(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

ernmum
how much per large twin pack is your place selling?
My problm is that i dun keep an eye out for those storewide sale etc for robinsons/ metro/ JL etc. Coz even if have and i want to buy a lot, means gotto drive there and spend on petrol, parking etc. In the end also not much savings...

i heard from my brother-in-law, who just became a 2nd time father, that People's Park sell cheap baby toiletries.

let me check out with him on the exact location and keep u girls updated.

thanks hammies .....

i have bad dreams yesterday ... sigh so scary ..... i dreamt my mensus come .....

i had some spotting yest aft lunch, i called e clinic was told to go down and see gynae but i cant tak leave becos i already taken half day in e afternoon for today.. today is my triple blood test. Juz prayed dat bb is doing well inside.

heheeee! and hope dat i'll b able to kw e gender of my bb too..

i went to e Baby Hyperstore last wk there r so many prams.. dont kw how to choose.. hahahaa! can anybody advice wat to look out for wen choosin a pram? my budget is below $500.

G Tan
issit Cheong Choon store?
http://www.eguide.com.sg/ads/sg2521/content1_01.htm
tks for the reminder, later i call them to chk price.

Lynn
pram choosing:
size, weight, 1 or 2 seater, price, durability, design and function.
Below $500 can buy lotsa prams.
How come no one choose pram from Giant? They carry many lightweight prams. Those at Baby Hypermart are mostly the heavy (& more ex) European brands. And i felt so claustrophobic in that place.. so crammed with EVERYTHING. Baby Kingdom carries combi and capella i think, but their attitude sucks. I brought my spending dollar elsewhere after a taste of their horrigible service.

yeah combi. abt $250. but as he grew, i found it narrow for his shoulders. So we were hoping my boy would learn to walk quickly then no need to squeeze him in the pram. After he started walking, the pram in storage liao.

Good morning ladies,

Wah, seems like everyone is starting to buy baby things already. I haven start planning on anything yet....

PRAM
Please allow me to share some info base on my past experiences.

Cannot get too light weighted, cos there is a tendancy to hang bag or shopping stuff on it. If pram too light, the pram might tipped over. Can imagine if the little ones is in it??!!?? So, sturdy should be the key when looking for a pram.

Dont get the pram before the arrival of the little ones cos, he/she may not even like the idea of pram. Just like my son. Luckily I got my peg perego as a gift. Otherwise, heart sure "bleed". He only started sitting when he can walk as he is too lazy to walk. So, before he can walk, I am using the sarong sling. Of cos, each child is different but as for pram, its not a real necessity to use in the early days, why take the risk? Especially when $$ is concern :p Out of the thread where my son age belongs to, there were 5 kids like that.

fishia,

Personally dont think leapfrog is good. Though I dont own one. My friend does. The sound quality not very good. If you r concern with speech development, I think talk to the child more, that will improve. Prompt the child to talk and not always trying to comply the child when the child is not even trying to express/communicate his/her needs.

woah everyone goes thro oscar, my japanese gynae din offer any test except those simple blood test. i think i better check if they do offer detail scan or i need to go back sg for it.

Joyce,
I also find my tummy getting smaller. But at the same time, i feel less bloated and less wind inside and even burp less. So i suppose maybe becos the gas inside had slowly disappeared. But then see tummy smaller also doesnt feel good.. especially when mil always like to ask if my tummy get any bigger.

hi lyn,
I hope everything would be fine for you. I also found spotting on sat afternoon, but then it stops. that 1 and only straining there. *sigh* dunno what happened.

I'm waiting for my appointment on Thursday. I am so worried that things will go wrong when my hb would be in US for the next 2 weeks, then i have no one to cry for help.

valencia,
I've been talking to him but seems like he's not ready. I just placed order for the leapfrog DVD this morning cos read good reviews from amazon. never mind lor.

For pram, i started my son in it since 1mth old. it's 5-point harness so he couldn't struggle out of it when he was older. There was a stage when he simply struggled and refused to sit on it, including car seat. We used hard and soft methods to pin him down and never gave in to him, although sometimes we failed. So far till now, he's still sitting on his stroller and napping in it every Sunday in Church. We brought the stroller to HK too and while he was sleeping, we happily shopping. Personally, I find stroller very useful...

Babe,
you have a nice blog yah. Your daughter is so cute with so much hair! Did you fill the inflatable pool with warm water? I haven't dip my son in any pool yet. Don't dare to let him try in bath tub else i'll be in trouble! he'll be wanting it frequently! now looking for thermal swimwear and hope to bring him to pool soon.

my boy used the pram since he was a few days old.. he was laying on it naked, getting a sun-tan to get rid of the jaundice. We were thankful for the pram coz we can wheel it anywhere in the house to catch the sun, and didn't need to carry him & we could do our stuff.

when shopping (esp groceries), i place the heavy stuff in the basket under the seat, then i hang the lighter stuff on the handlebar. I liked that the Combi had a horizontal handle bar on which i can place plastic hooks. Anyway we dun go shopping that much, only occasionally.

hey babe, u're hakka! my ILs are hakka and i've been picking up a bit, but not much coz only been married 3+yrs and didn't live with them.
My boy can say "cho mak kai", but won't say "sit pao mang"

hi lynn & icy, i have kind of brown spotting/stains yesterday & today... any idea what could happen?? kinda worried coz i went swim on sunday & only swam 2 laps.. but i tot we can swim rite?

i m now 15wk & went for my regular checkup on last sat but cant see the gender yet...

Superbee,
I search around, not really found much reliable answer. Some were saying it is normal and common for no reasons. But since my spottings stop, i would wait till thursday then i tell my gynae abt it. You might want to give ur gynae a call if this continues.

I actually wonder if it is becos i stayed up too late the night before, only slept at 4am. :p

hmmmmm actually i slept late too sometimes week days i slept at 1+ 2 ..... wkend worse if frd wanna play mj hahaha i will play till 3+ 4 ...... i think quite bad rite

Qingqing.. haha! i also suspect gal leh... coz i dreamt gal b4 but hor pple keep saying they think mine is boy coz i m now ugly, fat & big boobs loh... if gal then my hb will be very happy loh.. anyway i cant resist temptation last sat & bought a cute little pink dress coz compasspoint having some kiddy clothes sale.. then i keep pestering my hb to buy after the checkup so he bopian to obliged to my request.. hehee.. :p wah u got energy to stay up late? i salute to u & got energy to plan mj leh.. coz i m a lazy pig who just look fwd to my bed every nite b4 12am...

thank icy, i also tried to look on the internet but not much info too & happen saw ur posting. pardon me for the disgusting description : just now i went to toilet & when i use the tissue to wipe & i saw it is something like the leftover menses kind... i will continue to monitor & pray that nothing major but more of cleaning up my internal system i hope... else i will need to see gynae liao

Seem like quite a no. of you have spotting. Let me share my experience. For no reasons, I have spotting on 2 occasions, when I was about 5 weeks and about 10 weeks. The spotting looks like brown stain just before the starting of my menses or at the end of my menses. No fresh blood though. The spotting stopped by itself after a few days. No harm to my baby too.

Anyway, scared the hell out of me especially when I was only 5 weeks the first time I have spotting. I was basically all tears when I called up the KKH hotline trying to find a gynae on a Sunday morning. Thank goodess the KKH has a clinic at AMK. My hubby drove me there. The gynae wasn't very helpful I feel. He did tried to use ultrasound to scan but my baby was too small that time. He suggested a virginal scan but I turned him down. I did ask him what does it mean by spotting. He just kinda said that if the baby is going to be miscarried, there isn't anything we can do. Goosh, that certainly doesn't make me feel better. Anyway, he then gave me some medicine to strengthen my womb (according to the very nice nurse). I took it for about 1 week and the spotting stopped. I went to see my own gynae and she did a thorough check, no problem with my baby.

For the 2nd time, the spotting came and go within a few days. I did informed my gynae, who then told me to dropped by for a scan. Again, no abnormalities after the virginal scan, but she also gave me some medicine to take.

Just want u ladies to know that if u have spotting, please inform your gynae. He will be the only one who can do a thorough check on you and reassure you that everything's fine. I read a lot info on spotting from the web. If your spotting is fresh red blood or with clots or can soak through a pad, please please go see your gynae immediately! In any case, it's always good to inform your gynae about any abnormalities you notice so that he can monitor your well-being.

Hi qinging,
I LOVE pineapple. You know the fruit store at Isetan Scotts supermarket? They pineapple with black sauce + chilli is ultra yummy! Already ate KFC today for lunch. I have to be a good mummy for the coming weeks. U too ok =)

Oh 1 last thing about the spotting. During my first spotting, the nurse at the KKH clinic told me not to do any strenous work. But I just couldn't think of any strenous work I have done, which can cause the spotting. Anyway, just remember to take good care of yourself and have lots of rest ladies. =)

Thanks for sharing the info on Taka Square BabyFair. Am looking forward to it. Hopefully by then will know my baby's gender like most of you here so can start buying stuffs!

Heard from friends that Medela BreastPump is better. It can be use by using electic, battery or manually. However, it's about $200++. Anyone has any idea or recommendations?

I've been around this forum for a long time but lurking around this thread for quite a while ever since i found out i got pregnant.
I didn't join in posting the threads as i wasn't sure if this pregnancy is sustainable and i was also too bz at work to even surf around.
When i first found out i was pregnant, i had spotting and fresh blood on and off from week 5 to week 10. I was given 3 weeks of MC and told strictly by gynae to have complete bedrest and not to carry heavy things.
When i passed my first tri @ 12 weeks, i thought everything was well.. then i start to spot again.. not fresh blood but old brownish blood. I was so freaked out that i called my gynae. She had me come into her clinic on the same day.
She did a vaginal scan and an external scan. Baby is growing well. Heartbeat is strong. She couldn't find out what was wrong with me. I was again given another 2 weeks of MC plus some hormones tables to sustain the pregnancy.
I'm now currently into my 13th week. Just want you all to know that if you have spotting on and off and you're worried, better call your gynae for a check. I haven't spotted since this morning.. but it used to happen so often that i would check every now and then to see if i have stains.
You ladies have a good nite..
For me.. it's the start of my 3rd day of MC.. sigh....

Oreo, take care.

Icy, maybe as what u mentioned now less bloated and less burp and inside less wind that make our tummy get smaller.

i went for my triple blood test yest.. cost mi $300+ and was given muti vit(bright pink color) and another white color pills.. was told to start takin those 2 pills end of dis mth and stop my folid acid..
e blood test result will b out in 1wk, if nobody calls mi dat means is okie.. i'll keep praying..
my next appt is end of Aug to do a detail scan.

Icy & superbee: As for spottin, i hav asked my gynae, he said can b due to sudden movement(eg:wen u drop someting, dont immediate bend ur body to pick up.. gotta b slow motion..) and dont walk too much.. no worries, will keep u in my prayer..

ah capp: how can a gynae said such negative tings??!!

oreo: tak gd care!

HI iloveoreo, same as u im also down with heavy discharge during my first few weeks of pregnancy.
And i have used up all my MCs for this pregnancy.
My gynae found out the reason during a scan and it was cause by blood clot. She said that its bad and a sign of threaten abortion. I was given a jab immediately and it really helps.
The bleeding stop.
Im into my 17 weeks now.
Rest well and take care.

Those who are having spotting got to rest more. Try not to walk too much or carry heavy things. Not a joking matter wor!!! Must inform ur gynea, they can give u injection to stop the bleeding.

I was bleeding in the 2 & 3 weeks was put on medication and injection. MC for a week then recovered.

Thanks all ladies for your concern. I will try not to walk too much and rest more.

<font color="0000ff">golden pig</font>
Ya, this is my 2nd pregnancy. My son already 27mths. Fortunately, my parents are now helping to take care of him.

<font color="0000ff">DarEve</font>
I've already used up all my MCs, now using my annual leave to substitute for it. I was given jab twice also,initially also caused by blood cot. But by week 9, my blood clot is gone. Now don't know why my spotting is back.

raining today. do be careful later when u go out dabao lunch...

what is ur latest craving? i crave for black pepper steak...again.

Hi G tan and shorty, seems like I'm quite like u all..I also put on only abt 1 kg to date...maybe I'm also the thin type..so dun put on weight so easily. Baby also growing, but i jus thot i might be a bit strange..ok..let me see wat happens from week 20 onwards...

does anyone of u feel giddy or nausea after taking Obimins Multi vitamins, the bright pink tablet? After taking it for like 4 days, I was wondering if that the reason, i feel so.

oreo,
Take care, just lie down as much as often.. I think it helps.

lyn,
woah.. i think i must remember to be more slow motion.. Feel so low morale becos hb will be away for 2 weeks soon.

think i put on too much - 3kg leh!! Have been eating a lot due to a few celebrations happening at the same time... I better watch my diet!

btw, did you ladies you put on weight before confirming that you're pregnant? i did. abt 1.5kg.

Harlo n Gd day all,

i wonder why my triple test results so long...a week plus liao...clinic didn't call. Maybe i call them later to check.

For those into 15weeks onwards, can u all feel movement of baby ? although i am in my 14wks but i can feel slight movement in my tummy!

hi oreo, i have spotting during wk5...was given 3days MC cum bed rest & after taking progesterone pills, my spotting is gone. Less strenuous exercise & rest more...take care.

hi mei,

Jurong side not yet rain, only cloudly.
i got craving for mala hotpot yesterday. I went to Chong Qing Mala hotpot at Tanglin shopping centre yesterday for dinner. I like the choice of spicy & chicken soup...yummy & great variety of food...buffet style. After that, my tummy & stomach felt so bloated...haha...eat too much.
Mei, u can add another column for baby gender to your chart! thanks

Steph,

I can feel the movement as well. It like ticklish... Initialy i thought my tummy itchy then i scatched it but later reaised its not it BB movement!

Hiya,
I have put on about 1 kg too in my 15wks. It seems like i am getting hairier... especially right below my belly button. I have not felt any movements yet tho.

Fishia,
i did not put on any weight prior to confirming pregnancy. I have always hovered around the same weight before that anyway.

Another reason for spotting could be due to strenuos movements such as intercourse... that's another reason my gynae gave besides shopping and carrying heavy things... maybe those who have spotting should stop for a week??!! Do rest more and take things easy.

I have been craving for chicken rice... still have cough and phlegm, so was adviced to avoid chicken. I miss eating curry and tom yam too! Sigh.. my food choice is even more limited than most...

hi ladies!!

Popping by to check on threads again.

Me too have nose blocked and kept sneezing. I read some of the pregnancy book that nasal congestion is common in 2nd trimester...so tot its nothing. But hubby insisted i go see a GP since i'm sneezing and sniffing away. Becos of the blcked nose, i cant seem to sleep well as well cos cannot breather properly. Finally yday see doc found out i am having mild fever. Sigh...jus wan to minimise my intake of medication ma...

Strangely i STILL dont have any cravings, but appetite did get better..much to my relief..at least can eat now..but some food still turn me off.

I am also quite excited to know the gender of my baby....alot of people including myself have an instinct that it's gonna be a boy but i would really love to have a girl...sigh...but i kept trying to tell myself not to bother cos as long as the baby's healthy, dats all that matters, rite?

Physically, i find myself getting itchy in my tummy area (growing bigger??) and my breasts as well, esp the nipples area...anyone having the same condition??

Lats weekend went with hubby to do maternity tour at Mt A and TMC. Final decision is still TMC as they've got good facilities and newer too. In the tour, bumped into a couple and the girl is wearing the same maternity top as me! hehe...so paiseh...

mylife,

i think someone ask b4 but i wanna know if we book the delivery rooms ourselves or gynae will do that for us when closer to due date. Will u be attending the pre-natal classes by TMC ?

Hi Hammies,

I still haven't increase any weight till now. I am at 15 weeks. I have asked gynae regarding my weight and he reply that baby growing more important than mummy gain weight..
So all mummies don't worry too much about the weight..
Rest well & take care...