(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

<font color="0077aa">Jurong area raining cats & dogs...

I had Kway Teow Big Prawn Soup...taste esp good during this kind of weather!
Whatz for lunch ladies?

Re: Clarins Oil & Cream

Are u ladies referring/using per pictures shown? Pls confirm.

Clarins Stretch Mark Control claims to reduce and prevent the formation of stretch marks at $78
942881.jpg

Clarins has a tonic oil to soothe the itch and tone the skin. Recommended to help new mums firm up and reduce stretch marks.
942882.jpg
the yellow bottle in the middle at $78

Thanks nexyanne, i will check with my frd if she can buy from airport terminals/duty free shops for any disc. At least it will be cheaper compare to retail.</font>

Its a NO NO to eat food which are not totally cooked!!! They conatain bacteria which might be harmful to our BB. For our BB sake refrain from eating wor!!!

Steph77
Yupz, thats the oil. Muz remember its the "Tonic" oil if u r asking yr fren to help u buy. Becoz they have 3 kinds of oil all in same bottles and pacakging. But the salesgirls will know lah :p

Re: Yoga
anyone doing prenatal yoga? or any recommendations from anyone? i thinking of doing, to build up stamina and do breathing exercises for the labour.

re: non-underwire t-shirt bra

i just bght the above from marks & spencer, they are currently having a sale, i got mine at $25 , it is so comfy and with gd support, looks nice under t-shirt too.

re: Bloom shot from studio loft

understand that someone from this thread was organizing a bp on the bloom shot, may i know if it is still on , i am interested.
thanx!

Still raining cats and dogs. Went to Century Square for teppanyaki. Yummy, finally overcome the smell of garlic. Thanks for posting the link on capella strollers.

Regarding soft boiled eggs and sashimi, I cannot resist. I started taking once past the first trimester but not very often maybe once or twice a month. For soft boiled eggs, I ask them to make it more cooked. For sashimi, I only eat from reputable Jap restaurants like Sakae.

oh gosh..i also do eat the half boiled eggs from ya kun leh...thought it's ok?

Any mums eat birds nest?? How often should one eat if want to eat? Anyone have any advise?

Dont like birds nest leh...find the Brands ones too sweet. Also not taking any other "bu ping".
Anyway, my gynae told me to take lots of protein and less sugar. My colleagues also told me protein is good becos it goes straight to the baby. As long as on balanced diet, dont think it is necessary to take other "bu ping" lah.

i just came back from my detailed scan in the morning. its a baby boy!

mei: can u pls kindly update for me. thanks!

Birds' Nest
Usually when u buy from the chinese herb stores, they advise its good to eat once a month. Eat before u sleep, the best time is ard 4am!!! haha. Not sure if tats true.
Yah the Brand's one is sweet. Shd buy and brew yrself, its much nicer.

Hi mist28
Congrats !!

Yvonne
Normally I'll buy bird nest from Hock Hua or Eu Yan Sang and double-boil it for 2 hours. Those bottled ones r v artificial n sweet I find.

<font color="0077aa">Rain finally stop...rain rain go away come again another day, little steph wan to play...kekeke

hi hammies,
the bb cot u bought look similar like below?
943090.jpg

Lucky Baby - Bellamy Baby Cot
Free 5 pcs Bedding Set $299</font>

Congrats Mist28! I'm also getting confirmation for my "boy" tomorrow...can't wait oso!

You gals so hardworking, still brew yourself. I very lazy leh...sat do housework and sun rest...no time liao. Should buy then ask my mum to brew for me.

re: raw food
I control myself for 1/2 boil eggs.. but since the japanese preggy mummies also eat sashimi here.. I also eat.. but i try not to eat those fish like tuna and swordfish that comes with high mercury content.

hammies03,
I eat birdnest once every 2 weeks. I have those raw one, which I soak over night and pluck those feathers... nearly wanna faint when I encounter those very dirty ones.. it takes like 2-3 hrs to clean it.. so it would be easier to buy those cleaner ones.

Thanks Chaye & Yvonne!

Yvonne: enjoy ur detailed scan tml!
yes, buy the bird nest and ask ur mum to brew for u... its nicer and healthier...

hi mist,
Congrats on expecting bb boy!!

I've not start taking any bird nest. My mum will use slow cooker & double-boil for me when i am into 20wks.

Hi Steph,
Re:Itchy
I also feel the itchiness on my breast but i try not to scratch them.....i remember before i pregnant, i have these kind of problem so i scratch until almost my nipple surrounding got blood and very painful...felt like a small cut along the nipple...in the end i have to go to national skin center to see doc...The doc asked me to wear those cotton bra...

Haha, I took quite a bit of bird nest during 1st 3 months but nowadays, no more bird nest cos my mum not feeling well. :p Instead I take chicken soup with dong cong cao and red dates at my mum-in-law place once a week.

Congrats! Misty.

oh ya. manage to get someone to translate what my midwife gave me in Japan. Hope this helps for the mummies here:

Preparation for breastfeeding
1. When you are in about 16th-week pregnancy onwards, clean your nipples. If you see the white dried substance around your nipples, wipe it out with olive oil rather than using too much soap.

Do not press your nipples too much with your bra.

Try not to take food additives or too much fat.

how to cook bird nest?

i have craving but really dunno how to do...soak in water...how to pluck the feathers? very obvious one issit?

mother busy with business. MIL...i pai say to ask.

actually what is meant by double boil huh?

Birds' Nest

INGREDIENTS:
2 ounces birds nest
7 to 8 tablespoons crushed rock sugar, or to taste
4 cups water
PREPARATION:
Prepare the bird's nest: soak it in cold water for several hours or overnight. Rinse well. Go over the nests and pick out any loose feathers.

Boil the bird's nests twice: Bring a pot of water to boil and simmer the bird's nests for about 5 minutes.
Again, rinse well and squeeze dry.

Place the bird's nests in the pot and add the water. Bring to a boil and simmer until the bird's nests are quite soft (up to 2 hours). Add the rock sugar, stirring to dissolve. Serve the soup hot.

eRnMum,
soak overnight, then get those pluck (something like for eyebrow plucking) then slowly tear the birdnest into strips.. every strips u see if there is any feathers, some like eyeslashes.. depending on the type u buy.. some not much.. some are horrible.

Better to soak in a white bowl.. so that U can see the fine feathers clearly.. then u can prepare another white bowl, so that when you tear a strip, u transfer to another bowl to pluck the feathers.. cleaner this way.

Then u can add paosheng and red dates and yellow rock sugar and water for taste. Boil for like 1.5-2 hrs, Xue Yan will require 30 mins more.

double boil means have those claypot then put inside another pot.. add water on outside the claypot.. then boil. :p

<font color="0077aa">Kai Li,
really ah..so serious but mine is really itchy lor esp at nite. I try not to scratch, lucky today wearing cotton bra. After shower, i noticed got tiny red dots ard breast area & the more i rub/massage/scratch, the more itchy it gets. So i just put some moisturizer & baby powder & go bra less at home, it feels better. I will monitor few days & see how...not sure if it's due to the Palmers Cocoa cos i did apply to the area.</font>

eRnMum: try to buy those bird nest that requires less picking of feathers. soak it for 1 hour. double boil means putting the bird nest in a small porcelein pot and boiling the pot in a bigger pot. so that the water in the small pot will not dry up. double boil for about 1.5hrs.

Steph,
yeap I go braless too.. with bra even more itchy after that.. Then now, i anyhow use my Clarins day cream and apply.. improve a lot. I also have a sample of Mustela Specific Support Bust Cream, also improve my rashes.

wow, thanks for all your advice. hopefully can trying boiling one of these days.

or is there any restaurant that sell? haha

i have those dried one at home...given together with a hamper when i gave birth to number one...but of cos i dun expect them to be of good quality....mayb can use it as testing...haha

Re: birdnest

has anyone of you tried Lau Hang Kar's birdnest? they have the less sugar ones and concentrated ones. Too lazy to cook myself, will prob get that after week 20

Icy,
hopefully condition improve & i will invest in Clarins tonic oil.

mist28,
The bird nest you buy normal one (White) or Blood Bird Nest? There are two types right? My mum use white ones cos the blood bird nest will cause my asthma to relapse.

eRnMum,
Don't buy & eat from restaurant, they are much expensive & not sure if bird nest of better grade anot. Buy from Lau Hang Kar's birdnest. My cousin tried it & say not bad.

ALl,
Ya men.. raining everywhere now... napping will be the best... haha

Re- Wired bra, Is it really not advisable to wear those kind now? Need get strapless non wired huh. Anywhere selling good commfy ones?

Re- Breast cream is it advisable to use it now. Any good recommeded ones? my topicrem is not meant for breast lah. though breast not itchym still good to use huh?

Re Bird's nest- me bought New moon bottled kind. Heard in first trim should not take tonics. Now should be ok huh? HOw many times ideally? Once a month good enough? chilled or warm better?

Can somebody give me capella pram website pls?

Luvv, i tried...taste ok...but i only tried the concentrated ones...2 teaspoon a day

but then i feel like having hot ones.....

as for inverted nipple, think you need a device to get it out before bf session

Steph,
Me am asmatic too when young. are you also? NOw better thats why my mum forbade me to take bird nest as too cooling. the new moon one should be fine hor? since me dun intend take so much esp durg pregg.

Steph77, the bird nest my MIL bot for me are white in colour and looks very clean... not much of visible feathers. I dun dare to buy bird nest myself cos I scare I get conned by shops. So my MIL helped me to buy.

Steph,
oh.. i try both white and blood birdnest.. Now i know why I became breathless after having the blood birdnest.. i thought I din remove the feathers clean enough.. so it can cause asthma.

Fern,
I tried Mustela Specific Support Bust Cream, I think not bad, not very oily.

Birdnest, the Fu Hua medical hall people says every 2 weeks. Cold one taste better, but i dunno if it cause me to become breathless.

re: birdnest

i took those ready made kind wor once a week .... running out gonna stock up soon .... cos my mum busy with my nephew, mil i dun wanna ask oso hahaha ... cos pai sei but my mum make me red dates tea heehee ..... appreciate that!

Re: itchy breast

i oso scratch till red dots come out now nipple quite dry .... and i go braless too at home ... and now i dun dare wear panty liners

mist congrats!

dun think me would take effort to cook birds nest, Steff, any recommended ones for pple who are asmatic but wana take bottled birds nest kind. ANy good ones out there?

re:zoo

i went twice with my husband and daughter during first trimester cos we signed up the membership. it is free entrance for a year. you will be surprised to see quite a number of pregnant ladies with their kids too!!

it's rainy season now. i think better dun go cos the road and path are slippery.