(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Kam, oic, I mean during your lull periods at work but not when driving lar. Hee.

Steph, I always see Taiwanese photo shoot roadshow at tam pines mall but never saw any Chinese words leh. Last time, Taiwanese style photos very fake but now look better. But see how lar cos I want whole package incl renewal of vows, difficult to find. :p

Oh steph ive been thinking to take studio pics as a whole family leh recently...
I want to start off "new" again, but dunno want to fork out such $ or not hmmm
We never had wedding shots during our wedding leh

Kam,
Congrats on getting a new job!
That firm must be very big, so willing to bail you out. Not alot of coy are willing to do so. You must have proven yourself well. Should be a good posting. Glad that your family supports you.

Steph,
So cute leh, I don't dare to re-take my wedding shots... To me, the time when I got married, was my prime and I was at the best then. Certainly I don't want to re-take and it may turn out disaster and spoiled the photos. Also, I did not even took out my old photos, let alone the new ones. Hehehe, better save $$$ for my girl's wedding next time.

But I saw your wedding pics in FB. Aiyo not much different from now (only that time very girlish).

Pixie, happy for u!! All the best!

Kam , wait for u to disclose to us which mummy n baby com u going to!! u will be regional head or something since so much traveling?

Wow wow, so many good news here!!

Kam,
Great to hear your decision to move on ;) All the best to u!! Can feel your excitement to join new co ;p

Pixie,
Go go go!! Go & have a lovely family photoshoot ;) I like what you say "A New Start"!! Jia you ;)

Steph,
Nice one to re-take the wedding pix with your 2boys!! I have this thots too, haha. But now only 6yr...few more yrs to go, so scare look yellow & old by then, heehee ;p

Krystle,
Can i ask few more qns on Japan trip?

My hubby is too adventurous. This is what he plan.
Day 1 & Day 4: Shopping & below.
2days to cover ikebukuro, burberry, ueno, asakusa, imperial palace, tokyo tower, meiji shrine, shibuya, shinjuku & roponggi. It is possible??? What are the above that i can skip??

Day 2: Mt Fuji
Is it faster via the bus at shinjuku or train?

Day 3: To visit the tsujiki fish mkt at 5am to see them auction!!! Faint, is it nice?? I want my sleep instead, haha. And I'm only interested in shopping.

Is it silly to go there at day3 juz to shop at gotemba factory outlet? Or better to stay 1nite at the hot spring resort?

All in all, you think what is the best way to travel? Cos dunno Jap & first time there.
By train or 3day train pass or book package via travel agent?

Thanks a lot. Appreciate your help cos I see his itinerary until I'm very "gong" now. So little time & yet want to cover so much area.

Pauline,

No dragon baby! Zilch. No plans for #2 at all... :/

Steph,
Oh.. I upgraded to L already I think... cannot squeeze into S anymore. Can give away all my old clothes.. U want? hehehe..

I think your package looks pretty good. Any package bought in Msia should be worth the money. But kids' clothing is not included right?

pixie,
you can go rent a gown and get friends with pro cameras to take for you lor.. my friend got a simple white dress and got her friend to be her photographer to take pre wedding shots for her. Looks nice too... and don't need to spend a bomb!

Janbb,

IMO, I dont think that you have enough time to cover so many areas in Day 1 & 4. Places like Shinjuku and Shibuya are huge. Unless you want to just touch and go. But I am sure you will be going into the shops to browse. They also have Uniqlo there and I think the prices are lower over in Japan.

As for Mt Fuji, I went up to Station 5 in 2002. When I was in Japan last year, I went to Hakone (hot spring resort) and I did a trail which can also see Mt Fuji (fr afar on a clear day). So it all depends on what you want.

As for Tsujiki Market, if you want to go for the auction, think u need to take a cab there as trains do not run that early.

The factory outlet is near Hakone and not Mt Fuji.

Maybe Krystle (our Japan expert) can add on....

Hi pixie,

Been busy recently but was reading the post silently. Was so glad tt you decided to give your marriage a try! Jia you!

Hi Janbb,

Envy envy....how I wish I can go on a trip too! Japan is my fav place too. Have an enjoyable trip okay! Bring more $$ and shop more!

Hi Kam,

Glad that you have made the decision although it is not easy. I was offered a regional job with at least 1 week's travelling per month before but did not take it up as I do not have anyone to help with the babysitting. But I think the overseas exposure is really good lor.

JanBB,

I am here. Wow, your hubby is really greedy leh, that type of itinery is for at least 1 week tour, not 4 days. Normally I can only cover 2,3 different places in 1 day as Tokyo is mass and many many streets... So alot of walking already. And also stores closes rather early like 9pm there...

Day 1 & Day 4: Shopping & below.
2days to cover ikebukuro, burberry, ueno, asakusa, imperial palace, tokyo tower, meiji shrine, shibuya, shinjuku & roponggi. It is possible??? What are the above that i can skip??
(Krystle) What time are you arriving in Day 1? If it is late evening, then you can only cover Ikebukuro at most. If in the morning, then not so bad. I think you can forget abt roppongi as I find nothing much to shop there. Maybe can also forgo imperial palace. For burberry, you can try to go to any stores in either Harajuku near Meiji Shrine or Shinjuku.
BTW, what time you are returning on Day 4? Haneda or Narita airport?

Day 2: Mt Fuji
Is it faster via the bus at shinjuku or train?
(Krystle) Both about the same. Bus is around 2hrs while train is 1.5hrs. Think prices are about the same although bus is slightly cheaper. Are you going on a weekend? If so, may need to pre-book bus tix.

Day 3: To visit the tsujiki fish mkt at 5am to see them auction!!! Faint, is it nice?? I want my sleep instead, haha. And I'm only interested in shopping.
(Krystle) Your day 3 is only this??? The auction ends by 6am+ leh... Then do what? Go back to hotel and sleep? Like you, I am not interested at all. Prefer shopping too. But normally after seeing auction, most tourists will eat at one of the sushi stalls at Tsukiji.

Is it silly to go there at day3 juz to shop at gotemba factory outlet? Or better to stay 1nite at the hot spring resort?
(Krystle) If like that, maybe better to stay at a onsen near Hakone. But like Twinkystar said, the factory outlet is nearer to Hakone side. So after you go Fuji 5 lakes, need to make your way to Hakone which is about 1hr+...

All in all, you think what is the best way to travel? Cos dunno Jap & first time there.
By train or 3day train pass or book package via travel agent?
(Krystle) I always prefer travelling by train coz faster.. But you guys 1st time there so need some time to learn how to navigate. Maybe miss some stations or so... My advise is within Tokyo city, go for train. If going to Mt. Fuji, bus maybe better for you. if book package via agent, I am afraid they don't give you time to shop.

JanBB,
Just to let you know, I can spend 2 hrs on 1 single street at times shopping coz many shops to go in and out. This is your 1st time so you will spend more time browsing... A note which you might want to know... Once I even spent 2 hrs in a beauty pharmacy store and my hubby was waiting outside on the street until he wanted to sleep. Ha!

JanBB / Tubao,
Many thanks!!

Elmo,
Thanks! Ya lor, it's not an easy decision. While I was hoping to have a more flexible working hours (with the other option I have), this job came up and it offers something very new and interesting to me, so with the family support, I decided to give it a try (I was surprised myself as I always thought I am not a career-minded woman :p).

Only able to skim some posts cos I fighting war daily. #1 v defiant, driving me up the wall. #2 now tossing in bed, fighting nap. He dun nap I can't coach #1. both together, scream n shout, disturbs #3. I oso busy bf #3. my mom picks on maid, so I can't leave them tog too long n need to b mediator!!! Sigh...

B is down again...his sinus acting up cos of the unpredictable weather.

Kam,
Great that you got a new job and it's something which interests you. The logistics may be a little tough in the beginning but I'm sure you'll work it out. All the best!

pixie,
Glad to hear you're giving it another shot with your hb. Take it slow but it's good that you're giving him a chance to repent.

Recently I was also tempted to write in for a permanent part-time receptionist position at a foreign bank. Only need to do am or pm shift. But not sure how's the pay and whether it's worthwhile to go through the hassle of getting my in-law to babysit B for that 1-2 hrs before he goes to school. It's difficult to find part-time jobs that are not sles/marketing related right?

krystle,
for your wedding shots, does it include the pic on your multiply profile (the v sexy daring pose with u & yr hb?). i think it looked pretty nice & unique! I hope the re-take shots will not turn out disaster cos when i am stress out, i don't smile naturally. My 2003 wedding pics in FB ah (thanks for compliment)...my friends say i looked prettier now *duh* 老了比较有味道?

Janbb,
i go be guinea pig to test this studio. If outcome is gd, i will recommend u & u can consider when your turn comes!
You wont be yellow lah cos u are so fair, got maintain & take gd care of skin & hardly go under the sun:p

mcfluffy,
old clothes i don't mind woh
you are so much younger than me, i scare too sexy/trendy/flowery, i don't dare to wear...keke
Let me know how to collect from u (if nobody wants your old clothes or u wanna throw away?) waste leh...i garang guni:p
oh...my package include kids' clothing

Mom2nat
you are really multi-tasking at home !

Janbb
enjoy your holidays in Japan ya ! you will love it !

Steph,
Wow, you remembered that pic ah? We posed that out of impulse. :p My makeup artist and photograph kept persuading us to do it and w/o much thought I just pulled off my top. :p Think my hubby was stunned too. Hahahah. But we never put it in wedding album coz scared relatives and old people cannot take it. :p We only had it in a table top frame(extra cost) and now in my living room.

Yvonne,
Yes, part time admin post quite hard to find unless you have some accounting background.. How about doing some admin work for insurance agent? You are from Risk & Insurance so should be ok?

Yvonne,

No harm trying and finding out more about it, right? Maybe it's something that suits you well? That's how I landed on this job :)

Yvonne, actually working on morning only is not bad, still got time to come back n spend with our kid. But I think pay not so much for part time position, the most $1-2k bah? :p

Krystle & Mandy,

Thanks for the reply. Going to tell my hubby that, yeah yeah, dun need to travel so many "unnecessary places", haha.

Btw, krystle, my hubby juz asked me to check with u on a tour package. I have send via fb msg to u. Very paiseh to bother you so much. I hope this is the last qns he wants to ask, faint.

For me, very easy, juz throw me at the shopping street or mall & easily can spend whole day there. But for men like him (super calculative type), is so different. Machiam will lose out a lot if miss out any places. Haha, me so notti, go free trip still wanna complain.

JanBB,
Just replied to your FB message.
No sweat lah. I am just sitting here and reading and replying. Not difficult at all.
Leaving in a few days' time, so excited for you too.
Ya loh, have to accomodate to him too or else also not fair to him. I will also arrange a few days of sightseeing just to please my hubby.

JanBB, me same as your hubby, I like to pack my itinerary with sightseeing if travelling without the kids. My hubby is the one who is happy to stay at the hotel to sleep or just shop nearby. I dun mind shopping but not long day shopping lar. :p

krystle,
Not keen to do part-time admin for insurance agent cos workload high and most will make you do OT, etc...not flexible. My friend tried once and it was really bad experience lor. I've worked for foreign MNCs in all my previous 13 years so unlikely for me to accept working with locals...hehe...you know wat I mean.

kitsune,
That's why I'm keen lor...only work mornings and permanent job somemore, recep job also don't need OT and not much stress cos I've been a PA before so the travel arrangements, etc are not new to me. Was discussing with hb if it's worthwhile cos pay will not be much but at least I have something to do while B is in school and I can still be home for him after school. Quite difficult for me to go back to full-time job cos if I go back to a similar Assistant Manager position will mean OT again during our peak season and no time left for B.

Grumps, I am keen but I need 3 tics leh. Cannot share with u. :p

Yvonne, part time recept was my dream job too but with 2 kids, the $ not worth it for me if I need to send both kids to cc. :p

Steph,
Am I "so much younger" than you?? Coz you don't look like you are so much older than me leh.. at most 5,6 yrs older than me? Anyway, my clothes are not sexy type la.. I'm so conservative. Mostly basics. If you don't mind, I go and sort out and you can collect from me anytime. Or maybe Friday nights when I go Jurong. I really do not think I can fit into S size clothings anymore (unless miracle.. fat hope :p)

Yvonne,
recept job need accounting background or not? The pay around how much? I want to change job~ But being in the education line for so long, dunno can do what other than being a tutor. :/

Kitsune,
Why dun we buy 6 tix and split the cost evenly. Then we still get to save a bit.

So it will be $50 + $15 = $65. Each tix will be $65 / 5 = $13

Kam,
Congrats on your new job! With your capability and endurance, you can be sure will still be the supermum!

grumpus and Luvv,
Thanks! No lah, not trying to be a supermum, gonna adjust my life quite a bit, as well as ohter family members. Will start new job in less than 2 weeks, so fast! No break in between, so gonna use up my very few days of leaves to run all errands and get some rest.

Grumpus, aiyoh, sat sold out ah, too bad. Sunday not so good cos hubby got tuition so if I go, got to bring RA back myself, a bit sian liao. sunday, we usu park both kids at ILs place. Maybe I go next year bah, then can bring RL along cos she should be able to understand at 2 yrs plus. :p

just an update
today hosted a gathering at my place. originally my place so windy, but with the heatwave and so many babies n mummies, i had to utilize 3 fans full blast in the living room...
it was a fun gathering; we waited for pizza for 2 hours!

x1 is now diaperless at nights but he wets the bed every alternate days, heng every night i put the waterproof mattress protector ontop of the bedsheets

and for a start this week, i tuck him to bed, say goodnight, kiss him, and leave the room. he has to settle himself to sleep. no more sleeping beside him
it takes longer for him to ko but still WIP (work in progress)

x2 sleeps at around 7-7.30pm, with a bottle + latching then she can sleep. she will still cry but i will cio her, for at least 20-30mins before i step in and latch her again.... so far so good, im pretty satisfied with this bedtime. downside is she still dun sleep well in the day

i may have to start work a week earlier coz ive been asked to attend a training in london. it threw me off guard coz when im not ard, i had to arrange how the kids are being looked after jointly by my hb, mil, and my own mom...
should be extending a night or two during the weekend for shopping!
i have to pump and throw my bm though

talking about BM - some mummy finally got 10pkts of febm from me; and another mummy fren from same thread i gave her 8pkts, yahooooo!! else fridge no space leh
i asked the unknown mummy to pay me $1 per packet to recoup some of my efforts, electricity, milkbag, water, soap blah blah....do you think mummies its a lot?

kitsune
i dun mind sharing with u for sat 11am....

Yvonne,
Insurance admin indeeds lots of paperwork, but I thought can do at own target. :p (since we always have to wait for mths for a claim). Yes, recept job is more relax and lesser stress. Can try for as long as it does not impact your time with B.

Pixie,
You are so happening, every week got gathering one.
Going to London is shiok I tell you. You been there right? Yes if there is a chance, extend for 2 nights and shop!!!

Charging $1 per pack is ok lah. Don't have to feel bad.

krystle
i dont mind extending but it means to pay for hotel, its ex in London i guess? even to share with my colleague
yup ive been there before but it was 10 years ago!

Let me try n see if we can buy in bulk (in multiples of 4), save on tickets n organize a playdate.
anyone keen to watch 'What a Noisy Zoo' play tog? Please put your name n no. of tics needed. http://www.sistic.com.sg/portal/dt?dt.isPortletRequest=true&dt.action=process&dt.provider=PortletWindowProcessChannel&dt.windowProvider.targetPortletChannel=JSPTabContainer/sEventsCalendar/Event&dt.containerName=JSPTabContainer/sEventsCalendar&dt.windowProvider.currentChannelMode=VIEW&dt.window.portletAction=RENDER&contentCode=noisyzoo1011

22 Oct (Sat), 11am, Esplanade, suitable for kids 2-4 yrs old, free seating on the floor. Bulk price: 4 tics for $50 vs 1 tic for $15. (excl $1 booking fee per tic)
1. Kitsune_sg, 3 tics
2. Pixie, (how many tics do u need?)

Pixie,
Yes, London hotel is exp.
That day I just recommended Blackbatz 2 hotels. One is Lancaster London which is 4 star so more exp. Another is a budget hotel Ibis London which is clean and cheap. Only thing is location abit out of way.