(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Icy, Fern and Nexyanne,
I quit my job after wedding about 2.5yrs ago, as hubby was posted to HK in 2005 and I tagged along. Then this year, he's posted to Beijing. So am staying at serviced apt too, hehe.

When we went to HK, we kept our house in Tampines coz we were flying back very often. But realized it was a chore to maintain the place, and luckily found a tenant who's very cleanliness conscious, so rented out our place when we went to Beijing. So whenever we come back (which is pretty often), we would stay at my parent's place. Especially so when hubby's overseas.

Lucky I did not pick up jobs offered in HK and in Beijing by my ex-company. Else I would not have the time to travel with hubby (pre-preg) and rest (preg)!

I also find time crawls (especially when I am in Singapore). Not so in HK or Beijing though, coz we stay in central locations so hubby comes back for lunch and dinner everyday :D

JanBB,
dunno if it's a 3D scan... did not realize it's on the high high$$$ side until I read the forum... I just said, ok, just pay lor... scan's in mid Sept... if it really is 3D, will let you know! :p

Hi Nexyanne,
I prefer the name Kaelyn.

Re: Weight Gain
Till now, i only gain about 3kg as i am in 21 wks and my tummy not very big.... until now nobody give up their seats to me....

Re: Constipation
whenever I feel difficult to oome out, I will drink kiwi fruit juice or milk....its help me alot...

Kai li,

I am same as you. gained about 1.5kg.. going into 20 weeks now. yesterday i went to spring maternity.. all the tops are too big for me still. Pants wise i bought XS but a bit loose

<font color="0077aa">Kai Li & jennifera,

Wah u all so small size, petite ah? i've gained 2.5kg so far, now at 20weeks. I used to wear 'S' size clothing but for bottoms, i've to move on to 'M' liao...coz waist, tummy & butt expand. However for maternity wear, i can still wear 'free size' or 'S' cuttings

Hey, i liked the Sping Materinity 3/4 cotton maternity pants (comes in white/blue/black & brown color) at $39.90per piece. very comfortable & snug mid waist suppoting our expanded tummy! Did u tried?</font>

oh steph 10 sept oso quite fast will be next monday heehee ..... shall update u all after my scan ... gonna take leave tmr cos i wanna go watch a movie b4 i go for scan

Superbee ya man i am keeping it for my #2 hahaha ... if successfully natural birth on jan i am gonna try for another one after tat hahaha
if c section have to wait liao loh

steph, i bot the same 3/4 pants from Spring Maternity. Mine is brown colour. Indeed its very comfy. Its my favourite pants... hehe....

I feel so embarrassed and sad after reading about all your weight gain cos I have put on so much weight compared to all of you... I did not lose any weight in the 1st trimester thus its all the way upscale for me...

steph i am gonna watch rush hr 3 cos now only one day one time slot and is at 1240pm loh so no choice hahaha ....

881 maybe i wait till vcd come out bah keke ... or maybe will watch shall see have time anot

I've been away and I can't keep up with all the posts!!! So many....

Nyway, I went for the detailed scan last week at TMC and I'm so glad that everything is ok. I'm having a boi-boi!!! We were quite lucky that baby was cooperative and the scan was done in 25mins (which was faster than the wait). The sonographer took about 6x2 pics of each area for the report. Baby was so cute when he had his hands waving in the air... hehe.

I have gained more weight than most of u... 4kgs!! My gynae said that this is the growth spurt time, so do expect to gain 2-3kgs per month in the following months to come. My tummy ain't that big yet tho, no one has offered any seats to me too...

I'm also planning to be a SAHM, at least for the first 2 years.

Nexyanne,
I like the names Keira and Kayla. They were some of the names which I was considering if I was having a gal.

<font color="0077aa">hi shooting_star,

Congrats on having boi boi

Can i check if your tummy is pointed (protrude) or round?? How abt belly button, sung in or out? Can see olready? just curious

Steph,

Thanks! As my tummy ain't that big yet, it's more roundish at this stage. And my belly is still sunk in. Is there a correlation? Do u know ur baby's gender yet? Initially, we opted not to know, but later decided to find out since it's more practical and easier for planning (more like for shopping... muahahahah!). ;P

wah qq, u very ON leh... after jan, can still go for another one immediately ah? me cannot leh... i told hb that i need to take a break prob gap of 2yrs until my girl girl can walk first... ;p

btw, anyone sign up for MT A antenatal class in Oct sat 1.30-3.30pm? i just called to sign up.

qq - heard that after giving birth & when our period go back to normal, the chances to get pregnant will be much higher. u really wan another one so fast ah??

Hi mylife,

Have you take a look at the JShoppers website? They have some interesting clothes. I'll discuss with my hubby and let you know asap. Btw, do you accept PM?

Re: Baby Kicks

I've been feeling my baby's kicking or nudging every day. Normally, he's pretty active in the night to midnight. Hubby gets excited to feel his child kicking too and looks forward to night time. It's consecutively kicking/nudging from inside the tummy and about a few times at the same spot then will change position. Maybe he's shifting himself, I'm not sure but it's definitely a wonderful experience. Hope you girls will feel it too.

Hi, Hammies, Fern. Ya, taking coach is no problem lar. Only 3-4 hours, somemore I nap on the way there and on the way back so I don't mind. I do miss flying but decided to save money first since got so many expenses cos of BB.

Ya, but my ex colleague's eldest daughter is already 5 so probably an old model. But ok lar, at least don't need to buy first.

Anyone tried prenatal massage from Rustic Nirvana?? Is it good? How much?

Steph,
heard that if tummy is pointed (protrude) will be a boy & round tummy will be a gal. Is that what u heard.. heehee.. cos those aunty colleague able to guess mine correctly b4 i tell them the bb gender.. and tummy really is pointed leh .. how abt u?

shooting_star,

I think no correlated. But Mei mentioned if sung in = ger ger & if sung out = boi boi. Not sure how true...maybe gotta wait till tummy bigger then will show. For rounder or pointed tummy, i think it's a myth but still...very fun to predict/guess bb gender loh
My frd even asked me to try using my hair tie to my wedding ring & put it above my tummy, let it swings & see whether in 'circles' or 'to & fro'. If in circles = ger ger & if to and fro = boi boi.

i cannot confirm bb gender yet although gynae say most probably a Boy. I have to wait till detailed scan next Monday.

Yeah, all the more MUST do shopping if u know bb gender....do share with us on any good buys ya!

Violetice,

I'm feeling the same as u. The kicks i'm feeling is consecutive as well, then it disappears for awhile. Once it starts, it's consecutive kicking again. This happens especially after dinner. Maybe bb is appreciating the food... hehe. Started feeling some kicks around week 19.

Wow QQ! u already thinking of no. 2??!!!! i will see how no. 1 goes first.

Goldenpig, superbee & steph ... cos for my case is difficult cos I have thyroid so i scare it will become worse and my period always not regular so .... no choice loh and I wanna close factory asap hahaha thats Y ..... next yr 30 liao not young wor ... wait longer high chance in more illness .... so scare loh thats why .... try only i dun think is easy hahaha ....

JanBB,
my tummy looks roundish at this stage. Pointed is gd leh cos from behind, pple can't tell that u r pregnant...hehe
Do u have any particular cravings? So far, i don't but i do fancy spicy & hot stuff like i used to be. I love to drink soup...from double boil to stew, anything...lotus soup, peppery pig stomach etc..

hey ask u ah...is yr vehicle a black hyundi car? cos i saw a preggy women with husband at hawker centre near s'pore pools (toto) last week & i told my hubby, "could this be JanBB??", hubby say i crazy....stalking pple...haha...i say "no la, just that i notice & observe more on preggy women nowadays ma" hee

QQ,

i think if we are trying for #2 next time, we can try natural first...no need clomid. If really cannot then try clomid again. For me, i see if can handle #1 first and oso if nobody take care #1, i will stop at one. At this moment, MIL only volunteer to do confinement for me but she didn't say whether wanna take care #1 for me anot. My own mum no experience with taking care of bb & she is working full time so difficult. My MIL oso working full time so abit pai seh ask her to quit her job & look after grandchild...very fan cos dunno what to do leh.... if MIL take cares of my baby, we need to give her allowance to compensate her full time job. Errr i wonder how much shld we give? Anyone got such experience/any suggestion?

Steph,

yep, i think i've gotta wait till my tum is bigger. I have heard of the wedding ring prediction too, it's an ang moh way of predicting. My ex-colleague swears by it, I have not got round to trying it out tho. Think i should try it out for fun to see if it's true, think u can just use a piece of string instead of hair as well.

Actually my tummy looks roundish to me, but pple can't tell i'm pregnant from behind tho.

I've popped by Taka and Isetan so far... think the Isetan baby fair is still on. Basically, a lot of brands have about 15-20% off, so if u have anything to stock up, i suppose it's ok to buy now, especially the consumables. Dunno when they will have sales again... I have bought a lot of little items, but not the big items yet. The biggest item i have bought so far is the pigeon steriliser package from Taka. As for other big items, i am still foggy which brands to go for. I won't be getting any hand-me-downs, so i may as well take advantage of the sales now. Hehe.

What brands of prams are u all buying?

QQ,
Me older than u leh... Sometimes, i think i'm having kids too late as well if i plan the 2 year gap after my first one... i will be 33 by then. COz u never know if ur reproduction system will shut down. Guess if u want more kids, there's no harm trying asap! But i think i will still wait and see. hehe..

steph, hmmmm true oso loh ... i wont wanna take clomid .... again cos no good wor .... and my MIL did volunteer to look after my baby she didnt tell me but she told my sil and she told me abt it. But i will bring my baby back every day loh then bring baby back again on the next day morning .... maybe next time send to childcare cos with my in laws and nephew i a bit worried oso that my baby will be outcast by them hahaha cos is a gal mah

Hi Shooting Star,
You have the same thoughts as my hubby. When baby kicks, he will say baby's hungry or full so kicking is his way of telling Mummy to eat more or to start eating. Haha.

Hi deerdeer,
I think if got spare cash can buy the device but personally think it's not that necessary as we'll be able to feel baby's heartbeat by placing our hand on tummy.

Hi ALL MTBs,
There's a Philips' Sale on this Sat and Sun! For those who're keen to buy humidifier or baby monitors, should not missed this sale event at Toa Payoh. I will be going on Sat. Heard from my friend who's working at Philips, said the fair has better bargains than staff rates.

shooting_star,

i bought MaClaren Techno XT stroller at the Taka bb fair at $367.20 (aft less 20%). Baby's hyperstore at Kaki Bukit selling this model at less 10% only (UP $459). Do look ard first & compare prices before buying. Baby Kingdom carry more of Combi stroller/prams. Kids Mall at IMM Jurong East oso carry many brands of stroller/pram/cot & limited playpen design.

Steph,
haahaa.. not black car leh... ours is red one.. nx time u see a preggy from red car at our carpark.. u hint hint signal me.. maybe is ME..
I went to that sheng siong foodcourt on sat & saw a few preggie having b'fast there.. also thinking is it u are there too leh

deerdeer,
i agree with violetice, if i have spare cash i will buy the device... but there are so many other things to buy now.

violetice,
whereabouts is the philip's salein toa payoh? I might want to get a humidifier, as i often get sore throats and my skin is quite sensitive and dry.

Steph,
MaClaren prams seem so heavy tho. I'm looking for lighter prams but they all look so flimsy. My friend recommended the Peg-Perego Aria which is only 6kgs, fairly light for a european pram. I'm still looking around. How heavy is ur Techno XT?

Re: Cravings

Think jap food, korean food & fast food is my fav now.. Dun like noodles incl maggie mee which i used to like b4 preggie..
How abt u all?

QQ - me also 30 next yr liao.. still considering want to have a 2nd one or not.. if got a mei mei for my boy also good.. but want to have a 2-3 yr gap in bet.. by then already 33 or 34 <faint> dunno still got strength or not.. heehee

Hi Shooting Star,

Philips Electronics Singapore Pte Ltd
620A Lorong 1 Toa Payoh
Singapore 319762
65-6882 3000

Normally, the sales will be outside the factory or opposite the car park. They have built up tents.

Re: Cravings

Think jap food, korean food & fast food is my fav now.. Dun like noodles incl maggie mee which i used to like b4 preggie..
How abt u all?

i donno why after i got pregnant, i dislike japanese food. the thought of it makes me lose all appetite

but i love fast food, other than Macdonald's fries. Used to be my favourite but now I cannot take it coz I cannot stand the smell.

I am in 2nd trimester already but still like this

Hi Jennifera,

Think you don't have to worry about it. Sometimes pregnancy does affect our likings and tastebuds. As long as no morning sickness, I'm grateful enough. =) Since you can't take Macdonald's fries, maybe you can try MOS Burger fries? The smell is not so strong and it contains more potato which is also quite good for baby other than it's fried. =)

shooting_star,
my techno XT weigh ard 7.5kg. Ya i think it's heavy but very sturdy. Anyway, i don't think i will be taking that stroller out myself with bb, my hubby will be there to handle the stroller. I will use bb carrier/slings
Peg-Perego is good, i heard gd reviews from my frd too. But some design/model quite ex. Yup do shop ard & no hurry to buy cos there are just too much choices out there. Happy shopping!

Hi Steph,

I'm also tempted to buy the slings/carriers but which one is better? I have a friend who bought the sling, in the end they switched to carrier bec they don't know how to tie properly and feels that it's not that secure for baby.

JanBB thats why loh so .... young must PIA 1st hahaha old liao cannot liew kekeke

Violetice u kw what time is the philip thingy start ... feel like getting the walkie talkie

deerdeer
not worth it.. bb kicking all the time, go monthly chkup can see/hear bb also. V soon he'll be born and u wish u couldn't hear him cry sometimes. haha.

jennifera
for my #1 pregnancy, i couldn't bear the thought of fish for the entire 9 months, even tho i grew up eating 1 WHOLE fish per day. Thinking of fish in whatever form (fillet o fish, fish soup etc) would make me nauseus.
Dun worri, in Sgp there's plenty of food besides Jap & Macs fries. kekekeke

re: bb kicking
for those who can't feel bb kicking, it could b your placenta is positioned in front, ie in between bb and tummy, so bb's kicks somewhat muffled. That happened to my sis for her #2 pregnancy. She couldn't feel much movement coz placenta was absorbing all the shock.

JanBB,
Alamak...wrong guess...
hey, so many red cars at our carpark...very hard to hunt/spot leh... u park normally at 2nd floor or 1st floor? We park our vehicle at 2nd floor, mine's a grey car...hehe

Sheng Siong foodcourt bfast?? I never eat bfast at Sheng Siong during weekends wor...normally i skip bfast cos sleep late with hubby. Not healthy hor but no choice cos we sleep late on Fri/Sat nite, ard 2am plus. My eyes like panda liao

Re: Cravings / favourite food
I liked white pepper Sri Lanka Crabs!!! Yummy!!!Drool liao...