(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Oh, sorry, what's your nick? Is it one with a lot of chinese words like a song title? I got two requests that are like that. Don't know who they are so didn't approve.

Icy: oh ya! u live very near to my place too.
i luv e pepper crab at e smaller coffeeshop... heeheee!

Mom2nat: behind police station.. R u fr Esparis?
dat day wanna ta bao dinner at e 24hr coffeeshop, too bad they under renovation..

so hungry, gg to buy big bao now...

MTBs,

I have a dilemma, my mother says its better to have a CL.

My prob is, I dont know to hire 1 full time, or a day time one, or just order confinement food.
My mother says she will not be able to help me at night with the baby, so it will be me and baby at night alone. Sigh~~~~~~

Any good recommendations for confinement food? Those that will deliver to your place?

What should I do?

kitsune,
i ordered 17pcs at $3.90each. Not sure whether PTL can let us combined orders? then we'll have total 24pcs at $3.70.

mom2nat & lyn,
You mean that coffeeshop renovated again after making it air-conditioned?? I love the chicken rice there. I stayed at St.11, near the Loyang Sec School.

angelsky,
How much can your mum help you? During all the day time? or just sometimes? If you wanna more rest, better hired a full time CL.. Also in case C-sec, first week should be quite tedious and you will need help. I had friends who order confinement food but their hb will also take leave abt 2 weeks to help.

My mil do confinement for me but I think at night also me and bb alone bah.. especially I intend to breast feed, she cant be sleeping with the baby and I don't want it that way also.. I think at night, I would prefer hb to help. :p

Oh ya, good idea. 1 of us just need to cancel our order then combine together lor. Don't think they can disallow that. Since I only have 7 pieces, I don't mind cancelling my order. The most we meet somewhere else to split the stuff lor, not so obvious. Hee.

Hi icy,

My prob is, my husband is out station, I doubt he can take so many days of leave to help me, figure after i deliver hes got to go back already.

My mum says morning to afternoon no prob, but night time she cant help me. She can cook and wash baby clothes, but then she cant cook confinment food. So I was thinking rather than pay 1,300 for confinement food, I might as well hire a CL for about 2.5k and she stays 24 hours a day with me?

My fren who just deliver says the prob is not day time, its night time, but night time is a time I wanna rest but baby needs a lot of attention in the night, plus day, so end up I will not have any rest at all.

But now then start to look for CL, a bit late already.

angelsky,
woah.. then better have a CL. Else at night, u alone with bb.. might be tedious for you. Since u have plans for CL already, better start looking for one now.

kitsune,

ok i suggest u PM PTLcreations & inform them that we r gg to combine orders (quote my nick: steph77) and then u can transfer the balance $ to PTL. The bal $, u can pass to me when we meet at City Hall for collection. How? Just tell PTL that we know each other & we want to combine orders. There is no reason why supplier say no to us since we r oso giving them business right? u PM me yr hp# okay? i've PM-ed u mine

Angelsky
Better to get a CL and start looking for one now. market rate for CNY is 2300 - 2500 for 28 days. Day n nite at your place. take full care of bb, take care of your meals, your hb meals, wash clothes, clean kitchen, etc

Thanks everyone,

Now really stuck. Good ones all taken up, not many frens can recommend me also. The one my galfren recommended already taken up. So I ask the CL for recommendation, she say she will help me find. Now prob is, the one she ultimately recommend I also not sure good or not. Really going to have to take a gamble lo. Hia~~~~~

Think she mention that she charge 2.5k, her fren will be slightly higher. So guess, maybe 3k?

Lynn
You oso like in Esparis?
The coffeeshop open liao, NOt much diff to me, looks brighter, nicer sign boards. but same stalls. But seems like the corner store inside selling some seafood thing, a lot of pple queue when I went.

Icy
Were the the mommy who was looking for sch for your boy? Cos you returning to sg??

Angelsky
My mom did my confinement for me. She totally experience in childcare. End up I gotta help her bathe bb some more!! Then night time bb sleep with me, so day time I nap, my mom gotta help me carry bb. Cos my girl was a difficult bb, always crying. Then ah... my mom got migrane, cos not enough sleep, end up puking... So this time ard, I am VERY sure I will pay for a CL. YOu wanna rest then please get one. Imagine night time your bb dun wan to sleep! then you how?? carry all night and rock bb ah? Tat time I breastfeed, then pump, wash up bottles, when I lie down I can't sleep. Just abt to fall asleep, bb cry again!! Damn siong hor. Hoepfull your bb v guai, then you not so siong.

Hi, Steph. Ok, I can PM PTL but sorry, a bit confused. Am I supposed to pass you the money (7 x $3.70= $25.90) when we meet or transfer to PTL?

Hi, Nexyanne, Steph and I are doing BP decorative tiles for our BB's rooms. I order 7 tiles and she ordered 17 so we are combining orders to get a better price from the supplier.

mom2nat,
Nope, that not me bah.. Cos this is my #1 in my tummy. But honestly speaking I dun like the primary school near my place.. (WSPS), the intake rate for normal is higher than express! And my sil used to study there, dun seemed to be very good.

Anyway i have plans to buy new flat latest in 2 yrs time since i think pil place would be too small for us in future.

mom2nat
your mum sounds like mine.. except mine wasn't my CL, coz she dunno how to go about. But for sure if she too stressed & not enuf rest, she will get migraine and throw up also.

what are your plans for your #1 when #2 born? how old is your #1?

Golden pig
I no choice tat time cos I was living abroad. My had is working and took 6 weeks leave to do CL liao.
My #1 is 3 this yr. Well, I oso how oso. NOw I working part time, have a maid. But ah, gives me prob oso, cos new, then my #1 bullies her. So end up most of my time oso at home. How abt you?

Icy
I heard Pasir ris Pri is the best ard leh. Need to do volunteer work then still need to ballot! But well, I din think so far lor. Are you living abroad now?

u consider sending your #1 to sch? but then again, u hv maid, maybe no need hor.

hb & i discuss the arrangements, in the end #1 bo pian gotto go full day child care when i return to work after maternity leave, coz dun think my folks can cope with 2 of them. My #1 will be 30m when #2 is born. At this point, we'd rather send him to sch than employ maid, but who knows we may change our mind when the time comes.

Its really a big headache. I tot I will just insist on not having and just settle with fighting it out on my own. But then, from all the suggestions, I got to really start asking around now. I even called Thomson, but they say their CL dont do during CNY.

Also wonder why so zun, must deliver around CNY.

My baby kuai? I was telling you gals that I could not feel my baby kick right. AFter that, these few nights, she wakes up when I wanna sleep and then start kicking, I've not been able to sleep well at all. When the baby kicks, its as if all the wind is suck from you, sometimes I will even get a shock.

I hope I get some news soon about CLs not taken up, but then what are the chances of good ones not taken up till now for CNY. I mean, if they are good, they should have been snapped up already long time.

My concern previously was no place for the CL to sleep, but then it seems no that during confinement, its best that we dont sleep with the baby, so that we can get enough rest wo.

RE: Confinement

I'm also getting a CL to help out. Will be staying over at my mum's place as hubby doesn't feel comfortable to leave me and baby at home with CL. As my mum works shift hours, either she'll be home in the morning or night, at least there's someone to be around to see see look look. I have friends who did not get CL and they regretted, because the money spent is quite well worth if you really want to rest and recover. Of course, some MTBs might be more experience can can cope but I know myself, if at night baby keep crying, my hubby and I will definitely be at a loss, even worse, hubby needs to drive in the day also. So I feel, this kind of money also hard to save.

RE: Isetan Closed Door Sale

Just came back from the sale. Crowd was quite alright, a bit squeezy on the 2nd floor as that's the ladies' department. There's a 10% rebate for fragrance and cosmetics so bought some MAC products. Wanted to get a mositurizer but couldn't remember which MTB recommeded what brand. Avent bottles $16.90 (3 bottles of 125ml, 4 oz) Pigeon clothes also on sale up to 30%.

Angelsky,
Yah, My CL that I hired few months back also mentioned to me that bb is to sleep with her so that we can get complete good rest after delivery. I have prepared a room for her to sleep togther with my maid. Yupz.. Agree that dun save such money cos its best that we can good adequate rest during this period
All the best for your seach in CL.

Angelsky,
Yah, My CL that I hired few months back also mentioned to me that bb is to sleep with her so that we can get complete good rest after delivery. I have prepared a room for her to sleep togther with my maid. Yupz.. Agree that dun save such money cos its best that we can good adequate rest during this period
All the best for your seach in CL.

Angelsky, you can try calling this lady. Auntie Ah Yun 020166098059. She was recommended by 2 of my colleagues. Initially, I booked her for CNY but in the end, I took my another CL who was a friend of a relative. I gave Auntie Ah Yun's contact to the MTBs from the Feb08 thread a few weeks ago when somebody was asking so don't know if she's already taken though.

Steph77, saw your PM. Got what you mean. I'll PM PTL tonight and see what he/she says.

goldenpig
My girl goes to pre nursary, 2.5 hours now. Next yr is 3 hours. I dun really like childcare lor. Cos I im chim, I still prefer she is in the home environment. I think 5 out of 7 days a week I am home with the maid and my girl... And bcos I was a SAHM, really cant' let go to let her go fullday liao.

Re: Confinement
I dunno how good this CL is, but I know this time ard I wan to have as much rest and pampering as I can... Heee... make back from my previous loss. My previous preg, I put on 7kg, when confinement ended I lost 10kg. Then in the next few months I lost another 5kg! V siong hor, look after on your own. So I think this $$ can't save ah.

ever since i was preg with #1, i seldom had uninterrupted night's sleep.. when preg, get up to pee. After bb born, get up to bf or pump. Somehow din manage to execute complete sleep training for my #1, so some nights he still cries in his sleep & gotto attend to him. Numb liao. I'm amazed at what my body is capable of... last time i got migraine if i didn't get good sleep. Nowadays a cup of coffee is my drug. kekekekeke.

angelsky
all de best in your CL search. I've heard too many stories abt people hiring & firing terror CLs, & decided i dowan to deal with another stubborn old lady who interrups when i'm bfg, saying that bm is too watery & bb needs FM etc... Coz i'm also a one-kind stubborn mom who wants to take care of my child myself. Hubby thinks same as me. So we'll stick it out (again), eyebags & all...

golden pig
*hi5* Same lah, I was telling hb, I haven't got good sleep for ages. Usually lucky then have. Cos my girl oso v sticky, used to have such distrubed sleep! Sigh, din train her lor. She is still sleeping with us, and every little thing "mommy mommy"..

Angelsky,

This CL is recommended by my cousin's cousin but she gave me the contact too late as booked the CL which my friend used. This CL took care of her 1st and 2nd child if I'm not wrong. You can check with her whether she's still available?
Her name is Yue Qin, +601-29135255

dear mtbs

thanks for all your wonderful advice, i will go try and call all the CLs tomo. hopefully i can get one to come in.

Hi all.New to the thread. Expecting a BB gal, EDD 17th Jan 2008. (#2) SAHM with a 23 mths old boy.

Cl: Didnt hv CL for my 1st delivery. Mum cook & deliver food over everyday. Hubby took 1 mth leave to help out with bb & hse hold chores..

For 2nd bb, intend to order food fr natal essential. Hubby will take 2 wks leave to help out so after that I'll got to handle 2 kids on my own.

Personally I do not fancy hving a stranger in my hse. + I b/feed on demand so will not pass bb to CL. so see no need to engage one. cope well with the 1st arrangement. hopefully 2nd round can cope too.

3rascals
You are lucky your hb took 1 month to help out, replacing the CL. For me, I dun do housework at all, hb does them all, until now tat I get a maid. I just take care of bb and cook, oso can't cope. Prob mine was v fussy lor, always wanted to carry, always crying. Seldom sleep!!! I bf, but she drank v little, so I gotta bf, pump, wash, sterilise... blah blah... went on for 9 months. Now ah, I feel v body "old" liao, not the same as b4 giving birth. So I promised myself for #2 I will "bu" back... If you are lucky, bb will be corporative, eat well, sleep well, if not, then v chia lat.

Angelsky
I called quite a few, then many taken up liao, the rest dun wanna do. Now the CL I find hor... only 30 yrs old! But hopefully she is capable.

Morning everyone.

jennifera, i also still drink coffee, tea, ice lemon tea, soft drinks and cold drinks. most of the time i drink ice water in the morning.. hehe... i even eat seafoods and half boiled egg.

Yesterday went to Newton Circle to eat Stingray, 1 chili crab, 1 black pepper crab, kang kong and sweet and sour chicken. i guess i have ate too much spicy stuff cos i'm having sore throat now. have a cup of salt water this morning and now drink sparkling oldenlandia water. hope it help if not tonight will not be able to enjoy singing. hehe... going to ktv tonight... will be singing from 7pm to 1am..

HMmm... just wondering, can we preg women go for suntans? Today's weather is v good and I am so tempted to go for a dip and lie read a book, but scared get over heated. Or will our body regulate our temperatures??

hi morning mummies,

can i check with you whether any one of you has discharge with slight streaks of brownish (old) blood before?

hi mrs piggy

dun worry la, if gynae never say anything means ok

as long as born that time more than 2.2kg can liao

baby grow most in last trinester

Mrs piggy

Dun worry, mine at 600g at 23 weeks and gynae commented its above average leh. If it's small, I should be more worried than you.

Mrs Piggy,
You can always check up internet for the bb size to gauge. You should also always check with gyne in all things... I think 660g is considered quite big leh. not small.. So do not worry lah