(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

i have something to share with everyone.
i am now 20 weeks and 4 days pregnant with my 2nd child and its a girl (my 1st is a boy).
yesterday after doing the 20 week detailed scan, we had the shock of lives

To our despair, the docs cfm that there was some abnormality of our baby's intestine (stomach bloated), her physical measurements were below the minimum-which could indicate down syndrome.

Although my risk of down syndrome form the inital blood test yielded a negative result, the risk was in the variance of 1:699 and 1:300 plus...

the docs recommended i do an amniocentesis test next wed/thurs and they had my blood extracted for a sample to test again for any trace of antibodies that may link to her bloated stomach (could be a virus she contracted thru me when i was sick recently)...

My husband and I were devaststed with the news yesterday and I have been crying since yesterday...even now I am tearing up just writing this in the forum...

I am so desperate now...we both are for a miracle to happen...since yesterday we've been making trips to places of devotion that would offer us solace and hope...

I've never prayed so hard in my life...all i wished is for my baby girl to be healthy and normal...

I'm very worried and know the risk of miscarriage is there in an amnio...but we have to take the test to determine that she is fine...

I have 2 tests to clear in order for us to have a healthy chance of her survival...the blood test result must yield a negative first, and followed by the amniocentesis test, whereby the results will come later...

i can't express in words how terrible, anxious, worried, desperate we all are right now...even both our parents are worried...
I think even if i cry rivers of blood...it can never lessen the desperation we have right now...

I felt a little hope then when I read through some of the older threads that had some mummies who had gone through the trauma and their babies came out healthy and sound...

Pls lend us your support and pray for us during this period...
and we thank you all for listening...

Hi Sugarhoc,

Hey, so sorry to hear that your news don't sound too good. I can only say, don't give up hope and continue to have faith. Pray that God will work a miracle for you. No matter what happens, just believe that God will provide. Don't be negative first. Have to think positive...take care...

violet, i like Gabriel and Tristan

Btw ladies, I'm actually feeling pretty happy from my detailed scan today. All is fine for me, so thank God. Anyway, realise that the process of this scan really makes things more interesting to be able to see in detail where is the brain, the bladder, heart, nose, lips, spine, limbs of child. The radiographer at Mt.A was quite a nice lady. She said my baby very guai, let her see all things nicely. The first thing she told me was baby was having hiccups. So funny, never knew that could happen. She said due to the amniotic fluid. Can see baby moving like hiccup indeed.

Then gender confirm really boy boy. The radiographer said my baby not shy, open leg big big can see so obvious! Then some more quite a 'poser', show the arm then she said can see the muscle inside enough for her to capture or something. Only bit that took a while to get a good scan was the nose, lips and spine. She kept asking baby to turn then she can see better. And finally that happened after a while...

So overall, pretty happy and glad that all is well. Always feels so nice to see baby....

Dear sugarchoc, so sorry to hear that. My cousin went for an amnio when expecting her no. 2, as her probability for DS was not very good. She's 36 this year. She was worried about the miscarriage probability, I think it's less than 5%. In the end, the amnio showed that her bb is normal so she is very relieved. I really hope that you will also have good news after the blood test and amnio. All the best to you and your baby!

Hi Sugarchoc,
We're all sad to hear your news and no one will be able to understand the whirl of emotions you must be feeling now. Hope you know we're all here for you. Rest assured I will pray for you and baby. I have Aunts who have given birth at 41. They also need to take the amniocentesis test. Have faith.

Hi, Mei. Missed the links just now. Thanks, at least I know how the diapers look like.
Wa, quite exp leh esp Pampers (smallest size). Hmm maybe the Ntuc near my house too small. That's why dun sell.

apologies, trista is girls' name.. guess tristan is the male version then.

re: newborn diapers
for my #1, my sis passed me 1.5packs of newborn diapers that her boy outgrew v fast coz he was born 4kg, thereafter we bought Drypers "S" size coz we thought that was the cheapest. Anyway it was a good move coz #1 pooed whenever, wherever.. sometimes he haven't poo finish we already changed him into a fresh diaper, who knows he poo sommore, even just a little bit, we will still change him again. Everyday change dunno how many diapers. So buying cheap one is good idea, wun feel so heartpain as tho throw away $$$$.
When he kena diaper rash, i changed from Mustela barrier cream to Desitin, aired his butt a bit, then few days ok liao.
Then we discovered we didn't really like Drypers coz the old design dun hv back gathers... then switched to Petpet. Even cheaper than Drypers coz they dun use Zoe Tay to endorse. kekekeke

sugarchoc
Will keep u in prayer... "All things work out for the good of those who love Him and are called according to His purpose". God is in control.

HI Sugarchoc,

Read your sharing. Understand how you feel.

Do not worry! God is good! He will will ensure that your baby girl is safe and I am sure all the futher test will be fine
God loves children you know. He will see your gal through and also pray that your and your family will be strong and supportive for you during this period.

BE strong and God will definately see you through. Take care and will be keeping you in prayers

Keep us posted and God BLess you!
Fern

Hi Sugarchoc,

It must be hard sharing this piece of news with us. But we are always here for all mums to be, be it worry, sad or happy news.

Have lots of faith in your baby gal and that everything will work out fine. Meanwhile, be strong as your baby gal needs u to be strong for her too.

We all wish u and your baby gal good health. Please take good care of yourself ok.

Many hugs!

Just back home after a lovely dinner catching up with 2 friends. I went for my detailed scan today. Everything went well and baby is growing well and healthy. N yes, I will be joining Fern and other gals to look for blue baby clothings now. *LOL* It's a boy. Very happy as my future children will be having a big bro. <- Always wanted a big bro since I was young. =)

For those who will be going for the detailed scan, you will definately enjoy the experience. I have never seen my baby in such details before. We were actually couting the no. of toes and fingers he has! hehehe.. N my baby kept on showing us his little feet even though the doc is ready to move on to his hands =P So cheeky, like his mum. Haha.. He is currently about 315g, 20weeks. So pretty healthy.

Told him to be a good baby and cooperate with the doc during the scan, and indeed the doc was able to take lots of good pics for the measurements.

Both my hubby and I are extremely happy today after our detailed scan. I am looking forward to my next checkup.

Hi Fern,

It was Dr Lim Lian Soon who did my detailed scan today. He is very good. I am really happy and glad to know that my baby is growing well and healthy. This is despite my tummy still being not very big! *LOL*

Btw, I noticed that you have already chosen your hospital. When do I need to book my hospital. The clinic has not asked me yet. Do I need to ask them or will them ask me?

Also, pardon me for asking.. will u be going for the classes at TMC (is it on how to look after baby etc) since u will be giving birth there?

Hi Mei,

can you update my data although I still have not chosen my hospital?

Nick: Ah Capp
EDD: 15 Jan 08
Gynae: Dr. Tracey Lim
Hospital: Pending
Baby: #1,

To all ladies who replied my posts earlier on...

Sorry but I was unable to logged on last night but thank you for your replies. =) I feel soo seriously back-lagged here when I log on only at nights...

I think I start to feel my baby move today. Er.. is it like something "wobbly" like a bubble moving? I felt it twice lightly during my detailed scan. It's not the doc as his hand was still while taking the pic. I can feel that the movement is from within me.

I just felt the same feeling just now. =)

If this is the feeling I should looking out for, I should be on the right track =P

sugarchoc ..... pls take care of urself and be strong ..... we will pray for u ....

capp congrats on having boy boy

Hi QQ,

Thank you. I read the table above that yours is a lovely daughter. Congratulations to you too!

Have u started shopping around for pretty things for your princess? =) Dresses, hats, shoes. All so lovely! =)

Oh yes Hammies03, I read that you went for your detailed scan today too. =)

My hubby joked that our boys will be friends in army in the future! *LOL* Anyway, like u said, as long as our little darlings are healthy, we are happy. I can't agree with u more.

I am going to attack some baby clothings this weekend. Been holding on for so long. Blue, brown, orange, brown, yellow.. here i come! *LOL*

Ah Capp,
Congrats on your baby boy! Ya, like me can start grabbing cute baby boy stuff! Many cute ones at Taka fair leh.
Yah, Me also enjoyed my detailed scan with Dr Lim Lian Soon. HE is indeed a very detailed doct which is good! Had body aches after the scan. But all is worth it! HE is always wanting to get the perfect shot for me and he really took plenty of pics for me too
My prince was cheecky too.. always turning here and there.. very active! and ya, the scan shows that he is perfectly healthy! Thank GOd. At first he showed 4 fingers and got me all paniky and finally he waved at us! Oh, so cute! Saw his little feet and small face too! Everything was just perfectly cute! cant wait to see him soon

Ya, me also feel movement already.. Much more during the scan though
Me have chosen TMC from the start, though doct hasnt asked yet.. haha
so ya. also signed up for antenatal class by Mrs WOng at TMC. hope to have a good time. YOu can check up TMC webb as all the info on the class are there. Yupz

All, My edd is 24 Jan but just heard that my hubby that from 10-13 Jan, he will be outstation. impt mtg. Haz. he is trying to postpone to dec. WOnder how if he cant. SInce my edd, 24 Jan, hopefully baby wont popped out on the days he is away men! Right girls? If not he gota fly back straight since its only at KL this time round! Really dun want go through labour alone! Am really scared of pain! Cry

AH Capp.
How come you know your bb weight. I think Dr LIm did mention to us but I forgot. Sad
But will be seeing Dr Lim TEck Chai 3 weeks time and will also get my compiled report with the scan pics. SO excited. HOpe will get all the details then

yupz.

Hi Fern,

Still awake ah? =) So your scan was done by the same Dr Lim. Oh yes, he is very detailed and I also love the fact that he is always trying to get the perfect pics for his measurements and for us to keep. Hehehe.. It's very emotional to be able to see my baby with tiny fingers and toes.

Yes, I will be doing baby fairs hop tmrw. hehehe.. =P

Thank you, I will check out on the classes at TMC webb. I wonder when do we need to get the clinic to book the hospital for us. Hmm...

Don't worry about your hubby's meeting. He will try his best to be with u when you near to your due date. I am sure his company will also understand about the situation too. U will not be facing labour alone! =)

Oh about the baby weight.. I think it was more or less a "calculated" weight after all the scan. Don't really know how is it being calculated, but Dr Lim told us while he was signing off all the measurements.

Don't worry, since we never manage to put our darlings on a weighing scale, it's still hard to determine the babies actual weight. As long as Dr Lim said that everything is fine, then there is nothing to worry about. =)

It's still amazing that my baby is as light as a pack of vegetables but yet, all the important oragns are already developed. =)

Golden Pig,
Yah.. but heard many side effects of epidural leh. How. any other methods.. keke

Ah Capp,
Yah, not feeling very tired now leh. you also not asleep or spending time with hubby? hahahaha
Ya its done by the same Dr Lim as you

Re hubby trip, they can only have in on Jan 10-13. really sian cos most delegates can only make it then. haz
SInce edd 24th Jan, very unlikely he will popp out on Jan 10-13 I hope hor?

Re HL Strawberry milk. My hubby loves that drink as has been drinking every nite without fail! haha!

ah capp
re: vegetable weight with all organs developed
yeah, dat's called a MIRACLE. kekekeke

fern
sure, what abt c-section. knock u out with GA, then when u wake up, carry on with painkillers. No pain lor.
everything also got side effect one la. U want your cake and eat it too? no free lunch in this world...

Ah Capp,

Fully agree! Baby is so small yet so well developed! Can see his cute little feet and hands esp his spine I could see very clearly. And for his bladder, dr say he was actually urining at that time when he pointed that part out to us! Thats really so unbleivable and cute!

Golden Pig,

ya lah.. just asking you since this is your second child already so more experience! My Gyne actually say that normal childbirth is still is best. he didnt recommend epidural though unless really buai ta han! C - section, I defunatley dun want cos will have to suffer after wound pain. unless choiceless. lol

sugarchoc....so sorry to hear your baby's complications. Will pray hard for u...hope everything will turn out ok...Actually me also worried upon hearing your situation...cos although i pass the triple test...my last visit, gynae did mention to me my baby's stomach a bit big.
Hope all of us here will be fine and baby healthy...

All...today i went to Cloud9 at Suntec...saw that they also carry the bean sprout pillows. They retailing at $21.90...when i ask if i buy in bulk got discounts or not...the gal said she will ask her boss...aft dat she told me her boss said if we collate min 20 orders, they will give us 15% discount ie each pillow will be about $18.60 bah....anyone interested?

Hi all MTBs here,

Im a mummy from July07 thread, sorry to intrude. I would like to let go my amenda lactaline dual breast pump which I bought for $350.00 from Baby Kingdom on 25/07/07 cos Ive stopped breastfeeding.

Condition as good as a new set cos I pumped only once a day or two for less than 3 weeks and sterilise after every usage. The 2 baby cups, 2 teats & 1 extra valve are unused. Proof of purchase, original packing and instructions manual are still available.

Selling at $250.00 & Collection at Sembawang.

Interested parties, please email me at [email protected] or sms 90938255.

sugarchoc
our prayers are with you.. dun worry so much... god will help to protect your precious one... you muz remember to take care of your health ok??? will be keeping you and family in my prayers

Sugarchoc,
Hope everything will be fine with your little girl. May god bless both of you. I had terminated my 1st pregnancy before because of problems with my baby and i understand the agony and fear that you had. Feel free to talk to us and we be there to lend our listening ear.

Good morning my dear friends...

Hi Fern,

My hb is out of town this week. Stayed up a bit late last night catching up on all previous posts =P

It's really hard to gauge our exact due date now, unless we opt for C-section. Don't worry too much now. I always believe that things will work out in the end. =) I am sure your baby will understand and try to cooperate with you and your hubby. ;)

Oh yes, I was truly amazed by the beauty of the developed spine! I think nature is truly amazing. Call me a country pumpkin, but being first time mum, everything I saw during the detailed scan is just amazing to me. =) I am soo looking forward to the day when I can kiss my little baby's tiny toes and fingers *LOL*

Hi golden pig,

Yes, totally agree with u. I still think my hubby and I are lucky that everything is going to smoothly for us and our little baby so far. =)

Ah Capp,
You are not a country bumpkin. I feel like you too being a first time MTB. Everything so well developed and really that amazing that no words can describe
Ya men, hope baby will understand that daddy have to be around on his arrival so hope he'll coperate with us. hee hee

I really am looking forwrd to kissing my baby's tiny toes and fingers too esp when I saw them so visibly during the scan
I truely am anticpating so much is arrival date.
NO matter how painful labour will be, will try my best to endure. And I know when we all see our little baby, we will find it all worth it.yupz.

sugarchoc,

Really can understand your anxiety, however, do keep a positive frame of mind for yourself and most importantly for your baby. Keeping you in our prayers.

morning ladies...wah..u all stay up so late ah? Hehe...I slept by 12plus liao.

Anyway, did anyone go to the Isetan baby fair? I just saw in the papers this morning they advertised the advent sterilizer set cost $179 leh. But this one includes warmer and a few more stuff. Haiz..i bought mine from the taka fair already. Anyone knows if the warmer thing is useful?? Like to warm the milk bottle or something...

Hammies,
Me bought a pigeon sterlizer instead at Taka fair due to many freebies. haha

BTW, since you have been down to isetan bb fair, did u see the lucky bb play pan they advert. Is it a god buy huh? TOt of getting. Quite cute

Hi mei, you left me out from the list again. Pls include my deails. thanks!

mist28
EDD: 15 Jan
Gynae: Dr Benjamin Tham
Hospital: KKH TPS
child #: 1

thanks a million!

Hi mei, sorry for the trouble... pls exclude my orders for the beansprout pillow as my fren's mum is doing for her and myself. thanks!

Hi Hammies,
From my friends who're mothers already, most claimed the warmer is pretty useless as it's not that warm anyway. They would rather use hot water and put the milk bottle in a cup as it's faster. Just imagine, baby crying for milk and warmer is slow and not warm enough. So I think I'll stick to the traditional method.

Congrats to all MTBs who had their detailed scan and know the gender.. Guessed we'll all be contributing to Singapore's economy by shopping and spending on our baby's clothes and stuffs. Haha!

Re: Baby Boy's Name Polling Results for now.

1 Lucas, 2 Ian, 2 Tristan, 1 Gabriel, 1 Ethan

Hi Jacelyn,
Javier's and Sean are names that Steph is considering. Hee!

Golden Pig,
Trisha's a gal's name but Tristan a boy's name. =)

sugarchoc,

Pray that everything will be well and it's gonna be a false alarm. You must be strong and think positively.

violet
trisha for certain is girl's name
i was talking abt Trista, which is also a girl, so means Tristan shld be boy la...? anyway i'm not too good with uncommon names.

re: warmer
i rcv'd an Avent warmer as a gift fr my SIL, it's very good to use once we discovered the correct way to use it. We used to immerse glass bottles in hot water, then every 2 mins throw away the hot water and add fresh hot water etc etc.. just to defrost/ warm up some EBM. When baby crying, everyone frantic and wants to warm up the milk ASAP. Then the warmer came along and saved our kancheong lives.
Until now my boy is already 2+ YO we're still using it. And soon the very same warmer will be used to warm up EBM for my #2. Good mileage.

<font color="0000ff">Clarins Huile Tonic</font>

<font color="0000ff">Hi mummies,</font>

<font color="0000ff">I hv 2 brand new (unopened) Clarins Huile Tonic bought at DFS to let go at S$55 each incld normal postage. PM me if you are interested</font>

948834.jpg

Just came back from check up...BB is now @ 22weeks weigh 400g and length is 25.7cm. Doctor say that i have low lying plancenta!!! However 80% of the preggies will be fine as the pregnancy advances. So now i am kind of worried as wad he told me if the stiuation is still the same i might need to go for c-section!!

Seems like many of you had under go the detail scan, for me will be next week at NUH? Anyone here had their detail scan at NUH? Care to share your experience?