(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

i found some info on baby kicks...

<font color="0077aa">When will I feel my baby's first movements?</font>

Feeling those first, tiny sensations inside are a key landmark of your pregnancy. And when those movements become vigorous kicks, you know everything is going well.

If this is your first pregnancy, you may not even notice your baby moving around immediately because you won't be familiar with the sensation -- which many women describe as a gentle fluttering motion.

For a first pregnancy you will probably be aware of something at around 18 to 20 weeks. For subsequent pregnancies, when you know the tell-tale signs, first movements can be felt earlier, at around 15 to 18 weeks.
How many kicks should I feel each day?

While you are busy you will probably be less aware of the movements your baby is making. It's more likely you'll start to notice them when you sit down and relax.

Studies of fetal activity show that every baby has his or her own individual pattern of waking and sleeping inside the uterus -- there is no 'set' amount of kicks to expect -- but by late pregnancy you will probably have become tuned into your baby's pattern of movements.

<font color="0077aa">I haven't felt my baby kick today, should I be worried?</font>

If you are concentrating on something else, you may not have noticed your baby's movements. If you want some reassurance, here are some ways to encourage your baby to move:

Lie down on your side (with support under your bump) and stay still
Put your feet up and relax
Play music to your stomach.

Not so long ago, women were advised to monitor their baby's movement with a fetal kick chart, where you kept a record of the times of the movements until you had noted ten kicks, hopefully by roughly the same time each day. But these charts are used less and less now as they were easy to forget about and the kick patterns didn't always match up, which caused unnecessary concern among women.

Qing2,

I see, so no choice but to "ren tong". Maybe I should start drinking milk. Did you buy the Nestle Oats Milk or another brand?

That's what my hubby said too! Said baby maybe changing place so that's why I feel the pain. Will continue to monitor and see how often it happens and if it will go away..

violetice,

I asked abt salonpas before. My gynae said can.. He said most of the plaster sold at the counter can be used.. I paste already.

HI Steph77

After numerous calls, I manage to book on 6th Oct too. But my lesson is at 2pm, so guess I will not be seeing you then.

Do you know whether we can change the slot if we could not make it on a particular day ?

Thanks for the advice on the birdnest
Going to have some tonight after my mum make them, yummy.

MS is slightly better this few days, but hopefully it will not come back after I say its getting better.

I also get backache, mine is on the sides though.

For those who have started their prenatal massages, any good recommendations? At the spas or at home?

Wow, you all so lucky, every week get to eat birdnest. Me only get to eat it off and on. Dunno when is the next time. Hiaz...depending whether my mum or MIL cook. Never ask for it.

Hmmm...I know 'dong cong cao' is good for baby, strengthen the lungs.

violetice, i bought magnolia i think ..... endure ... Now my back still a bit pain must walk slowly ....

JanBB thanks for the post i will try lata when i get back home hahaha

angelsky i ask the lady to comemy hse at $50 ... violetice called her just now ... she charge her $60 due to location ....

Hi violetlce
I get backaches too ! that's y I called Siti (recommended by QQ) for pre-natal massage but charges is $60 cos I stay in CCK she stays in Tampines.

Ya I'm due in mid Jan so it will cross over to CNY and there will be additonal charges too. But some CL are not accepting work cos it's CNY.

Salonpas is safe to use ?

violetlce,
yes, it helps for me. I could pain until cant lie on my back in my sleep becos I am feel BB pressing on me at the back. I cant even bend down to wear pants.. Have to get hb help. :p Before that the Japan gynae gave me some prescribed japanese brand plasters, it only kind of ease the pain but does not remove the pain away.. As my for friend at KKH, her gynae gave her Bengay (green muscle rub tube) for her backache, available at guardian I think.

Alternatively, maybe u can consider calcium tablets.. i think some doctor does give.. but dunno if will cause constipation.

bebe,
I take birdnest every 2 weeks, my hb have to get it back in sg, then i prepared on my own.. have to soak for few hrs and pluck the small feathers.

ladies, hi how all doing.
hmm....i know of a way to guess bb's gender...guess guess only...maybe mummies who know gender already can confirm true or not...hee....

icy, birdnest cannot eat now. have to wait later stage.

wah u all post very fast leh. n hv started eating birds nest oredi? over here i dun think i'm gonna get much of those food cos its really expensive n not easily available. looks like i'll just hv a very normal diet :p

i do get backaches too - usually lower back. but i also dun dare to use those med plasters so just bear with the pain lor. i find it gets worse if i'm up n about moving n walking ard the whole day, so try to take breaks in between to sit down n rest more

My mother went to buy today and she very gan cheong wanna start to try cooking wo. But my sister was laughing at me saying eat also not sure whether I will puke or not, else later also waste, might as well share with her :p

I was thinking of looking for one prenatal one, then if good then I can also book for post natal. But come to my house, a bit funny le. Usually what does she do? I was reading your were saying Mdm Rokiah?

I eat calcium tablets, so far no constipation le, but must remember to eat a lot of fruits.

My hubbie was listening to my tummy the other day, when about 14 weeks, he say sound like ocean. hehehe.

Finally!!! Has been feeling something going on on my tummy for the past week. Was wondering is it juz "gas" or movement. Only today then I am able to confirm its the movement as my hand was on my tummy then. Hehe...

Hi valencia,

So cool
Nice to feel the movements, so exciting. I also looking forward to it

I can finally feel my appetite coming back, coz I maanged to eat lotz for dinner today, now still feel like eating somemore, hahaha.

>fishia,
My gynae doesn't know what is Salonpas or Yoko Yoko. But I heard not advisable to use either one? Your gynae confirmed ok with Salonpas? What about Yoko Yoko?

>angelsky,
Your pain is on the side, so what did you do to feel better? I can't even rest on bed now, the pain is getting worse. =(

>QQ
Magnolia? Hmm, I'll go see tomorrow lor. Think really got to drink milk liao.

>Chaye,
What did the lady do for massaging? Back only? $60 a bit ex leh...

>icy,
so you're using medicated plasters too? I tried reading Yoko Yoko's instructions but nothing on pregnancy usage..

Violetlce, I just stretch and move and wiggle around to ease the pain lo. What to do. Sometimes when i sit for too long, my tail bone also painful, because just before I found out I was pregnant, I fell on my bottom.

Mdm Rokiah did postnatal massage for me. She will do full body massage and rub jamu on forehead and tummy. Got tummy wrap as well. Yeah, she comes to your place to massage. Think she also do prenatal.

angelsky, congrats on the return of appetitie. But don't overeat wor. Can get bloatedness.

Mei, how come birdnest can only eat at later stage?

Icy, not bad ya! In jap still can get to eat once in 2 wks. Me in sg also dun haf such priviledge. Coz stay wif ILs. If cook and eat myself like not so nice. If buy and cook for all, will burn big pocket hole.

Babe, thanks for your warning
but a little too late, I jus realised that having curry for dinner, follow by birdnest before going to bed is really horrible for the stomach.

I know I should not grumbling especially since my mum made birdnest and its not exactly cheap, but initially i was really excited about eating it, but midway through it was starting to get a little too much and my mum insisted that I must finished the bowl and not keep the rest in the fridge, so end up I was secretly sharing with my sis. DOnt wanna sound ungrateful, but its really quite je lat.

angelsky,

Huh? So you hurted your tail bone liao ar? Doc got give me calcium pill but bec of MS so I stopped taking it as it's a super big tablet lor. =(
Hubby tried massaging for me just now but it doesn't help much. Sigh.. pondering to use yoko yoko or salonpas for tonight...

violetlce, yup sometimes i sit down too long, my tailbone will hurt, sometimes sit too long, my the left side of my back will hurt. but already used to it.

I still eat the calcium tablet, but I dont really like the taste, sometimes I eat I will feel sick in the stomach, used to eat my folic acid faithfully, but now I only eat once a day coz too many pills make me kinda sian.

How about warm pack?

I was thinking of doing the prenatal massage, coz maybe can help me reduce some of the wind in my stomach so perhaps I will burp less. kekeke.

angelsky, actually if you taking multivits, can omit the folic acid as multivits also have enough folic. So far haven't been eating folic acid as been on the former.

Gals, any of you eat half cooked egg. Today bought beehoon with fried egg and the egg yolk actually still liquid. ARghhh....I know not good to eat but it's all over my bee hoon liao.

If preggy have abit of diahorrae, you know the kind you have loose stools and very gassy but not like visit the toilet every other hour, need to be concern or not? Was like that the past 2 days...

<font color="119911">*Harlo morning all*</font>

<font color="0000ff">hi G tan,
actually i prefer afternoon session but hubby sometimes need to work on Sat so evening classes will be better, just in case we cannot make it. Not sure whether can change time/day slot, have to call & check otherwise wait till 1st lesson then we ask Mrs Wong.</font>

<font color="ff6000">babe, half boil egg is my favourite but heard that pregnant not advisable to eat as there might be presence of virus/bacteria that is no gd for our bb. But personally i think self-indulge once in a while is okay...i believed the 'Ang Mos' oso have half cooked egg for breakfast.</font>

Morning,

mei - what way to guess bb gender?? interesting leh... share with us ; )

steph - yez i brought duck rice from Sheng siong foodcourt.. $2.50 cheap but veri little meat.. anyway, i also cun finish that pkt.. Taste so so.. Saw the western food stall.. seem to have some "Channel U" reccomendation one.. mayb can try next time..

Re: Birdnest
I have been taking once every week..MIL double boil with rock sugar.. yummy.. but saw some other thread that too much bird nest may cause baby to have asthma or phlegm.. sound scary.. is it true?

morning all,

babe my hubby oso dun allow me to eat that I love soft boil eggs always go ah kun loti with him now i cant eat soft boil egg liao only milo n bread.

violetice i try to post the milk packaging lata .... and the massage i recommed chaye which i have it on sunday is a full body massage ... but of cos due to our tummy now certain part maybe is difficult for her to reach but she cover most of my body leh ... $60 i think due to Chaye's location mine is $50 .....

hi JanBB,
thanks for the food intro
..dun have chance to try yet...maybe tomorrow cos hubby out-station, me alone oso dunno eat what.

My sister took birdnest from 20wks onwards (once a week) till 32wks & she give birth to my niece with very fair beautiful complexion, her cheeks were pinkish when she was born. No asthma or phlegm. My mum & MIL say if drink/eat too much orange/juice during pregnancy then will cause bb to have phlegm.

Hi all Mummies to be,

Just started reading this thread recently. I am about 15 weeks pregnant and it's my first baby. Look forward to sharing our experiences together.

Joyce, I am glad you are ok. Just rest more and don't do strenous activities or carry heavy stuff. That time I carried laptop then also had a bit of spotting.

I am still experiencing MS but it is usually in the evening. I have poor appetite still. I suspect it is because all along I have gastric problem so the pregnancy bloating and everythg makes it worse. I have more frequent headaches too.

seems like everyone is excited about the gender of their baby! chanced upon this article on the web- for fun reading

http://www.wikiparenting.com/wiki/Fun_Ways_to_Predict_the_Sex_of_Your_Baby

Wow! this forum is really moving fast ! May I ask any MTB is not working here ? I'm working so I only can chk this forum once in a while.

Had curry fish head last nite. It was v spicy. This morning visited the toilet twice and still experiencing pain in my tummy ! arghhh

Hi Violetice
Ya QQ is rite, the massage lady charges me more cos of my location. But if u can go to her house at Tampines she charges only $35 which is cheap.

Hi Jennifer ! Welcome to this forum !

<font color="119911">hi jennifera, congrats & welcome! Hey i seem to come across yr nick in other thread b4...Mm...cannot remb. So when is yr EDD? I'm into my 16wks now. Do u know bb gender?</font>

Hi chaye,
I am also working. so i can only check once in a while
I had a bit of curry for Sunday dinner too... and mon morning, i puked. Think my stomach can't take it too well.

Hi Steph77, I find your nick familiar too! was it in singapore brides forum or something? Can't remember. My EDD is 30 Jan 08. Still donno bb's gender coz I think only in 5th month then i will be going for the detailed scan. How about u?

mei,
we did asked the medical hall Fu Hua people and they say can start anytime for birdnest. But drink biweekly.

violetlce,
My plaster is precribed my gynae so i think is safer.. Perhaps u can check with ur gynae on this.

bebe,
last mth, my hb went back sg for meeting and tried to get all sorts of food and tonic for me which is not easiy available here. That includes 3tins of preggy milk lol. I used to stayed with mil before i came here, so Mil also helped prepared for me, she always think I too weak..

Angelsky,
You hurt ur tailbone and din check ah? I feel twice on my tailbone within 3 yrs.. and 2x i crack it, can see from x ray. my recent fall was like nov last year..

I even have to go through theraphy at SGH then. They have electronsis and warm pack. Actually can use warm pack at home too.

I got informed gynae before and she mentioned that the tailbone would hurt again when the baby get bigger, cos it would be pressing on the tailbone.

<font color="119911">jennifera,
this is my #1 & EDD is 23Jan. Next Monday gynae visit, hopefully can see gender. Detailed scan i think in Sept. No, i am not fr s'pore brides forum. Previously i was in another thread 'infertility support group' in this forum.</font>

Re: tailbone
icy & angelsky,
i hurt my tailbone b4 when i was in primary school days & resulted in crooked backbone. So far, touch wood..tailbone no pain during this pregnancy except backbone suan. I wonder if we opt for epidural during delivery, will it have any side effects cos backbone crooked, how to administer?

zhao mummies, how's appetite today? lunchtime!!

oh they said look at the mummy's navel to guess boy or girl. if the navel button is out, i.e. boy. if navel button is sunk-in, then it's girl.

mummies who know bb's gender, true??
for my #1, its right on the guess.

bird nest usually drink in 3rd tri cos' usually wont vomit out mah, and also its liang so eat at 3rd tri is better. first 2 tri is to eat more "pu" first.

i crave for roasted pig and sharks fin....ask HB to buy...dun care...bb wants to eat...haha...

mei - heehee...quite true leh..i find my navel button is out (mayb due to tummy bigger too) & also enlarged (can see inside clearly)..
so your navel button is in or out???

Yeah lunch time...feel like eating chix wing again..

janbb - so urs is right on the guess. mine, this time round is in...i.e. most likely girl.

lunchtime - i eating chix wing...hee...

steph ntuc selling ... if u dun want big one u can take a medium size one to try heehe e.... bought one big one just now in the morning have 2 cups .... my naval button is still in leh ....

steph - its only a guess...let us know right or not when u go scan...

qq - in most likely girl. u scanned already right? girl right?

mei, gynae say maybe only leh ... i have a frd oso like that leh her 1st one is in ... girl 2nd one is out is boy leh kekekeke

hi everyone, just wanted to say hi. The thread does move quite fast, have quite a bit of reading to catch up on.

There's some talk about detecting fetal movement. I guess I still have not felt anything. Hope to feel in the coming weeks. Also looking forward to know whether boy or gal so that I can decide what to buy for my baby. Haha...

mine is still in. will let u know when i have the detailed scan to see how true it is.

happy for u all coz your appetite is good! mine is still poor despite now in 2nd trimester already

my navel is sunk in & will see if bb is girl during this fri checkup...hehe.. :p btw, hb say my bb now move up closer to belly button coz everyday hb will move ard my tummy to listen to bb heartbeat & the waves sound if bb is busy swimming inside.

btw, just to share i have been listening to this collection of lullaby songs that i bought ACTS bookshop.. it's a christian bookshop @ china sq. everytime i play the songs(be it the tracks with singer or without), not only make me sleepy as well as hb too! hahaa... so i guess bb also sleep too!

kitsune, ur hubby drew a very cute flying pig! :D oh ya, i also finally get over the "lazy" period & updated my blog with the u/s scan pic. u can see some pics of my bb @ http://debbieandairrence.blogspot.com/

Lynn, yup...we r just few days apart... may see each @ MT A.. u going for how many beds ward?