(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

eRnMum,
i experienced brownish discharge during week 6 of my pregnancy. After that, i was given MC for bed rest & hormone pills for 1st trimester. What happened? Do inform gynae abt this. Take care!

<font color="0077aa">hi kitsune,

i've rec'd PTL (Eugenia)'s reply. She has agreed to make an exception for us to combine orders. We'll wait for her to advise on collection date & time then

Mrs Piggy, not small la...I only 636g at 23wk 5day. My gynae said is a normal size. Dun worry so much. Happy go lucky

eRnMum, I also experieced brown discharge from 5th week till 12th week. Then given long long hospitalization leave to rest at home and hv to take hormone pills three times a day. Are u taking any hormone pill now? Yr gynae say anything about the spotting? Do take good care and be positive... stay strong ok.

gd morning ladies...nice to catch up on wat's going on in the forum. Me on leave today..later gg to pick hubby from airport.

Hey Fern, that time you ordered some baby cot from baby kingdom right? YOurs delivered yet?

Mom2nat: yep! i'm fr esparis. r u my neighbour? u means e 24hrs coffeeshop got a new stall dat sell seafood stuff?

Icy: wen u bac? booked ur airtix?

whr can i get nice receiving blanket?

Mom2nat: yep! i'm fr esparis. r u my neighbour? u means e 24hrs coffeeshop got a new stall dat sell seafood stuff?

Icy: wen u bac? booked ur airtix?

whr can i get nice receiving blanket?

QQ,
Yupz, I be leaving for the airport at 2 later.... ahhahaa. looking forward for a shopping spreee soon.. any specific place that i should go??? for good lobangs.. haha

Had not been posting these few days....

Re: BB weight
I ask my gynea he told told me BB wt is not important. As long as BB is growing healthy and mummy is healthy can already. So not to worry... Our emotions will affect BB if we worry too much!! BB will become a worrier!

Re: BB Cot
Is there any specfic feature to look out for when buying the BB cot? How much is the B cot that BB kindom is selling? Is thre any picture online to see?

Fern,
Have an enjoyable wor... Take care of urself too.

golden pig
Tks. Well, I went to dip a while. then lie on the sun deck, anyway v shady and windy. Wished I can do it longer, but I needed to go buy lunch liao. So here I am, back home.

Lynn
Heee.. I live in blk 9-b, you leh??
I dunno wat they sell, my mom told me got seafood stuffs. But ah, I avoid gg to the foodcourt, cos everytime I stink after I come out!! So usually I ask my maid go and buy, though somethings she still dunno how to order.

Thanks! Hope not to overexert and buy loads loads... Already having aches now.. but too bad cant enjoy massages at Bangkok this time round.. lol... sad

mom2nat,
Yeap, i am not in sg now. But i will have my delivery in singapore. Have to come back around early november.

lyn,
I booked my tix for 2nd Nov, but hb schedule have some changes and I have to delay that flight. There is no confirmation yet.. cos there are changes everywhere, including stuff like his meeting wont be in sg so he cant fly back sg as a biz trip. *faint* location maybe changed to bangkok, so Maybe I have to fly Bangkok with him before taking another flight to sg etc.. so messy. My Mil is suggesting I fly back alone, which I don't feel like doing.
Still waiting for my hb confirmation.. so sian.

Receiving blanklets - i heard there are nice ones from Aussino. BUt my friend says only used once. :p

Fern
Enjoy yourself!! Me oso wan to go BKK, cos my shopping in Phuket not shiok enough. But I think hb wan to peng san liao, cos still need to bring my girl along, quite tiring lor.

Icy
Which part of the world are you now?

thks ladies! i'll chk out aussino receiving blanket...

Mom2nat: i'm fr blk 7 stays at low level facing e pool. hahaha! nice to kw u.. if u happen to see someone wif tummy at e pool over e wkend high chance datz MI!

golden pig: GAP blanket is also receiving blanket? watz e difference between normal blanket & receiving blanket? i went to a baby store and ask for receiving blanket, they show mi a towel wif cartoon printed..
kao_confused.gif

receiving blanket is just a term for whatever blanket used to carry a baby from hospital to home. It can be a towel, a towel with hood, a grandma's patchwork quilt blanket etc.
Actually in my opinion, there's no need to wrap the bb up, coz Sgp is so HOT.

Mom2nat/Lynn,
So nice... neighbours.. my SAHM's friends all live very far away from me. Sometimes i'm really bored at home.

Golden pig,
You catered confinement food when had #1 rite? How did you find it? from who? I'll be catering this time..

Re:receiving blancket.
It's just a normal blanket to keep baby warm when bringing bb home or for checkup. Get cotton ones. Not those hooded towels which is too thin. Some people use really thick ones for aircon environment. For me I get normal one and dress baby in long sleeves and long pants. The nurse taught me how to fold it to cover baby's head but it kept dropping off. So better get a bonet cos bb loses heat from head.

fishia
i ordered fr newbaby. yum yum yum yum yum
this time round likely them again, unless someone comes to recommend me another caterer, or got discount or whatever.

swaddling if i bring baby out
> I use cloth nappies coz they're thin. BB is already wearing a t-shirt, then kena wrapped sommore, v hot ley. if in aircon, then i wear a hat for him.

fishia
You can go out oso mah, when your #1 in sch.

Lynn
I face the pool too, my unit right next to the bus stop, v noisy.

Goldenpig
I din use any receiving blanket leh. I just carry bb home! And go out, I oso dun swaddle her up, cos she din like it.

from dictionary.com
receiving blanket (r09-s'v09ng)
n. A lightweight blanket used to wrap a baby especially after a bath.

golden pig,
I just called natal essentials they don't serve my area! let me try newbaby.

Swaddle:
I use thin one but my bb kept crying in air-con environment. then i realised he's cold.. and he slept better when swaddle. kekeke...

Mom2nat,
my son is 19mths now. long way to go for him to go to school. He just woke up after less than 2 hours nap!! He used to sleep 2.5 - 3 hours

golden pig,
newbaby delivers island-wide... 5% disc for early birds. think can negotiate further. but they don't operate on CNY eve till the 4th day. So I can eat CNY goodies for 5 days! hahaha!! They'll pro-rate the $ accordingly.

likely i'll go for package B1 or B2 like the previous time.
Last time i only gave few days notice.. this time to qualify for 5% off, i'll inform 1 month in advance.

goldenpig & fishia,

Can we continue to eat confinement food till 2nd month? or we can start eating usual (junk) food during 2nd mth onwards? newbaby confinement menu looks yummy! i've printed the menu so that i can pass to my mum for reference...haha

5% discount for all orders placed 1 month before Expected Of Delivery!

Maybe i can propose to my MIL to use newbaby confinement food service so that she can concentrate take care of baby & washing clothes/hsework for me during 1st mth, not so xin ku for her lol.

golden pig i oso think so but hor ... i guess old ppl will nag they say baby cannOt blow wind *faint*

Steph,
Don't talk abt 2nd month. I already drink orange juice and sometimes other non-confinement food during confinement mth. My bottomline is as long as the food does not affect my baby when I bf...

If u are looking/planning for Baby's Full Month Catering, i wanna recommend "Q'zin Food and Management Pte Ltd".
http://www.qzin.com.sg/about.htm

Recently, my company used them for corporate event and i find their food not bad (8.5/10 stars).
Their Mutton Rendang with Potatoes & desserts (honeydew sago) yummy!

fishia,
i heard that if we are bf, we must cut down intake of ginger wor...?? I thot 1st mth cannot drink water or juices, only red dates tea?

Re: fish & co.

side track here...
Lunch, I went fish & co. at IMM Jurong East & happened to find that their menu is different from the old menu we had at ParkMall! There are new dishes & beverages too! For fan of fish & co., can try at IMM outlet

Steph/QQ,
You cannot ask me leh. Cos I don't really follow traditions wor.. My gynae said eat a balanced diet. Yeah. I heard first 14 days don't eat too much ginger but I dunno why.. Maybe some other mummies can advise?

If i remember correctly, muslim custom no ginger at all during confinement month!

I drink a lot of water + red date tea cos bf very thirsty. Some even say cannot drink too much soup, other than no water, else stomach will be bloated. But when BF, you need a lot of liquid to replenish and produce milk. Lactation consultant said drink a lot of soup and water wor...

too much ginger supposedly will worsen jaundice in bf bbs i think.
i'm a water person, besides the red date tea i also drank lotsa HOT water, but kena scolding by MIL coz she say can ONLY drink the red date tea, but i'd much rather drink water. Sommore my room temp water is only filtered water, she said it's not even boiled, lagi cannot drink. =P
wonder this time round will she come over to stay during weekends. Coz 2nd grandson, not as 'big deal' as 1st grandson

ya i heard of ginger too much will worsen jaundice or bm will have ginger taste & light yellowish color...then baby will reject wor...as for water, heard that it will cause water retention/bloated?? not sure how true...

anyway, i dun mind drinking red date tea for 28days but surely we'll need to drink some water otherwise we'll be very heaty! Any hot soup before bf will encourage to increase bm.

goldenpig, i am sure yr MIL will come over & visit her precious #2 grandson even though #2!

GoldenPig,
Thanks for the info, just to confirm you mentioned the Favourite Blanket at $14.50 is the softer one? I was looking at the favourite reversible one @ $16.50.

Re: Red Dates Drink

I also heard from my friends and family that we're not allowed to drink plain water, even boiled water! Also not allowed to eat bread bec of baking soda or something! I'm a bread person, will be quite jia lat for me to eat biscuits every morning, I think.

what's all these talk about the receiving blanket? I thought i read a few weeks ago that if we give birth at TMC, they will provide us with the receiving blanket? Has anyone given birth at TMC before to confirm this?

fishia
You lucky your child sleep so long!! When my girl was a baby, she can take 45 min to 1.5 hours nap!! Imagine how I survive? Now she takes abt 1 to 2 hours nap only hor.

Hi, mommies with no.2, saw ur discussion abt #1. I also planning to put #1 to childcare coz dun think my mum can handle both. Which ones did u send urs to or which ones are good? Went to see a few but find them really ex lehz..

Red Date Drink
ERm...I also took alot of water rather than the drink coz that time no CL and MIL dun really bother much. Was too tired bf too and handling bb myself...I think it's ur belief..some says it's to avoid wind in tummy but dun think makes much diff to me.

Mom2nat, I totally agree wif u. For #2, I also got CL coz bad experience with #1 coz hse got ppl but like no help. This time though space constraint coz still staying with IL, I still took one though she has to sleep with me and baby while hb moves to sleep with his brother. Not the best but at least I get to rest more I hope...

Just came back from my 24 weeks checkup today. Baby weighs about 644g. Doc said he is healthy, slightly lighter; but still within normal weight range. Got me worried now. =( She said I must walk and stand less; rest more. I will try. But really didn't know that walking too much will have an impact on my baby's weight. My next checkup is in 3 weeks' time. Will try to take good care of myself and my baby so that he will gain more weight. Total weight gain for me is about 8.3kg+.

Hi Mei,
Pls kindly help to update your database as I have finally confirmed my hospital:

NICK: AhCapp
EDD: 15/1/2008
Gynae: Dr Tracey Lim
Hospital: Mt Alvernia
Child #: 1