(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Fern, how nice that you've decided on a name already...me and hubby still cannot decide. Still trying to look through to short list some names... you referred to a baby book too? I think Elias has a good meaning so tts good.

Nexyanne, I like Kaelyn and Keira

Hi violetlce,
I know what you mean. I still prefer to name my baby on my own...of course I also understand that the grandparents also want to take part but i don't want to end up with a really old fashion name then cannot say no somemore...haha. So i prefer to "inform" them instead of asking them for suggestions...i very bad hor!

Anyway, my baby's name will be Brien Tan Jia Xi. Mei, can update for me. Thanks!

hehe...my hubby and I very kiasu mah. We started our "research" when we decided to try for baby and we hit the jackpot the 1st month we tried. I read through some Chinese Naming books on what to look out for, what characters to avoid, no. of strokes to match his surname, etc and we pick out characters to mix and match and decided from there. I didn't want to use any fengshui master becos they always give very weird characters for you to choose.

Yvonne
very impressing leh... the book muz b very "chim"

constipation !!!
Anyone suffering from it ?
I've got hard stool for the pass few days... Got to urge to pass motion but dun have the energy to push it out leh... so cham... I dare not push too hard if not got piles leh... hv been drinking prune juice liao. *sob sob*

I feel so toxic inside me now cos no output !

Chaye,

Dun force u r stools. Buy some prunes to eat or drink prune juice. It does helps for my case. Last few weeks i had super hard tools till my backsoide bleed for a few days!!! Alternative is to ask ur gynea for a syrup to soften ur tools...

books huh? i stand inside Popular bookstore to read lor...haha. Because just need to read on that particular surname and chinese horoscope...no need to read through the whole book lah.

Chaye,
don't push too hard leh, will have piles. If eating fruits don't help then ask your gynae for the constipation medicine lor. It's the calcium and iron supplements that are making us so heaty and constipated.

chaye,
i also leh .. but mine is i gt e urge to poo.. but i 'lun' as im searching something.. den in e end cannot 'lun' liao went to poo.. who knw cannot push out leh !! piangz all stuck .. i think i stuck in toilet for 45mins to get them out ! .. faint sial .. in e end .. i think gt tear n some bleeding on my pi gu hole.

Now learn a lesson.. NEVER 'LUN' too much ..

I dare not push too hard also. cos I'm prone to getting piles which I hate it ! I better drop by my gynae tonite to get something to help soften it ...

Cheryl
U so cute leh ! only now then u started wearing maternity ? how many weeks r u now ?

thanks violetice...
we added extra "l" to Adele to make it unique coz my fren told me that Adelle is a french name in addition to the meaning of Adele being Noble & Kind.. Adela is nice too...
ya, i'm very tempted to buy those girly stuffs but so far only buy those cheap cheap stuffs esp on clothes coz bb can only wear 1-2 times so dont want to waste $... :p btw, is spring - spring maternity or something else?

qq, me very kiasu & have shortlisted to 2 names when i was abt 3mths pregnant. The 2 names are Adelle(girl) & Aden(boy). Our choice is very simple coz we wanted a name that has the first 2 characters - AD. A is my hubby's name(first character) & D is my name(first character)... So we dont have to crack our brain very hard coz dont have a lot of choices too! as for chinese name, we like the last word to be En so we just play with a few other word like Rui En, Si En & Shi En so we concluded with Shi En(Poetic Gracious - translation from yahoo babelfish). We christian so dont count strokes or use birth date to get names.

nez, i only experience kicking occassionally. for eg, last sat i was saboing my fren @ orchard road for her hen's party & bb was absolutely kuai & cooperative. today back to work & she is kicking every now & then... probably bored with stuff that i m doing @ work... ;)

chaye, i also drink prune juice every morning & it helps. other than that, drink more water,fruits & veg?

Cheryl
i am still not wearing maternity clothes. i juz keep buying bigger size dresses. I find dresses from mango, zara and gap good and airy for preggy women

Chaye
u can tell yr gynae. I oredi have contispation prob before i got preggy. She gave me this lacstose i think syrup to drink for constipation. It was quite bad in my 1st trimester, i had to drink everyday! But nowadays not so bad, i can output a little at least daily. maybe i shd buy prune juice later.

superbee
can drink prune juice everyday ? those del monte or sunsweet brand izit ? one big cup ?

last time my bro will sing tis song when he go pass motion... he will say the stool will sing "pls release me... let me go... for I .. dont love u anymore..." then down come the stool ! HAHAHAHA
this song is oldies la...

Good evening everyone,
Wow..so many post to catch up on...

<font color="119911">Re: Baby Names

Fern,
nice bb boy name 'Elias' and u thot of chinese name olreadi?

nexyanne,
i vote for Keira.

chaye,
Theo or Theodore, any special meaning behind these names? Any other shortlist choices? I am not so gd in pronounce unique names</font>

<font color="ff6000">Re: Baby kick
I can feel more of baby kicks every now & then...esp when i am not moving ard, sitting down on sofa, relax or sleeping. I'm looking forward for my detailed scan next Monday!</font>

Chaye,
haha, tats funny

For those who are reading this from home after work, please help to vote

1. Kaelyn
2. Kyla
3. Klaire
4. Kierei
5. Keira
6. Kayla

Superbee i oso want to name my baby Aden if is a boy heheehee ..... gynae say is gal so Aden name have to be shelved ...... well shall wait for detail scan see is it gal muahhaha .... still dare not annouce to frds yet cos wait is a guy haha

Hi Yvonne,
I think all parents want to name their own children ultimately. Grandparents, of course can suggest but at the same time, they have to understand it's our turn to name our own children. My hubby very blur lor, went to ask them whether Josh or Ian is nicer and they both feel that both names are not nice. Give me names like Georgie. *Pengz*

Btw, what chinese book is that?

Hi Chaye,
Maybe you can try drinking Yakult or Cranberry Juice? I asked gynae before and he said both helps in constipation too.

Hi Cheryl,
I started wearing maternity clothes ages ago. Maybe I'm too fat. Haha!

Hi SuperBee,
Good choice of name, really. Adelle seemes sweet and endearing, totally suitable for your little princess!

violetice hahaha i think talk abt fat u cant beat me lah muahahha .... i wear ard 3 mths after i preggie

Need some advise. Anyone knows where to get strapless bra for preg woman? Saw one at Cloud9 and they were selling it for $50 plus!!!

I've not gotten any maternity clothes either. But have been window shopping for fun. So far am about 19 weeks but my tummy still very small. Am still able to fit into some of my hipster pants.

QQ,

I also wear around 3 months lor. But of course got the adjustable strap. Hee!

Wildcherry,
Spring Maternity have. Some of the MTBs here also mentioned Marks and Spencer and La Senza.

Re Maternity clothes me have not started wearing them at all..Baby dolls tops are sweet
haha. me just wore looser clothes but surprisely some of my normal tank tops can dtill fit since my tummy not very obvious but for pants matenity kind as for comfortable for me.

Steph,
So for my BB boy ELias sounds good huh accordingly to all those who commented. I shall stick by it. Havent choose chinse name yet as me not good with chinese ones. leave it to hubby but must sound nice with good meaning too lor. FOr those choosing names, go slow sure can fine nice one.

Shorty, ME also got low hamoglobin 12. not that bad accoring ti gyne.. just need take iron pills and more liver and red meat lor

Me was told at my detailed scan that me also having low placenta. WOried. any boby the same. Accoring to gyne no need worry as it will move up as pregnancy progress. So me hope everything will be fine with me and I can have a norm smooth delivery

Can I check if anybody dares do rebonding now. haha.. just checking. me really feel like doing frindge but cant so feel argz..sian

hi fern...
If it' me, I won't dare to do anything to my hair like rebonding or colouring. But some pp are pretty certain it's ok. up to individual I guess.

Fern
I rebonded my hair, I think abt 1 month ago. Frankly, in sg, a lot of "rules" can't do this and tat, can't eat blah blah... I din even know have such things when I was preg with #1. So hor, it's up to individual lor.

Hi, all...

I just came back from my Malacca trip this evening. If interested to know what I bought and ate in Malacca, visit my blog
http://anewpiggy.blogspot.com/

Catching up on so many posts.

<Nexyanne, I like Kaelyn best.

<Ah Capp, Fern, me too. Asked for hand me down but the things that my cousin and ex colleagues can pass me are limited. 1 offered to lend me breast pump, the other offered me a Moses basket (which I think may be too hot for BB cos I don't want to put her in air con room) and one gave me a baby sling carrier. I was hoping to get stroller, cot and car seat for free. But better than nothing lar.

kitsune, welcome back.

Hey, so good, someone lend u breast pump...sigh...I think this is one item I really wish I could lend from someone too...

Thanks for replying in rebonding. yah it depends on indiviual lah. But me still wun do and tahan lor. maybe buy nice clips as bo bian.. keke!

Kitsune, Wow you travel by coach to Malcca now. ME cant lei, will feel sick and crampy if seat too long in a confined area. Thats why me and hubby looking for trips to either kukup or Bintan. Good idea and any interesting stuff to do there huh?

violetice/ahcapp..

do u wan me to get anything cute from japan for your babies? Yah..me quite excited to go shopping :p Will buy pretty dresses for my princess prob from 9mths and above.

Fern...i am using Clarins...they have this Thirst Quenching Hydra Care Serum which is very very good for dehydrated skin. Of cos, u need to drink more water to complement it...but be careful not to drink too much at night or u'll suffer from water retention. :p

Icy, how's the weather in Tokyo now? And like wat Ahcapp said, which Uniqlo branch in Tokyo got babies range?

Today i went shopping at suntec. This is prob stale news but jus realised Mothercare at Suntec got a moving out sale of 50% discount for the blue/purple price tag...can pick quite a few of cute rompers and baby clothes...go gaga....there goes my resolve to NOT overbuy clothes. kekekeke

Mei...can u add me in to the bean sprout pillows as well pls? Thanks!

My life,
Wow! so envious of you can go Japan now. But you gotta take care since preggy.
For clarins, is it advisable to use that now when preggy? Musr tell the sales person that to play safe? ME always drink water at nite b4 sleep leh as thirsty and always go toilet but bo bian leh.. hahaha

Re baby clothes- Me bought mostly 3-6 months lei, and some 0-6 months. hope ok for new born hor if not wat you gals advise huh?

Fern

My Life,
Regarding the mothercare dicount at SUntec branch. Is the sale good and worth gtg huh? Any cheap stuff there like play pan, etc? When sale starts and ends? If me gtg down Fri or weekends, will it still be on? please update?

oh yes, forgot to add, me went for my detailed scan today...but my appt was at 9am...arrived at 9.08am...due to the traffic congestion along PIE/CTE...bugger...dunno if due to me being late, i was made to wait for over an hour. My appt with my gynae thereafter is to be at 1130am...but due to everything being delayed...my results only came out (i have to sit and wait to collect the results and bring it over to my gynae for explanation) at 12pm! By then, my gynae's clinic called saying cannot go liao...cos gynae got to rush off for a delivery!!!

So now i have the results, but not knowing the detailed explanation. The consultant only roughly told me everything looks normal and dats it. When i asked to confirm if it's really a girl, she jus said, "erm....probably so..." Didnt even point out to me wat 3 lines or indication of the gender to me like wat some of u experienced...

fern...clarins' products are quite safe to use cos they're renowned for using natural extracts for their skincare...so shud be ok...in any case, many mom-to-bes are also using their Huile Stretch Mark oil to rub directly on their tummy ma...

As for the Mothercare sale...i think the stuffs open for discounts are mostly baby clothes. I didnt really check other stuffs leh...cos tink becos it's a Moving Out sale...they moved out loads of their items liao. They said they will move out by end of this month (Sept) so i reckon their sales is gonna be until then bah. Have fun!

My Life,
Thanks thanks! Me shall check out this weekends. hope to get the best from the moving out sale men! Typical singaporean huh. kekeke.
WIll check on faical products too. Me also realised me got some dark circle on my eyes.. cry! wished i could use concelar, Are these safe too?
U have a great trip too!
Fern

Mylife,
Wow, when are you leaving and for how long? It is definitely a wonderful experience to go shopping at Japan but do take care of yourself. I don't mind baby clothes from Japan but scared very ma fan also. Anyway, which part of Japan are you going?

fern...from wat i understand from my gynae and others, generally, skincare on the face is safe to use when preggie. No issues. Preggie shud not = being ugly, pudgy and unattractive "huang lian poh" wat....so mommy shud also still take care of ourselves, tio boh? kekeke...

violetice...me leaving on 6sept morning flight. Wil return on 11sept...so it's gonna be a short trip...me bugged hubby for this cos we got lots of mileage to redeem...(we use Citibank Cathay Pacific card for all our purchases) plus when baby arrives, dont think we can go for any holidays (just the 2 of us) for at least 2 yrs. By then mileage would have expired liao. Noted u having a boy...do u wan me to get any cute clothes? Jus let me know r budget and i'll try to shop..if u trust my taste lah..alternatively, u can let me know roughly wat sort of clothes u wan me to look out for ie rompers, size, colours, jackets, denims, or anything lah!
Me going to Tokyo. Staying at Ikebukuro area. Planning to go Shinjuku, Ginza and Shibuya...(if i'm not dead tired)

morning gals !
I'm gg for my detailed scan today at 11am at TMC ! Hope everything is fine !

thks to all who advise me on constipation ! hmph ! managed to push out a small part of it last evening but can still feel there's more in there ! :p I'm not trying to be "er xin" here :p

Fern: Elias sounds gd! remind mi of my ex-manager, she stays at Elias Road.. we went to her place to play cards quite often last yr.

Hmm.. i tink i'll go down Mothercare to grab some stuff too..

Aiyo! how come e cordycep so exp now?? went to Eu Yan Seng yest, they selling ard $500++ e cheapest wor??!! havnt ask other medical hall yet..

Fern,
Juz dont buy too many of those clothes for NB. They outgrown really v v soon. I got many gift set for his full mth. He cant even fit in those NB clothes before his full mth. So you can image the growth rate.

Mothercare on sale ah? I love their romper!!!! Will go down n check it out later.

Good morning! I am going for my detail on this fri....

Those who going for detail scan earlier please share ur experience wor!!!

regarding new born clothes...just buy one set...cos really depend on how big your child is when he/she is born.

Also near to full month that time, can get a smarter or prettier outfit for them to wear. If you buy too big, then they wear liao also dun look nice. =)

who has gone to KKH for detailed scanning?

i will be going today. Hope they will give me lotsa pictures too.

I am a bit worried. Cant help worrying each time i go for detailed scanning =)