(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Hi Twinkystar,
Thanks for the compliments. I queued for cash refund. U really need to be 3 hrs early as it was really crazy and they were really slow with the processing. Hubby and I queued separately. I queued to the the customs chop while he queued the next counter to get $.

In fact, it's best to check in with the airlines first (but make sure the items which u are claiming for tax refund are with you). There's no clear information on what u need to show to claim the tax refund until u are at the counter (by then, it's too late). U need to show them boarding pass or flight details before they chopped for you.

Many people had to drop out of the queue half way as their flights were about to take off. I boarded the flight like 10 minutes before it was supposed to fly off. By then, I wasn't to worried as there was a passenger with a 1 inch thick receipts as he was in Europe for a month. He was taking his time and the counter guy for the money section assured us that SQ will wait for a while as it happens all the time. My flight was delayed by 30 minutes. It's easier to claim VAT with Bangkok airport than with the French.

Depending on the bag, helped my sister to buy the GST Chanel with VAT refund is about S$2550 versus local price at $3990. But for LV about 17%, definitely not so much. Somemore, Euro dropped after I purchased the LV cos of the Greece crisis. My exchange rate on the CC was 1.79.

Hubby commented that LV savings so little, buy Chanel more wu hua.

Kam
Have a safe trip!! Nice to have a chance to visit India since most of us hardly will choose it for a holiday destination.

Grumpus/pixie
I am having stomach flu. But I dunno bb is it not well or just 1 episode.
Last night bb vomited abt 5 times in an hour. Was crying badly. I gave him reflux (gastric & vomit) med then he slept well. He seems ok today.. How ah? Shd I bring him to pd?

Blackbatz
I can't view the photos on iPad.

eh mom2nat
i know our bb's intake goes up and down, but my "down" has been down for a week liao
sat was the worst: by 4pm, she only managed to take in 200ml in total; split into 3 force feeds ok

now, she takes in 50-60ml per 3hrly...machiam she newborn time...coz newborn time she taking 50-55ml per 2hrly

jialatz

she is not sick leh....shes been ok cept for milk strike all the while, and only yest runny nose which she still can cope...

Any of the mummies here giving Grow to their kiddos ? I realise Abott has changed their formula and increased the price by about $6. Trying to call Abott to clarify the difference but cant nobody answer at all.

i was referred to the focus on family website, and i found this:-

Do you wonder if your child won't achieve or simply can't achieve? In this 2-hr workshop, discover the keys to helping your child enjoy learning!
Sat, July 16, 1pm - 3pm
http://www.family.org.sg/default.aspx?go=article&aid=764

In this teen edition of the BrainFit Workshop, learn how to help your teenager enhance and strengthen thair brain pillars and remain motivated to learn!
Sat, July 30, 10am - 12pm
http://www.family.org.sg/default.aspx?go=article&aid=915

Mandy and mom2nat,
Thanks! Yes, guess have to keep thinking positively. I know it won't be bad lah, cos our co let us stay at one of the best hotels and drivers are provided :)

Just packed my lugguage finally. Rest for a while then fetch the kids back and play with them for a while, feed them dinner and shower them, before making my way to the airport.

mom2nat,
If he has stopped vomitting, no need to worry lah. But do monitor his activeness and appetite.

Mom2nat,
Agree with pixie. If bb vomit again today then bring pd.

Pixie,
My girl on milks strike and sleep strike for almost 1mth Liao. Catch her to drink she will scream bloody murder. At night wake up hrly. I m super zombie already

grumpus
wahhahaha, ahhh,,,,die die die
every 3-4hly drink 40 or 50ml...
yest night i kept latching her. only night time she sleep she takes my nipples in....
daytime, she lovessssss to latch one lor but these few days she spits my nipples out
feel so offended muahahahaha

ur gal got lose weight?

hmmmm x1 that time no such stuff one de leh
and i find that she vomits out milk more easily than x1. must be her stomach shallower

pixie,
my girl never lose weight but put on weight at a slower rate lor.
i dunno how much she drink during the day but initally when she kept waking up at night i keep latching cos tot she hungry mah. maybe growth spurt. sekali from one wk drag to 2wks to now one mth already still like tat....faint...
i stop latching her everytime she wake up at night cos i dun want to become habit. i just feed her at the regular 4-5hrs at night.

X1 was considered easy lor. i think girls more difficult :p

Kam,
All the best on ur trip.

pixel & grumpus,
Dont know is my girl or what. She is like 16mths old But she goes on milk strike for 1-2 week every now and then. She is only 9kg, super small build. She could just drink like less than 50ml milk a day when strike. Then she survived on porridge 4-5x a day.

grumpus,
U are right. I find my Girl so difficult!

Good morning ladies!

Pixie,
my C2 also vomit easily. C1 can do anything after meals, twirls, upside down, swings, running....and nothing will come out of her tummy. C2 just a little discomfort will vomit everything out. This is since when she was a nb.

Blackbatz
I will use my laptop to c ur photos another day. iPad n iPhone cannot.

Pixie/icy
Thats why pple say when bb eat, sleep and poo, we mothers v happy Liao. My gal drank v little, nibble nibble kind, so end up pd advised give yogurt to replace milk. She started solids v early too. At 16 mths actually milk not the priority Liao. If she eats well, then ok.

Pixie/grumpus
I got stomach flu. Very crampy. Bb oso gana. He was better until yest afternoon, he screamed n cried badly, and diarrhea. Then face n lips pale. So I think prob v pain. I brot him to east shore kinder clinic in the evening. He is better now, but I still crampy.

For my gal, I am so tired, I will leave her beside me and latch when nec.... Really disrupts our sleep. She gets fatter faster oso!! But I can't sleep well. So for #2 & #3, I got my mom to sleep with them. Only wake me up when nec. If they stir, my mom will pat. That's why feeding time can drag.

My mom was v nice, she took off today knowing bb & I got stomach flu. To help out.

mom2nat
mom's the best rite....

my mom "too" nice. she threw away my silicon spatula which i use to cook in my pan, and replaced it with a superduperfugly wooden spatula that looks like it came from remote village from china

i dunn laff or cry. she told my maid today she will throw away my ladle for soup.

hey u take care n rest well, hope D get well soon yah. my gal stuffy nose, sometimes cannot sleep well. yest slept at 8, latest ever had. my maid told me by 7pm, total intake 300ml only....

luvv
x2 dun vomit easily but if i hold her and bounce her abit...say 15mins after her milk intake she will vomit a mouthful or milk. got one time, i was lying down, she wakie liao so i hold her and sat her on my chest and play peekaboo, i think got some movements here n there she laff and merlioned. needless to say, all went onto my face aka milk mask lor. it smells horrible. why semi digested bm so smelly ah

Sigh, my RL starting to show her true colours, 3pm still dun want to nap. Everyday must man tackle her n force her to sleep by grabbing her n patting her. Hiaz.

Kam, hope u have a good biz trip.

Pixie
U latch at night right? I heard sometimes bb know how to drink a bit n sustain till mommy is home. Did u check the temp of milk ur maid makes? It might b too hot or cold. Got once I ask my maid show me how she check if temp ok, she shake my bm in the milk bottle like shaking tomato sauce to come out. Very vigorously! Faintz... Still call herself experienced maid.

Now bb fever. 39.4c.

Sigh, my RL starting to show her true colours, 3pm still dun want to nap. Everyday must man tackle her n force her to sleep by grabbing her n patting her. Hiaz.

Kam, hope u have a good biz trip.

mom2nat
she not keen in latching leh. last weekend that just passed, i tot she gian my nipples, i offered her in daytime, she suck n spit, suck n spit, not keen in the bm that dribbled out
she's just not keen in milk lor

at night she drinks normally. coz she sleeps mah, easier to feed her...but i dont want to make it a habit of keep feeding her at night. yest night oredi latched her 3x - 11pm+, once dunno when, and once 4am+

wah! hope D get well soon ah

Pixie
Actually, latch mah latch lor, she not feeding well leh. Habit can habit how many years?? We ourselves got worse habits we can't kick. I try to be more relaxed, or else i will be v stressed.

Kitsune
Now u know how I feel when Elliot doesn't nap! Tell u ah, unless ur 2 kids easy or u put full day cc, otherwise damn siong if have #3.... imagine now 3pm I have 3 kids at home.

mom2nat
the first night i die die dun let her latch much, hope she dont get bad habit
but the next day she still no drink milk. i told my hb, dun care liao, latch to the max, health more impt than bad habits.
so i latch more at night, but still, she not receptive. sometimes i latch her without her crying for milk, she oso not keen. so i gave up and latched her only when she cries for milk

Pixie
Nvm la, as long as u can than, make her happy for now. I buay than, so will put them in another room. Sometimes I feel bad they din sleep w me, but I know next day I zombie, sure bad mood n they pole who gana r the ones at home.

Pixie, Mom2nat,
I am super zombie now lor. #2 been waking up so frequently plus last wk been having cough, double worse. Wake up at night cough and cough then vomit then need to clean up.....haiz...

Pixie
I just scolded my mil!!!
2kids having dinner, making nuisance, fooling ard, but my mom, mil n maid can't handle. Elliot was using his legs to nudge the maid while she fed him. My mom beat E, mil said "beat harder!!" my mom said beat too hard later skin harden! I told mil, why dun u beat harder yourself?? You all wan to be saints!!! We parents devils!!

Hb came home, took out cane, mil n my mom got angry! Hb got fed up, asking why shd they b angry when they themselves dun wan to discipline but keep saying later put u naughty corner, later daddy come back.... The kids already turn these threatenings to deaf ears!!

Now mil throwing temper slam toilet door.

mom2nat, i know how it's like. I got RaeAnne who has been a terrible napper since she was a baby. She can nap just half a hour after me coaxing her to sleep for more than 1 hr. Only lucky thing is that now she is in full day CC so I dun have to put her to bed for afternoon naps.

I'm just surprised cos Raelynn used to be the easy to put to bed one, afternoon nap can sleep at 11+am and nap for 2-3 hrs. At night, she used to KO at 830-9pm but now cos we got to bathe the gals, wash the dishes, shower ourselves b4 we are free to put them to bed, so their bedtime gets delayed.

At least you got your mum, MIL & maid plus yourself to look after the kids. Grandparents and maid will never discipline the kids for us one lar. In fact, i find that when my mum/mil comes over, my gals tend to misbehave more cos they are trying their luck, see whether grandma will side with/defend them.

The green is always greener on the other side lar. For us, 2 adults vs 2 kids means not enough eyes and hands to use. RL fell down so many times in this last month cos when my back is turned doing housechores or cooking, she gets into mischief, then fall down. Her head literally become hard liao. :p

hello! I've been reading but not posting much

Ever since we shifted B to his own room, he has been "protesting" by not pooing in the toilet. He only does it in his diaper during afternoon naps or after changing into his pjs. I've whacked him a few times already but he still doesn't budge. Still can tell me I cane his buttocks not pain. Really don't know what to do, scolding, caning, hoaxing, reasoning, all don't work.

Kitsune
Yah lor, I Bo pian need their help. I oso find kids more naughty if got maid or grandparents taking care of them. If mil not here, maid can't cook dinner. Sigh... Should b grateful got help.

Aiyo, be careful dun let her fall leh, sometimes got sharp objects.

hello mummies!

Very safe over here. Excellent hotel, the room and the service. Good food, and with endless supply of sealed bottled water. But when we were on the road, saw how the locals live, really make me appreciate of everything that I have.

RE: Girl vs boy
I used to think my gal is a lot more difficult to take care of compared to my boy. She was difficult, or maybe it's that HR was too easy. But she is a lot a lot better since 1-2 months back. Hasn't shown any major temper tantrum (Terrible Twos stage already), and has been really really sweet. That makes me think that she is actually not that difficult to handle afterall.

So my message is - hang on there, things will surely get better!!

mom2nat, ya lor, she is really garang one lor. Eg. this afternoon, she fell down cos she dragged out the waist twisting exercise board to play and she lost her balance, she can still continue to play with it immediately after and fall down a second time. If it were RA, just one time she will be scared liao.

Bo bian but to leave her alone cos she is no longer a baby, I can't possibly ergo her while I do the cooking etc. Just hope her IQ won't be affected by all these falls. :p

Kam, glad to hear that. I think RL is starting her terrible two already. Every thing that you don't give her, she'll scream, cry or beat me. Imitating RA sometimes. -_-

Mom2nat, my parents always tell me must beat when they see her being naughty but they will never beat her themselves. Whereas, my ILs has just started complaining that she's naughty but always tell us not to beat her. :p

Kam
Wah so late u still post! Missing ur kids? Ur gal is so chubby n adorable, can't tell her temper. But I can c HR has a mild temperament, lucky u.

I just fed bb fever med. Is it fever is the body's way of fighting the virus or something?

Kitsune
It is hard to please everyone, this ah ma say this, tat aunty say tat... I live with mil n mom lagi worse!

Aiyo, poor thing keep falling. Elliot oso falls easily. Seems like our #2 more of survival n independent.

morning ladies.

any of you been to MBS theatre ? What's the difference between Grand Circle and Dress circle ?

Mickey live is coming in sept. Wondering if I shd get the tic

Chaye
I went to the mbs theatre for cirque eloize. There r 2 threatres but I dunno the diff!! Only know they are beside each other. It is quite nice. Actually no need buy too near if too exp cos it is sloping.

mom2nat,
That's because I am now 2.5hours behind Singapore time :)

Oh, thanks to your compliment for my kids. HR's temper can be very bad at times, but that I attribute to the Terrible Threes. In general, yes, he is quite okay. My mum is those who believes in cane. The second day she was here, she asked me to buy a cane and use it on HR! Then the third day, she said if you don't buy, I buy for you, and I cane for you!!! We insisted, no cane for now, still trying very hard on using the soft methods. After that, she saw the good and bad of HR, then she doesn't mention about cane anymore :)

Chaye,
How much is the tix for Mickey? If the price is close to the Lion King, I would definitely go for the latter than the former.