(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

BHG sale...

Just happened to be there today. They are having storewide discount. I was surprised that the baby section is pretty baby and well stocked. Definately worth checking out if u still have stuff to buy. =)

AhCapp, did your doctor say walk too much will affect baby's weight? I don't know my BB's weight but I walk quite a lot at work. Some mummies say walk more will have easier delivery but some ask me to rest and don't walk too much. Don't know who is right also. :p

Hi kitsune,

What was what she said. But yes, I also heard from others that walking more is good for easier delivery. I am quite lost who is right or wrong now. Hehehe...

Anyway, try to rest more if u r tired. Nowadays, I will just sit down while supervising my vendors at work. =P No choice, I get really tired easily nowadays. I take afternoon naps on weekends. =)

I think it should depend on each individual's body? I read somewhere that delivery is a test of our endurance, because its not easy and it can be really a strain, so a lot of stamina is needed

When I attended the prenatal yoga class, the teacher was telling us to do what we can do and not overly push ourselves if we cannot managed, because each mother to be is different, some are more flexible and some are not. Guess it applies to walking also ba?

Hi Angelsky,

Can I ask where do u attend your prenatal yoga class? I am interested too. Feeling breathless lately when walking. Will like to do some exercise to strength my body before I go into labour.

I have checked out pregnancy book and internet. 644g for a 24week baby is still within normal range. Perhaps my gynae was wondering I am tall (1.72m), how come my baby is on the lighter side. ;)

Hi AhCapp,

Sorry can check for me if 500g at 24weeks is it normal? I find my bb abit small but gynae never said much..abit worried cuz alot of my friends said i dont look like 24wks as my tummy is rather small.

I also feel so stress my mil keep saying i nv eat healthy food...i feel so pressured by her..but i eat alot at work and i eat alot of fruits just that when i go to her house eat the dishes she cook i dont like that why i eat little...den she keep saying later baby not healthy this and that..but iam the mummy of cuz i will try my best to feed my baby..she said till like i purposely wanna hunger her grandson

Hi split,

Firstly, don't worry too much. If your gynae didn't say much, then I think don't have to worry too much. As to the size of your tummy, my gynae said every one carries differently. If u were to look at mine, u won't believe I am already 6 months! *LOL* Anyway, as long as your baby is healthy and growing, then I think there isn't much to worry.

Here is the chart I refer to:

http://www.babycentre.co.uk/pregnancy/fetaldevelopment/chart/

If u were to look at your baby weight, it might only be 1 week lighter than what he/she might be. But then again, I feel that since we never weigh our darling using a scale, I think the weight info we got is only an estimation. This is just my feelings, although I am not a gynae. ;)

I can fully understand how do you feel when your mil say such stuff. I think she seldom sees u so that's why when she sees u eating so little, she is concern. But don't let it affect u. As long as u know u are eating enough (And not starving yourself), I think u will be fine and a good mummy. =)

If there is any concern, always check with your gynae. Don't let other's comments affect u ok. =)

AhCapp, you also buying Carter bibs from BP? By the way, the price of bibs should be $3.90 each (b4 30% discount) and not 3 for $10, the supplier replied someone's query in earlier posts. Actually, turn out to be $2.73 each, cheaper, which is good for us.

This morning I went for my gynae check up, bb is 888g, at 24 weeks!!! Gynae only said slightly bigger than average. Fainted... I put on 4kg so far. But of cos I am fat to begin with, so can't expect to put on too much. Got sugar in urine, but not diabetic. Gotta watch diet a bit, can't take too much carbs lor.

Wow, Mom2Nat, congrats, your baby is growing well.
I must bug my gynae to give me BB's weight when I see her on 16 Oct. :p

Been shopping online for BB through the various BP here. I already ordered the Gap reversible blanket but I just saw this. Cute hor, very tempted. $7 after 30% discount. Hee.

992379.jpg

Think I'll be filling up my wishlist very fast.
http://anewpiggy.blogspot.com/

Hi Kitsune,

Thank you for your feedback. =) Will wait for the supplier reply and make the right payment. The bibs are very cute ah =) wanted to get something similar from Mothercare at first, but a bit expensive.

Btw, i like the hooded towel too. It's so cute. I bought something similar from Mothercare, 3 for about $35. $7 after discount is very good deal.

Hi Wow2Nat,

Your baby very wow! =) Hope my baby will put on more weight like yours too.

Kitsune / Ahcapp
Heee.. I dun ming bb put on the weight, hopefully not all go to me can liao!
The receiving blanket v cute... But I dunno how useful it is leh. I had one for my girl, in the end used it like a blanket when she was young only leh.

Ya, I also don't know how useful it will be. Maybe can be used to swaddle baby in the beginning stage or if not use as a blanket lor. Actually I bought one Pigeon receiving blanket during the Taka Baby sale, not as cute but costs $10. If I hadn't bought that one, I'll definitely buy this since only $7 and it's cuter.

Mon2Nat: I latch direct so prob save a lot of time washing/ steralising. But very shiong cos not enough sleep.BB can latch for long time on hourly basis also.

Mine at 23 wks was only abt 450g. Gynae commented small cos its abt the size of 22 wk. Told me to try to eat more, hopefully bb will gain wt too.So far aledi gain 7kg. But gynae commented no worries. Bb a bit small but still healthy.

Confinement Food: Didnt take ginger & sesame Oil too. cos bb jaundice for a long time so avoided these 2. Besides Read date tea, milo. I took cranberry & orange juice too. cos wounds heal very slowly & feel so dehydrated.. Hubby didnt allow at 1st but gynae told him to get it for me. Cranberry prevent UTI too.

Receiving blanket: TMC used to give during my 1st delivery 2005. not sure abt now.

Walking: Is good! Active mums tend to deliver earlier than EDD. Not sure abt easier delivery cos i was very active, boy came 3 wks earlier but spend 12 hrs in labour ward even though was aleid 4 cm dilated & on high dosage of induce drugs.

Good morning ladies!

Hi Mon2nat,

Yes, I also don't mind putting on weight if my bb can put on weight too. But I read that the baby's size is dependable on parents' genes. I hope my baby can follow my family's genes. =P My younger bro was a 8 pound baby and he is now 1.83m tall.

Hi Kitsune,

The $7 is a hooded towel right? U can use it after the baby has bathed. =)

Hi Angelsky,

Thank u for your recommendation. I wonder if I can still join now that I am already 6 months in my pregnancy! I will call them up later on today. Long time didn't do yoga already, wonder if I will be too stiff for all the poses. =P But I went for a dip in the pool yesterday. Didn't swim much but the feeling was great. =)

Hi 3rascals,

Wow, will active mums really deliver early? My EDD is currently just 3 weeks before CNY. If I can deliver early, that means my baby and I can go visiting during CNY already. =)

Hi Ah Capp,

Can, you can still join them
Coz in my class there was a lady that was like 30 weeks into her pregnancy? You can pay each time $30 for 1.5hours or sign a pack of 10 lessons for about 200+ (exact figure I not sure). I went for the $30 initially before I decided to sign up.

violet
when i said "favourite blanket" i wasn't referring to the item name. My boy's 3 GAP blankets are his favourites, coz he doesn't like any other blankets that i bought for him.

kitsune
yeah dats the one, but only 1 design hor.

the 'blanket' that TMC gave worked more like a hooded towel to me.

re: walking
i know someone who had her #1 on the EDD, so for #2 she was thinking may be the same. So she went for Isetan private sale at 38wks, then same day felt contractions, nxt morning deliver liao.
Heard some advice before that if want 'easier delivery' ( I think it means more stamina to cope with prolonged labour), then keep active and walk about, even after being admitted into labour ward. But for Sgp hospitals, we're quite restricted coz we're strapped up to the machines to monitor bb heartbeat, blood pressure etc. So bo pian hv to stay on the bed.

Re: Walking
WEll, I heard abt it too, walk more easier delivery. I dilated 1cm for 2 whole weeks b4 my delivery of #1. She was delivered 40wks 6 days. I walk, go shopping, drink coconut... oso like tat! Even went for pelvic scan, scared she can't come out! But luckily labour was abt 5 hours. I think really very individual. Cos my sil usually deliver ard 38 to 39 weeks. Each labour, 2 hours or less and no need epidural, tell me no pain lah!! Wah piang.

3rascals
I think now oso too early to tell if bb big or not. And v dependent on the person who scan and measure. Cos tat time my gynae on leave, the standin gynae measure for me, my baby was so much smaller!! So ah, if your bb's weight only diff by a bit, nvm, dun worry too much. Maybe you can try eat a bit more, hopefully goes to bb.

Ahcapp
Is this your #2?

Hi Angelsky,

Thank u again for the tip. Goosh, didn't have time to call them up. Will definately do so at work tmrw. =) I wonder if I still have the stamina to do yoga! I get breathless nowadays very easily. =(

Hi Mom2nat,

Nope, my #1 =) Oh dear me, your SIL superwoman. Only such short labour. *envy*

I have heard about drinking coconut just before delivery. Can I double-check.. are we talking about the coconut milk (like nasi lemak) or the coconut juice (clear water inside the coconut)? I was told that drinking lots of coconut just before delivery will prevent jaundice.

Hee hee, okie decided to buy both the Gap reversible blanket and the cute hooded blanket. Will give or sell the Pigeon one away if not useful.

Went swimming today, my stamina very bad now. Last time can swim total of 10 laps (but with breaks in between). Now I can only swim 6 laps slowly and with 1 break after each lap. When I attended the antenatal class, the physiotherapist said we should exercise because we need good stamina for long delivery. :p

Re: Coconut Drink

AhCapp, it's those real coconut with clear drink. Anyway, when do we start drinking them? Heard it's quite liang but they said from 3rd trimester onwards can drink liang stuffs.

Re: The blanket, how many do we need? I bought one, was wondering if there is a need for another one.

Breathelessness, yes I have been feeling that these 2 days. I tot it will only happen during the third trimester? I feel so miserable these two days, felt that I was going to hyperventilate.

Coconut juice, I heard about this as too, but it seems does not work for everyone. But no harm trying.

My galfren was also overdue, she was 40weeks and 2 days, did not dilate enough and pelvic did not open up, must take epidural to deliver, end up also not working, so got to undergo emergency c-section. Scary right.

Finally hired my confinement lady, phew a load off my mind.

Was wondering have you gals heard about day care nannies? I am looking for one that comes in for half a day only, do you know where do I source for such a person and what are their charges? But I am not sure if the person come to my place or I bring baby over.

Hi VioletIce,

Thank u! =) Liang drinks.. hmm.. that sounds great! I know I shouldn't, but I have been drinking cold drinks as I kept on feeling hot.

I was told by my SIL that I should start to drink the coconut juice about 2 weeks before delivery. Anyway, it works for her baby or not her friend's baby though.

Hi Angelsky,

Don't mind I ask how much do u have to pay for your confinement lady? I will seeing my potential one this coming week. My confinement might stretch over CNY, so I think it's going to be a bomb.

Re: Breathlessness..
Breathlessness is normal. I feel like a 100kg woman when I climb up the stairs. *shake head* Even walking up the slope in the carpark to get the car also can get me all worked up. Nowadays, I just stay at ground level and wait for my hubby to pick me up.

Re: Blanket
Noticed that a lot of u are talking about the blankets. I will like to know how many do I need too. Is it purely for bedtime or when I bring the baby out?

Re: breakout
Can I ask if anyone starts to have breakout on your face? I think my breakout started already. I don't think it's related to that the fact that I am carrying a boy. But I have quite a few pimples on my back, my neck, behind my ears and my chin. Quite irritating.

Ah Capp,

My confinement will stretch over the whole of CNY and the 14 days following CNY.
So I guess its the same for both of us.

Plus I only started looking so last minute, it was really hard to find one. She asked for 2.6k for 28 days of confinement. The previous one that my friend recommended already taken up, she was asking for 2.5k, but my fren managed to bargain down to 2.3k. But my fren delivered this year in Jan, before CNY. Maybe my confinement lady is ex, but no choice already.

Re: Day Care Nanny - AngelSky,

I have been asking around for day care nanny and nanny that watches baby for overnight. The standard market rate which I got was $550 for day care and $700 for day and night care. Think it's pretty standard but find it expensive also. A portion of salary will have to go to nanny!

Re: Breakout - AhCapp,
During 1st trimester, I had breakout on my nose then it got better. I didn't know cannot use acne cream so I did it during then but sparingly of course.
Now, I have rashes on the back of my neck. Hubby said lucky it's hidden by my hair but also could be bec of my hair that's why now got rashes as heat is absorbed by hair.

Re: Breathless
I also feel breathless when climbing up the multi storey car park but hubby said I should exercise since it's only once each day but then quite xiong as will start panting. Think when I get heavier, I won't want to climb up the stairs already.

Ahcapp: Well thats wat my gynae says. My EDD 17th Jan. I'm hopin for a end dec bb. My 1st boy came 3 wks early. When i was dilated, I still bring my dogs for walks.

Golden Pig: Yep agree. hate to be straped. Had a 12 hr labour, wanted to talk a walk, but nurses disallow. Cant even go ladies, must use a bedpan. Tis time gonna tell my gynae i wldnt wanna b warded so early.

Mon2Nat: Haha Mayb I was too greedy, took this opp to eat. within a wk gained 2 kg aledi. Phew better start watching my weight.

good morning to all!

can i just check with you, anyone knows how many injections or checkups do our new borns need in their first 3 months? reason being i am trying to plan my leave for next year after the maternity and if there are any excess, I can try to clear them within these few months before the maternity. My company does not allow carry forward beyond our year end (june 08)and I am not allowed to extend my maternity leave beyond 3 months (can only take one day occasionally)

Hi, Angelsky. Did you take the CL (Auntie Ah un) I recommended cos she also quoted me $2.6k previously when I asked in July.

Angelsky, wanna ask u if u know if we can start yoga class at this late period like 6 mth preggy? Heeheee...for this pregnancy hardly been doing any exercise.

From experience, exercise helps with delivery. Mine was out like in 5-6hrs..Didn't even feel much though was 3 cm dilated when I checked into hospital due to bleeding. Dunno izzit gynae burst my waterbag after I admitted and very fast dilated till 10cm. Haha..yes yes drink coconut water 2-3wks delivery and bb comes out clean clean and not bloody.

goldenpig,

thanks so much for your info.

QQ, yeah, i heard about the coconut drink as well. but maybe just consume 2-3 weeks before delivery as it can be quite "cooling" so dont take too much prior to that. As for how effective it is, guess we have to wait and see if experienced mummies can give us any advice?

goldenpig,

thanks so much for your info.

QQ, yeah, i heard about the coconut drink as well. but maybe just consume 2-3 weeks before delivery as it can be quite "cooling" so dont take too much prior to that. As for how effective it is, guess we have to wait and see if experienced mummies can give us any advice?

Re: coconut drink

yup, my sis & friends tried it during last trimester (ard week 35), drink YOUNG coconut once or twice a week. Baby comes out clean clean & not bloody.

Hi, Mummies.

I have been MIA for quite some time as really busy at work. Got a last minute order by boss to go to China alone for business trip. Really scared and worried but glad that I came back safely. After that, I was out of Singapore again. Went to Phuket for R&R. So I had been flying non-stop for 2 weeks. Really sick of airplanes now... But definitely will stop flying until my baby is out.

Also, I went for my detailed scan last sat (finally!). Baby is ok and confirmed is a girl girl. But some of the areas which the doc highlighted, I cannot see very clearly... Like very blur.

I read on forum that everyone is talking about walking... Recently, I really get tired very easily. Cannot even stand for 30 mins... My hubby advised me to take up walking but I really feel tired... Sigh.... Can't even go shopping nowadays.... Normally after 1 hour, my legs feel like collapsing.

krystle
if i walk 1hr non-stop, my legs will also start to ache. Take a break la... walk a bit, then sit down to rest, tea break etc.
Try swimming.

re: GAP Blankets
found another seller..
Go to http://www.pangbaobao.com/
click on New Arrivals >> Gap Blankets
limited designs tho, but i guess same type of material. Soft, cooling, very comfy!

<font color="aa00aa">me? nothing lah. just popby to say hi after MIA last week mah. hee...

i want Dumex Mamil Gold receipts...any kind mummies have??...</font>

i've alot of other receipts...but no Dumex leh...sorri can't help.. got lobangs ah?

Yesterday bought a white baby bath tub "Lucky Baby" brand from Isetan Marine Parade at $24.40, come with separate support pan with anti slip mat for new born. My mum was telling me very ex, the traditional red bath tub only cost less than $12 bucks from mama shop...kekeke.

steph think my sil oso get that .... hehe ..... and i think my nephew knock on it kekeke cos he like worm leh wriggle and now he is about 10 mths liao hor wow ... likes to play with water my mum gonna faint ... he scoop up the water and pour on the floor hahaha

today thread so quiet...

I had McDonalds for lunch & eating McFlurry Oreo now...yummy
How abt u all?

QQ,
i always thot bb bathtub shld be quite cheap but hor mothercare selling bathtub at $90+++ lagi ex wor...i wonder why must be so ex...not as if got jacuzzi function?haha...

All-
Q: Will yr #1 or niece/nephew get jealous abt the baby/#2 in yr tummy?
My 23mths old niece is very jealous abt my baby in my tummy. Even when my mum (ah ma) or sister(mama) touch my tummy to sayang di di (bb boy), my niece will cry & forbid them to touch my tummy wor... How to pacify them to accept the new baby?

Hi, steph77.

Think that all kids will get jealous no matter how much you pacify.

Like my 2 nephews, 6 yrs and 2 yrs, still fighting with each other. My older nephew never treated his younger bro nice. When my mum told him about my baby girl (who will be his cousin or can be regard as sister) and ask him to sayang the baby sister, he can even said,"Gu-gu's baby is not my sister."

I think even cousins, they will get jealous too. Especially since, I am really close with my older nephew coz I took care of him when young.

Kids nowadays...

I'll most prob be using the red kind that was given to me by my mum during my wedding. Got a small red potty at that time too. Can finally take them out from store room to use! hahahha.

Honestly, these tubs can be bought quite cheaply. Saw some really nice ones for less than 10 bucks at those HDB shops.

QQ, true true, when bb knows he can touch and play with things, he will mess around in the bath..haha..mine now loves to kick and splash in her tub...