(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

i just have this weird feeling wen i am wearing skirt like my whole tummy is very bloated!! Maybe i am used to wearing pants and my work place is damn cold.....

Hi mei,

I'm new here & will like to join all of u ; )
Can u add me in, pls.

EDD: 16/01/08
Gleneagles
Dr Tan HY

After reading the postings here, i'm glad that i'm not alone & happy to have so many MTBs to share our feelings...Currently is wk 9 now... heard from my gynae that wk 8-10 is the peak of morning sickness.. Like most of u.. I'm getting tired & nausea especially at the end of the day... & wat i puke out is always gastric juice in the evening.. seems that is more like evening sickness and I start to sleep at 8pm+ so that i won't feel so much like vomitting...sometimes find myself veri "ke lian" as life begin to change so much... Well, keep my fingers cross..Hope that we can pull thru' this "awful period" soon & enjoy the rest of our pregnancy ; )

Hi JanBB, welcome

Hey, u know, sometimes I also have the same thoughts as you..like how come this period seems so uncertain, so weird, so not used to it..so 'ke lian', some more i fell sick with a cold..felt even worse... I'm also really looking fwd to get past this stage...arghh...

angelsky,

at the moment i oso dun dare to buy too many. Now, baby not stable & i worry too.
Try to wear loose comfortable clothings to work, try baby doll dress/tops for a start.

thks qingqing & hammies03..

ya men, i never know the first tri is so tough until have the taste of it.. Now realised how great my mum is...

But wear skirt will show big tummy. I feel so bloated now. Stomach super round and big. Not even 2 months already look like 3-4 months. STRESS.

hi JanBB, welcome

Cheer up & u are not alone...i felt the same too.
MS change my daily life. I used to have very gd appetite & enjoy eating supper but now every meals, i wanna vomit. Eat oso puke, dun eat oso cannot. I oso b'cum more emotional nowadays.

angelsky, baby doll tops wont show your tummy so obvious. Dun stress ok, relax

mei, still early leh they will call one mah so maybe havent call u ....

Jan ya man hahahaha how great mum is

hi steph77,

yup, been telling myself to be happy & stay cheerful like b4...so that BB will be happy too ; ) But think my tired look really so obvious until many colleagues ask me what happen to me...why i look so "xian"..some even best... ask me why i start wearing low heels <faint> & my dressing look "cute"...mayb suddenly i look shorter by few inches & wear loose clothing look more aunty...haahaa..

HypnoBirthing is to practised the breathing techniques and Relaxation scenarios for 30-40 mins almost everyday till when the time comes (labour), it helps you get into relaxed state & no pushing required at all . just breathed the baby out/down naturally. i got articles on this but very long. Any one interested then i post it here.

mei, think when u do your ultra scan, your gynae shld be able to predict the week that u are in by the length of your bb...

some experienced mummy may have tried to use doula before. That's why i ask if it's good anot? some hospital oso have doula.

Rachel, thanks for your recommendation. I have already seen Dr WK Tan and quite happy with her but my hubby's colleague recommended Dr Lim. So I would like to hear more feedback about him.

Wlml2402, how do you find Dr Lim? My hubby's colleague said he's extremely good.

Steph77, I was just reading briefly about it on the fourtrimester web-site. Are you thinking of trying it?

Yeah. i hate this period too but soon it will be over for all of us!

Yesterday I couldn't continue folding clothes cos the detergent smell makes me want to puke!

And strangely, looking at those clothes i bought from online spree makes me nausea too. Now i don't let my son wear them. think i associate them with some kind of smell...

steph: i'm interested in HypnoBirthing...

JanBB:
kao_welcome.gif

i juz had nasi lemak for tea break... out of sudden hav craving for it.

just back from my gynae visit. was given one week of hospitalization leave by my gynae. cos of severe vomiting.

so happy to see that my baby has grown..currently 1.1cm and my EDD has changed to 27 jan 08..so near to CNY..

francoise, HypnoBirthing needs proper coaching right? otherwise if practise wrong technique then can be very dangerous. Ya i am interested in this subject & wonder if any MTBs here got any experience.

no pushing required? sure or nt.. so easy?
i practised something like that oso in my previous pregnancy.. but without pushing possible for bb to come out mehz?

hi lynn - thks.. i juz eat "soon kueh" for tea break...heehee... hope it digest fast & won't ended up in toilet bowl later..

Nasi lemak, soon kueh. Make me very hungry le. I just heat now my siew mai. Hope it will stay in my stomach :p

My mother was boiling chinese mushroom just now, the smell now makes me wanna puke. Super strong smell.

Babyshannon, we quite close. My EDD 28th Jan, a bit smaller than you too
7.88mm only.
You must be very happy today. Managed to see the heartbeat?

More on HypnoBirthing, go to:
Special Dates for HypnoBirthing Classes in June:
4 classes 3 hours each
Class 1 - Thursday, June 21, 7 to 10PM
Class 2 - Saturday, June 23, 2 to 5PM
Class 3 - Tuesday, June 26, 7 to 10PM
Class 4 - Thursday, June 28, 7 to 10PM
Register at www.parentlink.org

My colleague tried it & she say it is helpful in her labour.

babyshannon
husband and i didn't think the blood test was necessary when i was carrying #1, as we were not v old and we dun hv family history of Down Syndrome. Gynae will do neck thickness measurement via ultrasound at abt 3 months.. that's a 70% confirmed result abt DS. It's part of the routine chkup at no extra cost. The blood test will give a 90% confirmed result, but need to pay more lor.

Babyshannon,

If further tests will not endanger the baby, I would do it. I used to teach in a special school. Many times, the babies with down syndrom are also born to parents who are not within the risk factor. But its all up to you. I do just for a peace of mind.

Btw, the siew mai sucks. I heat it up. Smell and then threw it away. hai~~~~

fancoise,

Ya, he is really gd, and tis is my 2nd pregnancy so will still stick to him. he is gentle and gd in stitching.

wlml12402, I heard he's very very good with 'flattening' the tummy after birth. I don't know how you call that. My hub's colleague said no need to engage malay massage lady after that. But it was rather painful though. Not sure whether it's the same for you though.

francoise,
i have read the link you attached. Interesting & amazing right? I thot of signing up during 2nd/3rd tri. How abt u?

The HypnoBirthing Classes:
Classes 1-5 (for first time parents) - S$495
Venue: Clementi
All couples attending HypnoBirthing classes will receive class materials that enhance and support the topics covered in classes.
Couples attending HypnoBirthing classes will receive the following:
1) HypnoBirthing, A Celebration of Life, Marie Mongan's book on HypnoBirthing
2) 2 relaxation CD's
3) A copy of The ParentLink Guide to Having Your Baby in Singapore, a book written especially for parents in Singapore
4) Invitations to twice-monthly coffee mornings throughout your pregnancy and after your baby is born
5) Membership in BabyLink, ParentLink's free mother-and-baby support group
6) Telephone and email support when you have questions
7) Free access to the ParentLink lending library
8) Refreshments during group classes
For more information on HypnoBirthing, contact Di on 9451 7702.

francoise,

ya, i heard fr my fren saying tat too. i din experience tis cos my tummy flattened after given birth, he told me i just need to firm up my tummy.

mei,

can update for me, mine is #2, gynae Dr AL Lim @ TMC. I will further update u with my due date tis fri after seeing him for bb heartbeat. thks alot.

My confinement lady is from Malaysia. I don't know if she is considered very expensive. My MIL said she heard from her friends that it costs about $2k to engage CL. So, I think my rate should be average because my CL also charges $2k for normal time babies, but CNY always special rate one lor. Both my mother and MIL did not volunteer when I said I wanted to engage CL so I don't think it's an option. I don't know how it will be like after delivery so better to get experienced CL. My mum and MIL both out of touch for more than 30 years. Don't know what they still remember. haha. Anyway, anyone knows how much TMC CLs cost?

Morning all,

Mrs piggy, glad tat u have found a job. dun wori and be happy
yr bb is bringing u luck
so must treasure him/her.