(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

JanBB,
since u dun take any fish during yr regular meals, i would strongly encourage u to take fish oil as supplement for your baby. No choice la for sake of bb.
Side track a bit...got neighbours tiles poped again! not sure which floor but definitely from my block cos we saw the old tiles below our block void deck.

hi all...yday tried the salt water treatment...of cos pain like hell. Ulcer still very big. Hardly ate anything at all. This is worse than during my MS time.

goldenpig, last time i also use to put salt directly on my ulcers, but there was one time, the ulcer very big, and when i put the salt, it bleeds, and got worse, opened up bigger. Dat time, not preggie, went to doc and doc scold me say sometimes salt can worsen an injury. So from that time onwards, i very scared to put it directly liao.

Today headache subside a bit...dunno if it'll come back later....perhaps i shud force myself to go out and get some fresh air. My nostrils, apart from being blocked, start to feel very painful each time i inhale, like as though the air has got spikes, pushing up my nose. Anyone of u experienced this? I only experienced this usually up on long haul flights in the airplane. My frds told me it's due to stale air in the plane...dont tell me my room got stale air! Yikes!!!

JanBB...my gynae gave me Nature's Care EPAX fish oils. Tasteless, and easy to swallow...perhaps u wan to try it?

When exactly shud we start buying all those sterilizers, milk bottles, etc. And how many bottles do we need ah? The other day i start panicking, asking hubby, i dont even know where, wat and when to start buying baby's stuffs. Except for clothes AFTER i know the gender. Useless first time mommy.

Evelyn,
My boy is coming 3. He is still using it. Converted to junior bed.

steph77,
I was using the sarong sling. Personally find it good. My boy loves it. Best of all, allow me to bf him. And as for bumbo, I find it useful also. Cos, when ard 3 mths bb usually doesnt like to lie on their back. Wanna "KPO" around and they still cannot sit. So, bumbo will be of good use. However, the milage of it is not v long.

Bebe,
I am interested in the photoshoot, in fact my friend is going mid of aug. She got some good rates from the mother fair recently. But then I worried my hb wont be ard to take with me during 32 weeks leh. *sigh* I let my friend take pix first and see how.

Stephh,
some of my friends buys the sling but 50% know how to use only. :p I heard it is very useful.. but bb must also want it. :p

JanBB,
I'm having the neurogain fish oil, mine no smell at all.. could it be because of the weather condition in sg? Mine was quite dry.. so not much smell.

i used sling for my #1 until he got too heavy. It's easy once u get the hang of it. Buy it 2nd hand from mums who can't figure it out, whose babies dun like it or who get duplicates as gifts.
My #1 still likes to sit in his Bumbo, he's 2YO now, but his butt quite big and occupies the entire space and no ventilation so after a while he wants to get up. Can use when baby is abt 3m onwards, when neck is a bit more strengthened.

mylife
when i had #1, i didn't buy much before he was born.. most were hand-me downs, borrowed from friends etc. Eg steriliser, breast pump, baby cot, baby clothes, blanket.. even newborn diapers were sponsored by my sis whose boy outgrew them coz he was born 4kg. Hospital and prenatal classes gave me 'starter kits' too, eg 1 Avent 125ml bottle with #1 teat, tube of diaper rash cream, sample packs of baby wash & moisturiser etc. Plus all the baby hampers as gifts from my aunts, colleagues etc. So i used whatever i had first, then decided if i wanted to buy more of what i liked or not. Eg the sample nappy cream wasn't too good, so i bought Desitin. Eg finally my boy took to wide necked bottles instd of narrow ones, so i invested in Avent bottles instd of NUK. Eg the J&J baby wash made my boy's skin quite dry, so i bought Avent.
Also to consider that baby may be born with sensitive skin or whatever condition, and i din know how long i could breastfeed, got any milk etc.... so that's why i din invest so much b4 baby born.
If i dun remember wrongly, this is the stuff i bought when i was still preg with #1:
- pram & car seat (asked frens to 'sponsor' $$ for car seat)
- matteress & bedsheet for baby cot
- nail clipper
- cloth nappies (in the end only use for swaddling!)
- ru-yi oil
- cotton wool
- washing powder for baby laundry (washed baby's clothes & bedding in final trimester of pregnancy)
- wet wipes

really.

all other stuff i bought after baby born. Eg bath tub, nursing bras, breast pads, bottle brush, ear thermometer etc..

my colleagues also ask me to write down a list of items that i want so that when friends/relatives want to buy something, can ask them to sponsor..hehe

Re: Cot

It really depends on babies. My nephew used it till 5yo converted to junior bed.

My son used it till 14mth cos he rolls a lot and the moment he got stucked or hit his head will cry badly. Aiyah! That reminded me! I should've put back the bumper!! Maybe I'll let him sleep in cot again tonight. Now he sleeps on mattress but occassionally will roll out of it and knock his head too. There was once I caught him head on mattress but body on floor..

A friend's son is a superb climber.. can climb out of playpen and cot. so ended up sleeping on mattress.

Golden pig,
yeah. I mean the teat. My son couldn't take avent teat well too. He took a very long time to finish his milk so I eventually changed to pigeon narrow neck. When he's older, then he became ok with avent teat...

qing2,
ya mine is blue in color. Got samples ah...can give me?? I hate traditional steam fish cos dun like the smell. I prefer fried fish, Mc fish fillet & fried fish beehoon soup still ok. Hopefully my taste bud wont change as pregnancy progress. Sometimes, our taste bud changes during pregnancy & we are more sensitive to smell too.

JanBB,
forgot to inform u...nurse did mentioned to me about the fish oil, if scare of the strong smell, put the bottle in the fridge aft opening, this will lessen the fish smell cos room temperature is higher & will make any odour stronger. Try it & see how.

Looks like the response to the preg photoshoot quite poor. Think we need 10 to get a deal of some kind. So far only
1) Babe
2) Lynn
3) Icy

steph
when i was preg with #1, i didn't eat ANY fish. the THOUGHT of fish made me want to throw up. Actually growing up & b4 preg, i enjoyed fish very much, so i thought i sure hv no problems when i'm preg. Who knows, i totally avoided fish in the 9m that i was expecting. However the very next day after i popped, i had a lovely meal of fish soup... YUM!! Thereafter I had fish for lunch & dinner for MONTHS - in an effort to increase my BM.

This time round, i'm taking fish almost everyday in the form of tuna sandwiches, fish & chips, fish slices with economy rice etc. So taste buds change very odd lor...

hi Kai Li & joyce,
There is another good magazine i wanna recommend, the "Mother and Baby", a parenting magazine for new mothers. very informative, can buy from 7-eleven, NTUC or roadside/bus stop stand selling newspaper oso can find. The August issue featured Diana Ser & baby Jeke.

goldenpig,
hehe...heng we still like & tahan the smell of durian
Nowadays the D24 bitter meat small seeds durian taste so good, better than XO. There is oso another kind call "hairy monkey" durian...oso very shiok...meat thick thick. Yummy!

steph my sample is the one in blue u want? i can give u i have alot ... i have mamil mama oso if u want i can mail to u

qing2,
i only want the fish oil, in blue one yes. How many capsule in a sample pack? Will it be too bulky & heavy for postage ? Can i PM u my address? Thanks so much

<font color="119911">qing2,
i only want the fish oil, in blue one yes. How many capsule in a sample pack? Will it be too bulky & heavy for postage ? Can i PM u my address? Thanks so much

steph - OMG, tiles poped up again...mayb those unit that was left vacant there for long is it? Btw, thinking to buy dinner from that sheng siong food stall today.. have u tried? any gd recommendations?
kao_drool.gif

qing - cun find the pink neurogain in ur link.. but me kpo see your wedding pic.. heehee... thks for sharing
Maybe will take a look in the pharmacy to check out blue & pink diff...

mylife - how much is Nature's Care EPAX fish oils?

icy & steph - i leave it in office drawer.. aircon temp.. capsules look dry to me.. but still smelly.. mayb diff preggie diff taste bud like wat goldenpig say..

steph sure you can pm me let me know ya .... i go back and count how many capsule are there cos i open one to check heehee rest assure i wont give u that heehee

how to cancel if double posting?

JanBB, so far i have not tried the foodcourt, my hubby did & had a bowl of Ba Cho Mee for $4 and the taste so so.

qing2, no hurry...take yr time. let me how many capsule then i PM u. Thanks much much.

hi goldenpig...thanks for the detailed explanation on shopping list...hmm...tink i will also follow your style..quite a good idea actually...

qing - saw the pink fish oil.. box look nicer than the blue one..haha.. strawberry flavour is it.. hmm..muz go pharmacy & do a comparison. Perfect 10...at first i still dun get it...haahaa..then later figure it out liao..u so cute..

steph - ok..if i not lazy to walk over there later..shld giv it a try & giv u my feedback..

JanBB no lah hahahah that pink one not strawberry lah kekeke u oso very cute .... hehehe .. just that it dun have that fishy smell .... i still can remember the fishy smell sandwich i Got in the morning .... eeeeeeeeee

hey i used Xi Gua Shuang b4 & very effective. But i not sure whether suitable for pregnant anot, check with gynae b4 apply loh.

thats why loh dunno can use aNot i see my frds always use that to spray on ulcer very fast ok liao leh

count down...another 15mins can knock off work....so tired & my back very suan.

Yesterday dinner, i had 2 x 1.5kg of Sri Lanka Crabs cooked in white pepper style...yummy! I dun eat alone la, with my hubby & two frds.

qing2, do u believe that eating too much crabs during pregnancy will results bb next time grow up to have itchy fingers & legs (duo shou duo jiao)? u heard of this myth b4?

my back oso very suan ..... still pain as well .... hope will get well soon...

steph i never heard of that hahaha but i heard next time baby will be HENG XIN BA DAO 横行霸道 kekeke but ppl say only lah ....

as for itchy hands n legs hor i heard my mum say when 1st born must wrapped the baby haha so next time hands n legs no more more kekekeke

golden pig, i have not bought from online sites like motherhood. how much are the international delivery charges? also i m not sure what size fits me. any advise? thanks!

mist
erm, i join the sprees in this forum's Marketplace, so that shipping charges are split by number of participants or items. As for size, use measuring tape & match with sizing chart.

<Qingqing. Just went to your blog. Layout and colour look good. Saw your ultrasound photo. I think it will look sharper if you try scanning it instead of taking a photo of it. I tried taking a photo of it with my camera phone before and the resolution is not so good plus got reflection. :p

<Steph, the chinese sinseh I saw said don't eat too much crab because it's 'han liang' but she said she don't believe in the itchy hand part. Hee.

Hi Steph,

I've also heard about the myth from my granny. Perhaps it's coincidence but my Aunt told me she had special craving for crabs during her pregnancy, thus when my cousin was borned, she's quite "itchy hands" Haha..
My hubby got worried and forbid me to have crabs. But I think it's just a myth lor...

Good morning all,

kitsune haha my scanner spoilt liao ... so no choice gotta take it with my digi cam .....

steph there are 6 capsule inside each bottle ....