(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

HI Icy,
Better be verycareful. Me also had a fall at orchard, Wisma there as it was raining so sipplery hence also fall. Luckily, me fine cos also use kness and hands to protect the stomach. Thank GOd bb is fine

All,
Have anyone aldready signed up for any post natal massages? Any good ones to recommend me. Can i check wats the difference btw those aunties who come our house and massage us and those shops which advertise to get rid of pregg fats and for us to get rid of stretchmark for us to slim down. We only need sign up for one thing rite?
Any body done so liao? Not sure if its too early to check this now?

babe,
as mentioned in previous posts, I will only show mummies who have completed info. this way list is shorter. = )

I've added u back.

Wow, seems that most of us are keen on the beansprout pillows.

If my mum knows, she will say I waste money, can do ourselves. Haha!

Superbee,
Come back and update us k? Take care!

Just came back from Isetan's baby fair today. Alamak, think not much things to buy lor and the sale is not that fantastic. Only one small corner is the sale, whereas, others maybe 20% off but mostly for toddlers and younger children, not so much for infants and newborns. Think maybe Avent milk bottles and NUK milk bottles are cheaper there coz got discount. 2 NUK milk bottles about $14 only. Avent 2 milk bottles about $12. Bought 2 rompers for baby, $12.90 each.

Kitsune,
I bought the Avent Sterilizer during Taka fair. The package includes one 330 ml and a 125 ml if I'm not mistaken.

The package at Isetan is two 125ml bottles at $12 plus. I saw one lady buying 4 sets lor.

erm... I wonder shd I put it in this forum or not... but I juz wanna let u gals know and to create some awareness...

My fren's sis age 38 who is abt 5 mths preggy with 3rd child went for some chks n relised tat her bb will be born with complications which will required the bb to under a series of operations on lungs etc.

She went to seek 2nd n 3rd opinion and all gynaes told her the same thing. so after much thots n discussion with her hb n parents, she decided to abort the bb boy. *sigh*... sad...

I'm just wondering what type of tests or chks can the gynae determine the health of the bb in our tummy ? Anybody knows ?

kitsune,
seems like u more or less shop most of things liao. just nid to get nappy liners, wet wipes, newborn diapers and u can shake legs...

mei
I duno leh. my fren dare not ask her sis for more details cos it's can be quite emotional to ask her at this stage.

Anyone here planning to get their plancenta processed? Heard that it has many benefits...Example: Cure asthma, make skin more radiant....

VioletIce, looks like Isetan don't have such a good deal for Avent bottles leh. Cos I bought 3 small ones for $17.84 at Taka yesterday, so 2 only less than $12. The medium ones (260ml) even cheaper, 3 for $16.90 only.

Mei, actually I bought wet wipes but put them on the shelf above, forgot to include in photo. I haven't bought the big items yet like cot, stroller as well. What are nappy liners? Which new born diaper brand is good ah? :p

http://anewpiggy.blogspot.com

jacelyn,

u should look at the previous threads and the pic posted of the placenta. I am sure you will not be so keen on processing it after you have seen it ;)

kitsune,
oh din notice u haven brought the big items yet. hee...dun buy too much. can ask relatives/colls/friends to sponsor.

napper liners - the liners used on nappy cloth in replacement of diaper. the Az . diaper either mamypoko or pampers. i used both on my #1. both are ok. depending on u to try. can get both to try. i think most hospitals use pampers bah.

Chaye,
From what i understand, the reason why the first detailed scan is done at around 20 weeks is to determine if there are any fetal abnormalities eg. heart problem, spinal problem, etc with the baby. This will allow the parents to decide if they want to discontinue the pregnancy before 24 weeks ie. legal abortion deadline. It may sound very cruel but some people may choose not to let their baby suffer after birth or the parents themselves may not be able to handle such a child.

Kitsune,
You're right, the Isetan fair honestly not much to buy. I didn't get the bottles. I'm considering whether to buy more Avent bottles or stock up one/two NUK bottles as they said it's recommended if you're breastfeeding.

hey ladies,
i copied this from other thread, fyi...

Average fetal length and weight chart

Week / Length (cm) / Mass (g)
20 / 25.6 cm / 300 grams
21 / 26.7 cm / 360 grams
22 / 27.8 cm / 430 grams
23 / 28.9 cm / 501 grams
24 / 30 cm / 600 grams
25 / 34.6 cm / 660 grams
26 / 35.6 cm / 760 grams
27 / 36.6 cm / 875 grams
28 / 37.6 cm / 1005 grams
29 / 38.6 cm / 1153 grams
30 / 39.9 cm / 1319 grams
31 / 41.1 cm / 1502 grams
32 / 42.4 cm / 1702 grams
33 / 43.7 cm / 1918 grams
34 / 45 cm / 2146 grams
35 / 46.2 cm / 2383 grams
36 / 47.4 cm / 2622 grams
37 / 48.6 cm / 2859 grams
38 / 49.8 cm / 3083 grams
39 / 50.7 cm / 3288 grams
40 / 51.2 cm / 3462 grams
41 / 51.7 cm / 3597 grams
42 / 51.5 cm / 3685 grams
43 / 51.3 cm / 3717 grams

kitsune & violetIce,

Looks like Isetan don't have gd deals on Avent products. In that case, i just go to Taka tomorrow to get Avent Sterilizer & milk bottles.

violetIce, which model did u bought? the iQ24 or the old model Avent sterilizer?

Steph

The Express Avent Sterilizer, not the iQ24. Initially wanted to buy the iQ24, then hubby realized the only difference between them is that iQ24 you can sterilize bottles for 24 hours but we feel that we won't need the 24 hours function lor. Moreover it only takes 6 minutes to sterilize a bottle.

chaye,
for all babies. Some baby maybe smaller or bigger +/- 5% but above are average guideline. We can use it to track our baby development/growth. Too bad, the chart didn't include mummy's avg weight gain hor...otherwise, we can oso monitor our weight gain

<Mei, oh I see. Thanks. I tried looking for newborn diapers at NTUC and Metro but didn't see any. Never mind, can buy later. Think hosp should provide for the first few days right?

VioletIce, have you been to Kaki Bukit baby stores? I want to go there and see the other items. Hope to have sponsor for big items but scared by the time, they buy for me, it's too late. Hee hee.

Dear MTBs,

Hubby and I couldn't agree on a name. Maybe you girls can help us out.
1) Chase
2) Damien
3) Ethan
4) Gabriel
5) Ian/Iain/Ean
6) Lucas
7) Tristan

If you have any good suggestions that's not from the above, we'll appreciate it nonetheless.

violetIce,

ok, will look out for the Express Avent Sterilizer. I oso saw another model, the Express II Microwave Steam Sterilizer at Taka but i don't think is gd cos microwave, not gd for baby.

hi steph
I'll b gg for detail scan on tue. shall compare it with the info u provided

Yvonne
I muz ask more qn during my detail scan tis coming tue.

Steph,

I agree that the Microwave one doesn't seemed too good. I think electric one is better. Microwave consists of current or waves, don't think it's good for baby's health.

violetIce,

You can consider these names as well, i 've posted b4 in previous thread.

For Boys:
Kaizer
Jovial
Javier
Zayhan
Athan
Darius
Serbio
Jake
Emmanuel
Amadeus
Hanson
Sean
Keithston - i like this

However, from your list, i vote for 6)Lucas

Steph, when I went to Taka sale yesterday. Avent express steriliser already sold out leh. Only left with IQ24. Where did you want to buy it from?

kitsune,

arghhh...i wanna buy from Taka but if their warehse do keep stock, i can wait for stock arrival. Otherwise
i wonder if Robinsons or Isetan selling same package anot?

The Avent lady at Baby Fair did ask me to check if Taka upstairs still has the Express steriliser but when I ask her if it's the same package offer. She said don't know so I didn't bother. Anyway, pigeon steriliser can also put Avent bottles and it's got a bigger capacity plus more freebies so I got Pigeon lor.

VioletIce, yes please update again on Tues.

<font color="ff0000">All - by the way, nowadays baby names on birth cert put dialect name, han yu pin yin or both??</font>

Hi steph

nowadays u can choose not to put hanyu pinyin or even the dialect name into the BC. But u have to write the chinese name yourself on the BC. For me I simply put in the surname, christian name & chinese character into my ger's bc.

Chaye,
Don't worry, you will get a report which states in detail all your baby's measurements and the sonographer's (person doing the ultrasound) comments plus the ultrasound pictures. During the ultrasound he/she will also tell you if everything is okay. I'm sure it's going to be fine.

Hi Steph and Chaye,

me juz kay poh around. Juz make my boy's birth cert 2 wks ago. if u do the BC at the ICA building (registry of birth), the chinese name is printed on it. The processing fee also cheaper (ard $18). If u do it in the hospital (for convenience), hv to write the chinese name urself. Processing fee also higher (ard $40 at TMC).

i tot tristan is girls' name.

i like old fashioned names like David... but too bad my hsband's cousin is called David... can't use that for #2.

steph
keithston so hard to pronounce ley... and the child has to keep spelling out his name his whole life to people who can't figure it out... needless to say the older generation will address him by chinese name liao lor.

re: abortion
it's so sad to kill the child. no matter what people think - dowan to let the child suffer, finances can't cope, parents can't cope etc etc... i still think it's cruel to terminate a pregnancy bcoz the child isn't perfect. Who is?! God doesn't make mistakes, u know. SIGH.