(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

cheryl,

I also noticed I'm having discharge on/off. Heard that it's common during second trimester but then hubby worried it might be urinal infection. When I asked my gynae, he said just washed it off can already.

i tot it common thru out whole pregnancy? since week7 till now my discharge non stop de. not alot lah. but alway can feel

coz my not exactly thick type le, coz sometimes can be quite watery. I worried la, coz I read somewhere on line that if last trimester and you get a lot of discharge then you have to worry if its your water bag thats leaking?

Sometimes, I also get quite irritated when I walk past pple who smoke, I will hold my breath and then quickly walk past them. Sometimes, I also encounter pple who walk and they dont bother about knocking into you, especially when out shopping, I nearly got hit by this lady who swing her umbrella and another one that nearly elbow me in my stomach when she stop abruptly, when I express
, they will stare very rudely at me

Thats why eat durian during last tri, cannot eat too much, else later baby fat fat. kekeke

Hi Angelsky,

I eat almost everything now in my 12th week of preg in moderation inc durain/shashimi/laksa etc etc. DHA/EPA is indeed good for foetus brain development but better dont simply buy from shops cos certain ingredients maybe duplicated with what Doc prescribe. However, bear in mind that AA (also a kind of fish oil) is NOT good for preg ladies!!! Check all ingredient b4 taking it!!! It is better safe than SORRY.......

cheryl,

I also noticed I'm having discharge on/off. Heard that it's common during second trimester but then hubby worried it might be urinal infection. When I asked my gynae, he said just washed it off can already.

Hi qingqing,

Thanks..I am okie nw. no 1 hurt during tat accident.

Michelle,

your boy boy soooo....cute.. and his skin complexion superb gd... what brand of milk powder u feed him? can share share?

seems everyone is in holiday mood liao..
me still rushing project... haha...

cheryl,

Is it normal? I'm also not sure. Anyone who has consulted her gyane on this?

YunBB,

I also eat sunshine eggs, those that's still a bit liquid on the yolk. We can't eat that meh?

angelsky
your friend didn't retain all the 18kg for herself..

How Your Extra Weight is Used

Although it varies from Mom to Mom, this is how the extra pounds are used:

3.4kg - average baby's weight
3.2kg - extra stored nutrients like fat, protein, etc.
1.8kg - extra blood
1.8kg - extra body fluids
1kg - amniotic fluid surrounding the baby
1kg - breast enlargement
1kg - enlargement of uterus
700g - placenta

michelle, ur boy ethan is very cute & smiley!

kitsune, hee.. so coincidence, when i celebrate wedding anniversary this yr is also urs but + 2yrs hor..
seems like i have misled my blog readers coz it was all written by me.. i like to write like a story style & some frens say i very loh-soh too.. :p ur hb very talented in drawing coz all the pics are unique & nicely drawn too!!

hammies, the album title is "lullabies" from Golden Book Music. total of 15 songs with singing & another 15 for tracks only.. include songs like twinkle twinkle little star, brahm lullaby, mozart lullaby, rock-a-bye baby, amazing grace...
another tip that my fren told me was her brother read bible scriptures to the bb b4 he was born & now her brother read bible to the bb after every feeding & bb fall asleep very fast too....

jennifer, i m 17 wks now. my hb fav activity daily is to listen to bb every morning, nite & before we go to bed. u can ask ur hb put his ear & move around your tummy to spot for the heartbeat sound & also the "wave" sound if bb happen to move around. we din use any hearing instrument but hb say bb heartbeat sounds get louder lately... have fun exploring!! :D

violetice
re raw salmon, i think its a case of better safe than sorry. even top/reptuable restaurants are not 100% safe rite? so to avoid any possibility of catcing salmonella, just avoid during pregnancy lor. unless u hv craving for it then bo bian lah hee hee. as for smoked meats and salmon, the ans i no too cos it hasnt been cooked thoroughly. same goes for the sunny side up eggs, ie where the yolk is still liquid.

hammies
ethan is 11 mths old
next mth will be celebratign his 1 yr old birthday so now trying to look for a cake for him!

mspiglet
aiyoh his complexion only looks nice in the photo lah ;) he actually has eczema and that's usually on his chin/neck area so u cant see hee hee... anyway he's on NAN stage 2 cos in aus, they hv very few brands of milk powder as they encourage breastfeeding all the way till 1 yr old where they then switch the toddlers to normal cow milk. i think there ar only 3 or 4 brands here! not like in spore where we hv such a wide variety and are spoult for choice. and u knw they dun even hv those preggie milk here? i used to take enfamama eveday wheni was expecting ethan. now here got nothin so just drink normal milk :p

Hi goldenpig
thanks for the information, can tell that the weight is being distributed to alot of other areas. Having listening to her weight gain, my hubbie was really worried, coz he bought a digital scale for me to weigh myself and update him overseas about my weight gain, because I was having terrible MS and not really eating well at all up till like last week. I have not put on much weight at all, at 15 weeks I only put on 500 grams, so worried that baby is not growing. I was horrified to learn that ideal weight was 9 - 12 kg which made things worse coz I almost 4 months only left 5 months to go. sigh!!!!

Michelle
usually babies will outgrow their eczema as they grow, just got to keep his skin moist to prevent dryness lo. I also have eczema, so I figure chances of baby having it also quite high. So nice, you actually know how to bake, can imagine you must be feeling quite happy, baby birthday coming up, soon another on the way. Wa. Will you be overseas for long? Think its nice to raise a young toddler in an overseas environment.

I was telling my galfren yesterday that MS seems to have gone, coz past two days I managed to eat lots and have a good appetite for more food. Guess somethings just cannot say, last night my stomach felt queasy and I puke again. Was grumbling to my hubbie that I was tracking the times I puke, I realised that I always puke the food I like which will always happen to be the food he dont like. But food he likes, I will always managed to keep the food down. Strange :p

Been waking up recently with numb feet and numb breast, imagine feeling pins and needles on the feet and the breast, kind of weird.

angelsky
er... where did u read that i can actually bake?!? i wish i could too! no lah, i'm looking to order a birthday cake for my son. it wuld be graet if i can actually bake me own tho! hee. btw, thks for the info on eczema. i think the dry weather here probably makes it worse for him, cos even tho we moisturise him eeveryday, he still kena!
i've actually just migrated over here this yr - so if everything works out well, i will be here for a looong time ;) re your pins and needles in breast n feet, i think u shd ask ur gyane abt it cos i hvnt experienced this myself

SLEEPING POSITION
when i was expecting my 1st kid, the gynae actually told me to sleep on my left side cos this way the bb gets more oxygen. apparently theres some major artery that run thro our right side of the body so if we sleep on our right, we will compress it slightly n bb wont get the max oxygen. anybody else heard this fr their gynae?

Michelle, sorrie just woke up so eye sight not very clear, look I read bake. kekeke. Ya, can understand sometimes with eczema, it can get fustrating, especially with a change in climate, I was actually staying in Jakarta for a few months with hubbie before coming back when I found out I was expecting, my ezcema actually flared up very very badly.

Sleeping position - you mean sleep on right? not left side then baby will have better oxygen? O o I must have been sleeping on the wrong side then.

hi michelle,
I do have craving for sashimi and smoked salmon but have been controlling myself till now. Hubby also thinks it's a better be safe than sorry case.

Re: Sleeping Postures
I found something on the web, not sure how useful..

Correct Sleeping Position

Why do doctors recommend that I sleep on my side. I am not very comfortable that way
Get used to it now, before your belly starts expanding. You wouldn't be able to turn on it in any case. Although sleeping on your back may be more comfortable to start with, it leads to backaches and haemorrhoids, and inhibits your digestion, breathing and circulation and could cause low blood pressure and hypertension. This is because the entire weight of your uterus, intestines & inferior vena cava is on your back. Whereas, stretching out on your left side, allows maximum flow of blood and nutrients to the placenta, enhances the functioning of the kidneys, which leads to better elimination of waste materials (which in turn would cause oedema). So this should be, technically, the most comfortable position.

http://www.indiaparenting.com/pregnancy/data/preg07_03.shtml

Pregnancy and Posture

by Richard Lane

Many of the discomforts experienced by pregnant women can be related to poor posture. The extra weight of the baby when coupled with the effect of loosened ligaments can put extra load on the spine. This article introduces some tips that may assist mothers-to-be in maintaining good pregnancy posture.
Many discomforts of pregnancy are related to poor posture: an aching lower back, rounded shoulders, sciatic nerve pain through the legs and buttocks. Good posture becomes imperative as the growing babys weight puts extra load on your spine.
Since the weight of the baby is not centred over the mothers centre of gravity, then it can affect the mothers postural alignment (particularly in the lower back). Ligaments, loosened from the effect of the relaxin hormone, exacerbate the impact on posture. If you think that you dont have the time or energy to consider your posture then think again!
Lower back pain occurs during pregnancy when the spine has an exaggerated curve. The abdominal muscles become stretched as the baby grows and they are less able to keep the lower back in good alignment. The weight of the baby pulls the lower part of the spine forward resulting in pressure and irritation in the joints, discs and soft tissue. To compensate for the load, many mothers-to-be tilt their upper body back, which can create even more distortion in the lower back.
However slumping forward because of fatigue has its own problem as it can be more difficult to breathe and slumping pushes the rib cage down onto the stomach. The compression reduces the space available for the stomach and stomach acid may be forced into the esophagus resulting in heartburn.
Some of the common discomforts of pregnancy can be avoided by standing and sitting properly. Stretching and exercise can also play a significant role. However a word of caution needs to be added that it is important to stretch gently and not do any exercises that might put excessive strain on the joints. Check with your doctor or health care practitioner before doing any exercise program.
Tips for Maintenance of Good Pregnancy Posture:
1. Ensure you stand straight by imagining a string attached to the top of your head that someone is pulling on.
2. Try to keep your abdomen pulled in to reduce the curvature in your lower back and try to maintain a pelvic tilt.
3. Try to pull in your buttocks to ensure that your centre of gravity is over your hips (along with the abdominal muscles, this acts as a natural corset for the lower back).
4. Remember to keep your knees soft when standing as locking the knees can increase the amount of curvature on your lower back.
5. Choose a good straight-backed chair when sitting. Maintain a pelvic tilt and avoid slouching with your knees level with your hips. If necessary place a small pillow or towel in the small of your back if you feel that you need extra support. (NB never sit with your legs crossed as this can reduce circulation and is a factor in the development of varicose veins).
6. When sleeping, side lying is generally the recommended position as it is a good position to take the stress off your lower back without reducing blood flow to the placenta. By placing a pillow between your legs then you can support the weight of the top leg to reduce lower back strain. Some women find placing a pillow under their abdomen can assist in supporting the weight of the uterus.
After around the 4th month of pregnancy , back sleeping should be avoided as the weight of baby and uterus can compress blood vessels. This can reduce the blood flow to the placenta and the baby.
A pregnancy massage from a suitably trained and skilled practitioner can assist in assessing potential problem areas and provide you with a structure for maintaining good posture.

http://www.consumerhealthdigest.com/healthcontent/Pregnancy-and-Posture.htm

Its suppose to be left. This is what I got from baby centre.

You may have heard that you should avoid lying on your back during your last two trimesters. Here's why: When you lie flat on your back, your uterus can compress a major vein (called the inferior vena cava) that returns blood from the lower half of your body back to your heart. Lying on your side (or even partially tilted to the side), particularly your left side, prevents this compression and improves your blood flow. Try placing a pillow behind you, or under your hip or leg for comfort.

Your cardiovascular system is undergoing dramatic changes, and during your second trimester your blood pressure is probably lower than usual. Don't spring up too fast from a lying or sitting position or you might feel a little dizzy.

ah... so its major vein n not artery hee hee :p

anyway have any of u heard that preggies are not suppoesd to eat lamb? that's an old wives tale rite? cos in 1st pregnancy i avoided it. but this time round,i been eating happily!

Happy National Day! I am glad to annouce I have cleared all blood tests. Low risk for downe syndrome too. Really happy. Now, I am looking forward to my detailed scan end of the month. =) I am already in my 17th week, so I am really looking forward to be able to feel my baby move! Hopefully, I don't have to wait for too long.

Hi Michelle,

Yes, my older colleagues told me to avoid lamb/ mutton. Don't know the real reason though. Could it because it's heaty or because it's not really a commonly eaten meat, compared to fish or chicken. If this is the case, that's why we are also not supposed to eat "funny" stuff/ meat during our pregancy to avoid our babies looking like them. <- I was told.

talking about stomachache...i just encountered one rite now. Had to go toilet too...quite pain. Aiyo...don't know if it's the food or what... hope to be well...

hi michelle,

Think it's an old wives' tale, they said by eating lamb/mutton, baby will be prone to have "yang tian feng" aka fits. But don't worry as gynae never said anything about it.

ahcapp
funny hor - we're not supposed to eat funny stuff else our bb will look like that thing. so if we eat chicken then our bb will look like... ???? means sotong oso cannot eat? but i just did! n 1st preg i ate lots of crabs too hahaha

violetice
as for 'yang tian feng', i wonder where they got the idea. is it cos there's the word 'yang' inside it?

anyway it just occured to me tat might be the oldest mommy here. when i went for my NT scan, without blood test, i was soooooo sad and worried cos my odds were only like 1:70! gynae said confirmed must go for amnio. but luckily few days later the blood test results came back n i was cleared with odds dropping to about 1:800. u cant imagine those few days b4 the blood test results came out how worried sick i was... i hope none of u hv to go thro that. anwyay i'm oredi 34 this yr, so that explains the results
anyone older than me here? i doubt it!

hi michelle,

dont think that way. as long as u are a healthy mummy, age is not a barrier. Im happy for you that you clear the scans and blood tests

For other mummies who are having long weekends today.. great! take the time to rest well or even go walk around- i hear john little is having sales for baby stuff.

As for mummies who are working, it's fine. weekend is coming soon

thks for the kind words jennifer

gtgt
oh is it? aiyah hope u dun misunderstd me.. i'm not trying to look for someone older than me! hee.. nice to know tat we have smthg in common ;) all i can say is that us older mommies will find it very tiring to look after the kids when they grow up. cos i find myself so tired all the time, and its not like i even look after ethan all by myself. i still hv my inlaws to help but i dunno y the bb is so full of energy n moving here n there all the time!!! really very tiring.. so i attribute it to my age lor. cos if i was like 24 yrs old, i sure can keep up with him one hahah. i cant imagine wat will happen to me once #2 is out *shiver*

Morning all,

Ahcapp congrats wow i hope i can clear mine too ..... heehee ...

today is teh best no one to squeeze in MRT so spacious kekeke

michelle,
Yeap.. medical service overseas is so different from sg. I did have scans on every visit but no vitamins are given till now when i am already like 16 weeks.

U are delivering there? I would be back in sg.. and since the dates are so near cny.. I would be back anyway.

I heard is sleeping on the left, it makes me feel bad when I sleep on the right lol.

And my hb forbid me to eat anything with the Yang word, that includes mutton, starfruits... etc lah.. I don't even know why. Wednesday night, I ate this italian appetitiser, the japanese waitress told us that is Chicken... but it really taste like mutton.. that hb said people says chicken then chicken lah.. u eating chicken..then call me shut up.
kao_confused.gif

How was ur PH yest?? great?!

i went cityhall wif my frz to watch e NDP fireworks, so crowded... but had a great time & nice.

QQ: agreed today mrt train not so crowded, guess most of e ppl went for holiday..

Icy: i cant seems to talk to u on msn becos wen i click on u.. itz always "hang"..

Hi Michelle

sad to admit ... I'm also 34 tis yr. 2nd child too. :D Ya like you I also wonder will I wrinkled after my no. 2 is out ! scary ya ? so old liao :p

I hv gone for NT scan last mth and was cleared of it so need no amnio. I was quite worry at first and ask my gynae do I need amnio test but he said there are many other ways to detect down syndrome besides doing amnio even if NT scan fails.

QQ
I worked today leh.. MRT still packed as usual and I feel that I'm a walking lullaby. Once I walked in everyone starts to fall asleep !! HAHAHAHA

muhahaha Chaye oh my side so spacious heehee ....

I went to catch fireworks too hahah my frd drove us purposely go ECP .... while in the jam the fireworks just started off right in front of us hahaha so nice!

chaye
haha u r so funny.. walking lullaby
i guess u r obviously pregnant oredi so pple all suddenly fall asleep? so now i hv another kaki of the same age! how old is your 1st kid?

icy
yes i'll be delivering here cos then my bb will be aussie citizen. if go back spore, then i hv to apply for PR for the bb again n spend more $$! how come u dun deliver in japan? if give birth there, means bb automatic become japan citizen is it? wah ur hubby really very strict! mine is the one who said its nonsense and that i shd just eat lamb. only thing he doesnt like me to do is eat instant noodles or 'dirty' things like belachan :p

hi ladies, i guess women are having children later ya..look at zoe tay..already how old ah, 37? Then second child. I guess the risk does increase with age, but don't worry. Have faith that all will be ok in time. My colleague also had second child at 34. she said a bit tough that pregnancy, with higher DS risk and all, but eventually all turned out well. ANd she even had a third child!! What a journey it must be given that this is only the first child for me.

The parade was great, the fireworks were spectacular. I nearly fainted though, coz the walk from the parking to the seats were like 1 hour and there was so many pple. By the time I was at the security clearance, I started seeing stars and could not breath. But thank goodness, after I sat down, I felt better. If I really fainted, my hubbie is so going to be very guilty for allowing me to go with my parents to watch the parade.

QQ
u heng ah... my side jam packed ah...

Michelle
It really depend on wat I wear actually. some too loose top ppl still a bit skeptical la. My first one is 4 this yr lo... wat a gap hor...and got to start all over again...

eh u all so gd hor get to go watch live fireworks. My hb say I crazy to go all the way there to watch cos he cant jaga me and our daughter at the same time ah...

angelsky u went there to watch ah .... this yr very good hor ... heehee .. i went for the preview i oso very tired after all the clearance and climbing of stairs! heehee but i do enjoy myself very much. Yesterday i wanna watch fireworks so my frd drove us heehee after 1 mj session

Chaye when we reach fullerton .... the atmosphere is there loh it seems like the whole SG are watching live there .... so many ppl my GOd!

QQ, I can understand, we parked at parliament house and it took us nearly 1.5 hours to walk to our seats. But the weather yesterday was good, so not hot. Just that walk too much, my stomach felt a bit crampish.

Some mtbs were talking about now gg to the toilet for the big business, their stomach is quite painful. I can understand, sometimes I also feel my lower stomach very pain when wanna go but cannot go. Feel as if wanna explode coz very jam up feeling. kekeke.

Going to try the red dates water today. Been feeling like drinking sweet things recently. But eating a lot of meat still.

Hopefully my next visit next week, doc gives me the all clear to travel, coz baby wanna go visit daddy.

hey gals, ya I am one of them with stomach problem. Not so much as pain but keep having loose stools even when I go to pee. ARgghh...dunno wat's wrong, the stools like gluey with muscus...hope didn't eat anything wrong..been 2-3 days liao

angel, last week my tummy pain pain .... now ok liao ..... think should be ok to travel liao bah ... am counting down to October hahah gg sabah with all frds n hubby .. but hubby told me maybe he cannot make it
cos need to fly to taiwan

Lynn,
no wonder, i cant see you online too. that's werid. how abt removing my id and adding it on again??

michelle,
I am only here in Japan for short term basic, my hb's programme will end ard march to april next yr.. so no pt for me to deliver here, plus I dunno japanese and only doctor speak english here and all nurses speak Japanese.. I think I won't know what to do in the delivery room with a grp of Japanese speaking nurses and midwives.

I din find out abt the citizenship here, anyway my hb also dunno which country he is going after this attachment here. So we only can wait and see, meanwhile, i can stay in sg until then, mil is a housewife so she can help out a bit.

My hb very ganjiong, he dun even like me to jump around or shake and dance a bit.. Always call me don't any how have big movements.

QQ,
what are u going to do in Sabah? Nice seafood and mountains there haha

Icy,
Your hubby must be working for some MNC rite? So nice to follow hubby here and there and not working isn't it... Your situation suddenly reminded me of a friend. Where do you stay in sg?

icy yup nice seafood n moutains .... i went there in 2005, 2006 my frds is there ...... so this yr go again .. last yr i went during national day hahaha .... this yr gg during hari raya ....

we be gg to their resort .... is colder than genting .... hahah will be fun cos this time round more ppl going ....

fishia,
Yeap, he work for a MNC. Under some training programmes. I wanna follow becos we just got married and then he was in for this. :p I stayed at Pasir Ris in sg with pil.

QQ,
Oic. I went there before, to the foot of Kota Kinabalu Mountain. I love the seafood, so fresh and yummy and cheap!! My fil worked there.. so my mil and sil go there every school holidays.

wow cool... fishia and icy actually know one another!

does any of you know where to buy baby posters? I went to kinokuniya, times and orchard popular all don't sell.