(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

<font color="aa00aa">violetIce, thanks for confirming the book author. k, i go search for it one more time at popular this wkend. else got to troublue u to make copy for me liao. hee...tks in advance!</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Steph, got my email? Btw, i changed my mind will be going down to HQ tmr. Anything u nid me to place order for u??</font>

Hi Lynn,
Ya...my body get heaty easily but after pregnant, all the rashes n pimples coming out... so scary n ugly...How to boil "fu zhu barley dessert"? Is it normal barley drink?

<font color="0077aa">mei,

#85698 beverage canister 550ml is too small. I prefer the #53305 2.3L Pitcher but hubby say $27.40 is ex. If u do have promotion on the Pitcher, can u let me know then i will place order then cos no hurry. Thanks

As for the snack cup, i saw it in the website under Kids "Tiwi Keeper Set" section, that's the model i wanted. The one that u emailed is different.</font>

thanks golden pig. agree that mt e more ex. imagine just gynae appt, parking fee have cost abt $10+ if fast maybe $6+. will discuss with hubby again.

i've sent this b4 but since everyone is talking abt bb size...i thot i'll resend again fyi,

Average guide for foetal/baby length & weight chart:
Week / Length (cm) / Mass (g)
20 / 25.6 cm / 300 grams
21 / 26.7 cm / 360 grams
22 / 27.8 cm / 430 grams
23 / 28.9 cm / 501 grams
24 / 30 cm / 600 grams
25 / 34.6 cm / 660 grams
26 / 35.6 cm / 760 grams
27 / 36.6 cm / 875 grams
28 / 37.6 cm / 1005 grams
29 / 38.6 cm / 1153 grams
30 / 39.9 cm / 1319 grams
31 / 41.1 cm / 1502 grams
32 / 42.4 cm / 1702 grams
33 / 43.7 cm / 1918 grams
34 / 45 cm / 2146 grams
35 / 46.2 cm / 2383 grams
36 / 47.4 cm / 2622 grams
37 / 48.6 cm / 2859 grams
38 / 49.8 cm / 3083 grams
39 / 50.7 cm / 3288 grams
40 / 51.2 cm / 3462 grams
41 / 51.7 cm / 3597 grams
42 / 51.5 cm / 3685 grams
43 / 51.3 cm / 3717 grams

thanks golden pig. agree that mt e more ex. imagine just gynae appt, parking fee have cost abt $10+ if fast maybe $6+. will discuss with hubby again.

Joyce,

I also have a choice of Mt E or Mt A. I choose Mt cos Cheaper and plenty of parkig lots....Facility not bad also....Nurses are very caring.

Hi Joyce,

For Mt E, sometimes even if you are willing to pay the parking, you may still have to wait.
I hate having to wait for parking and staring at the other fellow if they snatch my lot.

But I have to agree that Mt. E parking is ex, so end up a lot of pple will park at Paragon which is also ex.

The first time I parked at Mt. E, I had a shock when I left, I think I paid more than 10 something like 14. My husband was like "wa, so ex, deliver here ex, parking ex, everything also ex". kekeke.

The consolation is that, when its time to deliver in Jan, the traffic in Orchard leading to the hospital not as bad as the christmas period.

my baby was 687g when he was exactly 23 weeks.

btw, for that gestational diabetes test,basically it is a glucose tolerance test. You are supposed to drink some really sweet sugar. Blood test will be taken before the drink and 2 hrs after drink. Usually they will not ask you to go for the test unless you have previous gestational test or had shown sugar in your urine. If the result is fine, no worries...else they will arrange for you to see a dietitian and do finger prick. This is to control the sugar level in your body cos high sugar will cause baby to be of big size. Baby will need a prick too once they are born

i need to do OGTT in my 28 weeks too. Shall do it in polyclinic cos their is soda ...something or orange fanta...but much sweeter....KKH one is not soda...flat sugary drink...hate it

the drink might cause you to feel uncomfortable and nausea

VioletIce, I'm supposed to go for the diabetes test too cos of family history of diabetes. Don't know if it's the same one eRnMum described. Oh dear, will feel nauseous one. Must ask my gynae liao.

Sigh, everyone knows their bb's weight except me.
I asked my gynae but she said cannot measure BB's weight. Can only tell me that my baby is medium size. Does anyone else who sees gynae at KK have the same experience?

RE Facial products.
Can I check if Bioterm is safe to use during pregnancy? Like must make sure no AHA and retina right? Can somebody update me? Also, I plan to get a whole set of series like Cleanser, Toner and moisteriser for night? What series for biotern is good? Since many of u using it? And since my fcial products finishing, I need to stock up.

How about this shop at Lucky Plaza called cosmetics Bounjour or something. They are selling it at whole sale prices. Are those reliable? Or better for us to get from duty free airport or how abtt bangkok itself? wondering if they sell and is it much cheaper.

Re-Blackheads.
Me have plenty of them recently. Anyone has something good and effective to recommened for blackheads huh?

kitsune
all OGTT tests are the same. the drink MAY cause nausea, not WILL. I found the whole experience quite ok when i was carrying #1. Just that it took the whole morning & there was nothing for me to do except wait for the time to pass.

Fern
why dun u approach a Biotherm counter lady to address your concerns? U can find one at Metro Compasspoint.

Golden Pig,
Yah, before I ask, I wana check with you girls first mah since most of you here are alreday using the products here. ya.
Thanks anyway.

fern
well, i guess u can say that i'm using Biotherm while possibly endangering my baby coz i dun bother to find out whether it contains any harmful ingredients. All i know is that i've been using for abt 10 yrs, thru my 1st pregnancy & now my 2nd, without incident.

Please do raise the alarm if Biotherm is indeed unsuitable for pregnant women's use. Thanks.

hi kitsune,

ya, the drink MAY cause nausea...cos very sweet.

i asked for the weight when i went for another scan at ADC...cos need to check placenta location.

Think machine in EPS can measure but they usually dun bother to check weight one....my number one only measure weight in third trimester

Hi eRnMum,
I was asked to do the glucose test this sat cos of my family history of diabetes plus they found sugar in my urine during last visit. I heard they will still draw my blood 3 times rite? And muz fast the nite b4 from 10pm onwards.. Can i drink water?

Really muz pray hard, keep my finger cross. My gynae said i shld not try to restrict my diet this few days or else it will not be accurate. A bit worried.
kao_sad2.gif

HI all,
I am doing my own tuition agency thingy.. matching of students and tutors.

I currently need a A level tutor who has experience in teaching chinese. Venue, Jurong West. Just 4 lessons. as the student's exams are in coming Oct.
Anyone can teach or got any good reccomendation of a chinese tutor huh?

Fern

hi jan BB, can drink plain water only from 10pm onwards...dun worry too much...everything will be fine.

now eat as per normal....if suay suay ganna, best time to enjoy good meals. Cos if gotta diabetes, will really need to control diet.

Did the colour of your urine test changed drastically or only by one level...

dun worry cos some people just have glucose in urine but may not mean that they are diabetes.

Fern,
I also use Biotherm, i think i just avoid whitening products.. the rest I just continue. :p I also dun check.

I'm not sure abt the level when i took the urine test that time. Somemore I even took mac muffin, hashbrow & drank orange juice b4 i took that urine test. Wonder is it becos' of that heavy meal?

Btw, juz checking, my diet is always rice, meat & bread everyday. Is it too starchy & that's why may cause diabetes?

janbb..my diet also got rice & bread everyday leh..haha...err..i also a bit concerned about this gestational diabetes thing, but just hope will be fine....

Icy,
Thanks! WIll take note. How come cant use whitening products huh? Which means I can get any product but not the whitening ones right?
What series do you recommend for cleanser, toner mosteriser and night cream huh??

JanBB,
My gynae told me to cut down on rice, white bread, sweet stuff like juices, ice-cream, cakes, etc. He says I might be prone to getting gestational diabetes based on the amount of my aminotic fluid. Protein such as meat, fish and eggs are fine. Wholemeal bread is also fine.

I'm going for my checkup later, hopefully my urine test and level of aminotic fluid will be ok. I'm also worried about getting gestational diabetes becos my dad is diabetic and my sister also had gestational diabetes when she had her 2nd child.

cut down on refined carbo like white rice, white bread.. brown rice & wholemeal bread are fine. Yvonne - just eat what you dad eats =)
my dad is also diabetic, and his parents too. So far my sis and I are ok, but the risk is there la.

<font color="aa00aa">Steph, that is not sold separately. Have to buy the whole keeper set.

hee...today my turn to go see #2...yeh!!</font>

Thanks, Golden Pig and eRnMum for the info. Wa, if I got to be there whole morning for the blood test. I might as well choose to do it on Fri so that I can go for the facilities tour at KKH after that. Not sure when is the test yet, think gynae said do it in 7th month.

Fern, my hubby is a JC tutor but for GP not Chinese. If not, I'll ask him to go & earn more milk powder money. Hee.

kitsune, let your hubby keep you company la.

as for food, like what goldenpig says...to eat less carbo...can eat white rice but keep to a small portion....no fruit juice...cut fruits can...eat more tofu, fish etc

Fern,
Cos generally whitening products have AHA, so easiest way is to don't use whitening stuff.

I not sure abt your complexion so hard for me to give recommendation. Seemed like they have different series - basic series for cleanser & tonner and then another series for moisturisers, creams and essenses.

So far, I only used their eye creams, day and night cream (Anti-age series)and their Essences. I quite like it.

vereneting,
din know Mt E have antenal class, how to you sign up for it and how much does it cost?

Kitsune,
Does your hubby have any friends from Jc or perhaps he wana try as its only 4 sessions. 2pm, Sats, Jurong East. Students mum can pay one.

You can drop me your hp so that I can fill you more details if you are interested?

Fern

<font color="0077aa">mei,
Mm...ok
but if u do have promo on the snack cup, let me know.

JanBB,
Dun worry too much. Intake of water don't harm at all.
In fact, most juices contain high level of sugar. Oso avoid sugar cane cos i see many pple like to drink esp during hot weather. Mooncakes oso contain high sugar content.
Before gynae visit/urine test, it is oso advisable to avoid any intake of Milo or sweet desserts.</font>

Thanks, Fern. But his Chinese not as good though he was from Dunman High. I think my Chinese's better. Haha. Anyway, he teaches at VJC and we stay at Tampines so Jurong East really too far lar for him or his colleagues. You can PM me if got other suitable assignments.

Hi Icy/Goldenpig

Have chked with Biotherm counter and was recommended to use the Aquasource series. Selling $72 but the strawberrynet.com tat recommended by goldenpig is so much cheaper ! only $58.50 !

987699.jpg

Re: Food
If cut down white rice & bread, what other food can i eat?
Think yellow noodle also high carbo.

Yvonne - hope u pass ur test.

Hai, finally got appetite to eat & now cannot eat too much... so Ke Lian ;(

Re: Juices
Fruittree oranges juices (no sugar added) shld be oki rite?

JanBB,
Rice can still eat but not too much lor. If take bread then stick to wholemeal. You can take oats, it's very healthy but not everyone likes it.

Better don't take those prepacked juices...I dont believe "no sugar added" is 100% no sugar lor. If you like juices then stick to fresh fruit juice.

No choice leh, better to control our diet now rather then really kana gestational disbetes right?

Chaye,
Is this the brand that the Bioterm counter recommened for preggie use? Will take note of that. Besides the webbie that Golden Pig recommend, how abtt the Lucky plaze whole sale cosmetics and frangrance shop? Is the price comparative?

Hi Fern
Wah I din go until lucky plaza one leh. Anyway I also din ask whether is this pdt suitable for preggie or not. But shd be ok bah.. my tummy big big she can see one ma :p

Ya true, agree wif you, Yvonne. Let's REN REN REN for another 3-4 mths!!!

I tend to get hungry easily if i never eat rice for lunch.. haahaa... veri "fan tong" hor.. mayb muz switch to hor fun, mee or spaghetti this time.

me using Clarins for the longest time liao. I think theirs also natural plant extract so shud be ok. Then again, i read from pregnancy books that skincare influence on baby is VERY VERY minimal cos our skin absorb very little into blood system so shud be safe...i think. I have asked my gynae before and she said generally skincares are safe even whitening range...unless those really really poisonous type la (which i cant think of any). Personally i love the Clarins cleanser, toner and moisturiser cos it's very good for sensitive skin. Btw, Clarins having 20% sales jus for 26th and 27th sept...if u all interested can go down and browse their products. Me usually stock up on these sales.

Talking about sales...i think someone was asking if anyone got VIP card for Cloud 9 rite? Dunno who liao..but i have the members card for Cloud 9 and Spring Maternity too. So anyone interested jus let me know...maybe can pass to u all before i go HK

Oh yah...i also have a one time 15% discount for Mothercare in Marina Square outlet cos i think i bought from their clearance sale in Suntec cos they're moving to Marina Square.

Hi Girls,

For those prone to diabetes, overweight or very sedentart, it's healthier to eat food with low GI (Glycemic Index). Examples are whole grain bread, cereals, unpolished rice etc. French fries are quite high in their GI compared to baked potatoes. Can eat pasta and noodles too. Also for those who like durian, just beware cos it has a VERY high GI. Take other fruits like apples, berries, grapes cos they are of low GI. yummy too!

Basically, food with low GI releases glucose/ energy very slowly and throughout the day. High GI would mean that there will be sudden surge of glucose in your body system and your body may not cope with it.

Found this useful info from :
http://my.diabetovalens.com/nutrition/glycemic.asp

<font color="aa00aa">Glycemic Index
Beans
baked43
butter 31
navy 38
red lentils 27
split peas 32
soy 18

Cereals
All Bran 44
Cheerios 74
Corn Chex 83
Cornflakes 83

Fruit
apple 38
apricot 30
banana 62
dates 103
grapes 43
mango 55
orange 43
papaya 58
pineapple 66
strawberries 32
watermelon 72

Juices
apple 41
orange 55
pineapple 46

Milk Products
ice cream 50
milk 34
soy milk 31

Sweets
honey 58
jelly beans 80
Skittles 70</font>

Some more figures:

<font color="aa00aa">GI Value
Low < 55
Peanuts 14
Raw carrots 16
Cashew nuts 22
Kidney beans 28
Glucerna SR Powder 31
Apple 38
Strawberries 40
Milk, full fat 40
Green Peas 48

Intermediate 55-70
Brown rice 55
Whole-grain bread 59
Corn 60
Spaghetti 61
Croissant 67

High > 70
Parboiled rice 72
Mashed potato 74
Baked potato 85
Cornflakes 92
Baguette 95</font>

HI Mylife
My coll juz told me she will be passing me sample of her Clarins pdt - moisture quenching hydracare lotion. have u tried this ? It actually come in another cream form which I think is richer.
987858.jpg

Hi Yen,
Good size meh? Maybe bec hubby and I are also big size. Haha!

Mei,
If too much trouble, then don't search for the book, I'll get the book and find a shop that will help to photocopy the entire book then I mailed it to you or pass it to you. Where you work?

Hi Kitsune,
I also feel quite sian to take the Gestational Diabetics test but then again no choice since family got history. Gynae never mentioned that my sugar level is high. Actually, on the contrary, since young, I've been the one with low sugar in my blood. I was even admitted to hospital when I was younger as my body did not absorb enough sugar. Now... Sighz...

Hi eRnMum,
My gynae asked me to fast after midnight the day before the test and also no water for me from 12am onwards leh.I was quite surprised also.