(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

icy,
I can understand how you feel now. Cos, that happened to me before. I was so damn pissed off with him. However, we did come to an agreed name now. Try harder. Hehe... Btw, my hb passed the same remark as ur hb when I first suggested Dylan to him during my #1.

QQ, I vote for Averil.

Time passes so slowly for me today too. Woke up with a bad ache on my left side that extends to my back. Feel like taking MC but can't. Sigh. Took panadol in the morning and took a nap at lunch time. Luckily, feeling a bit better now.

Icy
It can be a headache coming up with names for babies. But frankly, it is best not to ask anyone, except your hb. Cos hor, usually pple have lots of preferences, weird comments and blah blah... But when you finally name the baby when bb is borned then tell pple, no one would say not nice! Hee...
My hb chose my #1's name, so he say since #2 is boy, I have the last say. If girl then his say again. but he oso not making my job easy, cos when i ask him which one nice... he got lots of comments too.

Icy,
Most importantly mummy must like the names. Dun care abtt daddy! haha. k be frustrating.. heh
agree? ME like the name Dylan too thats why thats one of my earlier choice then. It really depends how pple pronouce it. Nvm, when your prince grows older, he can corret them and they will feel so embaraseed, corrected by a kid! haha! Press on in getting a nice name?

Re- Dialect names, I know nuts men! haha. ALl I know is I like Wong Jia En but dun like the Kar or Kay.. hahahhahaa

HI all
RE TMC, I heard my mum say in Sat papers, somebody complained that TMC has lousy service.
A woman who just delivered her bb, asked for milo and the nurses told her off. THat this is a hospital and not a hotel room service. Wow, how maddending. iF it was me, I would have complained straight to managment. Reaaly hope we wun encounter this in our hospital stay during our delivery meN!

Valencia, Kitsune, mom2nat and Fern,
I sometimes just feel my hubby is not making effort to think of the baby's name. I am doing all the brain storming and suggesting. And he act like a CEO.

I got so fedup that I asked him to give me his colleagues names and I just strike out from the list. So pissed off! :p

mom2nat,
But i also agree, it is hard to get friends opinion, my friend give me a list she thinks and somehow it lost the 'personal touch'. haha

icy, why dun u and hubby sit down and discuss the name thats what I do with my hubby yesterday ... he is oso thinking .... one day when we abt to sleep he turn to me and ask me how abt Audrey hahaha I gOt a shock cos I am abt to be in the sleeping mode ... hahah and it oso draw more closer between u n hubby.

<font color="ff0000">Beansprout Pillow</font>
<font color="0000ff">updates: My friend is getting the sample for me, and if can, will show to mummies in next week gathering...to see if ur wanna order or not...</font>

Re TMC
I delivered my #1 and ask for milo and the nurse gave me leh. And even asked me to drink slowly in case I'll puke after op. I think it all depends on which nurse u happened to bump into..

Fern, i think that nurse PMS is it ... last time I have dengue fever and was admited to hospital kekeke i watch tv till 11+ 12 hungry and i ask the nurse for milo she make for me leh kekeke ... think the nurse pms!

<font color="0077aa">icy,

i agree it's really hard to come up with nice bb names. All nice ones are taken & commonly used and others either hard to pronounce or fanciful & weird. Anyway, go slow...we still have time.
Perhaps can ask yr hubby to contribute 3 or 4 names that he likes & then shortlist from there?

Of course, we must avoid any weird combination with surname. (eg, Chow Ji Wei, Monica Cheng, Wu LiJing etc...)</font>

Fern,
Re: TMC bad nurse

Did news mentioned her name? Then blacklist her lol. Hopefully none of us will ever run into her...otherwise sure complaint to TMC management. I am sure this will be a one of case!

HAHA Steph tat is funny.

My hb surname is Chan so we can never name our son Paul. If not he will Paul Chan (bankrupt). :p:p:p

chaye hahaha .... monica should Not go with Chng oso MONICA CHNG kkekeke i ever met some names call Chow Chee Wai, chow chee hong ..... and the next thing i know they change name ... cos my job handle lotsa data ... so when they looking for old data they will have to let us kw his previous name ....

Icy
Hahah... you ask your hb to give you a list of names he thinks nice, then you strike off lor.
For our #1, we shortlisted Nathalie, Sarah and Emma. I know hb prefer the first name, then coincidentally the midwife who delivered for me is called Nathalie, so we name our girl Nathalie oso lor.

hehe...ya lor naming correctly is very important
otherwise pple will laugh at our weird names...i got a secondary school frd name "Zheng MeiLi"...she is always being teased by all male classmates. She is not what the name supposed to mean lol.

Steph,

Lee Jia Sheng... Does it sounds nice? I also scare that if the name not nice when he go sch classmates will make fun of him!

Finally can come in liao...

Hi all, I am new mum-to-be, EDD: 5 Jan 2008, Gender: ger ger, Child #1, Gynae: Dr SF Loh, KKH TPS.

QQ & Steph,
I told my hb to think of names.. and he just said he depends on the "ling gan".. cannot just like that think.. he says waiting for the name to suddenly "pop up" in his head....... I give up. :p

angelsky,
I eat hotdogs and ham but not tuna becos of the high mercury content.

Wa, have not been able to access forum since yesterday afternoon. :/

Icy, my hubby also like that. Worse, he compares BB's names with his students' names, not just colleagues. So, if he doesn't like this student, BB cannot have the same name. :p Oh ya, what do you all think of the chinese name Zhang Qihui? Thinking of using this name if my BB is confirmed a gal. Going for detailed scan at 2:30pm. Finally, can confirm gender soon.

Hi Lynn,

me still in town but cant always access to internet as busy with work...by the time reach hm, will be too tired to switch on the pc to read...so occasionally will miss a few days of posting :p then gt a hard time catching up :~

good, that means I can make some sandwiches
. my parents and hubby out of town, so I need to eat on my own, but lazy to be eating out all the time. I ate tuna sandwich le. O, better stop.

re: the dinner, I cant join us gals, still got MS.

Dear All...

My #1 Girl name We name her as Lynn Surname Tan = Lynn Tan = 0 ... sound funny to others but to me n my hubby we find it ok. N her chinese name is Tan Si Yi; ppl also make fun as (Dead Fish - ShiYu)

Dear All...

My #1 Girl name We name her as Lynn Surname Tan = Lynn Tan = 0 ... sound funny to others but to me n my hubby we find it ok. N her chinese name is Tan Si Yi; ppl also make fun as (Dead Fish - ShiYu)

Anglesky,

Avoid taking too much tuna as they may contain mecury.... Hotdogs also sun eat too much! i read from one of the website. Can't remember which website i went to already! Eat at moderate amount should be fine!

Finally the website is up n running again after so long... wat happened huh?

Angelsky
I'm still eating ham, hotdogs and tuna. those Ayam brand tuna I mean. These canned tuna got mercury or not ?

Can we eat kimchi huh ?

Actually, no matter what you name your child, there are bound to have ppl out there, calling them names. So, no point bothering over it. So long both u and ur hb i.e the parents are comfortable with it. That is most impt. Those who like to call names, I name the person as empty vessel then. Cos they cant even show a little respect to others.

Angelsky,
I attended the antenatal class...the dietitian said brown tuna is safe, but not the white tuna. Those Ayam brand's tuna is brown tuna...

chaye,
Moderation is still the key word. If my memory nv fail me, canned tuan not as bad. Btw, kimchi got presevative. So, can eat but not too much.

I have "The Complete Book of Baby Names" with me now so can give you gals the meaning if necessary. I find it more detailed than the websites like babynames etc.

QQ,
I like Andrea. It means courageous and strong. Good meaning also.

Chaye,
I prefer Tate. It means a cheerful man, one who brings happiness to others.
How about Tristan, Trevor or Terence?
LOL@Paul Chan, you're hilarious leh, gal.

eRnMum,
So you got the white compact casing type? The blusher there not bad also. =)

Jacelyn,
I prefer Javen. It means man from Greece, Noah's grandson in the Bible.
I also like Jaythan or Jathan.

Luvv,
Baby Kingdom has all sorts of detergents, nappy liners, even infant clothings.
It's expensive to get babysitter hor. As both hubby and I are working, we're considering putting overnight so will not be so "xiong". Now I feel I can bear with it but hubby seems quite "xin tong" not to bring baby home.

Hammies,
I totally agreed! Girls' name seemed so much easier and more nicer names hor? =p

Hi MTBs,
Hope you don't mind polling again as we have new names.

1) Ian - means "God is Gracious."
2) Ethan - means "Firm & Steadfast."
3) Lucas - means "A man from Lucania."
4) Julian - means "The child of Love."

Hubby's surname is Ng.

<font color="0077aa">chaye,

my hubby surname is "TANG" (Soup) / oso very difficult in choosing bb chinese names. We even joke abt it by naming our bb "Tang HuiSian...meaning soup salty" or "Tang MeiFeng aka BeenHoon soup" or Mee Pok Tang!!!kekeke

<font color="ff0000">QQ,
how to attach chinese character?</font>

Steph,

Thanks. I also told my friends and family about the names, quite a few commented that the name "Lucas" is like a naughty boy name. Coz most of the Lucases they knew are bratty and naughty, super hyper..

Steph
HAHA u r funny leh. I keep laughing after reading your posts. Lucky no one is ard if not they think I'm siao ! HAHA

Violetlce
Yes u r rite. Tate means cheerful. But then again we intend to put surname in front and that would be Chan Tate. Sounds a bit weired rite ? hahaha. it will become malay word "chantek" not a bad meaning tho. Same goes for someone who suggested Ted. Chan Ted also sounds weird lor...
In actual fact, I also like this name Tristan but I think there is no meaning to this name leh. can you help me to chk the meaning in the book pls ?

From my book:

Tristan - means "A sorrowful man; in Authurian legend, a knight of the round table."

Can have different spellings like:
- Trystan
- Tris
- Tristam,
- Tristen
- Tristian
- Tristin
- Triston
- Tristram
- Tristyn
- Triste

The meaning of the name Tristan is Tumult

The origin of the name Tristan is Celtic/Gaelic

Alternate spellings include: Tristen, Tristin

Info on this name: The spelling of Tristan was probably affected by French word "triste" meaning "sad," after the story of Tristan and Isolde, a doomed romance. "Tristan und Isolde," opera by Wagner

From: http://www.babycenter.com/baby-name-finder?gender=MALE&origin=&startsWith=t&endsWith=n&numberOfSyllables=2&simplesearch=false&search=true&x=39&y=13

Tristan French an Arthurian hero

Tristan means Bold, Scottish

Violetlce

thk you so much for the info !!! But Tristan means sorrowful leh... I rather take Tate for cheerful rite... If not I will opt for Ted or Tedrick or Theodore all meaning divine gift or God's gift !

Chan Tedrick
Chan Theodore
Chan Ted
Chan Tate