(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

janBB, it's really very cheap. A few months ago, even SQ air tic costs more than that. But I noticed the promotion is only for May, not June hols. :p

Tom is my maid's off day so I got to take turns to go vote with my hubby too. :p Bought movie tickets for Rio tonight, will bring Raeanne for the movie tomorrow and leave Mei Mei at ILs place.

Happy Mother's Day to all! This yr's Mother's day seems downplayed because of all the Election fever. ;P Received a finger painted card from RaeAnne today, efforts from the CC.

Blackbatz,
Yes, considered as walking distance to me. If count by station, it is only 1 station away. If by walking, takes abt 10 or 15 mins. Yup, the hotel is just opp Hype Park which is really very big (I think like Central Park in NYC).. I won't cross the park to get to Harrods coz the park is too big. But it is a nice park though, I took a stroll there.

I think the main shopping street is Oxford St. Kam, can you correct me if I am wrong? The nearest station to Oxford St is Marble Arch.

Pixiepixel - Oops jus saw ur msg abt the spree. I pm ur sis and asked whether still can order set 1 for me .. Their price kept going down up down up one...

Btw went to IMM earlier as got to change the bedstead size my mum bought wrongly last wkend and I saw cotton on shop selling their crocs look alike shoes for $3! Quality not bad wor
I bought for my boys...hehe

Hi Krystle,
Thanks a zillion!Looking at the list of hotels there, I think Lancaster is really value for $. There are others which I was looking at but they are fully booked.
From the map, the location is really good and review on trip advisor is also good.

kitsune,
my gal also drop No 15 everytime..hahaha

btw, mummies with leapfrog dvd, do u think the sound for letter L is wrong? I always play for my kids but i didnt really watch it until one day i hear it then realise that the sound of letter L seems to be wrong. I check with my daughter's phonics teacher, she also mentioned thats not right. i search the internet and they have diff sound for letter L as compared to leapfrog cd.

So just want to clarify whether is it right or wrong? so that our kids will not learn something wrong from the cd.

shannonbaby,
i also noticed the L is abit 'off'
in the dvd they pronounce as 'ill' (without the 'i' sound)
maybe cos leapfrog is american so there's slight variation?
anyway i always just correct my girl when she get's to L.
other than that i think the leapfrog dvd is very good. my girl learnt all her letter sounds after a wk of watching vs me drilling her for wks.

Blackbatz,
I quite like Lancaster too, the room is spacious and nice so no worries. Only thing is need to pay for internet. :p

Shannonbaby, grumpus, I dun even know the L sound is wrong cos I never learnt phonics. Learnt to pronounce through rote learning n memorizing. :p

Shannonbaby, is it still ok to be dropping numbers at their age?

Brought Raeanne to watch Rio, her very first movie n it was a wonderful first experience. We picked the last row of seats but didn't have to worry. No whining nor crying throughout whole movie. Brought her to toilet before entering the cinema so we did not even need to bring her out for toilet break. She did ask me the storyline very often when she didn't understand but I am ok with that. Time to bring her to her first play soon.

winner hor, i happy happy let u mummies order but i forgot my order! faintz
i want the number DVD leh

big sighs
maybe my sis has batch#2

Pixepixel, I hope ur sis arrange a 2nd spree too as wan the learning DVD set 1...what number DVD u wanna get?

Btw how is meimei? Load more of her pic

This hot weather is killing me...!

mom2nat
i wont fall asleep with rio but i sure will fall asleep with thomas
hence i asked my hb nicely if he could accompany x1 to watch thomas this time round muahahahahha!!

naf
super hot i agreed!! im sweating bucketloads now

my sis amazon spree, she say is never ending one de, sure got chance...who knows dropp price heeheee

Pixie
The cartoons on tv of thomas v boring. Except that day I watched an hr long one, quite interactive, like Dora, will ask which way to go. So I m not sure this movie isit the boring kind.

Mom2Nat,
just came back from the thomas movie. the style is like the ones u watch on tv.
i was bored but my girl enjoyed it.

Grumpus
Sigh, then I give it a miss. Since June hols got a few movies coming up. Think tmrw I go watch RIO. U watched yet?

Grumpus
Bot tix, tmrw bringing #1 & #2 to watch RIO.
I m so burnt out today. The kids woke up at 630am until now!!! I barely slept 4 hrs each day for the past few days.

mom2nat, grumpus, RIO is quite a nice movie, easy to understand, no scary/very sad parts, colourful birds, upbeat music, and dancing and of course a happy ending. Think your kids will enjoy.

Mom2nat,
Wow! So many hrs n no nap in between? Poor u, some more with bb night duty sure very shack. Tmrw u bring #1 n #2 to movie then #3 how?

Mom2nat, RaeAnne has been asking me to tell her Rio bedtime story for 2 nights. Tonight, she even ask me, 'Mummy, Brazil got what?'. And she is very happy when I answer Brazil has blue macaws. ;)

Want to rant!

I brought meimei to paragon last thu to do the ultrasound scan and kids were sent to in law house tat day...

Mum went to fetch them in evening and they were eating sweets on their way as my mil gave them...so next day, #2 started flu and coughing...yest got worse and middle of night wheeZing! Aiyo duno wat to say my mil leh...#2 had lung infection when 11 months and pd already said aft tat not to give things that will creat phelgm and drink more water...

Lucky today no school and I got medication at home...ltr still have to bring him to pd together with 2 kids as hb is in Malaysia now...

Weather driving me crazy hot too...heat rash appearing so many places on my body

Grumpus
#3 with maid n mil at home. Does ur bb sleep thru?

Kitsune
I saw some books on RIO in popular. Even got RIO angry bird apps! But I din buy yet

Naf
Ultra sound for u or who?

Mom2nat, the scan is for my girl to chk what cause the UTI when she was 3 wks old. Very ex lo...$180 for less than 1 min for specialist to c the scan...before tat is sonographer did te scan...

Kam
Just out of curiosity. U bring HR and XY out almost every weekends. From morning till late ? Does HR needs his nap ? XY can sleep on stroller but how abt HR ?

I asked this cos usually when I bring them out in the morning I will bring back ard 3pm for T to nap de. So hubby sometime say so restrictive then dun want to go out wor.

Good afternoon mummies!

Just received a call and the company would like to offer me the job. I said I have to discuss with my hub first (which is true) and so haven't officially accepted the offer yet.

Now, I have to seriously think about this now that it becomes real. Can you all please chip in your advise / comment / suggestions / etc, pleeeeeese.

This job would require travelling. Usually will go for 1 week trip, at the frequency of once a month. The main question I ask myself - is it worth sacrifying the time with my children for my career advancement? I don't know yet how we are going to cope when I am away, as we somehow will get all that logistic work out. But it's more on how much it would affect the kids, or affect our family on a large, with the mum having to travel for work? Being a FTWM, time spent with the kids are already so limited. The main attraction to me is that this company offers good career advancement, though i don't have all the necessarily and important skill that are looking for, they are willing to give me a chance and help me grow (and that's something I want to learn too), it's not always you can get this kind of opportunity, right?

So, if you were we, would you or would you not take on the job?

Mom2nat,
My bb still not very consistent. last wk she was sleeping thro. last feed 10plus, next feed 5-6am.
but the last 2 days, she's been waking up once more at 2-3am.

Chaye,
We used to go out the whole day. But now no more lah. Usually go out for 4-5 hours. HR didn't take regular nap on weekends for a very long time, maybe close to a year already! He still takes regualr nap at cc, but not during weekends. When he is tired, he would catch a power nap of 15-30min during the car ride, or go to bed early after the outing, it's very rare he would take a long nap. XY also the same. But she somehow would fall asleep by 4pm if she hasn't napped for the whole day. She naps about 1 hour only during weekends while still naps 2 hours at her nanny.

kam
a piece of good news isn't it ? So excited if someone offer a job to me now but will also have mixed feelings cos need to travel... hmmm.... and this company offers good career dev means more travelling involved in future ? Do you need to work late on weekdays too ?

Travelling is good exposure but if your passion is more towards your children than your career this may not work out in long run. Does your hubby need to work late too ? Who can fetch the kiddos from cc and nanny if he got to work late and you are on biz trip ? A lot of logistics that you need to work out lo.

Any other interviews that you have gone to beside this ?

Wah their nap time is so short huh ? T can nap from 3-6pm on weekends. But will sleep around 11.30pm daily. Dont know why also. We lights off at 10.30pm but he will roll till 11.30pm or sometimes 12mn. So I though weekends let him have some more sleep to make up for the loss. :p

I think I will try not letting him take nap this weekend and see how he take it from there
Thanks !

Chaye,
T naps for 3hrs till 6pm, so of cos can't sleep so early lor. my girl is the same. usually i will limit her naps to 2hrs only.

grumpus
he nap from 1-3pm in cc but still sleep at 11.30pm on weekdays leh. Like so use to it already. He will tell me : "mummy I cannot sleep, got monsters". Faintz

Kam,
good opportunity! Will depends on what you want. Very hard to choose if it's me.Depends on your short term and long term goal. If you pass this chance, might not get another one. When the kids grow up, will you be contented with you non-progressive job by then? On the other hand, will you regret spending lesser time with the kids in their formative years? especially so when one parent is already constantly absent in their lives. I believe it's a very tough decision. Only you can weigh what's best for yourself and your family on the whole and in the long term.

Chaye / Luvv,
Thanks for your kind words. I know, only me (and my hub) is able to weigh this best. Logistic issues are not the main problem as we can always work it out one way or another.

I want to take cos I think it's a very rare and good chance.

I don't want to take cos I am not so much a career minded woman.

I don't want to take it cos I will very likely spending lesser time with the kids.

But I want to take it cos it will make my life more meaningful (than just focus on the mothering part).

Wish me best of luck bah!

Chaye,
11.30pm! T wakes up late in the morning is it? If you want to change his bed time, you gonna change his whole routine. My kids have to wake up at 7am or 7.30am the latest, so they have to go to bed before 10pm, that's my max limit, only when it's weekends they get to sleep a bit later, cos can wake up later the next morning.

Hi, mummies..

Weather is very hot... I wanna die liao...
Today I am feeling abit sick...
My son fell from bed in wee hours of morning and since then he was awake and disturbed everyone up!! Wow, I was so angry. Then both my girl and boy played and screamed until I could not take it. Put them in a naughty corner, my girl just burst out in tears while the naughty boy was trying to escape from the naughty corner. Haiz... After a while, my girl apologised but the son very defiant... I really don't know how to discipline him when he is just only 19 months and does not talk yet.

Kam,
Congrats on a good job offer... yes, it is quite a dilemna... We really can't decide for you. You know the best... If you have an extended family here who can help in the logistics, then it is ok... But I am worried what if one day your hubby needs OT (his new job needs alot OT now??) and so suay you have to go on biz trip how? Just a possible scenario for you to think abt... although I think you maybe can ask XY's nanny to help to look after both kids for extra $$$ as in staying at her place for 1 week or so.

Maybe I don't love my job or coy that much, so my thinking now is more pro-family at this moment. :p

kam

Hope that you can come up with a decision fast !

how to change ? T wakes up 8am, nap 1-3pm and sleep at 11.30pm daily. I find it insufficient sleep too but he just refuse to sleep even though our official bed time lights off is 10.30pm. This has been ongoing for 2mths le. Last time he sleep almost immediately when he hits the bed by 10.30pm with the same napping hours.

Pauline,
Thanks for your post on the RIO movie. After I saw your post, chop chop bot my 2 kids & my mum to watch this morning, haha. Cos no school today & was still thinking what to do ;) We had fun watching the movie & this was my kids' virgin show. #1 sat thru' & #2 fell alseep halfway. I would say is a nice 3D movie with simple storyline, juz perfect for our kid's age to comprehend.

Krystle,
Your son co-sleep with you? Is safer to place a mattress below the bed. He is still young, maybe still dun understand what is naughty corner. I find that my #2 (Yr of cow) has strong character too. She always try to challenge #1. Wonder all our piggies are very "soft-hearted", easy to bully?? My #2 even bite #1 until his arm got bruises, me very headache too.

Kam,
Happy for you to get a job offer but worry about your kids at the same time. Is your nanny able to cope with 2kids when you are overseas? Anyone other than your hubby can fetch HR after CC if he is unable to do so? If everything is settled then GO for it ;) Opportunity does not knock twice. Of cos, most imptly, you must ask yourself whether you are able to leave them behind for work that frequently? What is your priority in life??

JanBB,
Yes, my son + my girl all co-sleep with us... Too young to let them sleep in their own room for now. My kids hoh, if wake up can't see anyone, they will get frightened and cry. Thinking of waiting until next year then put them in their own room.

Luckily my bed is platform bed so even fell down also not that bad. :p So never put another matteress (no space also)... My son now occupies 50% of the bed while hubby and I share another 50%. Poor thing hoh. Then he rolled here and there like nobody business... Already went to Ikea to eye for a mattress to put next to our bed. Hope can buy it soon...

Yes, my son is really a bull. Very naughty and fights with my girl all the time. And sad to say, my girl loses in fighting, snatching things to him loh. I also pity my girl alot. Can only hope my son will be more sensible as he grows older...