(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

fyi

There has been recent evidence that a lack of zinc may make women more prone to morning sickness. Good sources of zinc are meat, cheese, wholegrain bread and sesame seeds.

angelsky
for your own comfort, choose smthg that's loose. U dowan to hv to deal with yucky MS and tight clothing at the same time..

good morning

Congratulations and welcome all new moms

Yesterday slept at 11:30 and got up few times at night to visit washroom.... finally got up at 5:30 could not sleep after that

goldenpig,
thanks for the recom, I went there yesterday bought about 9 pcs altogether S$150 quite cheap for maternity dresses
after coming back thought should have bought few more... :p

Pigtail,

My prob is I dont have any MS
. Why...... but I have sucky cramps though.

Okay, loose clothing, I need to go buy some loose pants today. Orchard here I come.

O ya, please add me in too. TMC, Doc LC Cheng, EDD 28th Jan 2008.

hi angelsky

i posted this ystrday:
try Great World City B1, there's a factory outlet nxt to Bee Chen Hiang selling discounted maternity wear. $10 - $20. Casual and some good enuf for work too. I bought few pcs ystrday. They're only there for another 2-4 wks i think..

wow mum, really spend ah! But $150 for 9pcs really good deal hor.. other shops can only buy 1-2 pcs for $150.

I thought the idea of shopping would help lift my spirits up, since I have been feeling quite down. Have not past the firt trimester, so cant share with friends and family. So feeling quite choked up. GWC, great even nearer to home, can just go jalan jalan for a while, then go back home rest.

Good to hear from some of the MTBs that slight cramping with no bleeding is still okay. Coz thats what I feel on and off. Cramp and the dull sensation like AF coming then stop for a while. When I had that feeling initially during the 2ww, I thought I had indigestion and applied "ru yi you" everynight. My hubby kept complaining that I was like some little kid.

ya actually it was a good bargain but mainly home wearing but could got 1 skirt and 2 strechable pants for office as well, for top could not find more variety.... so thought would be hunting later since GSS is in air

angelsky,
GWC is def a good place and even at OG OP as well they have heavy disounts on blossom maternity wears think they are also clearing the stock...

mcfluffy,
I read from other threads and seems like mdm wong from TMC is quite popular. Can get free Avent goodie bag ;b But dunno how much. u might want to choose somewhere near yr work plc or hm ;)

wlml2402, ya.. thought of...

thinking of going to Dr lim at Mt. A...
nearer to my workplace. but i stay in bedok... so my hubby say i siao... he wants me to go to DR Tan at east shore cos nearer to out house mah...

wlml2402, how old is your #1? your gynae got package?

wow, mum! u bought so many...sorry to ask but do they look like maternity wear cos i need to get some clothes.. but dun want ppl to know so soon... but most of my office wear will show my tummy now...

hi angelsky, welcome...
i do have cramp too.. like mens ones.. it comes n go..

was so bz with work for the past few days, no appetite for food yet hungry and nauseous, terrible feeling.

went to see gynae 2nd time yesterday, still didn't see my baby
but only waterbag. Gynae say too early and ask me to go back 2 weeks later. Can't wait! I thgt most of you can see baby at 5 weeks? i'm already 6 weeks, in my 7th week now.

Anyway, any idea how come the weeks on the ultra sound scan is different from the one we calculated? Seems shorter, it only show 5 weeks 6 days.

luvv
coz our mens cycle may vary..
doc measurement via u/s is most accurate.

sandy
try oldnavy.com
i saw at kiddy palace/ mothercare before, but look quite mumsy.. i think expensive also.

Golden pig
I'll go C.I.O. Hope it'll be affordable 'cos I dub think I'll wear it so often.

Luvv
There will be two weeks diff depending on whether u count from 1st day of last mense or day of conception. I also was a bit confused... So I can either be week 9 or week 7. I also only saw sac on Tues and din see bb
I was so hoping to see the heart beat 'cos had spotting b4 & was worried... Gynae says sac is growing so it's good. When is your nx scan? Mine in 3 weeks' time so by then I will ask to hear heart beat

Luvv
sry, sry, nvr read properly. So in 2 weeks' time u shd see your bb! Do update & share your excitment
Me can't wait to see mine too!

Angelsky

I'm reading the KKH antenatal prog book (borrow fm fren). It says if u are lactose intolerance, u can try to :

- drink 1/2 to 1 cup milk with other foods, not on empty stomach
- take yogurt & cheese (usu. better tolerated)
- drink calcium fortified soymilk

Hope this helps ;)

golden pig & sandy,

i read somewhere that doc's measurement with the u/s is the gestation weeks rite? so it's different from the way we count the weeks. Then full term of 40 weeks count from where? the 1st day of our last menses? sorry, i'm very confused.

sandy,

yah i can't wait for another 2 weeks, i can see the difference bet this scan and my last, cos my last scan, i can't even see my waterbag.

Luvv,
40 weeks is counting fm 1st day of last menses. If count fm conception date then only 38 weeks. Haa... no worries, I also v confused at 1st. But it doesn't help when website just mention which week without adding it's counting fm mense or conception.

Yeah, I also saw the diff from small dot to bigger dot but still it's only water sac not bb... Hope we both see our bb soon!

check out these websites:

Calculate EDD-

http://www.paternityangel.com/Preg_info_zone/DueDateCalc/Calc280.htm

http://www.birth.com.au/class.asp?class=66&page=4

Ultrasound pics -

http://www.pregnancyguideonline.com/

http://pregnancy.about.com/cs/ultrasounds/l/blus1index.htm

Dor11, my no.1 gng to 20mths tis mth. If im nt wrong my gynae has package abt $800+ for natural birth. i need to check again.

cramps,
me too also has it on and off sometimes even need to rest on bed to feel better.

Think I strained myself past few days moving and packing stuff... Just found out got brown stain again... worried ;(

francoise,

welcome and congrats!

sandy, aiyoh you better rest in bed. when will you be seeing your gynae? my gynae gave me duphaston when he learnt about my brown spotting, although little, he still gave me to be on the safe side. Perhaps you should go and see your gynae?

Hi all! I am from May 07 MTB thread. I bought BabyPlus Prenatal Education System at $320. I used it for my current pregnancy only. Now selling at 10% off, $288. Free registered post to you. Price is fixed, won't sell it any cheaper, cos this item is a gem to me!

"Ideally, you may begin using the system anytime between weeks 18 and 32 of pregnancy. We have had mothers start using the system as late as 34 weeks of pregnancy and still have seen positive effects."- from www.babyplus.com

Luvv & Dorothy,
Thanks for your concern. Just moved all my stuff over fm my mum's plc so must unpack ;( I did get my hb to move heavier stuff but pai seah to ask him to do everything so I tot if not too heavy I just do it myself... Now cannot liao...

Dorothy, I already on Duphaston + injection twice a week 'cos I was spotting 2 wks ago. Though spotting stopped aft 4 days, dr still advise me to continue will Duph + injection once a week till 16 weeks ;( Nx tue going back for injection but only see nurse not dr. How much does your clinic charge for Duph? Mine's exp! $36 for 2 weeks supply (take twice a day).

hi dorothy,

few look ike typical maternity wear but few are quite similar to normal non-preggy looking so should be ok... even for myself dont wish to slip into maternity wear so fast, thinking of taking out all my loosest normal wear and may be borrow 1-2 hubby's jeans lo atleast not so obvious

Hi Dor11,

You had cramping too? Reassuring to hear that its okay for me to have cramping. I was out shopping just now, already did not walk too much and quite slowly, felt something and rush to the toilet to check, phew, nothing. :p

Hi Sandy,

But I cant stand the sight and smell of milk, youghurt, cheese. My hub was telling me for the sake of the baby I should try to take them. But I puke. Hai~~~~

angelsky
when i was carrying #1, i didn't take fish for my entire pregnancy, even tho i'm a 100% fish lover. The THOUGHT of fish made me want to throw up. Thank God immed after i popped, i went back to normal and had fish twice a day to help with the breast feeding.

take supplements lor. There are calcium supplements to replace milk/cheese etc, and DHA supplements in place of natural fish oils. But of course eating fresh fish is cheaper than the DHA supplements..

sandy
i used babycentre.com to chk my EDD b4 went for U/S. Turns out U/S gave me an earlier EDD by 2 days.

Here's how they explain how they obtain the result
http://www.babycenter.com.au/pregnancy/fetaldevelopment/workouthowpregnant/

Hi pigtail,

Okie I may sound quite ignorant. Can I get the gyne to prescribe to me? Or I can just go to the pharmacy to buy? :p

wow...so much movement in this thread on a sat...
angelsky..I also had cramping quite bad around the 6 week period I think. Just before I went to see gynae for first time. Then after seeing gynae, still get on and off cramps. But no spotting. I suppose it's a symptom of the early trimester...plus I had bloatedness etc. Seems like each day can have different feeling. But do look forward to getting past this stage ya!

Btw...do you all take extra supplements other than what the gynae prescribe to you? He only gave me folic acid when I was 7 weeks then told me come back 2 weeks later...hmmmz...

I am oso Jan 08 mother-to-be, can i joined in this thread?

By the way, have one question, visited my gynae yesterday. I am in my 5th weeks now, and doc did a bb scan and little dot can be seen. The doc wants me to go back next week to do another scan, is it necessary that the scan needs to be tat close period?

Hi hammies03,

I was wondering if its enough jus to take those that he gave me. Same as you, he gave me folic acid and another is to stabilize the baby. I was thiking about calcium and others, but then since already pregnant should buy more like pregnancy related vits?

I went in for a scan and check which is my first at about 5weeks plus, he told me to come back 2 weeks later which is about 7 weeks plus for him to check for heartbeat and baby. However, sometimes at about 6 weeks plus, some people can see their baby's heartbeat already.

Gintonic: Welcome! will u e lady who ROM in May'05?

Angelsky: my hubby wasnt ard most of e time too... he's wif e airline so no choice.. in fact on my 1st visit to e gynae, i went wif my sis instead of him becos i had spotting so requested to see gynae earlier.. i'm juz 7wks today

Hi Lynn

Good morning to you.
Wow so you are ahead of me by 2 weeks. Hope you are feeling better now. Get lotz of rest. At least he is with you some of the time
Figure my dear hub will not be with me till I deliver. But as long as baby is safe for the next 8 months I would be most happy to do it on my own.

Morn ladies,
i went to see gynae on last fri, was able to see the heartbeat.. so happy !

Lynn, u rom in May05?? me also :p

angelsky/ hammies
when the time comes, gynae will prescribe calcium pills, prenatal vits (obimin), DHA supplements etc. Coz now only 1st trimester, some mums can't even retain their food, so no point spending $$ on pills just to throw them up. And anyways, the foetus doesn't absorb so much from us yet.. 2nd-3rd trimester more impt... dat's when we need more calcium, birds nest etc kkekekeke
so we're just taking the minimum required: tiny folic acid tablet, coz the spinal neural whatever thingy needs to close normally within the first 3 months, & dat's where folic helps.

gintonic
i think your gynae wants to see the heartbeat, c if the sac has grown etc, dat's why as u to go back in 2 wks. If u had delayed your first appt, there's no need to go back so soon. Getting a positive pregnancy test and seeing the water sac is only the initial part, coz sometimes it may turn out to be only an empty sac, like in kab's case last month.

hi everyone, i just came back from Great world city... bought 4 tops...
btw, their last day is 15th june..

wow, everyone went to see gynae... me only going to my gynae on wed... still so long...

hope to see my sac...

wlml, it's beside mei zhen siang. cheap... some really dun like ml wear... but i din get to c all..cos my ger just disturbing me....

maybe going again on wed after my appt at mt a...

maybe we can go together... heehee

not veri nice... no lah but my stomach veri bloated... so i need to wear something loose to hide..
now only 5 weeks leh...

their last day is 15th june... let me know when u wan to go...

u working?

Wow, din expect to see so many mummies today!

golden pig
Thanks! I went to the website and confirm my bb's 7 weeks old. But my gynae nvr say how old my bb is leh
Does it mean if the water sac grows means it is not empty?

Angelsky
Wah, seems like u really cannot tahan lactose stuff. No lah, dun force yrself, I think like golden pig says, take supplement or calcium fortified soymilk. You must tk care since yr hb not around.

Babyling
So happy for you!
Hope I'll see mine soon. Still got 3 wks to go... can't wait!

Dorothy
Wah, if more of us go GWC can get discount? hee hee...

Me too waiting to see gynae. Yours on Wed, so can count down liao. 3 2 1... Hope you can see sac too! Must really drink a LOT of water! 1st time I went in bladder not full enough so drank abt 1L more then can see small dot! :b

hi!

babyling: yep! i rom in May'05..our plan was to enjoy e first 2yrs then hav baby, juz nice

seems like e maternity clothing at great world is popular.. i'll chk out e store next wk..

mei: r u ard? how r u?

dor,
im sahm.. me too feeling v bloated and oso constipate... 5weeks start alrdy like tat dun knw how as time goes. i let u knw when i can go as 15 Jun will be my next appt.

sandy, u veri funny abt the bladder...

when s your next appt?

sandy, if doc never say anything, it's actually good news!!!

i dun think got further discount already.. their clothes are quite plain jane... but i guess for a start it's ok... i rather wear their than to squeeze in my normal office wear n walk around my service centre looking so weird...

wlml, constipate? maybe it's due to the iron pill that u are taking...heaty...

dor,
ya constipate...and tummy bloated too. i oso think of the iron pill bt cannot dun take mah... drink alot of water liao oso no out.. haiz

Wow..this thread is definitely moving fast.

Congrats to all new Jan/Feb MTBs who has just join this thread.

Hi Mei, u take good care & ample rest. Enjoy your holiday trip too!
I rec'd the free milk samples(50g x 2packs) from Dumex yesterday. Not only that, Dumex oso sent a fetal programming booklet which introduce the importance, relevant information on how to provide the best enviroment in your womb for your baby through good nutrition. Most interesting, they oso gave us a round calendar to check EDD, baby growth at diff stage & baby's avg weight, our weight gain & baby's avg length so that we can track on our own...interesting huh!

I am feeling nauseous, headache & feel like throwing up again...Sigh...hope it will be over very soon!

Hi Flyn, how are you doing?

My hubby flew to K.L this morning for work olreadi...not sure when he will be back, home alone is bad... anyway, luckily got so many MTBs to talk & chit chat here. So sian, tomolo going back to work & have to tolerate the MS.

Anyway, can't wait for my next gynae visit on 8Jun, by then would be 7.5wks.