TD><TD>natural w epi </TD></TR><TR><TD>11</TD><TD>Hweiz</TD><TD>8-Feb</TD><TD>27-Jan</TD><TD>Adelina Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD>Arianne</TD><TD>3.49kg</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>12</TD><TD>Tong</TD><TD>8-Feb</TD><TD>28-Jan</TD><TD>Hii</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD></TD><TD>3.33kg</TD><TD>natural w/o epi </TD></TR><TR><TD>13</TD><TD>Ade</TD><TD>1-Feb</TD><TD>29-Jan</TD><TD>Fong Yong</TD><TD>MT A</TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD>Jaena</TD><TD>3.490kg</TD><TD>natural w epi </TD></TR><TR><TD>14</TD><TD>Stephie</TD><TD>16-Feb</TD><TD>31-Jan</TD><TD>Kenneth Lee</TD><TD>MT A</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD></TD><TD>2.805kg</TD><TD>natural w/o epi </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Hi tongtong,

Your son so adorable!

Hi Stephie,

Wow! Your labour so fast! Congratulations!

Hi cheryl,

Your son look like he looking at the camera and wondering what it is. :p

RE: CNY goodies

I also almost finish eating a container of pineapples tarts. My HB eat like 10% and I the rest. :p Some more is I make myself one so got a lot of pineapple filling on top. Luckily you gals say it's okay. Die lah... Later friends come no more pineapple tarts to share liao. Have to get more from my MIL's place (cause baked there and she still have a lot).

RE: bak kwa

Every year my HB and I will buy a kati of Mei Zheng Xiang bak kwa each for my PIL, my mummy and ourselves. Cause our family all very small so a kati normally more than enough :p Sometimes last till 2 - 3 weeks after CNY.

RE: contractions

I have been having tightening feelings around my tummy area quite frequently these days. But mostly happens after meals. :p Not sure if they are contractions or I overeat.

So many mummies give birth liao make me so nervous. I packed my hospital bag already only toiletries like my facial wash, toner and moisturiser haven't put in. Not sure will I be too kan cheong when labour actually starts to remember to pack them in. :p

berry,
using the natural w/ emergency c-section cases as a gauge...the bills of other mummies came up to $7K+ (before deduction of medisave). this excludes PD fees. so your estimation is quite close if you throw in all the bb related costs.

garfield,
cooked pineapple no prob
. I also finished 1 bottle liao :p Get the low sugar one fr smilling orchid.

Cheryl,
ur baby so cute....

cheryl,
vernon wake up a lot at night? so you and hb take turns to feed him?

qoosan,
oh goodie!!! great to hear that =P

sweetpea,
resist!!! once you start, hard to stop *GRIN*

Artemis - I printed out a list of things to bring and placed it with my bag..so that even though if last minute, I still know what else I need to pack in. And in case there's an emergency and no chance for me to finish packing, at least my mom or hubby can help me finish packing.

Hosp Bag list- can anyone please share your list? I havent started planning mine, and I'm so scattered-brain these days that I keep worrying that I'll leave out something impt.

congrats jess !

snowbelle,
just realised after bluegin posted that ur edd is moved...i thought still 25 feb that's why i said so early...mine is 20 feb but taking annual leave back to back with my maternity leave...i think for ML you can either take it ahead of ur edd or on the day itself, you can't take it after ur edd...that's why i'm hoping that my bb doesn't come too early else i'll be forfeiting a lot of my AL coz i can't carry over my leave

sweetpea,
me also with dr. wong !

re: spinal vs. epi for c-section
i ask my gynae this question last time went check up, she said the injection is the same but just that for spinal it last for 1 hour while epi can last for 20 hours. Normally for planned c-sec, doc will use spinal...coz c-sec op doesn't last very long, unless if emergency and the patient already been administered epi then they'll just continue using epi...

re:contraction...
hmm...i think i haven't felt any cramps so far... but can feel my bb head lower coz now starting to get pain around pelvic area... so don't think i'll be delivering early...

Hi Berry,

You can find a list of things to pack in the hospital bag from TMC at my blog: http://www.dianahsoh.com/?p=78

Hi SweetPea,

Other than my facial wash, toner and moisturiser I don't think I have anything else to pack. So don't think I will need a list.
Just need to remember only.

jeannie

most docs charge a professional fee to draw the cordblood. but i think some docs waive it if you donate to the public bank. you shud tok to your gynae.

Berry
I got this checklist for hosp bag:

- dad/mum's ICs
- Pre-admission forms
= notebook, writing materials

FOR BABY
- 2 tops (1 longsleeve, 1 shortsleeve)
- 1 bottom
- 2 pairs of mittens and booties
- swaddle cloth/receiving blanket
- handkerchiefs

FOR MUM
- Maternity pads
- 2 sets PJs
- Bedroom slipper (optional)
- Cotton/disposable panties
- 2 nursing bras
- nursing pads
- flannel/face towel
- toiletries
- socks
- plastic bags for soiled clothes
- hp charger, camera charger

I oso packed OSIM hotpacks cos I need them for my aching back.

thanks all for the well wishes.

Ok, here's my birth story:
31 Jan
Middle of night while sleeping - woken up a few times cos of contraction (but didn't think it's real contraction :p). continue to sleep
8am - woke up, took shower and did some packing around the house (felt contraction but thot it's false alarm)
950am - contraction getting more regular, started to time interval (10 mins apart)
1030am - went toilet and realised there's show. called hubby and told him it's for real (while waiting, did last min packing of hospital bag, get change)
1110am - MIL n BIL arrived. told them no time to wait 4 hubby to come back so went straight w them to hospital
1142am - in delivery suite. alr fully dilated. gotta wait cos gynae not here yet. meanwhile gotta 'dong' the contraction.
1202pm - gynae arrived, prepared himself b4 bursting the waterbag
1206pm - bb came out after 1 push.

It was a close shave. so worried i'll give birth at home/on way to hospital cos i cd feel bb pushing down when i was having contraction. this 'keh kiang' mummy thot can still dong till today before giving birth :p Luckily everything turned out fine in the end

In the delivery suite
1233583.jpg

In the ward
1233584.jpg

jeannie,
where did u find the video clip? I dun know what to say abt the c-section... i was tearing when watching cos it make me think of my previous emergency c-section.

Seems that I am the only one is the list who popped at GEH. Ok lah, not that bad. I took 2 bedded cos was worried may have to go for C-section as the packages at GEH is higher compared to TMC and MAH. Luckily, I chose 2 bedded cos I had emengency C-section. I can't imagaine my bill if I had choosen 1 bedded. The services at GEH are quite good.
My poor baby had jaundice and had to be hospitalised for at least 2days. I went to visit him today, so sad to leave him there.

thanks so much, mine's a emergency c-sect, dilation stuck at 6cm.

Cheryl,

you changed nick and bb name? Does your wound still hurts?

stephie,
your labor is so short. I suppose you have a very high threshold of pain.
would like to know if you walk a lot in your work? not sure if short labor related to frequent excercise or not...
I would like to have easy labor like you too.

Hi hweiz,

I am same like you, dilate till 6cm then no progess, end up emergency c-section. I went to see the clip, remind me on the C-ssection I went thru : (

bkkgal and artemis, thanks for sharing yr list w me! :D

BB Bonus- MTBs who are gonna have yr second bb like me, I just realised that govt will match up to 6K if we top up this amount into the account for bb to be used for education purposes! Can be used for preschools, childcares and so on. What a nice surprise for me hehe. BTW this does not include the 3K cash that we are getting.

Jeannie, haha I refuse to watch any C-sect vids, will def scare me for sure. :p

Ting, how much is your total bill (doc + hosp + bb) before doing any claiming?

Stephie, wow ONE push, thats very enviable lol! Your boy looks really handsome.

Hi Berry,

my total bill was around $7k for my emengency c-section, total cash paid was around $3k but they will send a confirmaion.

stephie,
how much walking is considered enough?
in fact, I am climbing staircase of 1-2 storey everyday. walking about 3-4 sessions of 15 minutes.
not sure if this amount of excercise helps...
if not, really got to find chance to walk more already...

Ting, thanks for sharing.

confinement catering- just had my confinement trial meal from Newbaby.com, must say the food is pretty nice. Both Dd and I had a nice meal even though we are both quite picky eaters lol. If anyone is looking for a confinement food caterer, do give them a try.

stephie,
such a smooth delivery!!! so envious =) your son looks very cute. are you back home already?

berry,
thanks for the recommendation. will bear in mind.

just came back from my xray. so traumatic - i think i asked at least 5 times if it's safe for baby =( although everyone says yes i still feel very bad to have to "zapp" my gal. tmw will be seeing dr. loh so he will let me know if my coccyx is going to prove problematic during natural delivery.

bkkgal,
if u r interested in stemcord and has no referal, may be I can be ur referal, the you will have the discount not sure is $100 or $150, if u r interested, i can checked it out for u.

<font color="ff0000">Congrats! Stephie! So good, one push come out liao. BB so cute.

Cheryl, your BB boy also very cute. Are you considering to do full month celebration for him?
I'm thinking of doing it for my gal but still during CNY period leh, so all the caterers I know (Fu Kwee &amp; Neo Garden) only got more expensive CNY menu. Sian man. :p