(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

qq, i'm here reading silently. Jia you to you too. i tried for #2 for 6 or 7 months. use preseed, dun use ky. after switch to preseed then strike.

yesterday #1 had high fever that wouldnt go down despite paracetomol and brufen. thought we should take her to do blood and urine test so we went to cgh instead of kkh. doc diagnosed as mild tonsil inflammation and gave antibiotics.

i was hesitant to give but seems the fever isnt subsiding even with fever medicine, so i started her on the course haiz

aqua
must spell check urself before u post out. or when the phone suggest words, just tap on the suggestion so that it'll go away. very fast your phone will remember the new words that you have typed in. i think in ios4 the dictionary can add words in yourself? im still on ios3 so dunno ios4

who dl ios5 yesterday? my hb did and he say not much diff leh

Aqua,
I was in the chinese-education stream doesn't mean I don't learn English lah. But true, I struggled quite a bit when I first arrived in England! I never talked to people in English until I went to uni, and that only when talking to my lectuerers. Luckily I came to SG to do my master first, so more getting used to speak English. When I first arrived in England, they couldn't understand me, and I couldn't understand them, haha, took me (and my colleagues) a few months to adjust :) I never read any English book (except school textbook) until was in England, and guess which one was my first book - Harry Porter!! So, if you tell me which and which and which author ah, I have no clue. But it's okay, now I re-learn together with my kids, haha.

Prata_queen,
If it's confirmed tonsil inflammation, why you hesitate? It's actually okay to don't give, but since you worry about her fever, then give, can help her to heal faster.

QQ,
JIA YOU JIA YOU!!! yes, agree, you must relax first, not feeeling stress. Probably the last few months you were stress with the selling and buying (though you may not feel it). Once you are done and over with this, go for a romantic night out with your hub, without your super on gang and super cute TT tagging along :)

kam
im the total opp frm you, i can finish a thick engrish novel within a day but chinese...i read v v v slow and most of the time i ask my hb to read some of the words i cant recognise

kam, cos we always read about anti-biotics abuse. the big question mark in my head is (1) is it bacterial or viral? if it is viral, antibiotics won't work and (2) even if it is bacterial infection which the doctor says it is (her tonsils is swollen), can she recover without antibiotics?

this time, the reason i decided to start the course of antibiotics (reluctantly) is becos her fever although only Day 1, already hit 39.5 and even after medication, reduce to 38.7/39.1. the paracetomol hardly had effect on reducing the temperature. Had to take brufen in between to reduce to by only that little bit.

reluctant - becos #1 hates medicine, gotta take for 7 days, 8 hourly, very troublesome for me. sian.

ask you, if it is 8 hourly, i can give 6 hourly in the day time so that at night no need to feed right?

pixie, dunno lei. she came home from school on wed saying she is very tired. then fell asleep so early at 9pm! at 10pm, i pull her up to pass urine (so she dun wet bed) and felt she is warm. Temperature was 37.8 then after that shot up 39 and has been hovering around there. lowest was 38 plus even after medicine.

so on thursday MIL came to help take care of her so we could work (just came back from sentosa, used up 3 days leave, a lot of work piling up).

and mil feedback whole day temp very high so thurday nite decide to do blood test and urine test but poly close so went to nearest hospital. big regret. the standard between cgh and kkh a and e is very different. but the wait is much shorter. went at 9, back by midnight.

my MIL is the nicest person in the world.

back to your question abt tonsil inflammation, i think it simply means flu/sore throat? ie it is not a specific illness, rather it is a symptom.

by the way, i observe (1) brufen is more effective than paracetomol (2) brufen causes loss of appetite.

do you all have the same experience?

update about my kitchen
so the kitchen flooded last fri rite...
finally carpenters came down on wed to tear open a boxed up portion inside a top hung cabinet that conceals my sub pipe. cfm sub pipe leaking. the town council plumber came up and took a look, say upstairs chokage thats why my sub pipe leaking
WTFISH!!

my poor cabinets...the back part sticking to the wall dunno how, cannot hack away and see if rotting or not, coz dripping water and pool all the way onto the floor (from most top; just below the ceiling)...meaning the waterfall been running for a week liao, wood rotten or not? carpenter say not really, wont be that fast, unless 1 mth or more...

so in the end, i asked my contractor if can dun pay for the part of the wood they hacked away. coz they have to put back the panel. now with screws so if anything wrong i can open up the panel to see my sub pipe...

as for my main pipe...concealed permanently and no access to it. if remove, must remove the whole length of my kitchen top (eg from sink to stove - whole length accross the kitchen). winner lor...haiz

and i have this rainwater pipe...wtf, never got such pipe in sengkang one de leh! anyway its in my balcony mah, so that one leaking, i have to change the pipe ($40) but once the plumber remove, my parquet floor will have damage and i will need to repair, repaint pipes n all

why??? why??? why???

not my fault de leh

should i ask for compensation from neighbour?
or....i got buy insurance leh, i mean house - interior...can claim? LOL

Luvv,
Really ah? There goes my hope again...

Can just only change 1 parent's address or not ah?
Or else worse case scenario is really change both addresses bah....

QQ,
Don't give up hope ok? I do think it is fate on how many kids we will have but we really never know until we try. Like other mummies suggest, you can consider to seek's gynae's help which will be faster.

Stress is a barrier to conceiving. So try to relax or try in a overseas trip bah.

Kitsune,
Ya loh, unfortunately the only condos near MB is Eunos Mansion (which is really old) and upcoming euhabitat. I don't like Eunos Mansion leh... euhabitat hubby does not like coz too near to expressway, very noisy and dirty??? Maybe one of the weekends go see see look look euhabitat... Other than these 2, the rest of landed property. Hehehe... Think abit hard hoh to get landed property.

Prata queen,
Oh dear. Hope your girl is ok. Keep monitoring her situation and since you started the course then have to finish ya.

Pixie,
Tempted to d/l but did not coz my iphone is jailbreaked one...

the dangdang book - hao mama sheng guo hao lao shi, i read for 2 mths still only half way done.

my chinese is not good but trying hard to pick up so i can coach my children in future.

prata queen
i think brufen is a NSAID and paracetamol is not?
i read somewhere brufen is more effective in treating children than paracetamol when it comes to fever

hey u know what? #1's fever always 38-39+, its is norm, but i dont feel worried. if over 39.5 for more than 6-8 hrs then i'll give him meds. i think his body temp like mine naturally high

after he takes brufen, his hands n legs will b v v v cold n clammy. his temp can plunge to 35deg kind

what's NSAID? first time i see this word hehe

last time i gave #1 suppository (anal) and she immediately vommitted!

my #1 fever also always very high. dunno why this time i very worried. maybe cos #2 got reflux problem so i wanted to make sure my #1 fever is not due to urine infection

non steroidal anti inflammatory drug
it got like ibuprofen(brufen/bufen), Mefenamic acid (my fav heehee), diclofenac...i think to relieve pain, or fever?

i remember them coz i was prescribed nsaid very commonly/often so i read them up. i couldnt remember which med is for what purpose so i wrote them down in my house's first aid box

Xiao Yun,
Your current flat, the 4th room is pretty small right? Coz I think yours is the same as my BIL coz he lives around your area. The previous owner hacked away the 4th room so the living + dining room is very big.

Definitely not for reason 1). Since I am stopping at 2 kids, 3 bedrooms are fine.
Reason 2) could be a plus for me but seriously I don't feel like selling a HDB for a HDB liao... Abit no point... Thanks for your info. I think your area alot of people are selling. My coll just bought a 5-rm that area too, in fact same block as my BIL. LOL. She wants to send her boy to MB too.

krystle,
Recently we just cleared off our HDB loan and we also had to "top-up" nearly $2k cash due to the same reason. I think alot of HDB owners are not aware of this rule: The amount HDB can loan you is up to the valuation price of your flat. Most people forget about the interest which actually adds up to a huge portion of the monthly payment. But this problem will only surface in the last few years of the loan cos that's when you'll reach the limit. We were supposed to pay more in cash but we appeal and they let us use some of my hubby's CPF. HDB told us this is CPF rule but can still appeal to CPF and usually they will allow you to continue using CPF funds to service the loan but this is provided your CPF account still got lots of money lah. Now with the min. sum rule, etc...more people will have to top-up with cash.

Aqua,
U finish confinement already? If yr bb demand for milk high then u cannot drop pumps yet. Wait till yr boobs produce milk more stably first then can drop pumps. First few mthshvto be very hardworking n pump diligently.

Prata queen,
Bufen is more effective for high fever (>38). for low grade fever then use paracetomol.

QQ,
Jia you, my #1 also from clomid, #2 I took clomid for one yr still didn't strike. If u want more info, pm me ok?

Yvonne,
Oh can appeal to CPF on that???
I am quite sure by then both my hubby and my CPF a/c will still have money, so maybe we will try that option. Thanks for telling me.

krystle,yvonne,
i have also cleared off my HDB loan 4mths ago but we did not need to 'top up' additional cash. Is it bcos yours resale flat so need to top up cash for the HDB loan in final 3 yrs? what is this new rule abt? paiseh blur me...

QQ,
Jia You woh! yr thyroid hyper or hypo can affect yr cycles. u aiming for dragon bb ah?

kitsune,
The PD is right! Don't need hard stools to be anal fissure, bulky stools can cause that too. Prune juice is good but to avoid bulky stools, best to increase your fibre intake gradually, balance it with ample liquid (water) intake. Dr Ang (TMC) told me the side effects of too much fiber, as this causes more than just too much gas (abdominal discomfort) and massive bowel movements! If u r giving more chopped up veg for RL, u gotta make sure she drinks enuff water

QQ, grumpus,
clomid if taken more than 6 cycles will not be effective & if ppl like me for eg have history of endometritis & cyst will causes side effect cos clomid can thicken the inner lining of the uterus
Best to seek gynae's advise.

I am overdue for pap smear for 2.5yrs...i am gg to see my gynae soon & talk abt contraceptive using IUD...this one will release hormones or not huh? hmm...i know there is one w/o hormone...IUS?

QQ,
Yup clomid cannot take more than 6 times. In tat one yr I only take 6times cos my menses not regular so by the time take, wait, drag, induce menses is 2 mths already. In the end I still didn't strike n hv to stop clomid.

SY,
Yes, the "top-up" is only for resale flats. Yours is direct sale from HDB so can clear all from CPF. So nice that you have paid off everything.

Krystle,
Just go down to HDB office and ask them about it. They called CPF for us and got the answer immediately.

Steph,
It's not becos we're resale flats. It applies to all HDB loans but probably your loan amount was smaller so you did not hit the limit. The interest is usually "hidden" cos most people don't realise how much they are paying towards the interest and not the loan. Eg. loan amt is $250k but end up paying $350k due to interest. The loan period also plays a part cos the longer the loan period, the more interest you pay.

u all use cash to pay off hdb loan? my hubby not for the idea. He prefer to build up our emergency fund (6mths) and keep excess for a rainy day. Cash is king. But the downside is the large % of interest.

Prata queen,
We don't have a choice...
Because after hitting the Valuation Limit (VL), I still have $30K HDB loan outstanding (interest which is so high
)which by norm, cannot use CPF to pay for that already. So have to use cash. Unless like what Yvonne has done, must try to appeal to use CPF but must have enough min sum in CPF.

But if yours is not a resale flat, I think no issue for you.

Pixie, Reno got insurance? I tot contractor mus provide after sale svc n warranty, usu 3 or 5 hrs, pls check. U can talk to ur neighbor, mebe they will pay some damages.

Krystle, did u take CPF grant? I tot onli told who take CPF grant mus cough out the cash when they sell?

Sy, congrats in clearing the loan. I know how gd it feels
U can invest in condo as second property eh ;p

Qq, dragon bb also v gd! I always hope to hb one, but no fate, my bb came early as a surprise. No dragon, can try snake or lagi best Horse!!!

Do u all know that the CPF you used to pay ur house loan, u must repay CPF a portion before u retire ? Coz that $ is meant for retiremt not for us buy/ sell flat.

Grumpus my bb 8 wks, I goin wrk dec, wan drop pump session. But maintain ss coz I may hv to return my colleague pump

Aqua,
Are you referring to HDB grant for living near parents?? If yes, I took it up then (forgotten is $30K or $40k)... So maybe this "top-up" is for repaying this amount, ya?? I asked the HDB person but he could not explain that much to me... He only insisted that we have to "top-up" in cash but never even proposed to us about appealing to pay via CPF.

I only know we have to have min $121K (as at now) by the time we reach 55 for our retirement. If never reach that, think have to "top-up" in cash again... or we cannot get our CPF savings. That is what I heard...

You know all these HDB and CPF rules are killing me... I don't think they are really helping the people... I feel pain each time being hit back by the rules.

I think the compulsory top-up with cash nearing the end of loan tenure is because the valuation limit is reached. Once that happens, owner gotta use cash to repay monthly installments to HDB.

Mine is a resale, Still have long way to clear loan cos we have been paying only the monthly instalment to hdb but didn’t reduce the loan amount by making one-off partial repayment.

krystle, yvonne,
thanks for clarification!yes, mine's a direct sale from HDB so no need top up cash.

prata_queen,
my loan period was 30yrs but after 7/8yrs of mthly instalment+interest, we decided to clear off the loan period using CPF since we have enuff
The % of interest is just too much, not worth it.

aqua,
yup, feels good to clear off housing debt
but me & hb no intention of investing a condo now as property price still v high. Ours is a 5rm so upgrade to condo means better amenities like getting to enjoy the swimming pool & gym etc but compromise on space (smaller psf). Unless i strike toto/4D now...hehe may consider moving closer to Rulang Primary or clementi/dover area for better choice of primary school for my boys later...haiz

krystle,
i deleted my post after realise that you are not interested in (1) & (2). :p
anyway, i don't know how small is the 4th room as when i bought my house, the master bedroom is already combined with the other bedroom.
Hence, my masterbedroom is the size of living room + dining room. :D
I can only say that the normal bedrooms are pretty small compared to the units around your area. My PIL stays opposite your block, their total size is the same as mine. Imagine need to divide the same floor area into 4 bedrooms + dining + living. the bedrooms has got to be small.

wondering why the price for my area is still not too high. < $550k.

i went to euHabitat, don't like the location too. But the price is not bad, that time I went is still < $1000psf after early bird discount.

yipee TGIF...'ME time' with friends/colls tonight...karoake

hmm...why not Jan mummies have a dinner+karoake get together night w/o the kids/hb one of these days?? doable? keen?

Oh...have a great weekend everyone!

Xiao Yun,
I agree... My current flat's bedroom is spacious as compared to my BIL's too. But I like your kitchen coz it is squarish.

Steph,
So nice can go K... I long time never K liao...

QQ,

Jiayou and baby dust for u! I was on clomid when I cant track my ovulation properly. My cycles are not regular at all. I was on clomid for 3 mths...not successful, stress up during that 3 mths also and hubby finds it too routine for the ML part on those specific high chance days. We din manage to ML on all 3 days during O. Was prescribe another 3 boxes of clomid...took the first box but was more relax by then, I was not hoping for good news, but I striked. then tried to count back the dates, I realised this pregnancy is not due to the help of clomid. cos clomid can really regulate my O that much. Gynae also concluded that. It is by luck and must be stress free..Relax and enjoy the ML.

Mcfluffy
At least u took higher Chinese. I had Chinese tuitn since pri sch right up to JC!

Pixie
I tot ur place just Reno? How come like tat?
U no mensus, got spotting?

After my last post on friday, went for a brainstorming session for about 5 hours!! Killed all my brain cells and was so tired that night. Really old liao loh :p

Prata_queen,
Yes, bacteria infection can also recover on its own without taking antiobiotics.

To tell whether it is a viral or bacteria infection, one way is by monitoring the fever profile. Usually viral fever goes up and down, and fever can easily shoot pass 39C. Bacteria fever is more constant, the temp can be high or low, but wonn't move much, like around 39C and didn't go down for the whole day.

Hope you have been successfully fed your gal med. No tips for u cos both my kids love taking med.

Steph and Yvonne,
That was so coooool that you have paid off your home loan, at such a young age!!! Congratulations!! I will go for a big celebration when it's my turn. How long have you all been working to save up that much?

Now with this move, our loan will take forever to pay off loh. With the existing, we targeted to pay off in 5 years. Now ah, at least another 10-15 years, unless we "downgrade" to HDB again in a few years time, hehe. That's what our 2 viewers did, sold off their condo and use 100% cash to buy a HDB.

Pixie,
Think paracetamol and most pain killers are also NSAID. Really have to be careful not to take too much. I am not sure about those for children, probably lower dose. But for the adults version, they are studies reporting the link between NSAID and cancer.

Flying off to india tomorrow night. It'll be a nice break for me. cos these 2 weeks have been shouting on my kids quite a bit. Sigh, really not easy being a mum. When my patience runs out, still have to take care of them cos I have no one to turn to. At times when I am really tired after working, I so felt like crying when I couldn't even take a peaceful shower. But yes, have to move on, have to be strong. I can only keep reminding myself, it'll and it can only get better and better! And also keep reminding myself that I am not a perfect person, I am just a normal human being, it's okay when I get mad and scold and shout at them when I really couldn't take it anymore. Jia you jia you!!

Kam,
I think we took out a 20 or 25 year loan initially but when we saw the amount of interest we were paying, we decided to do something about it. We made lump sum payments with CPF every few years and increased our monthly repayment amounts since our salary were higher than when we just bought our flat. Finally managed to clear the loan in 10 years! Yipee....

mom2nat
yes my place just reno finish, but they boxed up my pipes with NO access, spoilt (like now) then jialatz lor

anyway i called up my insurance agent, thankful i bought insurance for my whole house!
so now the loss adjustors and some restoration specialist will come to access my cabinets. if they can ensure that the lifespan of my cabinets will not be compromised and fixed up my smelly sub pipe then ok...if the restoration specialist feels that the leaking behind the cabinets oredi damaged them, then gotta tear down everything and redo....i quote them 10K. mind you my ID not cheap de lor, he keep on appearing on TV, fees keep increasing? LOL

anyway, got buy insurance, i dont mind tearing down. later 5 years down the road wood starts to rot away and by then when i want to claim insurance oso cannot liao

sighs

and then my mom cant come over tomorrow and tue to look after bb, working from home again + chionging down to NTUC for a week of groceries. coz mom supplying and shes not coming means i have to get it myself and only today learnt about this...aiyah! bash wall....bz until cannot breathe ah

Pixie
I tot we usually buy fire insurance for house only? Got Reno insurance too? Boxed up looks nice but leak then chia lat. Wah, u must have spent a lot on Reno since urs is celebrity id.

Next 4 days is psle marking days. So my girl no school. Gotta finish all hw then can enjoy MBS staycation.

morning mummies...
my "relative" came today... so tired and sleepy now. Plus slept at 1ish am last nite.. yawn

mom2nat
ya 4 days psle marking day ! so long
my time is only 3 days lor

Mom2nat,
go buy your insurance! think it's call a home protection insurance. Fire insurance think is the one u got when you bought your flat is only for your 4 walls even in the event of fire lor, not even your fixtures and fittings...that home protection one will be quite comprehensive, will even cover your temporary housing..etc it's not expensive too, i'm paying like 100+ per year for my 5 room.

pixie,
lucky you but a lot of hassles now, jia you!