(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Good morning mummies,

Yipee, on course today ;)
Anyone work near Buona vista or holland? Kam u still wkg near here? Wanna lunch today?

Mcfluffy, ya if can't homeschool northland will be the choice.

Aqua, ya I plan to homeschool because I m qualified. I salute my mother friends who dun qualify yet struggling to fight with moe. That's why I don't want to waste this opportunity. Yet I want to work , tough decision for me.

The Chinese translation is 鳄梨 for avo, 菠萝蜜 jackfruit n 番石榴guava

Kam I got my new house near yishun park. It's within 1km from northland but not chongfu. U hokkien right? Can join the hokkien clan then got Priority.

Avo is poPular now already especially in Taiwan .

TongTong,
U are qualified to do homeschooling? Which cert do u have? Interested to know ;) Though don't buy the idea to do homeschooling cos also agree that kids should develop their social skills in school. But would like to take up some courses to teach my kids at home after their school ;p Some of my fnds are getting a childcare development cert from PSB...etc..

Shannonbaby,
Read your blog on "Dream schedule of SAHM", love to get this schedule too, haha. But a pity, I still can't accept maid & cc which will make my life better or worse?? Btw, I did some SM materials during last two years while waiting for my boy in school. I enjoy preparing material & teaching them too. We can share the materials if u want ;p

Qq, my new plc n current house both 1 km to konghwa pri sch. But I m nt alumini or hokkien clan, so my girl can't compete. Nex alternative is GeylangMethodist pri juz nex to my new house. Worse still, try haig girls pri since I got 2 girls n I hear v easy go in ;p
U trying kong hwa or Tao nan? Eunos pri nt v gd rite?

janbb,
is yr gal in SM now? I am happy to exchange SM materials with u. In fact, I have lots of file folder activities games which i used to create for my students and now putting into good use on my girl. hehe..

aqua,
geylang methodist is also a very good school..
my friend's child is inside but lots of hw and every 2 weeks got test even though he is in P1?? I think my friend is very stress..haha..imagine last sunday nite at 11pm, her son took out his diary and realise math homework not done, pg 47 to 70.

Mcfluffy, rem I say I m in Bo chup camp? Hee, I will leave the tutoring part to my hb! No confidence in math n sci , tht y I did commerce in jc.
Tongtong, home sch needs certification? Like iso audit ehh, stress

Shannonbaby, I hope so. I tink pri sch still ok to go neighborhood,sec sch more important. Eg tg katong, temasek, dunman high all in east
Btw u found the pump Batt?

shannonbaby,
Yes, I like it cos it's a "chinese" school. I really wish my kids grow up liking Chinese and can read and write Chinese proficiently later in life :)

But if you are old girl, then you kids sure get in right? You don't need to move within 1km, but just near enough so your kids don't have to travel too long?

mcfluffy,
That's why we are moving within 1km, and I am going to apply as parent volunteer as well. Am not Hokkien, so can only take the PV route.

tongtong,
OIC. So you really go your new house! When will you be moving?

Avocado is popular with the new generation, us included :)

Btw how do we know if the pri sch is good? Beside the sap pri sch, is ther a pri sch ranking? Based on psle agg score or passing rate? Is ther normal pri sch but kids can choose Chinese as first Lang?

shannonbaby,
No time to do home practice with #2 at home. So will decide next year depend on my schedule. Will be good if i can a/c her to SM class next yr. My SM materials are mostly memory games. U can check it from my blog for ideas, heehee ;p Is it ok that you share your materials or activities here or in FB via msg to me? Thanks a lot ;p

Aqua,
For ranking of schools, u can check it out here ;) Think there's many different kind of ranking in the forum, based on what u are looking for..

http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/content/rank-your-top-primary-schools-singapore-2010

This link is very useful. Check this out, mummies ;)
http://sg.******************/articles/primary-schools-rankings-–-top-21/

Qq, why dint u consider buying the flat near Dakota? Near to konghwa n TT no need wakeup so early? I need Dakota 4 room flats cheaper thN ur existg estate

aqua I am use to Eunos so .. just take Eunos .... heehee ..... kong hwa is our first choice if not will be sch in bedok which is near my in laws

Your topic is so hot that I kena the heat too. I'm on mc today :p

Wah seems like most r eyeing for a better sch for their kids hor. Only me send my gal to a lousy neighborhood sch. Even if u want to send neighborhood sch pls send to a better one. My gal's sch is lousy lor

wah still on property topic ah

kam
wah!!! welcome to yishun! i stayed there from 5yo till when i in poly. thereafter moved to sbwng, just next door only. i still frequent yishun now wor!!
i can tell u hor, chongfu - when i was in pri school (meaning more than 20yrs ago?) - was the most popular school back then and only the clever students can study there. if u ask a fren where u study and she say chongfu, it means she is darn smart kind lor....anyway, good choice!

tongtong
u staying near yishun park? u mean the one behind the bus interchange?

aiyah u all are my neighbours leh, i cannot break off my ties with yishun n sbwng de....

for me, i think firm liao, just send both X to fairfield M lor

chaye
u MC? whats wrong? fever??

JanBB,
Thanks for sharing the link. Interesting way of ranking the school, different methods than at the Kiasuparents.

Pixie / mom2nat,
For me hor, the only reason why I chose this school is I read they put quite a lot of emphasis in Chinese. Think most if not all pupils take higher chinese. So that's set for me :)

Think it's still the most popular school in Yishun. Sure will be stressful. But I am very very sure, 100% sure I won't send my kids to tuitions one. If they can't cope with their study, I will become a SAHM without hesitation to coach them.

Aqua,
Think chinese language is available in every school. But only some schools offer higher chinese. Correct me if I am wrong.

Pixie,
Fairfield is the one at Dover?

We are moving to Yishun cos my company is moving there in either 2012-13. It's near to Zoo, and has lots of park, lots of greenary. I don't like crowded place :p

KAm , yes I mean higher chinese . I also wan my kids to like Chinese , that y we communicate in Chinese most times.

KAm looks like u have eye a particular unit? Is the flat cheaper@ yishun? I hav nt been to yishun my whole life, sounds super far

Aqua,
Think you need to check with the school. According to my friend, only selective schools offers higher chinese.

No, not eyeing a particular unit. Will be viewing some this weekends. I don't know much about Yishun also actually, been there a few times only, for the parks.

Aqua,
Copied from kiasuparents,

In particular, Special Assisted Plan (SAP) primary schools offer Higher Chinese from Primary 1. Higher Mother Tongue (HMT) is usually offered to capable students after Primary 4 in most other schools. So effectively, in SAP schools, both English and Chinese are offered as 1st Languages. The idea is to promote Chinese and its culture to students from a very young age.

ChongFu that I am aiming is not a SAP school. Hmmmm, then think the kids can only take higher chinese from pri 4 onwards.

pixie,
Re: jellybean arts
fyi, there's a branch opening at jurong spring cc. U may wish to find out more ;)

Nobody interested in x'mas or birthday branch ah??? Other than the jellybeans party. How abt bakazin baking class??

kam
yishun is as crowded as any other town leh. what makes you think its less crowded than eg yew tee?

u will be staying within 1km of chongfu?

JanBB,
I think it's a great idea to meet up in Dec for the celebration of their 4th birthday!!! I would go with the majority, but if prefer not to attend a class thingy, if possible.

Pixie,
Hehe, Yew Tee is NOT crowded at all. Think Yishun should be more crowded than Yishun. I actully quite like Yew Tee because it's not crowded, it's just that hor, like I said a couple of months ago, all 3 schools within 1km of our house need balloting!!!

I was comparing like Clementi vs Yishun. I lived in Clementi for a year or so, I couldn't take the crowd (at the MRT), feeling so stree going home every day, haha.

Yes, will definitely be within 1km of chongfu. Actaully aiming at the condo lah, either Yishun Emerald or Sapphire.

Janbb, if I am not mistaken , I dun need any teaching certs for homeschooling. But moe will ask for your qualification. If u have degree that's the best. Else they will ask lots of questions n make your life difficult. That's from my friend's experience la.

Kam, moving in 2013 when house is ready, hehe. When do u need to move out then?

Pixie, my new unit is adora green , near yishun park Lo.

Kam, agree with pixie. Yishun will become very crowded when all the btos are ready. Khatib mrt is less crowded than yishun mrt, the latter quite terrible.

kam
oooo that condo very old liao, hey if u really stay there then u'll be near sbwng lo coz its like smacked in between

tongtong
i didnt know u moved to yishun neh. my younger sis is moving there soon. not adora green lah. the new BTO at blk 600+ there....

sighs my whole family in yishun&sbwng while me still stuck in the west with no amenities *cries*

Pixie,
9 years old I think. No choice cos we don't have money to buy a new unit, cos we need the proceed from selling our HDB. One new condo just launched right next to it! Same price some more!

tongtong is always at Yishun leh.

tongtong,
Oh, I don't know that leh, actually haven't been to any of these 2 MRT, and haven't been to the shopping centres there before also. Yishun to me, so far, is lower selatar reservior park and bottle tree park :)

Kam,
Thank you for entertaining me, haha ;)
Think I post before that both will be going to Henry Park (hubby ex pri sch). Also aiming to shift nearer in 2012 or 2013 ;) Waiting for reasonable property price to enter. Haiz, we have did so many viewing when preggy with #2 in 2009. But property price is on high rise, so juz see no buy.

Why don't u want to buy the new condo since same price? Cannot pay by cpf rite? Then what is the diff?

Aqua,
staying in j west now. Looking at clementi or dover areas (nearer to henry park pri). If not, stay put in jurong area but prefer to shift nearer to mrt.

JanBB,
Oh ya, now I remember :) Heard from my friend Henry Park provides school bus to various places. Properties at Clementi and Dover are scary leh!!

Cos the new condo only TOP in 2014 or so. I need to register as PV next year leh. We want to move now cos our HDB can still sell at good price mah. Don't know a few years later hor, with so many new HDB coming up, and the various "cooling" methods the government came up with, HDB price may drop??

kam,
So far, never see HDB price drop a lot (Muz ask pauline to speculate for us, haha). Only worry next time no COV that is as attractive as the peak now.

Kam,
Motivated by your blog, told my hubby that we muz bring kids to zoo or other outdoor venues for kids more often. Last sat, we went to west cost park. It was really fun ;)

Anyone try this spanish food before?
http://www.serenity.com.sg/live.htm
Finding a dinner venue for fnd's birthday @ vivo tonite. What other nice food @ vivo?

janbb,
We like the jap restaurant Shin Kushiya. Brotziet (not sure if spelling is correct) the german place is also good.

Yvonne,
We wanted to try the steamboat @ Shin Kushiya at first. But the b'day gal has a cough & suggested not to share her "virus" in the pot of soup with us ;( Do they serve ala carte jap food?

Yes, we tried the german bar before. They served pretty good beer & pork knuckles ;) Same group of people so want to venture something more interesting. Thanks.

Yvonne,
Got the name mixed up, the jap restaurant that served steamboat is Akashi Japanese Restaurant or Shin Kushiya? Do u have any idea? Heard that the lunch time steamboat is only less than $20. Cheap & good ;)

Wow kaoz!! This course is killing me. I can multi-task here & there (hand on IT course) at the same time. Can u imagine how slow is their progress ;(

Received the monthly report from the cc, and it made my day! So happy!!

In the last sentence of the report, it says "His imagination is extraordinary! He can make up a story with the use of pictures". Really really happy :)

kitsune,

paiseh busy with work until now...
i am glad RL's poo is back to normal. Did u bring her to the GP/PD? what did they comment abt the blood stools?

JanBB,
Bakerzins has stopped their Kids Baking Workshop liao. No more liao...
I was aiming for that one too, hoping to propose for Dec gathering...

Kam, congrats! Can upgrade to condo soon. Condo facilities very useful for young kids like ours.

Kam, JanBB, don't foresee HDB prices dropping yet cos HDB resale supply still low (due to cooling measures) but if really recession next yr then valuation and COV will be affected. If you can afford to move somewhere else now, good to sell now while COV is still high. That's what we advise sellers too.

Steph, thanks for asking. Yesterday night, showed the pic to GP when me and hubby but he was concerned by so much blood that he asked us to bring her to see specialist. So, we finally brought her to see PD today. THANKFULLY, PD said it is anal fissure. She said no need to be hard stools to be anal fissure, if there is bulky stool (big big piece), can cause tearing. so much fresh blood is because she pushed very hard, so a lot of blood came out. She also examined her anus and said there is 1 old tear and 1 new tear. Yesterday, bought blueberries but she still refused to eat though RA ate quite a bit. Must really ask MIL to give more chopped up vegetables from now on. :p