(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

wow, the thread is moving fast. I went to see doctor this morning coz i was having gastric pain last night.

yup, me too had to pay for the Natal Care Plus, i think it is about $30.

my tummy is not showing yet and no one gives up seats to me. For all MTBs who take public transport, how are you all coping? Sometimes I feel quite terrible, esp during peak hours. I feel like there is lack of oxygen in the cabins!

Steph77 & Chaye, is durian good for baby? I ate one durian during my 1st trimester and my mum said cannot eat. I love durians, if it is good, i wouldn't mind eating more

MTBs,
I wonder if headache is a preggy symptoms, I am having it since monday.. painful and the only thing i could do is sleep through it.

Steph77,
I already have side effect on my tailbone like aching when it is raining. I think i would try not to have epi.. so worried the bones cannot take it already.

icy,

i have frequent headaches too. when i cannot take it, i will eat panadol coz it goes on for hours.

but yes, during pregnancy, you will tend to have more headaches.

Here's the updated list for prenatal yoga class.
Pls cut and paste, contact me as well for those who wish to join on
September or October.
Venue: Bishan Blk 145 Community Centre
Fee: $35 for 4 session(1.5 hrs/session)
payment: 3 months in advance
Time: Sat or Sunday(will decide on majority)11am
class size: 10 pp

1. Katechow March saturday/sunday ok
2. Red tea March saturday/sunday ok
3. Bevweb March
4. Babe_dude March
5. Adeline March
6. Kais March
7. Twinklestars March
8. Clover March Sat/Sun ok
9. Dorothy Feb Saturday ok
10.snowbelle Feb weekends ok
11.Eliaw Feb Weekends ok
12.Babe/Jan/Sat
13.mtanlove Mar weekends ok
14.Mspiglet/Jan/Sun

my fish oil oso have this AA .... think is safe lah if not how can the fish oil being isssue to preggie woman? I think if you all wanna surf sites better surf on the right sites bah .... i heard from my doc some sites is like promoting certain products and what they posted is not true.

mspiglet what happen? sound serious .....

jennifer, i ate lotsa durian during 1st trimester ......heard is good to eat during 3rd tri ..... but not too much

gynae say if headache can eat panadol...eat everyday also ok...just dun exceed 4 (if i remember correctly). She says panadol is one of the safest...eat when needed. I had a terrible headache yesterday afternoon...really cannot take it and then took 2 at night.

got bump no bump...no one cares liao...cos everyone only care abt themselves....who bother to give up seats to us

like i mentioned earlier, if your dad is a diabetes...be careful of gestational diabetes...durian very very high in sugar

eat in moderation

Jasjas/Icy
So Arachidonic Acid can eat or cannot eat ?!?!?! *faint*

YunBB ..
me me me ! 2nd time mum but touchwood. hair still in tact. What I read from books is during pregnancy hair shd b very healthy and strong during pregnancy. And it's especially black and shiny too
what shampoo r u using ?

Jennifer
I have started my durian treat yet but Steph has. She said it's "pu" for the bb which is what ppl said. Usually I will eat it at later stage

And I have gastric pain this morning ! I called gynae and ask whether can I take my usual medicine - gelusil and he said CAN ! Felt better after taking :D

So Kai Li u also paid for u ya ? hehehe tot he gave u special treatment ma then me and YunBB will go protest ! hahaha

eRnMum
eh it's true leh. nowadays nobody cares anymore. even student can turn a blind eye on preggies !! And I realise a lot of those inconsiderate ones r from china (blue collar) type. Talk loudly and run for seats even wif preggies standing rite in front of them !

No offence to those who r china born here hor...if any... juz my personal opinion :p

kai li,
hahaha yaya $30 ..

chaye,
recently i changed to Asience as heard quite good comments.. who knws?? although is smooth.. but hair dropped even more sial sooooo scary lehh ... nw i changed back to head n shoulder.. but nt tat much but still dropping..

e Arachidonic Acid, our fish oil have 18mg .. shld be ok bah ..

wahh this thread really moving fast leh...

<font color="119911">had a very full set lunch...ate roasted peking duck, abalone shark's fin soup, steam fresh live soon hock fish etc... so many dishes...my stomach bloated liao...haha

<font color="ff0000">Re: Nasi Lemak at JW st41
chaye & YunBB,
no, the stall dun open at nite. CK stand for CK shopping centre...the 1st outlet was located in chinatown. I will find out which block then let u know. Must try the food then u'll know what i mean...shiok shiok la</font>

jennifera,
re: durian gd for bb? Not proven scientifically but alot of old folks/generation will say it is gd. Durians are very heaty & 'pu' but eat too much oso no good cos like what eRnMum say..high in sugar. So, we must eat in moderation loh

Wa wa wah... Steph! u made me feel hungry again rite after lunch ! u have juz named all my fav dishes leh !!!!!!!!

nasi lemak is at the back of my head now... Peking Duck, Shark's Fins here I come !!!!

icy yes i have pm .... for the AA thingy i dun care lah what gynae prescribe i eat loh .... i think is safe one ...... like duphston i forgot who send me abt it say not safe to eat during pregnancy but this medi really is for oreggy woman to prevent miscarriage leh .... kekeke better dun read up all this things which makes u more worried be happy stay cool

Chaye & YunBB,
Hahaha...if the fish oil free, then i will be Dr Adrain Woodworth's relative or friend...

yeah..i think AA is safe for us or else why they sell it to pregnant mummies...

chaye & eRnMum,
Re: giving up seat...public transport
got one time, i took MRT from Boon Lay to work...rush hour...& when the train arrived Jurong East..my turn to get down...guess what? A pool of pple crowd at the door entrance of the train...how to expect pple from inside to get out?? so frustrated..when door open, i shouted" for goodness sake, can we pls make way & let us get out FIRST!!!" then suddenly everyone auto...space a gap in between for me to cross first...hahaha...lesson learnt - Never antagonize a pregnant women!!hee

chaye & eRnMum,
Re: giving up seat...public transport
got one time, i took MRT from Boon Lay to work...rush hour...& when the train arrived Jurong East..my turn to get down...guess what? A pool of pple crowd at the door entrance of the train...how to expect pple from inside to get out?? so frustrated..when door open, i shouted" for goodness sake, can u pls make way & let us get out FIRST!!!" then suddenly everyone auto...space a gap in between for me to cross first...hahaha...lesson learnt - Never antagonize a pregnant women!!hee

chaye,
yah.. i think the moment i come back sg, I would cheong for durians.. making me crave so much for it here. Here have durains lah, but 1 durian cost much much more in japan, cant remember the exact figure, more than $10 bah.. and the werid thing is I cant smell it even when I go near it.. maybe is different species?

Wow.........seems like every1 in PH mood liao......Thread moving so fast fast!

Durain is full of sugar........eat maybe just 1 or 2 flesh/seeds should be ok lar. Same as fish oil with AA, better not take! Why risk it? Ultimately the babies belong to us leh.....!! Some more, i read other thread that Natal Care Epax was label wrongly i.e. box and foil strips say different things!!! Better be kiasu than SORRY.......

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/36738/897571.html

i had durians while expecting my 1st in the 3rd tri. all i can say is tat it seems to make ur bb quite big! at birth, my son was 3.435kg (but maybe oso cos i'm big size lah), anyway watever u eat, just eat it in moderation lor - like dont finish 1 whole durian by yourself in 1 sitting lah!

someone's gynae said can eat raw salmon? i seriously doubt it leh. all along i've been told cannot eat raw food, soft cheese, etc. when i come over here, the midwife even tell me cannot eat those subway sandwices cos those meat/veg hv been left on the counter open for the whole day so not safe! i guess the rule of thumb is to eat freshly and thoroughly cooked foor
she said to stay away fr mayo too. i think it's because theres raw eggs inside rite?

me 2nd time mom but not dropping hair tho (touch wood!) . even after delivery of 1st boy, oso didnt drop hair. so perhaps it differs fr person to person?

heehee public transport .... usually i will stand near the door of MRT cos i only take one station .... so i will be at the entrance of the door. the station is still not reach yet got ppl tell me excuse me excuse me ... so frustrated cos the door is not even open and I have no way to move.

Another time is a lady poke me never say excuse me but keep poking so fed up. next time i kanna these ppl they will kanna scold by me liao no give face liao so angry.

<font color="ff6000">hi michelle,
are u new to this thread? Anyway, yr bb boy (Ethan) very cute & chubby leh...are u still breastfeeding him? How many weeks are u now?</font>

<font color="ff0000">QQ, dun need to scold these pple, just stare at them if they keep poking at u...hopefully they'll get the message else show color...hahaha...so violent hor..keke</font>

Aiyooo Michelle's bb boy so cute hor...

Icy
u mean u r in Japan rite now ? ooohhh weather muz b very gd there now lor. Sin is so hot these few weeks leh !!! HOT HOT HOT !

<font color="119911">QQ,
i forgot to mention that the worse pple is those kind who like to step behind pple's shoes/slippers during crowded places and oso those pple who like to smoke in hawker centre where there is no yellow box...& they puff the smoke towards yr direction facing them loh. i wonder if u ever experience b4?...so irritating too</font>

michelle,
ur boy boy so cute!!!

chaye,
yeap, me in japan with hb. He had to work here until next yr march.. but i think i would be back in sg by november. Wanna deliver in sg, and mil would be doing the confinement for me since we used to stay together.

It getting summer here, so it is like singapore.. very warm.. around 30 degree and it is very dry.. the sun pierce into the skin one. Have to wait till sept before the weather get cooler.

steph77
yes i am quite new
only started posting last wk! i am coming to 17 wks this fri. am living in melbourne which is now winter! can get really cold at nites. i stopped breastfeeding ethan when he was 7 mths old - he's now 11 mths liao.

icy
looks like both me n u are having oversas pregnancies which is different fr spore huh! i only get to go for scanning 2 times thro out the entire preg! not like in spore where every mth can scan n see bb growing. now i dun even know how big my bb is :p

MRT Seats
well hving been thro my 1st preg in spore, i can safely say that most pple wont bother to give their seats to preggie women anymore. and the few times that i do get offered a seat, its usually very young pple lke students. those office workers type will never offer their seat one cos they either too tired, sleeping, or reading smthg.

btw, thks for all the compliments about ethan! he is getting very naughty now.. crawl all over the place and wants to take verything n put into his mouth :p

Holidae mood yah!!! Dun feel like working too ; )

Steph
Re: Durian - Dun eat too much cos my preggy friend in 3rd tri eat that cont' for few evening & tink baby inside get too heaty & kick her stomach veri hard until she got hospitalised. The kick is so hard something like having contraction, she even thot baby is cuming out early...
I am also durian lover but tend to get heaty easily.. so can only smell or eat a bit...heehee

Michelle - your baby boy is sooooo cute ;p

I got a heavy Jap lunch...yummy but i felt stomach veri bloated when i sit down..chest a bit tight.. anyone feeling the same way?? Is it becos' bra too tight? But if change bra size, i scare when standing up the bra will drop..haahaa..

michelle,
ur son sooooooooooooooo cuteeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee leh !! heeeheee

mrt
hhaa i also encountered b4 .. piangz once e door open.. all chiong in ... i also fedup ..

thru out my 1st preggie, i on bus although abt 20mins onli.. also bo lang give their seats up to me. Don't know isit my tummy too small???

Icy
oohh.. Japan also so hot now ah... ya better deliver in Sg la safer I find

Hi MTBs
finally found a confinement lady availabe in Jan08 !! Cost - $2400 for 28 days bcos it will cross over to CNY period. She is asking me if I wan to do 40 days confinement... cos she said nowadays most mummies do 40 days confinement. My coll came back from maternity recently also said she did for 40 days for both her deliveries. I'm thinking y not leh since I'm not working during that period. Contemplating now....

My gynae said can eat sashimi but provided it's those served in restaurant. I was quite surprised too, thinking we can't eat raw food but he said his wife has 3 kids and she had them till she delivers. However, the funny thing is my normal GP said it's better to avoid bec we won't know how hygenic it is. Sigh... so confusing right?

Michelle - Your Ethan's super cute! He has a great smile too.

Gals, what is considered soft cheese? I'm still eating cheese. Oh no, I just had subway for lunch too but I made sure they toasted it real hot for me.

Hi Cheryl,

I normally eat them with wasabi.. but it can kill bacteria?

What about smoked ham or smoked salmon? Are we allowed to eat?

My doc also said cannot eat salmon and half boiled egg, coz may have bacteria.

I am also still not quite putting on weight, last time when get married, scared will put on lots of weight, so everything when eat also control but still managed to gain weight. Now try as I might, no matter what I eat, I still dont seem to be gaining weight, instead I am losing weight. I was telling my galfren, almost 4 months now, left only 5 months and the ideal weight to gain is 9 - 12 kg, imagine I have to gain that amount of weight in the next 5 months
Already eat alot but still no sign of big tummy.

I already started eating durians
crave it man. But I heard last tri better not eat too much "pu" stuff, else baby will gain a lot of weight. But all also depends on the mother ba? My collegue is in her 8 month and she gained 20 kg, but her baby only 2 kg, so imagine all the rest is her own weight gain. Scary right.

I also found out my closest jiemei is expecting too
But then she will deliver about 2 months after me, do you think she can attend my baby "full month celebration"? Wonder if some in laws are "ban dang". When she deliver can I attend?

I have not started taking multi vits, still on folic and calcium, coz the last time I went to see doc, I forgot to ask the nurse for it, anyway since I was still puking up till last week, I figure I eat so much also no use, will make me feel bad anyway, but hubbie very worried, keep asking me to start taking DHA? Coz he say will "bu" baby's brain, is that true?

Yes, tomo is National day, me gg to watch at the bay, but got to walk really slowly, coz its gg to be a long walk.

- michelle, your baby ethan is so cute.

my gynae also said cannot eat raw stuff like sashimi, half boiled eggs etc. i think to play safe, better not coz it's not cooked thoroughly. he specifically said everythg can eat except raw stuff

Cheryl, once in a while I got cramps too, sometimes feel like very painful tension. I had them so badly last sat that I had to walk very very slowly. But I guess as long as no bleeding should be fine ba?

I noticed I had an increased in discharged these few days, sometimes paranoid I am bleeding, then need to go run to the toilet and check

Very anxious for next week to come, lucky those mtb that are already in their 4th month
hopefully baby would have grown more by next week and if can see the gender even better still.

My mum commented that I have very bad sitting posture and sleeping posture. Wonder if its bad for the baby. I asked my doc if its okay for me to sleep on any side of my body, he say if I want, I can even sleep on my tummy if its comfortable. Weird right.

yes. the cramp come on n off, sometime mild, someytime pulling kind...

den with discharge i oso scare, alway go toilet check is it blood or wat.. lucky is jus discharge...

as for sleeping position, i used to slp on my bed, but recently i m very uncomfy when slp on my bed, only when i slp on my left side, i den can fall asleep ah

my frd had so much sashimi when she is preggy oso gave birth to a healthy baby and big baby! heehee

steph i experience ppl smoking while walking i avoid walking behind them loh i find so irritating why cantthey stand still and smoke hahah is it more style smoking away? kekekeke

Angelsky,
I heard from people that if you eat a lot of durians, baby will grow bigger faster. How true I am not sure.

As for your close jie mei, when it's your full month celebration, she will be able to attend. My 2 cousins were pregnant around the same time, probably about 1 month difference. When my 1st cousin has her full month celebration, my 2nd cousin also attended. My grandmother is also on the tradtional side but she said it's fine bec already 'man yue'.