(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

All,
Heard bird nest is cooling. So got benefits, but also can relaspe asmatic pple lor. so gota be careful and not take too much. THats why me bought but dun dare take too much lor

icy & Fern,
Once i took the Blood bird nest, my childhood asthma relapse! So scary..i was totally breathless & had to see doctor immediately. So, from that day onwards, i dare not take blood bird nest. The white ones & instant bottled ones are okay to consume.

eRnMum,
i think my cousin tried the concentrated ones, 2 teaspoon a day.

re: food

ladies, always be careful with the foods we consume everyday especially during pregnancy. no joke if we have food poisoning. i just recovered from that few days ago. i had sharp tummy ache at midnight while i was asleep. i was rolled on the bed n tried to change my sleeping position. but it din help and in fact the pain became stronger. ended up diarrhea 5 times and throw out 2 times. that's terrible! felt dizzy for next whole day n only drank 100 plus cos whatever u eat, it will come out. even after 2nd day, still no appetite until the 3rd day then can eat a bit.. really suffered! i suspect it could be the durians i consumed. anyway, be careful about any foods.

birds nest still eeky to me.. it's birds saliva. yucky. if not for the sweet bottled type, i would stay far away from it.

besides bird nest, barley with dried bean curb and "bai guo" is good for our pregnancy. according to elder people, baby's complexion will be good if we consume a lot. it is very easy to cook!

Hi, I'm using Elancyl stretch mark cream. More affordable than Clarins cos retail price is $40+ and it's plant based so not so oily. You may want to try that. I have history of eczema on hands and legs and I use it for under bust area too, not itchy.

Hi Steph,
Re: Itchy
Ya...really scratch until like that...i also never wear bras at home...i feel that wearing bras make the breast more itchiness

<font color="0077aa">eRnMum & yummymama,

yeah i liked Fu Zu Bai Guo & Da Mai Zhou = cereal/oat & barley porridge
Sea coconut with ice jelly oso nice & Thai Red Ruby oso my favourite!</font>

wow I like fu zu bai guo yi mi leh ! but my mum say barley is cooling cannot eat too much also. Yesterday I was eating a slice of watermelon she also ask me not to eat too much. she even warn me not to touch the del monte bananas ! v v cooling one... *faint*

Bra
I hate wearing bra actually. Once I'm home I will take it out n go braless even before I'm preggy. So when neighbour come round talking I'll hold on to my couch cushion while talking to them hehehe...

Re: Red date tea
How to make hur? anyone can share? The confinement lady i've booked told me to drink at least 3 glasses a day of red date plus wolfberries tea.

nexyanne my mum told me cannot drink plain water during confinement cos will have lotsa wind .... she say drink red dates tea ... i oso dunno how to make my mum make for me last few weeks ago .... maybe ask her make for me on sun when she come my hse cos am gonna cook laksa for her heehee

hi ladies, ok, so far i also take the birds nest that my mummy boil for me..not the Brands type. THinking of eating it once a month if possible. hehe.

Steph, the baby cot is very similar. I think I got a darker colour but functionality wise about the same I think. Can go all the way down too. Are you considering that as well?

Just ate the teochew moon cake from garden pastry very nice.....

Chaye,
My MIL also told me not to eat too much watermelon and barley(Cooling), orange and sugar cane(BB will have phelgm!

QQ:
Can u help ask and let me know? Many thanks!

Jacelyn,
yah, i heard cannot drink barley, cannot take orange, even carrots!!!

wow wow wow....so many message to read... unable to finish reading.........

Anyone went to the taka baby fair?

Anyone of u can feel baby movement already?

Thanks, Steph, guessed really need to take calcium supplements. So have to continue with multi vitamin as well? Feel like a pill popper sometimes. Yucks.

Joyce,
I felt movement since wk 17. It's like a little nudge from the inside of the stomach. My baby is active at night to midnight. Gosh.

Hi Mist28,
Congratulations!

Anyone has any good names for boys??

wow...again out the whole day running errands before my relocation. Missed so many posts!

Violetice..i guess Steph has oredi helped to answer your questions on the stroller we bought. But my box said it's 7.4kg leh...not 6.5kg

Valencia...thanks for the update on the bag issue. I also headache to think of wat we need to carry when we bring baby out next time. Told hubby i wan to be stylish mummy...carry big bag of diapers also must look good...hehe

Yvonne..thanks for the ref on the bra resource. Will check out Women's Secret. Cant bring myself to wear those auntie type bra. Must still look nice to preserve dignity.

Today walk around so much, by end of the day, i felt i'm breathing like an obese person. So hard to "share" my lung's oxygen with my baby...

<Joyce, quite a lot of the MTBs went last weekend. Can check what they bought. I haven't been there yet. Can't go this weekend either cos going to Malaysia.

I also want to havve recipe for red date tea. Don't like the taste of plain water since pregnant so been taking too much cold drinks. :p

Hi Fern *BIG WAVE*

Just in case u can't see my msg.. =P Oh, we go to the same clinic! That's cool, but my gynae is Dr Tracey Lim, the lady gynae there. =) There are actually 2 male Dr Lim there. My colleague told me that one of the male Dr Lims is Dr Tracey's uncle. Anyway, my detailed scan this coming fri will be done by 1 of the male Dr Lim, but I don't know which one.

Sorry if I have missed out your previous msg, have you done your detailed scan yet? I was told that Tow Yung Clinic has a 3-D scan. I will be interested to do a 3-D scan later on in my pregnancy. How about u?

Carrot & orange..
Yes, a total of 3 aunties told me to stay away from orange, or else my baby will have lots of phlegm later on. Just when I have this crazy craving for sour stuff. =(

As for Carrot, I did remember that someone told me eating too much will make our babies yellow. So many things that I just hear and forget sometimes..

Calcium & Multi-vitmains...
Just when I though the red horrible Obimin multi-vitamins are big, the calcium tablets my gynae gave me are even BIGGER. They are of this brand called "Caltrate" with vitamin D added. White in colour, big and long! =S My colleague told me the only way to ensure they don't get stuck in my throat is to drink lots of water and "flood" the tablet in my mouth before swallowing. So far quite effective =)

Birds nest...
My MIL has been very kind to be cooking it for me. I know it's cooling, but my body belongs to those "heaty" type. I don't eat it often though.

*BIG WAVE to Fern*

Sorry, when I re-read your msg, I found that you are going to your detailed scan tomorrow! I am soooo excited for you! =) Please come back and update us about your scan ok.

Btw, when is your due date, can't locate it in the table. I have not chosen my hospital yet but will most likely go for AMH. How about u? Wonder when will the clinic ask us to choose. =P

<font color="0077aa">violetIce,

The brand of my calcium is called: CaVit-D3 imported by Merck Pte Ltd, comes in 10 x 10tablets in strips.

Re: Gd names for Boys
Do u have anything in mind..some choices so that we can poll for u?</font>

hi nexyanne,sometime i got poking feeling dunno is it baby movement.

wow violetice, u can feel since wk 17.ya i heard baby most active at midnight.

Thanks Kitsune.

Those who have went to the taka baby fair can share what u have bought and the price?

Ah Capp, so nice of yr mil, cook bird nests for u.

Hello Ah capp,
Ya men! thats so cool! same clinic. Someday might even bump to each other there.. haha

Yup, me seeing Dr Lim Teck Chai,so diff gyne, hes a nice man
hehe. Me in my nineteen weeks! EDD 24 Jan 08. Yourself?

Yah,doing my detailed scan tommorow. HOpe to see baby gender toon and that baby will be healthy and well developed too! Me do not know abtt the 3D scan ..so tommorow then I will know.. Ya men will update you once I have done my detailed scan.

Me plan to deliver at TMC. Heard good facilities there. Why dun you do there too? Wats AMH?

IS this your first child? HOw old are you? If u dun mind revealing... hahahaa

GOt MSN? Give me your email. ME can add you in... Can chat there too at times

All,
Yah, me know that Barley and bird nest, bean curd all good for baby complexion but my muummy dun allow as am asmatic since child hood so all these are NO NO for me so that wun get relapse. A bit should be fine though.. But me never except birds next once in a blue moon
haha. ME goody girl

Hi Fern,

*BIG Mexican wave*

I think I should be in my 20 weeks. My EDD is 15 Jan 07, just about 1 week before yours. Yes, my first child and I am big 30 this year. <-- Nothing to be shy about, I am going to be a mum, so age isn't that important anymore =P

Did I put AMH?? *LOL* I mean MAH (Mt Alvernia Hospital) I typed too fast! No offence again to those who have chosen TMC, but I prefer a more spacious hospital and carpark with more lots. So that's why I might choose Mt Alvernia. Mt E and Gleneagles might be beyond our budget as I was hoping to secure a 1-bedded room. I want my hb to stay over with me =)

I wish I have MSN but I can't log onto internet at work =( So sorry. My era belongs to the "IRC" period *LOL* But I do log on back to this forum every day. Just that sometimes this thread goes so fast that I don't know how to join in =)

Is this your first child too? Goosh, I have been waiting for this detailed scan for soooo long! Like u, I also want to know the gender of my baby and if he/she is doing fine. Can u feel baby movement yet? I can't feel mine yet. =( Hope he/she can show some action very soon. =)

Baby Movement

My gynae said initially will feel like got butterflies or bubbles in your tummy as baby movement... then gradually will feel the hard kicks... I did feel something bubbling in my tummy (below the navel) juz now, but feels weird

Hi Joyce,

Yes, didn't expect my MIL to cook birds nest for me. =) But I must say everyone around me has been extra nice to me ever since I am pregnant. *LOL* I am sure u will feel the same way with the people around u. =)

As to the taka baby fair, I bought the Pigeon steriliser, which I think is a good deal at $139 and comes with free gifts like milk bottles, milk bottle warmer and a newborn starter kit. Since they don't have stock now, they will deliver for free to your house after 9 Sep. A free pack of baby wipes (82 pieces) will also be given to you during the delivery.

Another thing I bought is the Tiny Love musical mobile called "light and sound". It's a musical rotating toy which you hang over the baby cot for the baby to listen to the music and see the stuff animals rotate in a cirle with lights. Supposed to strengthen the baby's neck, helps him focus etc etc. Costs me $89, but always wanted to get one. Also bought a baby toy from the same brand at about $10+.

Guess that's about it for now. Will be going back this Fri after my checkup to buy Avent milk bottles. Still can't decide on the breast pumps yet, so might on hold the purchase for now. =)

Btw, isetan also having baby fair starting this Fri (31 Aug). U can drop by to take a look to compare prices. =)

Hi nexyanne,

I am soo jealous of u to be able to feel your baby move =) I know that since this is my first child, I shouldn't expect to feel my baby move so early. I am just being impatient =P

Wow, our due date is so close! ^_^ I wonder if my gynae will adjust my due date this coming fri after my scan.

Have u done shopping for your baby yet? I just started buying a few items. A bit slow... =P

AhCapp

I also not sure it what i felt was the bubbles the gynae said, but sure felt like something bubbling... haha... really first time having this kinda feeling, so shd be correct hor?

Eh, I only bought a baby wrap... I am having hand me downs from my hubby's 2 nephews... so everything is in BLUE. Sigh. Need to pyscho my hubby to buy everything in PINK as we having girl...

hi AhCapp,
which Isetan outlets? Scotts? thanks.
hey, i oso liked the tiny love musical mobile i saw at Taka BB Fair but hubby say still early so we didn't buy it in the end. I will be making a trip to Taka again this Sat, to get Avent milk bottles as well & bath tub!

<font color="ff0000">Ladies,
Re: Jaundice, Carrots, Orange (Are they related?)
Do u know what causes Jaundice? Izit related to taking too much carrots, yellow mee, papaya etc... actually there is no scientific evidence.
http://www.medicinenet.com/jaundice/article.htm

Yes, i do heard intake of orange or juices will cause baby to develop phlegm. Is this true again?Mm...i think moderate is the key word bah!</font>

long time never come in already... hope all are well.

RE: Orange
It's my favourite fruit and I continued to eat when expecting #1.. my boy no phlegm wor... now i'm also eating it quite frequently. I asked my gynae before. He said okay...