(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Krystle,

Enjoy your day and your staycation. Envy, envy

Kam,

Sure, will keep u updated...

Thanks, mummies.

I can only enjoy pak-toh today coz from next Mon, hubby is starting on a new job and cannot take leave until next year. So must enjoy now.

twinkystar24,

u going to bring your boy to Paris?
i brought my kids to Paris early this year..

Think she enjoyed disneyland, effiel tour the most. the rest she dont really remember..ke ke..but we went to brussels and amsterdam too.

krystle,
enjoy yr couple time..

Anyone bot babies prom tix this yr?? I so lazy to go. Dun think Elliot will enjoy leh...

Kitsune
Magazines oso 50%. not advertised so not many pple, queued only 5 min to pay. Bot mostly books for my girl.

Krystle
Enjoy ur staycation. I hardly have couple time now. Do u eat out often? Cos I see ur fb posts, always eating somewhere... :p

mom2nat,
I only brought the kids to baby prom once only 2 years ago. Actually I don't really like it and it's so difficult to get a tix, so didn't go back for the second time.

Instead, we go for the local production by Singapore Chinese Orchesra (SCO), located at Shenton Way. It's baby prom equivalent. We have been to one a few months back, pretty good, the kids love it, they also chose to play those songs that are closer to children's heart, and very cheap tix ($11 per pax before discount)! The show was conducted in English. So the main different is the SSO the conductor is a ang-moh (think Australian?) so proper English is spoken, while for the SCO, the conductor is a local Chinese (I think), so he is speaking in Singlish, not broken English though. If you don't mind this, and would like to support local production, you may want to give it a try.

There will be one coming up on 30sep and 1Oct. Visit http://sco.com.sg/concert/2011-2012/3379.html. I have just bought tix for 1st Oct 5pm last night, going with some of my friends.

Kam
I have sso card so I can book. But I think need to renew Liao. The sco one always on weekdays la. I went once, at the Chinese chamber of commerce. I might consider, c how. V costly to go such things! Lol

Mom2nat, thanks, see if hubby is keen to bring us there later. From marine parade to Tampines then back to marine parade again. haha.

Shannonbaby,

Yeap, was Disneyland Paris good? How much were the tickets??? Got hotels to recommend? Hubby n I have been to amsterdam. So probably not going back there. Is it nice at Brussel?

Ohh... I just discovered one mummy here with good news!

Congrats to that mummy!
Hope that mummy is not mad at me for this...

Krystle,

Thanks alot

How is ur stay at MBS??? Enjoy...

Kam,
Piano lessons for Haore. Cool.. He requested for it? At Sempini??

Anybody interested to watch Lion King?? Saw on sistic that 10 tickets have 15% discount. Not valid on fri n sat evening shows. Sat n sun 2pm. Cheapest fir reserve C is )$125 before discount.
We can make it Jan babies outing. But we got to fix a common date

Twinkystar,

My kids enjoyed it very much. U can check out my FB album for their photos. Can't recommend a hotel as we stayed in a resort in Paris near disneyland for a week.
Don't think Brussels is suitable for the kids. We went there cos missed the food, mussels and fries and the belgium waffle. My hb n I only planned Disneyland for the kids. They just followed us along as the trip is more for my in laws. Then again, I feel kids enjoyed any trips as long as they are with their parents..ke ke ke...

Thanks, Twinkystar.

The staycation at MBS has been great!!!
They upgraded me to Orchid Suite!!! It is really a pleasant surprise and my family is overhelmed by the big room size. And my kids are very happy, kept running around the room. My girl says she is a princess and wants to stay here. Hahaha...

Went to Skypark for a dip and seriously Sat is too crowded... Very hard to enjoy a good swim and most of the time, I was in kid's pool. And most kids played roughly in the water and it is not a child friendly pool, unlike Hard Rock Hotel.

But still not bad. Just too crowded today... So many events here, with Kobe Bryant here doing a basketball workshop and LV opening with lots of celebrities....

Krystle, congrats! You have a suite all to yourself. Envious! So which one do u think it's better? The rws or mbs stayacation? For rws, u stayed at hard rock hotel not festive hotel? Did u go to the kids club there?

Kitsune,
I think both are equally good. Both are of different types of stay, RWS is a good resort style stay while MBS is a city stay. Quite hard to compare...
But with MBS giving us the suite for a Premier room price, I guess they win slightly this time.

For RWS, I stayed at Hard Rock. The rooms are nicer in terms of interior bah... Never try the Kid's Club there.

morning mummies

Wah krystle so envy that they upgraded you to a suite ! You all must have enjoyed very much there !

I was informed this morning by T's teacher that his class has 3 cases of HFMD. She asked me to avoid going to playground but we just went last evening lor. Hope nothing serious happen. So scary.

twinkystar,

i stay in Marriott Village d’Ile-de-France which is at the same train station as Disneyland. it is about 10min bus ride to disneyland. But then again, thats because my hb had the marriott vacation club membership, so we managed to book the 2 storey resort for abt SGD$750 per week. its a 2 bedroom, which is jus nice for my ILs and my family. I bought the disneyland tickets on the spot when we went disneyland. its about euro 54.

I recommend amsterdam for Zaanse Schans and the cheese market. think your boy will love it..

i bought for my kids to zannse schans and the Keukenhof Garden in amsterdam. My kids totally enjoyed themselves..

My gal still remember her trip to europe, especially Effiel Tower.

Morning mummies, how many mummies are travelling end of the year?

Was watching some shows yesterday and hubby commented that Jeju Island is very beautiful, when the kids grow up, we will go without them...so i guess my next vacation will be at least 3-5 years down the road!..lolz!!!

Thanks, krystle. Which one was cheaper btw? I think RA only keen to laze on hotel room bed n soak in the bathtub so maybe no point to splurge, haha.

Shannonbaby, Marriott vacation club has been asking us to attend their presentation, this time in Phuket but promo only valid for 6 months so I am not sure if I want to go Phuket again so soon... just went in march this year. Actually do u find mvc useful for nearby countries like Thailand, Taiwan, Japan or Australia? We were tempted to get the cheapest package but worried that the resorts are out of the way like the Phuket Mai khao beach. :p

Can someone recommend me a good camera to buy ? Especially good for nite scenes ? I have been using my canon IXUS 70 for so many years but still not able to capture nice nite scenes even when we switch to nite scene mode. The hands have to be very still if not it will turn out double image. And I find canon's flash is very strong. Or maybe I'm sensitive to lights cos after taking I feel very irritated by the flash.

Really want to rant here about my maid. Yesterday went to my bestie's son's birthday party at their place. Can see there're a few maids there when we reached, then we were just entering and i was talking to the hosts and family, she tapped me and asked where can she leave the diaper bag and we have not even stepped into the house. I told her to wait, then she turned around, asked my bestie's maid and then left the bag and carry my no. 2 to the mat outside where 2 maids were sitting and started chatting! i was quite taken aback cos she didn't do this before. My no. 1 went to play with the other kids and it was early, so me and hubby ate first and let her play for a while. While eating, i saw that the maids took turn to go and take food and help each other to look after the kids, i was not very happy already cos i don't know those maids and i don't even know their employers, how can she leave my baby to others like that? She didn't even inform me, i was sitting like just a few metres away, she can easily called me. I walked over and grab my no. 2 and she knew immediately i'm not happy already. So she went to get my no. 1 after she took her food and asked if she wants to eat. Before she get the food, she came to me and told me that my no.1 wants to eat and she's going to feed her. Good tactic right to avoid scolding, so she ate while feeding my no. 1. The whole night, she kept trying to come to me to get my no. 2 and after a while i realised that she did that so she can just sit down with the maids to chat, so everytime i saw that i will get my no. 2 and ask her to go and follow no. 1. and she will never fail to come back to me after a while and told me she will take care of no. 2. I didn't want to talk to her about this and hubby told me not to, say she won't learn her lesson (after several incidents) and i'll just have to treat her as if she's new everytime and give her specific instructions on what to do everytime we go to such gatherings. I don't restrict her on chatting with other people but at least don't overstep it right, do what she's suppose to do first ma. Grrrrrr.......

Luvv,
I am not travelling until maybe Apr next year coz hubby just changed job and has 6 months' probation.
Friends just asked if we want to join them for Japan in Jan 2012, but we can't.

Kitsune,
I think RWS should be cheaper, and since you are a member too. And MBS increased their prices, I think... The cheapest room is $400+ while RWS's cheapest room is $360++. If you sign up for MBS member, maybe will have some preferred prices but not sure how much. This time I booked by corporate rate so cannot compare.

yo mummies!

wah, after my last post hor, i fell into downward spiral....hurhur

reached home, hb told me that x1 vomitted upon reaching mil house. didnt eat much dinner...after merlion 3x more at home, we brought him to GP
stupid GP cannot cut queue when we told him x1 quite sick n vomitting all the time...by the time our turn (waited 10pax), oredi super passed x1 bedtime, slept in my arms liao...
by the time reached home, put him to sleep, then i got time for dinner, gobbled down wonton noodles hb bought, then i started to feel uneasy...
my turn to vomit! i had to vomit n look after x1 & x2 the whole nite, hb oblivious when sleeping de lor

morning comes finally and then my maid told me she vomitted in the morning too. she looked even worse off than me. so i told her to eat my meds i had at home, n go to sleep. then i was there, with 1 sick son, and 1 baby...called hb for sos, ask him to rush home to help out

so 3 of us down...lucky thing is x2 didnt got it, GP said the stomach flu hb got last weekend spread to us...super virus

sat x1 lao sai, then sunday still throwing up dinner. im wfh today just in case cc calls me up to bring him home...

what a weekend!

yahooo!! im so happy, yanni coming to SG, and i finally found kaki to watch his concert next month...cant wait!!

luvv
my maid not daring but sometimes i dunno what goes in her head. i can rattle off instructions to her (more like chatting) but she no reply me say "ok" or "yes mam"...so i was quite pissed off on yesterday, so i said can you pls reply me when i tok to you? as though im talking to wall like that...then after that she got reply me liao...
so she purposely choose not to reply me....

smart rite

luvv
when maids come together they tend to talk talk talk de. And your maid is very smart to try to create opportunity for herself hahaha. That's y I no longer bring my maid out to gatherings.

pixie
Hope you are better now. your hubby virus is POWER ! but x1 managed to recover so fast hor. Just a weekend and he's ok to go to cc today.

I raised my voice at my maid once and demand for an answer of YES or NO and from then on she replies me everytime le. If not previously I always wonder whether she got my instructions or not until I buay tahan and demand for an answer. Even instructions given, sequence of actions can also go wrong de. Next time must ask her repeat what I said.

chaye
my maid dun dare to talk talk to others. that time i had a gathering at my place, got 2 other maids, they come n approach my maid...my maid was hiding in the kitchen, or looking after my gal...maybe now different but no chance for her to "start talking"

yah man! i dunno what virus hb brought back, everyone kena except x2...
x1 sick on fri, sat no more vomitting, just lao sai x 2, and sunday vomit once
he dun look sick leh, except on fri lor. he was limp really LOL

mon2nat
did you check when the 50% storewide is till when? does that means borders parkway is closing down soon liao? SHUCK!! next time no more browsing of good books.....

krystle
thanks, we all recovered liao. a fast n furious virus, like typhoon. comes and go

ur MBS staycation sounds so fun....how much was your "package" for the hotel? always wanted to try but never sit down n do research. issit the hard rock one got nice kids pool?

Kitsune, my maid has been with me since Jan last year, experience Liao. She wants to renew with me in Jan 2012. She's a so so maid but can play with the kids well...

pixie, take gd care ! i am alone w maid n 2 kids, damn busy, no Free time at all. jialet, dunno how to 'tong' another 2 mths, miss goin bac to wrk eh...

kry, i always see ur fb msgs like u goin here n there, so nice! u wrkin from home now liao? i envy ur weekend retreat ;p
me neither been to rsw or mbs, i tink mus wait long long! my hb is the type who wont spent on sg hotels...

Pixie,
Paisei... Can't share how much is MBS package as I booked under corporate rates... Not supposed to reveal to public...
But I booked Premier room and the public rates is abt $460++.. For RWS, I have membership card so they gave me $280 for deluxe room, which public rates is $360++.

Hope this serves as a reference for you.

Yes, Hard Rock hotel has a nice kid's pool cum beach.
I think good if you lazy to go to other beaches in Sentosa from RWS hotels.

I am keen at such staycation as both locations are our main tourist spots now. And my kids are young so try staycation first before planning on a real tour.

Aqua,
I really go out alot??? I bet other mummies here also go out but just that they don't check in in FB??
yup, now I officially can work from home. And with my kids at MIL's place most of the time, I do have some freedom. And my boss does not care when I start or end work as long as things are done.

But next year will not be so good... MIL cannot take care of my kids and I need to pick up them from childcare and settle their dinner...

Aqua,
My hubby used to be the same type as your husband.
Before we married, we have staycations before and he said it is the same as sleeping at home. :p

But after we have kids, we want to bring kids out for some enjoyment... And these 2 places are rather unique so we truly enjoyed ourselves. Now he said he had the feel of vacation when staying in RWS and MBS.

Pixie
Poor u, come back sick. Take care.
Borders hor, not much books Liao. My fren went on sat, can't get much. On fri, it was not crowded as I received info from email. I spent $180, my fren spent $500+ after discount!!

Hi, Kam

Just bought SCO 1 Oct 5pm ticket. Thanks for sharing the info with Feb mums. Hope to get chances to meet you there.

tubao,
That's great! You going to bring your twins along? Hope to meet you and your princesses. You still have my number right? Text me if you can't see me, our seats are right in the middle.

Luvv, I see, I faced dilemma when deciding whether to find a new maid or send the kids to CC. Financially wise, sending both kids to cc is exp but still cheaper than engaging a maid, sending 2 gals to PAP, spend more on marketing and utilities to cook everyday plus I won't be able to work at all cos 1 maid cannot jagar 2 kids. But downside is that I have so little time with the gals compared to last time when I had a maid. :p

krystle,

Nice to work from home! At least u dont need to take leave when kids are sick. I think you are working in my hb's ex-company. I missed the medical benefit of that company..hehehe..

i used to go for staycation with my hb too. But these days I prefer to travel to short getaway.

aqua,
Hope u are coping well with 2 kids at home.
It's tough at first, but soon you will b used to it.

kistune,

I weigh the pros and cons when deciding to engage a maid. The main reason why i decided to employ a maid previously is the help my MIL when she is taking care of my boy. Now that both my kids are in child care, my maid's main duty is to cook dinner so that both my kids can have home cooked food as most of the time i cant reach home in time. I think my maid has better life than us. Both my kids go to school from 9am until 6plus. she will be home alone to do housework during that time. My house is so small and she can finish everything in the morning.
I think I still need a maid until the day I am ready to stop work and be a SAHM..hehehe..

aqua,
Both me and my hub are like your hub's type. We still don't buy the idea of a staycation. The only exception is maybe when there is a really good deal, like 50% or more off the hotel stay (good such good lobang or not?), then we will consider, cos kids just love hotel stay!

Shannonbaby,
Oh, you are also planning to be a SAHM?? Ya, your maid very good life ;-) She can cook pretty well?

krystle,
After my probation, I might ask to WFH for like a couple of days a week to start with. Cos I take care of the India operation, like doens't make sense to come in to the office leh. But now it's a bit too early to ask lah, cos haven't even been confirmed yet. Thinking too far ahead, haha :)