(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

hi verene

i looked thru babynamesworld.com... sorry i dun think i'm good with uncommon names, coz it can be anything from Hebrew to Sanskrit..

all the best in your name search!

Hi Fern,
Thanks. You're right. Guessed hubby got a companion to play with and excuses for me to let hubby bring him to toilet breaks next time. Haha!

Hi Jennifer,
Thanks. I'm in my 20 weeks now. How about you?

Hi Hammies,
Thanks. Tell me about it. Seems like our thread has quite a high percentage of boys! We're contributing to NS haha! When's your detailed scan? Pretty excited? Agreed with Kitsune that the Ikea Chest of Drawers is not bad as that's what we wanted to buy too but my mum said now pregnant cannot shift in new furniture so I guessed have to wait.

Hi Mylife,
Thanks. How was the one at Chai Chee? Is Capella recommended? Hubby likes MacClaren but seemed pretty heavy. Some MTBs recommended Combi bec it's light weighted.

Hi golden pig,
I asked the sonographer but she wasn't the talkative type so she told me to check with my own gynae better. =( Anyway, gynae was going through my triple blood test results and mentioned my placenta was low, blood a bit diluted and have more white blood cells. But he never said anything to be concerned about.

Hi Verene,
Thanks. When's your detailed scan? At which hospital?

so looking forward to my detailed scan this coming wednesday after hearing about all your scans!

Hammies, I also bought a drawer from Ikea during the recent sale, cost only $99 and is actually quite roomy and sturdy. I also helped hubby assemble it over the National Day weekend...my mom didn't say i couldn't help with the assembly, she just ask me not to do any nailing, especially on the walls...hehe...should be okay right?

Hi violetIce,

I am with Mount E. Gynae havent mentioned about the detailed scan. perhaps I will enquire with him on my next appt on 4 Sept.

hi violetIce & Verene,
Congrats on having bb boy!

violetIce,
glad u liked the Choc Swiss Roll. Good things shld never go to waste, must share...hehe

I am oso looking forward to my detailed scan on 10Sept...another 2wks to go.

Hi Verene,

If by 4 Sept is your 20 wks, then it should be your detailed scan. Moreover, it's not done by gynae but rather the X-Ray Dept by a sonographer. Think normally have to book. My gynae mentioned this 5th month detailed scan is the most crucial scan as it will enables us to know if baby is normal and whether should we carry on the pregnancy. Hubby said he thought 8th month is more important but gyane said that is just to see baby has enough weight and suchs.

Hi Yvonne,
Since there's no nailing then it's alright I think. No worries.

hammies,
i am going to Ikea Alexandra later to buy sofa bed & oso look at the chest of drawers u all mentioned...sofa bed to put in baby's room so that during confinement, my MIL come over can sleep. I wonder if Ikea Chest of Drawers (how many rows?) is colourful type or plain wood...Mm...

violet
i thought detailed scan is to see if any post natal op is needed, eg if any heart abnormalities, baby will be scheduled for op as soon as he's out.
I never thought that detailed scan is to decide whether to keep the baby. For us, if God decides there's no miscarriage, then baby is ours to safeguard.

deerdeer
#1 pregnancy u may feel movement only abt 5m+. Initial feeling is like butterflies fluttering or bubbling in abdomen. After that initial few days/ weeks, u'll feel obvious movement/ kicking.

I am having a boy....
Sianz ask my gynae about my frequent bowels and loose stools but she couldn't tell me much..dunno izzit got a long queue outside...arghhh..

Verene,
My detailed scan was performed by my gynae herself in her clinic. For my #1, it was also the same (diff gynae though). Not necessary gotta go to the hospital.

Seem like of us have already went to for the detailed scans. Mine is coming Fri, I simply can't wait. =) Once I know the gender of my dear baby, I will know if I should head for the blue tops or pink tops.. hehehe.. Like valenica, my detailed scan will be done at my gynae's clinic. No need for me to go for any hospital.

Meet up with the CL agent today. She is my colleague's mum. I have decided to engage a CL, better not to stress my mum out. She can take her time to learn to look after my baby, and at the same time, look after her own house. Think the cost of the CL over CNY will be between $2600 to $2800. Heart pain, but I just want to have a stress-free confinement like all of u here. =)

Btw, just recieved isten flyer. Isetan will be having baby fair from 31 Sep to 23 Sep. Will be dropping by to compare prices again with the Taka fair. But I bet the best bargains might be during the Isetan private sale.

Breast pumps...
Can I check if anyone of you got yourself breast pumps already? I am still trying to decide if I should go for manual or electric. Do I need to buy now?

Have you guys tried posting any reply on the WTS? I always have error when trying to ask more questions on the WTS. My coll who is also in this forum said I must be registered at least a yr before I can do post something to sell at WTS or post any questions there ! is it true ? anyone knows ? It will be ridiculous if it's true lor.

Hey ladies, so seems like some of you saw this Ikea chest of drawers..hmm..ok..may check it out again then. Went some time back before but did not really notice. I think it should be ok to move a furniture in, as long as we don't do any nailing or whatsoever right? I mean, even baby cot, also has to be fixed up. Talking about that, I decided to order my baby cot and did so this weekend! As for stroller, my hubby and I decided to get the Capella range. I agree that Combi is very light indeed, but too ex....

Violet, my detailed scan is this coming Friday! Looking forward to it!!

AhCApp, I also did not get breast pumps yet coz I really don't know what to expect in terms of having breast milk leh!! A colleague said it's best to borrow. But don't really know pp to borrow from, coz some either still using, or going to use for their own soon! haiz...

re : foetus movement

Actually I've been feeling a lot a lot of movement from my foetus eversince I'm 4 mths. And it is very frequent - day n nite. Have asked my gynae abt it and told him it's totally different from my previous one where I only able to feel some movement after 5th mth and not very frequent. He only answered me every pregnancy is different. And I sometimes feel my tummy very tensed up and it hardened very tightly. I can feel it especially so when I lie down. Gynae also cant explain why like tat.

I'm gg to seek 2nd opinion cos it's really worrying me a lot.

Ahcapp..I just realised..your detailed scan is the same day as me. Hehe...which hospital u gg to again? Mine is MAH...so you must be looking fwd to ya.

chaye...well, I guess I don't really know on this foetus movement thing. For me i experienced it around 19 weeks...and lately find that there seems to be a slight pattern in timing of movements. But don't feel tummmy tense up leh. Do update us if everything is ok if you seek second opinion ya. Don't think too much first ya...

I started to feel specific fetal movement about 2 weeks ago ie. 16 weeks. I can't feel it everyday but usually it happens after dinner when I'm sitting on the sofa or lying on bed. I don't really know how to explain...it feels like a small push from the inside of my tummy, like you are pushing against a balloon. And he usually moves at the same spot a few times before he stops. I have no experience since this is my first baby but it really feels like him moving lor.

Hi Steph,
My detailed scan is at Gleneages as my gynae's clinic. They gave me 3 big X-Ray type films with about 30 different scans and I get to keep them all. Quite surprised as heard from some MTBs here that they have about 6-8 scans max. Maybe the sonographer a bit kiasu? Hee!

Hi deerdeer,
I felt flutterings inside my tummy around 17-18 week. I guessed every MTB will varies with this but by 5th month should be able to feel slight movement. Currently, I'll feel slight movements everyday, usually at night.

Hi goldenpig,
I wasn't aware of the reasoning behind detailed scan too but that's what my gynae mentioned to hubby and me. As all MTBs, we're more or less concerned with the health of the baby so I guessed this scan is important in a way to see if baby's organs are growing well and all.

Hi Hammies,
I bet you'll be excited to go for the detailed scan. Come back and share with us, alright? Hee.

I haven't felt any fetal movement yet. Sometimes, I put my hand on my tummy and think I feel a heart beat but not sure whether it's mine or baby's. Asked hubby to try last night and he said he felt 2 kicks like "tok" "tok". Don't know whether real or not cos I didn't feel it.

<Golden pig, yes, agree, must train BB. My tv cabinet already has low drawers so bo bian.

2nd time MTBs, I'm thinking of buying a changing table that has storage space underneath. Do you think changing table is useful/necessary.

Went shopping at Metro today cos I have some vouchers. Bought 3 sets of mittens and booties. Anyone has any advice on how many sets of mittens and booties are needed? I'm planning not to let BB sleep in aircon, so still need mittens/booties?

My detailed scan is 12 Sept, still got more than 2 weeks away. Long wait. :p Booked a 3D2N holiday to Malacca on 1 Sept though. Can't wait to get away and eat good peranakan food.

Hi Hammies,

So far, the feedback is Avent is good for its manual pump and Medala for its electric one. I only heard that if u want to borrow the electric one, u just need to replace it's "wetted parts" (that is parts which is in contact with milk or parts which has hygene concern)

Oh cool, same day for our detailed scan. =) Yes, I am really looking forward to each of my checkup. I have not chosen my hospital yet. My gynae can deliver at TMC, MAH, Gleneagles and Mt E. I have yet to check out Gleneagles and Mt E, but I am quite comforty with MAH. TMC is out as I think it's too squeezy for me.

Baby movement....
I have not felt anything yet. =( I really hope that my baby can at least give me a kick or something *LOL*

I worried sometimes though. Also, I always feel that my tummy is a bit small, so I worry about my baby's growth. My gynae told me that everything is fine during my last checkup, but still can't help but worry ;)

Hi Chaye,

The rule written on the main forum page indeed mentioned that u have to either before a member before Nov 06 or be a member for more than 1 year before u can post. Sorry but don't know what's the reason why. =(

My account was started at www.singaporebrides.com before Nov 06. I "carried" the account over so I am able to post at the thread.

Oh yes Hammies,

Can I ask u where did U get your baby cot? I noticed that the price is about $399 or so about. Wondering what should I look out for when choosing a cot. ;)

Hammies,
Me also just bought my baby's cot at this Kaki Bukit hypermart at 300plus.. quite reasonable too! Also bought the classis pooh bear bedding comfortor set for baby
I love it very much. Hope baby will too! Toking abtt assembly of the cot, I understand from the lady there.. like no need nailing one lei? Think me will just go out during the assembly process lor..haha. heard mant advises on this so better play safe and listen lor.

Re Pram, Me also got the campalla latest design, with reversable handle and 200plus. aggree that combi is more ex too and me didnt really like the colours they have too! got grey and pink colour. If gal would buy pink and boy grey. yey
realised even if me get grey colour... me also can add classic pooh pram cushion cover for baby. QUite nice... haha!

Re play pan, me saw one, no know what brand. at 99.00. Quite nice too! comes with built in rocker and this hole at the bottom where baby can crawl out when older.. Not bad huh! But me didnt buy in the end lei as not sure lei. Anyone knows of nicer ones and better brand one of a play pan that can recommend, please? design and function does matters to me
ANy thing better than this lobang.. haha

Re detailed scan, Me gtg for mine this coming Wed. Hope baby will be healthy. My triple blood test result came back normal...Gyne just said that my hamoglobin 12 so a little bit low I guess. Hope to know baby's gender soon... so that can buy ny sweet pink stuff or cool blue stuff

Fern

Do your feel heaviness in your stomach? I am feeling heaviness recently. Its not exactly pain nor crampiness, but it feels like there is a lot of pressure and tension. Is it normal?

Last sat, when I driving, a car came out of now where and I had to make an emergency brake, I am worried that the jerk may have cause this. Should I be concern?

But I worry if I go to my doc, he might think I am making a big fuss for nothing.

yvonne,

i believe u are feeling fetal movements cos i have them also. i cant even bend down n put my son on the floor for his milk drinking session cos e 2nd one will push fr the womb...

kitsune,

I din buy a changing table tho i would love to. but we make do with the dining table for his baths and when finish bathing liao put a mat on the bb cot n dress him. it is a little tiring but can save some $.

angelsky,
I also feel heaviness in my tummy area.. feel as if i m 6-7 mths preggie leh haha n my cervix hurts ...

hi Fern,

Wow, u r really fast! Already bought ur baby cot and pram. I m also contemplating whether to get a cot or play pen.

Btw, I am also going for my detailed scan this coming wed at TMC. Which hospital r u going for ur scan? I am really excited too cos can't wait to confirm if my baby is a girl/boy (although my gynae says that 70% confirmed is a girl).

Seems like quite a lot of ladies have been to their detailed scan. Looks like an unforgettable experience.

Currently at 18 weeks, but I will be taking the detailed scan only on end of Sep coz hubby is outstation and we push back the date. I will be having it at Camden Medical Centre even though my gynae is at Gleneagles.

Just hope to see the development of the baby and to final confirm the gender (my gynae said the baby is a gal.).

Hi, Fern.

You are really fast. I am thinking of buying the cot and pram only when I am in 3rd trimester. Hehehe.. I am quite a lazy mum. Somemore, store room is already packed with baby stuff which is hand over by my SIL.

Hi Elmo78 & Fern,
I'm also going for my detailed scan on Wed at TMC. Maybe will bump into you gals there? My appointment is at 3.30pm on Level 4 (I think). What time are your appointments?

Angelsky,
Don't worry too much. I think it's normal becos I also feel heaviness in my tummy. But I don't feel it all the time, I guess it depends the baby's position.

Hi Krystle,

Rem me? we having the same gynae... I will be doing my detailed scan @ Camden Medical Centre next sat. Wonder they will explain everything to us on that day or need to wait for the report to send back to our gynae... Me in 20 week now.. very glad is halfway thru' the journey.. Will keep u updated once i hv done my detailed scan..

Re: Baby movement
I'm able to feel baby movement but sometime the movement is far below my abdomen at the either side.
Is it normal? Any experienced mums here to advice? Thot abt 20 weeks, baby supposed to move above abdomen? Thks.

Good morning ladies. Anyone here experienced bleeding during passing bowels? I have this experience for the past few days!!

Re: BB movement
I started to feel the fluttering movement at week 16 and now at week 20 is more obvious movements sometimes the movements is near to the belly button.

I am gng for my detailed scan later! heh, 20 weeks now. finally can confirm the gender, although the gynae said most prob a girl
update u all later!

Jacelyn,
most probably is due to intake of iron, heaty & not enuff fibre. Sometimes it could be due to piles. If u experience bleeding during passing bowels for few days, let your gynae know & they will advise u accordingly.

Re: Mustela Double Action Stretch Mark Cream

Yesterday went IMM Kids Mall & found the Mustela cream but i didn't buy cos too ex. Price at $57.00. Is this the usual price at Robinsons? Can i get it slightly cheaper somewhere else? Izit really effective for tummy, thighs & breast area? else i will stick to Palmers Cocoa which is only $23.

Hi, JanBB.

Of course I remembered you! Really eager to hear about your detail scan. Do keep me posted. But the fee for detail scan is really exp huh. I think it is more exp than other places. Camden Medical Centre looks super high-class from outside.

ah capp/ chaye
the reason for the rule is that previously WTS attracted a lot of biz users who "under-table" conduct their biz, pretending they're mums who bought too many pcs & want to sell brand new etc. Those identified as biz users who kena suspended often come back with newly registered nicks & carry on their biz. To weed out these kind of abusers, such a guideline was setup. U can still communicate to sellers via PM tho, dat's what i do for WTS & Spree section.

At the same time, the Biz & Bulk Purchase threads were setup, so that they dun need to do 'under table' biz, they just gotto PAY for advertising. Coz after all, this forum is FOC, members dun pay a single cent to enjoy the forum, why shld biz users PROFIT from it, at the expense of limited resources like bandwidth and server space?

kitsune
depends on how often u wash & how fast they dry. For me, mittens are more to prevent baby from scratching his own face, coz he doesn't hv full control over his movements yet. And as 1st time mom, i wasn't too confident abt trimming his nails. Now that i'm expert liao, i'll just be trimming his nails and maybe leave out the mittens & booties.

jacelyn i oso have blood when poo poo ... think too heaty liaoz drink more water ...

i got cravings for bee hoon leh everyday must eat hahahaha and this morning i got urge to drink cold drink bought one can of 100 plus to drink hahahaha .....

Hi Jacelyn,
Kiddy Palace has those bandeau bras with detachable straps at $16.90 each and got 10% discount if you have their membership card. Another good place is Women's Secret. They have very nice wireless bras but expensive lah...about $49-$69 but they are having sale now. I bought 2 wireless bras from them over the weekend at about $36 each ($59.90 less 40% discount). Other wireless bras that I see in departmental stores are really "aunty-looking" - big and ugly...i cannot make myself buy those lor...hehe.

oh.. so parkway group of hospitals charge more ex than TMC... kekeke. Maybe yours got extra service. Pre natal massage included? kekeke

QQ and Golden Pig,

My detail scan costs $250! Sob sob... Hope that it is worth the money and give me very detailed scanning.

Jacelyn and QQ,

I also faced the same problem of constipation. Will have some bleeding during output and the stools are hard. Asked my gynae and he advised me to drink prune juice. Haven't try yet coz dun like prunes... So I try to drink other types of juices.

Krystle,
Try Yakult or yogurt drink, it helps. During 1st tri, i gunna constipation problem & now i am okay. Juices like orange, apple, banana & papaya oso helps but moderate.

ya men, Krystle... ours is so ex... so far, think Camden charges the most as compared to the rest..

QQ & GoldenPig,
Can share what they scan & how detailed it is? Can see baby feature clearly??

Pretty excited to do this test & hope everything goes smooth smooth

Elmo,
Me intending to get both cot and play pan as cot is meant to be put permantly for baby bedtime and play plan is for maid's room in case baby takes nap or can even have play time in my spacious hall.. I mangaged to clear one row of chest of drawers for baby stuff. Everything so small and cute. Me bought both pram and cot first but asked them to only deliver in decmeber. haha. for pram, me like pink if gal it not will end up getting the gray latest model capella pram as also quuite nice, esp once we add in cushion for baby... Find classic pooh ones for baby too.. Guess if now got more energy if not when tummy gets bigger more hard liao. haha

Re: detailed scan.. yup its this wed but me not doing at TMC but Tanglin SHopping centre haha. Only gtg deliver at TMC in Jan 08. Yup

Kylstre- My store room and main room also in mess.. all hubby stuff... so gtg put up shelving and hubby gtg re pack maid room in preparation to join us end year too. many stuff to start packing. so you are not the only one!

RE Tummy, tup, me also feel heartbeat once in a while and subtle movements... But not very sure mine or baby. haha its a nice feeling though

Fern