(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

im so so happy!
I wanna latch bb to sleep n x1 kept asking for me...so he climbed onto the bed. I told him to lie down beside me dun move dun tok (so that he wun wake bb up) while bb latched...finally bb slept after latching while x1 was guai gaui lying behind my back n holding onto my hands....
V happy with x1....but now bb crying again lol

Pixie
I made some ebm for #2, mix with water and pediasure, he took a sip and say not nice!!! then i make his normal one, no ebm, he say yummy! wah piang!! sigh, tot can give him some

How's everyone doing?

Monday brought my #2 to Thomson Medical to see Dr Ang Poon Liat for his treatment of chronic constipation. The total bill came up to $444+!! *faint*...went for X ray & blood test to determine the real cause of his constipation problem. PD suspected it could be due to 2 reasons...1st - thyroid hormone deficiency (but his blood test turn out fine (normal) so he's clear. He belong to the 2nd group - functional constipation. Functional constipation means that the bowel is healthy but not working properly. When he have the urge to have a bowel movement, he holds back cos he thinks passing motion is painful & can lead to anus bleed/tear. Because of stressful toilet training, these abnormalities result in an inability to relax the rectal and anal muscles that allow stool to exit. His X ray also shows hard stools (PD said the stools looked like 3days old liao!!!) in his rectum & dilated intestine. PD's treatment is to rid of his existing old stools from his system (by drinking detoxification tea in the form of tea bags), his list of NO food list which include dairy pdts like FM, no wheat, no big leafy veg, no carrot, no banana & no soy! Gonna be a long process...at least 6 mths to prevent recurrence of constipation. Wish me luck! Haiz

steph,
Hope the treatment works! Now you know the cause so can tackle the problem more easily. Have to think of ways of how to encourage him to wanting to poo??

I was on leave yesterday and will be on leave next week. Very short work week for me :) Next Monday on leave again. Then Wed last day liao. Thurs starts new job already.

Steph, wow, really very exp. Hope it works. I brought the gals to see GP again for the 3rd time yesterday. Cos pd closed till 22 may. This time he changed antibiotics to augmentin, hope it works. :p

Kam, so exciting, can look forward to bigger pay check soon.

Steph,
hope this visit can cure the root of the problem. wah 3 days old stool, if passed out normally, sure be very painful. What did the PD suggest eating if no milk and no soy? that means no calcium intake at all?

kitsune,
Flu bugs are viruses, not bacteria. Antibiotics don't work for viruses. Anyway, hope your gals get well soon.

No lah, no bigger pay check.

pixie,
our tots are more manageable now right? C1 also quite good recently, i told her to wait for me in bed while i make C2 sleeps, she will wait quietly for me, sometimes can be up to 30 mins...

pixie,
Oh, forgot to reply to your post yesterday. That's one of the "tactics" I use on HR too. Ask him to wait, keep quiet and don't move, just wait quietly if he wants me to play with him, he has to keep quiet so that meimei can fall asleep faster. Often, he already falls asleep before meimei does. If he is still awake, I am more than happy to entertain him.

Luvv,
Thanks! Hope so.

Kam, my gals have cough n runny nose n on off fever. Should be upper respiratory tract infection bah so can give antibiotics?

Oh, thought since they can afford to buy u out, should be quite rich. :p

Pixie, Dor, got your fund transfer.

kitsune,
Quite unlikely is that serious. Most likely just normal flu. Which no med can cure. Have to let their bodies run its course. Augmentin is a strong antibiotics, make sure you follow the prescription.

They may be rich, but they don't have to share their wealth with me :)))

kam,
In fact we did encourage him to wanting to poo many times a day but Dr Ang highlighted that we shouldn't stress him out, clearing of bowel movement should be done in a less stressful or painless manner...first by clearing his existing old hard stools. When all the old hard stools has been cleared/flushed out with the help of detox tea intake for 10days, he has got no choice but to poo. We then look into to tackle his NEW soft stools gradually.

kitsune,
hope your gals recover soon. I can understand what u gg thru. My boys oso have been sick (cough+phlegm+runny nose+feverish on/off) last month or so...i lost count liao...low/weak immunity (my #2 got asthma & #1 just recovered from hfmd episode) + the erratic weather = prone to getting viral infection. Kidslink PD didn't give any antibiotics then, just normal runny nose medicine.

Luvv,
yup i used #2 CDA but is eating into our own $ now...the govt $6K match up already used up for #1 cc fees & vaccinations
The cashier at Thomson even tease #2 saying...'wahhh your GOLD so expensive you know"! lolx

oh for the no milk no soy, we did ask Dr Ang how about his calcium intake. He said by the age of one, it is not necessary for kids to drink FM still as long as the kid can eat well from other sources of food intake like meat, fish, chix & veg etc. Iron & calcium will still be absorb into their body from other food pyramid intake. We (myself, hb & in laws) still adopt a traditional thinking mindset, we don't feel quite comfortable for #2 to stop drinking his FM now...we will try to reduce his intake gradually or till we see improvement in his bowel movement...perhaps we'll ask Dr Ang again (a month later for his review) if it's really mandatory to stop his FM totally if he can starts to poo well again?

Kam, haha, whenever I have the same symptoms n see my company dr, he will write diagnosis as urti on my discharge summary. Sometimes, no mc given even, not serious enough? :p

Yup, augmentin is stronger n more exp too. :p I just want them to get well soon cos We face them day n night, their sleep n diet badly affected. And RA's cc is strict, if fever or taking paracetomol, cannot go to school.

Steph, I only saw kidslink once so far when RA was a baby, the bedok branch very exp. :p

kitsune,
lexie's been having on/off runny nose and cough too since she started sch this yr. usually we let her recover on her own without meds.

but last wk we brought her to pd together when #2 do her vaccinations. wanted to make sure her lungs were clear cos we hv family history of asthma and bronchitis. lungs clear but nose inflamed. pd diagnose as sensitive airways that's why she's so susceptible to colds and flus.

no antibiotics, just regular runny nose meds, nose spray etc to manage the symptoms when she gets a cold/flu

Grumpus, the dr was reluctant n did not give Mei Mei antibiotics the first 2 times too but she got worse ie started fever n coughing n keep vomiting her food, then he gave augmentin. As for Raeanne, cos we saw him only after we tried to self medicate for 3 days n no improvement n started fever so he gave antibiotics. 3 days after 1st visit, still no improvement then he changed to stronger antibiotics ie augmentin.

kitsune,
Misuse of antibiotics!!! How long he prescribed the 1st antibiotics for? You have to finish the whole course, cannot say no improvement, then stop the 1st antibiotics and changed to a stronger one. Bacteria in the body will get resistant to that antibiotics, making bacteria even harder to treat in the future.

Cough and runny nose takes about 1-2 weeks to clear, depending on the severity. If their sleep or eating habits are disrupted, you can give them runny nose med or cough med to make them more comfortable. There is no med that can cure cough and runny nose in a short period of time.

kam,my PD used to give antibiotics each time my girl is down w sever cough.my guess is antibiotics helps to clear bacteria and to a certain extent, also clear the phelgm and leads to faster recovery?

shannonbaby: thanks for the lazy eyes explanation. i am considering to bring my girl for the checkup coz she has one big eye (double eyelids)and one smaller eye, unsure if she has lazy eyes?

i myself one rite eye is shortsighted and the other eye is not!

steph
why no banana, wheat, green leafy veg ? these are good source of fibre and fibre helps to soften stools. no ? and why no carrots and FM too har ?

Kam, we self medicated RaeAnne for 3 days, then bring her to GP, took 1st antibiotics for 5 days. Think cannot be considered misuse cos usu full course of antibiotics is usually given for 3 or 5 days.

Aqua, my dr usually says secondary infection based on symptoms following flu when he gives me antibiotics. :p

Cough n runny nose med, I also have at home. But self medicated for a few days, no improvement, so bring them to see dr lor. After 1 week of seeing them cough and puke her milk & dinner out, I already very heart pain. Definitely dun want to see it drag to 2 weeks or even 1 month of coughing like last month. Anyway, will give it a shot, if they r still not ok by weekend, may bring her to see our regular PD who will be back on 22 May.

kitsune, i am sure the 2 girls will recover. augmentin is one of the strongest antibiotics used for respiratory infections.

btw, i may be moving nearer my mum place! we decided to make a 'high offer aka cov' for the EM flat i was eyeing 2 mths, hopefully the seller accepts!

Aqua, thanks, I hope so. Congrats! Good to be near own parents, mine cannot help me with my kids so I bought my resale hdb near my ILs 6 yrs ago. I wanted EA too but too exp, beyond our budget. :p

Kitsune, yes. i was also considering simei /tamp near my inlaws. but more inconvenient to travel to town for wrk and also, nt near any pri schools. so we decide to pay more for the unit near my parents plac.

Good morning ladies,

Aqua,
congrats on getting your ideal place :) good to be near parents. Both my parents and inlaws can't help, so staying anywhere was ok for us but we are east kids, so naturally came back to the east side :)

my parents stay aljun mrt. kitsune, u stayin near poi ching? i heard the flat there
also v expensive now, but the flat nt walk dis to mrt, nt very convenient. i am so used to staying near mrt (5mins walk). keke

luvv, i am also east.. i also eyeing east side. coz more good food to eat, more good schools and most important, very 'familiar place' coz i grew up in the east.

cant get used to the west like jurong point/boon lay, duno why. juz felt v awkward even though i was going ntu 3 yrs ther! and i never actuali dun hav any frens who stayed in the west

Aqua, actually can walk to interchange, 10-15 mins but I am lazy to walk. Before we had a car, my hubby always walk there n back. Nowadays, if he goes to interchange to buy Mac for me, he will cycle. :p

Been having migraine for 2 weeks le
Now aggrevate to throat pain and mouth ulcer. The pain on the right head and right jaw keep twitching once in a while. This the longest migraine I have so far. Usually I take painkiller and will be ok the next day. Now maybe getting old le. Need longer time to recover ?? Now drink or eat also so painful for my mouth and throat.
Doc only gave me painkiller. I'm sick of eating it le !!! I thought of going back to doc to ask for antibiotic leh.

I just realised I have an ulcer on my throat that is causing all the pain ! argghhh...
Just now I had porridge for lunch, thought maybe porridge easier to eat but not true. It's hot and it burn my ulcer, even more painful now

Chaye,
You sounded like what I had last week.
I went doc and no antibiotics was given. Only gave inflammation med + painkiller. But not much help even when I almost finished the whole course. Ended up I took pi pa gao and after 2 days, ok liao.

<font color="ff0000">Tickets bought!!! Those who want to collect early, pls sms or PM me. Hope more mummies can join us on that day too.

'What a Noisy Zoo!'
22 oct (Sat), 11am, Esplanade Recital studio,
showtime: approx 40 mins (no intermission)
FREE SEATING ON FLOOR. TICKETS NEEDED FOR ALL (INCL INFANT IN ARMS).
1) pixie $27 (paid)
2) Genice $27 (paid)
3) Dor $27 (paid)
4) Eliaw $27
5) kitsune $54 (paid)

5493054.jpg

mom2nat
is E still on diapers?
how i cut off ah...
i told him that must wake up to shh shh...since im latching my gal at nights i make it a point to drag him up to pee after she latched finish...
then put waterproof mattress protector before bed
before going to bed, always tell him the same 3 things:
1. if you want to shhh shhh, must go where? he will reply "go toilet"
2. must go to sleep on your own, no playing, no talking. if i catch you playing, i will shut you out of the room. (he dun like me to do that)
3. meimei is sleeping, must whisper n tiptoe
thereafter we will whisper in the room while brushing teeth, n go to sleep

if he wet the bed at night, the next day lots of prep talk, eg
what did i say? mama say shh shh must go toilet rite? blah blah...just keep drilling lor...

i more or less weaned him off diapers + sleep on his own together

aye mom2nat
main thing is my boy is afraid of me lar, and he likes to please me so he will do what i want him to do
but maybe ur E not afraid of u one rite

today x1 slept earliest...at 6.30pm
i think he was tired from today's activity. we went sci centre, played the water stuff, watched an imax movie. he said he was tired so i brought both of them into the room. x1 KO first then me, then x2 finally ko-ed at 7pm

PIxie
My kids likes to wake up early to play, like 530am. I very afraid to wake them up anytime b4 waking up time!!

Tel you hor, my girl is still wetting her bed leh. Recently I buay tahan liao, so off her diapers, but she wets it almost daily!! Sigh... Doc say it is a "click" thing, they will sort of off diapers. But hor, my girl no click!!