(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Anyone planning to emplot a full time maid end of this year.. ME plan to get one. Any good and reliable amid agency to have excellant newborn care?

Steph,

I dun know if the one I got is digital.. But I know I got free bottles and food and milk warmer too.. and also... its purple color one..

Anyone knows what that is? haha

Oh, so you gtg to let baby sleep in play pan huh that comes with mattress where baby can sleep too?

DOes it mean that if I get cot for baby sleeping, I dun require a playpan? Reason being cos cot in my room and play pan in maid's room..
DOes that make sense? haha

Fern,
i think u bought the old model (not digital) with light indication when sterilizing is done. Bundle package ($139) consist of 3 big bottles, 2 small bottles, 1 warmer & 1 bottle brush.

I got a pass down baby cot from my sister. Just need to buy a good mattress & that will do. The cot will be placed at my ILs place. In my room, baby can sleep in the bassinet (playpen).

Fern,

i bought the pigeon sterilser set also
found it quite a good deal. too bad out of stock now and they're delivering in sept. Do u remember whether the bottles comes with the teats?

btw, i added you in my msn, did you see it?

Steph,

I got the rapid steam sterlizer. at 139.90. Oh no. tahts the older model... Sad. What the diff btw digital and the one I got? In wat way is digital better? How come its cheaper than the older model? If digital better, maybe I would call and see if can have it changed? Haz. do please give me feedbacks?
For me, guess I will still get cot and play pan.. Will it be a good idea if baby sleeps in cot at nite and day in play pan for a change of enviroment. haha

G Tan, WOw, so advanced now.. can see almost all baby's features.. how exciting!

Luvv,

Which pigeon sterlizer did you get? Rapid steam one or the digital one? Yah, the bundle deal quite good to me lor.
Me didnt see you in Msn. Perhaps, you give me yours, I add you in now. Am online there anyway

Fern,
not to worry. Old model u bought seem equally good. According to the sales assistant, she said that the digital model is 3in1 function, interchangeable base for boiling, warmer & sterilizer. Unlike older version, only can sterilizer. You'll need a separate warmer to warm milk bottles loh. But the plus point for the older model is that it's more versatile in terms of storage of milk bottle sizes/pumps unlike digital one, have fixed/limited position of only 5 milk bottles, other sizes or breast pumps maybe cannot fit in for sterilizing.

Fern,
not to worry. Old model u bought seem equally good. According to the sales assistant, she said that the digital model is 3in1 function, interchangeable base for boiling, warmer & sterilizer. Unlike older version, only can sterilizer. You'll need a separate warmer to warm milk bottles loh. But the plus point for the older model is that it's more versatile in terms of storage of milk bottle sizes/pumps unlike digital one, have fixed/limited position of only 5 milk bottles, other sizes or breast pumps maybe cannot fit in for sterilizing.

Fern,
not to worry. Old model u bought seem equally good. According to the sales assistant, she said that the digital model is 3in1 function, interchangeable base for boiling, warmer & sterilize. Unlike older version, only can sterilize. You'll need a separate warmer to warm milk bottles loh. But the plus point for the older model is that it's more versatile in terms of storage of milk bottle sizes/pumps unlike digital one, have fixed/limited position of only 5 milk bottles, other sizes or breast pumps maybe cannot fit in for sterilizing.

Fern,
I brought that $139 pigeon combo too. The diff bet this model & the digital one is that digital need to on 24 hrs & can sterilise few minutes faster than the one we buy. Think the model we brought is good enuff as I have checked with them after sterilising, we can leave the milk bottles in it for max 6 hrs. It also save electricity too as we "on" it only when we need it. Further the digital is more like 3in1 where we have the free food warmer which is separated.

I brought the pigeon manual pump too. Is 20% cheaper in this fair with 3 bottles to store milk. Did u buy the manual pump or electri pump? Personally find this two item veri good buy ; p

Steph,
Nice playpen u have brought... veri good buy; )

JanBB,
thanks. Have u bought the Little Prince playpen??
By the way, do u know how to delete double post? pai sey abt triple posting cos the server seem to be some problem...

Steph,
I found it in one of the shop in IMM, the display is the princess version & they got the prince version selling @ $125 too(same price). Thinking to get the prince playpen next mth cos haven tidy up the baby room & will like to buy those DIY self adhesive wallpaper (disney) to decorate bb room. Saw some in forum shopping centre but not disney one... any idea where to get them??

Not sure how to delete double post leh... me also want to know how... anyone??

Steph,
Thanks. Guessed each sterlizer has pros and cons. Glad to hear the one I bought is equally good. THe plus is that when travelling you can bring teh pprtable food and milk warmer along.ha and we can sterlize teats, and brushes too huh besides bottles.

Jan,
Ya I got the manual breast pump too.. as feel thats better compared to electric.. no need use battrey.. haha.

ALL, Me got some disney toys and also the Fisher price baby bouner. Sunndenly realised that toys made from China has lead, ect.. from the news.. Will it be safe for our babies? Hope everything is fine lor.. Any comments gals?

Fern
weekdays go Taka Fair to buy what? I dun need many things for #2.. dun go better, save $$..
the only things my boy outgrows is his pyjamas, which i can find cheaper at pasar malam & dun need to go to town.

Fern,
Dun u find electri pump scary.. i even ask the sale personnel will get electri shock or not if the milk spill out to the machine.. haahaa.. my hubby laughed after hearing that ; )
Somemore, manual pump - we can control the speed we want as we like ; p

Did anyone of u buy mittens/booties?? how many pairs will we need?? Thks.

Jan BB,

I am really interested in your Prince/princess play pan leh. DIsney one? GOt pic to see? Price also very reasonable. What are the features like huh? WHich shop in IMM? Do they also have matching prince /princess cot at a reasonable rate huh? That will be excellent!

Fern

Fern,

Here u are...

930457.jpg

Product Information

988121/988138 Little Princess/Prince Play pen

43(l) X 31(w) X 30(h)

idea for new born.

-comes with mosquito net

-Bassinet

-Carry bag

-and free mattress

comes in 2 prints - little prince or little princess.

You may refer this link.. but the show room is in the East. http://www.taime.com/index.php
Not sure they have prince/princess cot or not.. u can call & check it out.

Jan,

Yah.. kinda of! haha! Manual better can adjust to your liking mah the speed
so you got manual too?

Me also wana do up baby cot nicely.. wana make ot look nice with diy stickers on cot or perhaps can get a cot with cute animals on it.. Cant put up diy wallpaper as my rooms are all wall papered liao.

HOpe to hear from you redg play pan and cot too

Fern,
cun rem the shop name in IMM but anyway i will visit the shop again & will let u know if u interested ; )
veri hungry now...Going to makan now... chat wif u gals later ;p

Jan BB,

THats cute! I think I will wait and see my baby's gender before getting one.. Its good huh. can fold and bring around should we travel overseas too! Think baby will love it.. Hope theres no sharp edges etc...

Fern

Hey all,

Can I check with you, do you pple drink any special pregant milk during pregnancy period huh?
Me only take ovaltine, fresh milk and Meji kind as havent really got chance to ask doct on what powder is good yet.

Can someone recommend me one that is nutritious for both mummy and baby and taste good?

Re: Baby Names (boy or girl)

hammies,
my hubby olreadi thot of a chinese name for boy boy during my 1st tri. So if detailed scan next month confirmed Boy then most probably will use the chinese name liao. As for english/christian name, we have oso thot abt it but will not disclose at this moment till gender is confirmed...hee
How about you? And u all ladies??

Re: maids

Fern, I am considering to employ maid too. but i donno the costs. Anyone who has maids before- how much does it cost per month?

Re: Detailed scans
G Tan, Thanks for your reply! Sounds great.. can see the baby more clearly.

Re: Milk
Fern, I take Annum for maternity mothers. Choco flavour. But it still has the "milk powder" taste. It is recommended by my doctor coz it contains folate which is good for baby's brain and spinal development. But I heard from many people that normal milk is good enough (like HL, marigold etc)

how many months are you now?

Jan BB, I think for infants, 3 sets is enough already. but nevertheless, here's what I found on the net.
http://www.gothemilkyway.com/pregnancy_whattobuy.asp

Fern,

i didn't take any pregnancy milk cos i can't stand the milk powder smell. All pregnancy milk are nutritious bah...with DHA etc.. it only depends on individual preference..some with stronger after-taste & diff flavours (choc/vanilla). Milk powder brands like, Anmum, Enfamama & Dumex are more popular one i think.

re: manual & electric pump
bear in mind, some hands get mighty sore after using manual pump.. there are 2 breasts to pump. Repeated pumping action for abt 30mins may cause hand/ wrist ache. Not to mention backache, neckache etc
this coming from me who started off with dual electric but converted into Avent ISIS manual and bought 2 so that i can pump 2 sides at same time.

whatever it is, i still v sian to pump. Wonder if this time i can last as long as i did for #1...

Hi gALS,

Have you gals signed up for Antenal class yet?

Me managed to get a slot by Mrs Wong this Oct (Weekend slot) at Thomson Medical Centre.Heard she is good and well recommended

Any of you signed up yetZ?

Fern

Golden Pig,

Ya huh, I didnt even think of that.. SHould get Electric in the first place.. but heard manual better as heard from people..

Haha... getting two is a great idea.... Can get hubby assist in pumping one and us the other.. keke
Or best lah, let baby dirctly suck from breats.. can save much more $$.. haha

Jeniffer,

Re Maids, the salary will be abt $280-$350 depeding on the experiece they have.. I definaltely getting a experiened indo maid. YOu ? any good agents around? When you starting your scouting?

Re milk, Me tot of getting Anlene too. How abt other brands.. think I better get small tin in case hate the taste too.. haha. still prefer Meji leh.
Me now 4 months. you?

All- Check with you... newborns need be fed every 2 hours huh? then at nite too huh? then how we gtg to sleep.. Luckily me got CL and maid to assist or will go cranky men.. ha

letting baby latch is the easiest way, provided there are no problms latching on.. eg no sore/ cracked nipples. But sometimes need to express also

fern, what works for others may not work for u and your baby. u can take advice, but b prepared to be flexible & make changes to suit yourself and baby.

re: maids

I have a maid since 2006. costs depends on which country u intending to employ. Maid levy by Govt is reduced to 170 if u hv a bb. hence it is very impt to update MOM immed aft u hv e child's bcert to reduce the levy.
There are hidden costs as well... ie, how much yr maid will consume (if u dun separate their meals fr yrs), how much water she use for washing clothes etc, how much privacy u lost aft getting another "outsider" to live in with u? etc etc ...

jennifer,
Indo maid pay ard $280, filipino maids pay ard $350, den plus maid levy 170 (everymth), den plus plus plus lor .. as what mylvera mentioned above..

Fern,

I am 4 months too. same as you

i haven't start sourcing for maids yet as still haven't decided if i really want. Need to check out the costs involved first.

Golden Pig,

Ya men. hope when time comes, baby can latch easily and also the manual pump wun be too taxing for me.. Or else dun know how?

Re Prams- Can i check if a reversible handle is really that impt to look out in prams huh?

Re maids- Thanks for clarifying. Just hope to get a good and well trusted helper since staying with us full time.

Re Maids,

As my mil lives with me, she also has subsidised levy rate think 200 as she isw above 65.. means once baby is born and when I issue baby birth cert. levy will be even lower at 170 huh?

Fern,
Free mattress wont be latex cos its so ex. What I would suggest is, juz take the free one to try out. If bb able to sleep then invest. Btw, for the bath tub think I paid $20+. Find it v dangerous if w/o the anti slip thingy cos its really slippery. For me, I juz put the mat inside the tub. Price diff will be becos of the design, plastic quality, size & brand. But all serve the purpose. Depends on the mileage you wanna go. And your preference also. For me, I am the type that wanna hv the purpose, design & quality but only willing to pay a very small premium :p If I got "bigger heart", would hv gone for classic pooh. Haha... 3 yrs already and I still couldnt get over it. My boy was very FAT till 6 mths. He cannot fit in comfortablely in the free tub from the hospital that I put at my mum's place.

reversible handle
My Combi has reversible handle.. when it's set on this mode, i found it quite hard to navigate corners with the pram coz only the front wheels could swivel and now the front wheels are at the back and the back wheels in the front, so quite stiff. But plus point is that i can switch to this mode if the sun is shining directly at baby's face & i dowan to use the shade to block baby's view eg morning or evening sun

Fern
otherwise dunno how? Fall back on FM lor.. lots of mums who can't persist at bfg will fall back on FM.

lynn
found from internet
http://www.fisher-price.com/us/ms/baby-bouncer.asp

930708.jpg

Baby Bouncer Headquarters - babygear from Fisher-Price

Far from being just baby seats, babygear baby bouncers are a wonderful way to keep baby soothed and comforted when Mom needs a little "hands-free" time. Fisher-Price's selection of baby bouncers includes models designed for every need:
The Ocean Wonders Aquarium Bouncer integrates a baby bouncer with the engaging Ocean Wonders Aquarium toy.

The Cover 'n Play Bouncer contains an attached blanket and easily converts to allow baby to fall gently to sleep.

Infant-to-Toddler Rockers start off as baby bouncers but grow with baby to become enjoyable toddler seats.

This is just a sample of the baby bouncers in the Fisher-Price babygear line.
In addition to offering a playful, soothing environment, a baby bouncer is also very helpful when it's time to feed baby. And because each bouncer is compact and takes up just a small amount of floor space, they'll fit comfortably in any room of the house.

Valencia,

I am likewise like u.. Wna the best design, quality and good looks but wiilling pay a mere amt.. haha.. Ya men, wana get classis pooh comfotor set for baby men!!! haha so nice

Golden Pig,
Wow, so much to look into for prams.. me still like a reversible handle leh.. and must really get a good wheeled pram too .. headache

Ya men, if so troublesome and painful.. just stick to FM lor. wasted my breast oump and breast storage fridge men.. ha

fern,
to get a good n reliable maid is by luck. Most imptly u hv to note a few things.
1) do not be afraid to change maid if u cannot stand current one.
2) do have someone supervising the maids. u never know wat they can do behind yr back
3) watever they cook, make sure they eat as well. if they dun eat, be abit doubtful n paranoid (jz in case they add things inside)

I have changed my maid once. Thank goodness i change, else i will still be suffering now lor.

hey i think i saw this item too during the baby fair.
930722.jpg

This activity center will stimulate and entertain your baby as it introduces color, shapes, textures, animals, nature, language and music. Features 9 interactive toys to help develop important sensory and motor skills. Also has gentle rocking motion, 3-position height and 360 swivel seat.

Maid

From my past experiences and my new maid juz came in last thurs as previous maid completed her 2 yrs contract. This is what I am able to contribute:-

Agency - Personally dont think that the more reputable ones and paying higher agent fee will provide better maid. Good or bad truly depends on your luck.

Cost (quote fm my agent)
Indonesia
Fresh-$300
Experienced but not in sg (usually saudi or msia) - $310
Ex Sg - $320
(No off day require)

Philippines
Fresh-$350
Expereinced-$380
(Require at least off 1 day in a mth. No off top up $20)

Bio-data
Juz believe half of it. My 1st maid, stated 23, actual age only 17. 2nd maid stated 23, actual age 20. 3rd maid (current maid) is a widow. Agent said her hb die of an accident. Maid told me die of kidneys failure. Stated that she is ex-sg for 3.5 yrs. But she acutally worked in sg for 5 yrs and 8 months in HK. Anyway, I am of nothing to lose. Becos think her stay in HK, the soup that she made very nice. LOL~

Hi Krystle,

Tks for checking. I guess different gynae have different ideas/opinions.

Anyway, Neurogain is avilable from JB at around RM$51 per bottle i.e. around S$22 provided u go into JB

thks golden pig & steph: now i kw and understand wat a Baby Bouncer is..
dat means if we got e baby bouncer, playpen not necessary already ritz?

i got two pumps...

the medela electric pump (dual). At first it serve me really well. But after a long duration of expressing...milk decreases...cos supply is based on your usual expression ma...so it just continue to decrease. Then i bought avent manual pump...can pump much more.

i tbf for 11 months...stop at 15 months.

latch on will definitely have more milk. at work, no choice...go home make sure latch on lor.

1st month...super tough....can be rather stressful cos not enough sleep

2 months plus, headache cos baby reject milk bottle and only want breast.

10 months plus, another headache cos he dun wan formula....so slowly slowly mix both formula and breast milk....then become only formula.

Valencia,

Thanks for input on maid.

How come all the info agent give so unreliable. Age and experiece all seems vast different.. If me, I would get quite angrry over it.. Info dun seem very trusted. How come you change so many maids. Woudnt you need to pay some kind of fees?

hmm.. I plan to get a married one so that can undersatnd and love kids better
Which agent did you go..

Lynn,
Me bought the baby bouncer too.. looks quite good, Me also contemplating if a baby play pan is necessary?
Cos room quite small.
IF I get play pan, its meant for baby to nap and play.. COt will be permantly for sleeping at nites only.. Lol.

Fern,
1st maid only worked for me for 2 wks. Cannot make it. She so young, its more like I taking care of her. Every morning I gotta wake her up and I caught her telling so many lies. 2nd maid worked for me for 2 yrs and she wanna go back to continue her studies and now the 3rd one. Yeah, think married one better. Especially with kid/s. Can undersatand how a mother feel better.