(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Cheryal,
Oh..I see.. Is NT scan like our normal monthy scan. Not very sure of different gyne opnion. Hope your oscar result will be fine

Can I check if tummy round is girl and pointed boy hor? Me hopping for a girl.. Hehe. Its round but not big enough to confirm. sad. hope by wed i will get to know my darling baby gender. keke

Hi Elmo78,
You also 3.30pm appointment huh...so we will definitely see each other there! I also very excited but heard it will take about 1 hr for them to finsh all the scans...so long hor...can sleep while they are doing it or not?? hehe...

I actually went to SGH for the Oscar test becos my gynae say it's cheaper and no need to wait at all. Really hope they won't make us wait for an hour for the detailed scan.

Re: Tests & Scans
I'm a bit confused by the NT scan, Oscar Test and Triple test. All test for the same things right? I went for the Oscar test which included:-
1) Measurement of the accummulation of fluid behind baby's neck for Down Syndrome.
2) Blood test
The results from both of these then gave me my baby's ratio/risk of having down syndrome or neural tube/Choromosome defects. The results were good so no need to do further test eg. aminocentesis, etc.

My gynae also did another blood test for me but he said it was to check for Hepatitis B, HIV, etc. So do i still need a triple test?? Very confused leh...

Yvonne,
Ya men! I am also confused abtt all these test. Mine the results of my triple blood test was good. Baby is normal and all my other results were good except hamoglobin a little low. so were to be given iron pills in my next visit. Since everything is normal, do not require, oscar or any further test. Now just waiting patienly to kknow baby gender at the detailed scan

Hi ladies, wah so much to catch up on in just one morning!!

Re:Baby Cot & Stroller
I got mine both from Baby Kingdom (i think that's the name). it's one of the 2 outlets they have at the Kaki Bukit place. As I buy these 2, so managed to bargain with the lady a bit on the prices lor. My capella stroller also 200 plus. As for the cot, the price stated there is 299 leh. Comes with mattress, beddings. But I also bought the pooh design for extra set of bedding!
So Fern, we seem to have bought something similar is it ah?

JanBB i tried unity ... they say no stocks wor ... i bought at gynae's clinic @ $40 i will try asking other unity again ....

triple test is same as oscar. Only Singapore has a fancy name for it called OSCAR. Other countries call it Triple Test. Hey, none of these tests are compulsory la. Gynae can recommend, but u dun hv to do it. Just like how some unwed mums who din even know they're pregnant, then suddenly 1 day stomachache go toilet & instd of poo, baby comes out.

The blood test that gynae says COMPULSORY is the one to chk for Hep A/B etc. Even the AIDS checking is optional, but to opt out, need to write long explanatory letter, so it's easier to just DO IT.

Fern
why some mums not taking fish oil supplements
1. save $$$
2. they already get enuf nutrients from normal food, eg eat lots of fish daily/ weekly
3. dun believe in processed items - taking from natural food source is better than pills
4. dunno abt it
5. too lazy

hi jacelyn and janbb,
I have cookie cutter for Xmas. it brand new and comes in 3 shapes in 6 sizes. let me know if u keen ok. Tks.

<font color="ff6000">woahh..seem like alot of u grab good deals at the baby kingdom & bb hypermart wor...Ai ya, i shld have pull my brakes at the Taka bb Fair...dunno izit impulse buy for the MaClaren Techno XT stroller. Any idea how much this stroller selling at bb hypermart & bb kingdom? Apart from bb cot, playpen, stroller/pram, beddings stuff...what else can we find at these two stores? Any bath tub? Sterilizer? bb clothings etc... i dun want to waste my trip there to find limited variety cos staying in Jurong..very far.</font>

Wah, so many threads since this morning?

Juz went for my detailed scan. It's confirmed a girl! heehee... now can buy pink girly stuff

Mei:
Plz update for me

The scan like golden_pig mentioned is quite boring. The gynae just wanna see all the main functions and body parts of the baby is normal and well. Eh, mine costs $230 excl gst. Think mine was exp becoz the doc and not the sonographer was doing for me? not sure oso... heart pain...

I oso did the blood test and the scan for the down syndrome at my 12 weeks. I tot the blood test was compulsory?

Now the prob is my first baby is a girl. and my hubby's bro passed all his 2 sons' stuff to us. Everything is BLUE (even the pram, clothes, watever u can think of)!!! argh. muz now convince my hubby to buy buy buy pink stuff. and to tell my MIL nicely that i dun wanna anymore hand me downs from the 2 boys

Fish Oil:
I oso taking the neuroGainPB fish oil - blue box. quite ex. my gynae charges me ard $63 for one bottle. I dun take fish tat regularly, so i juz take.

Weight Gain:
sigh, 4kg gain at 20 weeks...

violetice...i also bought a Maclaren...altho it's heavy but it's pretty good function. I am, however lookg to buy another stroller cos me gonna relocate to HK soon, so will be travelling to and fro....prob need another stroller that's lighter weight so i can manage it on my own in HK. Cos HK not so child-friendly.

Why is everyone buying non-wired bras? is it becos to breastfeed means we must prep now and not wear wired bras? Cos me still wearing leh...

Hammies,
Me also bought at Baby kingdom. THere were two cots there. Me got the one that is 320 something but top up 50 bucks for the classic pooh bedding set with bumpers. Didnt take the given bedding as not nice. Me tried bargaining too but she like tough one.. haha.. well saying that hers already whole sale price blah blah.. anyway her price quite ok liao lor. Did we get the same cot? How much did you get for pooh bear design for? Still have the given free one? if not me would complain to her if ever meet again.. hahaha. btw, how many comfortor set does baby need?

Re pram, me also got the 200 plus campella design. according to her its the latest light weight one. Me havent confirmed the colour as have yet to know baby gender. Grey if boy and pink if girl.. think she say got pink too. Wana get a cushion for baby too so more comfy. u the same huh?

She asked me get the play pan at 99 bucks with rocker. did you see it? me dun find it very nice lei. you?

When did you go? Me went yesterday. You delivered to your house already or? Mine end yr.

All,
The forum page has been hanging so often today.

FYI: I have emailed the adminstrators of the forum and was told that they are upgrading the page. So should be ok soon. Hopefully my email works!

Fern

Goldenpig
So meaning oscar test and triple tests are the same la. walao y these ppl make it so complicated ? *faint*

I went to chk out the bra extension today ! Yes it's selling at $2.90 and intend to buy one tmr ! I juz bot a tube bra from Spring over the weekend at $23.90 (member no discount liao)

mylife,
I bought the wireless bras becos more comfy. The underwire bras were okay for me util recently when i started to feel very uncomfortable even after adding the bra extensions. The underwire will cut into my stomach leh. Now i feel so much better with the wireless bras.

waaa...the fish oil you all taking so expensive ah. My gynae gave me a different brand but only cost me abt $38 for a bottle of 60 capsules.

Hi Valencia,

Thank u for your feedback on the cot. I will start looking out for one after my detailed scan this fri. =)

Hi Fern,

Noticed that u will be going to Tanglin Shopping Centre for your scan. Me too, my gynae is from stationed there. =)

Hi Valencia,

Thank u for your feedback on the cot. I will start looking out for one after my detailed scan this fri. =)

Hi Fern,

Noticed that u will be going to Tanglin Shopping Centre for your scan. Me too, my gynae is stationed there. =)

Hi Mylife,
So how you find the MacClaren? Good and sturdy? For lightweighted pram/stroller, everyone seemed to recommend Combi.

Hi MTBs,
Is everyone eating Calcium supplement? Bec gynae gave me but it's such a huge pill I have problem swallowing, in the end never eat.

violetlce,
I oso thought combi was good until I tried it out at the store. If i compare it to Capella, Capella is cheaper and more stable. Combi is a little rocky and not so smooth in movement. The staff told me strollers with the reversible function will be less stable but Capella felt quite good lor. I'm defineitely buying the Capella one in my 3rd trimester. But so many of them already bought their strollers, make me oso feel like buying now...hehe...

violetice...yah..lots of my frens who are mothers highly recommended maclaren techno XT for stroller...said it's a bit heavy, but it's sturdy and function well. From newborn all the way up to 3-4 yrs old. So we got it cos hubby can carry it no problem. Now we searching for another stroller dat is lighter weight so i can use it when i'm along with baby in HK.

yvonne...thanks for the explanation...guess i cud also use some comfy bra...when we get bigger, come to think of it, the wire will cut into our tummy hor. Where to get comfy but nice wireless bras again??

Steph...me also impulse buy i think....bought the Maclaren Techno XT from Taka Baby fair too...hehe..also bought a cot and the Medela breast pump. :p

I jus saw a very big nice with comfy shoulder strap bag to put baby's stuffs after birth....problem is, it's a Chanel, full leather and guess how much? Over 5K! *faint*

hi violetIce,

yes, i am taking Calcium+Vit.D supplement. They are small & easy to swallow but have to chew before swallowing...dunno why but i just follow box instruction...lucky it has no odour. Only find the Prenatal vitamins huge to swallow!

mylife,
You can get those bandeau bras frm Kiddy Palace @ $16.90 or Spring Maternity @ $23.90. Woman's Secret has nice looking wireless bras but costing more from $49-$69 but they are having sale now (not sure until when lah).

mylife,
Can forget abt leather bag. The bag alone is already so heavy. Imagine all the clothings, diapers, etc. I been thru it. Haha~ After I delivered my boy, the following week I got myself a super big gucci tote bag. But no way to use it as a diaper bag. Far too heavy. In the end, the bag was used for transporting my pump & milk when I was working.

Violetice, I just asked my gynae about calcium pill when I saw her last week. Mine is also huge, like a big bullet, 600mg. Asked gynae if I can stop eating cos difficult to swallow. But she said no because now BB needs calcium. If I don't take calcium pills, will take from my body so bo bian guai guai eat. You can try cutting it into 2 if it makes swallowing easier.

Hi Yvonne,
I haven't seen Capella before. One of my cousin bought Combi and it's only 4.2kg so pretty lightweighted compared to other prams. Think I'll go look at Capella too. Is it cheaper or more expensive?

Hi mylife,
Is this the one as below? How much is it? How heavy? Reversible?

Hi Steph,
Chewing? Won't it have an aftertaste? I really suck at swallowing medications. Hate it in fact. What brand is your calcium?

941766.jpg

Have anyone booked their massage ladies yet? I booked Sadiah recommended by the forum. Heard that she is fully booked for dec. That's why i book so early in advance.

nexyanne wow ur gynae sell tat to u ... kinda ex leh .....

Steph I have mailed out the fish oil to u today .... finally!!! i went to singpost to mail hehehe cos nowsday SAM cant weight the items
think i mailed out 15 bottles i still have will do a 2nd mailing to u soon heehee .....

Hi Fern,

which model of Capella stroller u bought? got pics to show?

Hi violetIce,
Capella is cheaper than Combi.

I am going off to Hong Kong tomorrow. be back on sat. chat wif u gals when I am back.

QQ:
Its the "tonic oil".. They have 3 oils.. u can juz ask the salegirl, they will know.. oh, i am using the oil, they also have the cream version..

Jenie_1979:
I juz called Sadiah last fri.. yes, she told me she booked till dec liao, but then she said she will note my number and ask me to call her next month to confirm!!!!! u mean u confirm oredi???

Jenie_1979 & nexyanne:
May I noe how much are the charges for this massage lady - Sadiah? Is she good?

Btw, there will be a Baby Fair at Isetan Scotts & katong from 31/8/07 to 23/9/07. Happy shopping!

Morning ladies...

Fern-hey..don't tell me we ran into each other there. Haha..i went to baby kingdom on Sunday noon time or so leh. U? Im not too sure which cot you got, but mine is the normal brown one that comes with the mattress and free bedding set lor. I bought extra classic pooh set too. At slight discount only I guess. Can't exactly remember the amount right now. As for stroller, I think I got the bigger one if your one got pink or grey. Coz mine only got red or blue. Found it the most functional for the price I was willing to pay. But of coz, not as lightweight lor.

Hey ladies, so massage lady must book around now already??

Nexyanne,
Initially Sadiah told me to call this month coz she said it still early but i told her i scared she fully booked. Then after thinking she asked me to send her an sms with my add and edd date. After that she sent me an sms to confirm my booking.
Mist28
This will be my first time using massage lady coz during my last pregnancy i didnt use any. I saw postings about her so i decided to try since I didnt have to sign any package with her. She told her massage will be increased to around $50 per session.
Hammies03
Actually i read that this Sadiah is fully booked in dec so i decided to call and book early. Not sure about the others.

Can i check if anyone of you have hair growth on your stomachs?? I noticed fine hair growing below my belly button...so weird right? I thought of shaving but I scared it grow back even thicker...how??

Hi nexyanne and krystle thanks .....

anyone gg PC show? hahaha ..... was thinking baby fair i havent go i wanna go pc show liao kekek .... think will go baby fair after pc show this sat ....

Yvonne think u ig it bah ..... cos if shave off maybe will grow thicker leh i oso have heehee but i hack care

Hi violetIce,
I am looking at Capella S228. No picture to show you but it's also very lightweight and cost about $218.

QQ,
you oso have huh, then i listen to you just leave it lor. i'm just scared later turned into hairy monster mah...hair growing in all the wrong places...haha.

steph77,

what prenatal vitamins are u taking? im taking Prenaforte- yellow in colour. i find it hard to swallow too but no choice.

QQ, I am same as you. have hair too but heck care

eh... r u girls "bantang" or not ah ?

my hb says wan to go to the zoo this weekend but my sis insist tat preggies shd not go zoo leh
preggies muz look at beautiful things but not animals wor... wat do u girls think?

<font face="Comic Sans MS">harlo morning(",)

Yvonne,
i oso have hair growing ard my belly button & tummy, it's getting more obvious...look more hairy than my hubby's tummy
Close one eye bah cos shaving will cos regrowth hair coarse!

QQ,
Re: fish oil - Woah 15 bottles! That's alot. Thanks

violetIce,
Re: MaClaren Techno XT - Yes, that's the model me & mylife bought from Taka BB Fair at $367.20
Basic weight: 6.5kg No reversible handle.</font>

<font color="119911">Re: ZOO
chaye, for me i not pantang...can go la but hor cannot look at Monkeys, gorilla or chimpanzee!kekeke...</font>