(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Yvonne
same goes to x...he insists his own way and if never follow he will have meltdown too. I'm usually like u...reason n keep quiet until he finishes. I will tell him "finish crying liao come look for mummy...coz mummy don't talk to crying x"....
Then I let him cry scream wail n cool down.
Sometimes I oso buay lun feel like shouting or smacking at him

I think out kids still very onz abt being on schedule and sticking to routines. Abit out they can cry. It's a matter of how much they are pro-routine. My boy quite pro-routine kind of person. Walk to school must take same routing else tantrum oso...I think sense of security? Once compromised, feel out of place n then started shouting crying Liao hor

jiayou to us all!!

Thanks mummies! I didn't know HR and X will also have a meltdown due to such small issues. I thought they should have "outgrown" this stage cos they can express themselves better now. It's like he's going backwards in his development rather than being more "dong shi" as he grows older.

Yvonne, like the others shared, Raeanne is also like that. In fact, she will preempt me n say, 'Mummy, u cannot press the button, only I can press.' :p

yvonne
judging by what u said, i seriously dont think B has got any disorders at all. Except for the running in circles part. Thats kinda worrying, then again, maybe he jus loves it. Kids this age loves routines and repetitive things. Their brain is developing more than their physical body (as opposed to their first year of life where we see them grow and grow). So they find the need to repeat things to feel calm. Think about it, this is the age most people would tell them "wahhhh u big boy/girl liao", must do this and that ie potty trained lah, go to school independently lah, etc It's a BIG deal to them. Inside, he may find all these chaotic and disturbing, hence he finds it necessary to be in control of the things that is important to him. It maybe something as simple as pressing the traffic light button. It may not be a big deal to u, but losing that may be a BIG deal to him. I find myself keep reminding myself this when i deal with Rylee, that is to look at the world from HER eyes instead of mine. It IS pretty scary world if u look at it from a preschooler POV. Tats why changes are disturbing to them and the need to maintain a routine to some kids. From the incident above (but of cos, i'm no child expert!!) it sounds like he might not be autistic at all (cant say about ADHD though) cos he can tell u "dont look at me!" when he's crying but come to u crying when u ignore him. Tats social skills! I think u jus need to pick ur battles with B. Things like this happen with Rylee too last times and what i find useful is i would squat down to her eye level to speak to her, and tell her i know the thing is very important to her and that she likes to press the lift button and that she's upset i pressed it first (for example). The books say it is prudent to acknowledge their feelings about it and show empathy, and then i'd apologized for forgetting that and pressed it first. I'll say i'm sorry and then i think of alternatives to make her feel better, like if there's another lift, i'd tell her "how about i let u do it the next round, ok?" Or if there's no more lifts to press, i'd suggest something else and rem my promise to her. These days, she'd be calmer and will agree with me more. Last time it would be total meltdowns. I'd like to think my methods work? And that she knows i understand how important it is to her?
If after doing all that she still cry, i'd let her be. I would tell her calmly that she can stand there and cry and i'd wait for her to calm down before we can go home. Key thing is to keep YOURSELF calm, to show him how u handle frustrations. Maybe u can try doing the same to B. I know u think he's jus being stubborn. And that it's hard to endure his meltdown. But it can be easier one. Dont give up. Bear in mind whenever u change any tactics, it'll ALWAYS get worse before it gets better. I always tell rylee whenever she gets difficult that when she yells and cries, she knows she doesnt get anything and that i couldnt understand her. Only aft she calms down, she'd approach me again. I also find that amidst all the crying and the screaming, WHATEVER u said to him would be pointless, he/she wouldnt be able to hear a single thing ur saying. So, now i keep quiet. The explanation can come later when he can calm down.

Sorry for the lengthy posting. I jus dont want u to worry so much and get urself all stressed up over B. As for his lining up toys, i think perhaps it may just be becos he's a VERY tedious perfectionist? Lining up things is just ONE symptom. My sister is also a person who likes to tidy up her magazines in a straight row and throws a fit if its out of line, and i'm pretty sure she's not autistic!
However, it's still best u bring him to a professional to get their opinions as it'll soothe ur worries and get in out of ur system

Kam
Haha, Rylee was a good girl that day cos she wants to go to the party! And the fact that i offered an alternative for her! Hehehehe And i think HR is just being difficult cos it has been a few tiring days with insufficient sleep in HK! Aiyah many 1001 reasons for kids to have tantrums lo, right? As long as we all can still hold it in!

Actually, Rylee still rems HR but in a not so positive way lah hehe. We were driving home from school today and she said i dont want yday that boy-boy break my toys anymore. I asked which boy, then she rems Hao Re name! And then i realised she meant "snatch" instead of break.

Yvonne
forgot to add that it may laughable to tell him those words it "I know ur upset becos ______" but the experts say it is VERY important to hear u tell it to him becos it lets him know that u understood. And it's also important to apologise if let's say u forgot something (like pressing the traffic light button instead of letting him) cos it shows that u respect him and treat his wishes seriously

Oh and for the ADHD part, maybe B is just so intelligent that he runs around at school becos he's bored (cos he already knows what the teacher is teaching??) Jus a ventured guess cos thats what happened to my fren in HK too. She was also scared her son is ADHD but turns out the son is just bored!

Yvonne, I just read a feature article on autism in the latest issue of Young Parents magazine. Two parents with autistic children also shared their stories. Maybe, you can read it too and see if you can get any insights.

As mylife mentioned, I pick my battles, if pressing the lift button makes her happy, I let her do it. But today, she refused to go to school again, refuse to pee, eat, cry and vomit but I still force her to go. She has been saying she doesn't want to go to school and throwing tantrums in the mornings since last week but I always let the maid handle her until this morning cos I don't want her to make it a habit.

Pixie does ur sis sell calendula cream 4 oz one? How much? still got rp collection from ur younger sis right. Hey hope u r not too stressed up now enjoy ur confinement!

mylife,
Ya lor, think HR is very tired that day, in fact he is still very tired today, so much so that he threw the biggest tantrum of his life last night (also because I refused to give in this time round). So cute that R still remembers HR, so does HR, he can still remember R's name and her toy, and that she lives in HK!

Yes, I totally agree with you, acknowledging thier feeling and what they want is very important! I say that too "I know you are sad/unhappy/etc, because......, Mama is going to......" He did calm down a lot after hearing this.

Yvonne,
In fact, for the past 1-2 weeks, HR behaves a bit "abnormal", he is very insistence to get things done, starts to whine for the tiny little thing, and must get my attention all the time (so bad that he would push his sis away, and hug me all to himself!). I think that this is just another stage that they have to go through, you know, Terrible Threes! As they know the world more and more, and they can understand things so well now, they are trying to test us parents and also to test new limits. We all have to jia you!

kitsune,
Haha...that's the article which set of my panic button! B does what the kids do except for the speech delay and lack of social skills part.

mylife,
Fully understand what you're saying but I just lose control of my temper and patience with B sometimes. When I sat down to his eye level to talk to him, he asked me not to look at him and he doesn't want to listen to me cos he knows I'm trying to explain the situation. So I keep quiet to let him calm down on his own but he runs to me and screams that he wants to listen and wants me to talk...aiyo! I also try and pick my battles cos I know he's a spirited child but I also want him to learn to be flexible cos some things are out within our control and I'm not going to go all out to please him and make lives difficult for others. Like an incident when he threw a tantrum while alighting from a bus cos there was no "beep" sound when he tap the ezlink card. He refused to leave and I carried him down while he screamed and cried as there were other people behind us trying to alight. Things like that are not within my control and I want him to be able to accept such "accidents" in future. Thanks for listening...I'll just monitor and have a talk with his teachers.

Morning mummies.

Busy week of work, with my US boss coming over the weekend and all my colls being "forced" by boss to entertain him by bringing him out on Sunday! Sianz. We all not willing to go but had to go... I find that it is so unnecessary... If he wants to entertain, why drag the rest of us down... If we are not willing to do, what is the point of forcing us to go? Now other depts said our dept "spoil" mkt. If next time their US bosses come, they have to sacrifice their weekends and entertain them.

Kam,
Welcome back! Looked like you had a good trip too. Since you already covered Disneyland, Ocean Park which are the main attractions, it is good enough. Anyway our kids may not have patience to allow us go shopping too. :p

Pixie,
I think you are such a strong woman. Seriously. I know you are facing many issues currently and yet you can be very optimistic about future. Peifu!!! JIAYOU! You will be fine. I am sure you can work things out.

Mom2Nat,
I was hoping my #2 popped on my anniversary day too but that did not happened as he popped 5 days earlier. Also did not celebrate my anniversary. :p It is ok lah, your #3 is the best anniversary gift now!

yvonne
wahhhhh i can imagine!!! Hehehe, sorry but "laughing" but i find it so cute he can cry over not hearing the beep sound. Ok lah, i know at that precise moment, it's nothing funny dealing with him, but yah, incidents like this bo pian, gotta carry and go! Let him vent then deal with it later!

As for u losing patience and temper, i was like that too. I feel so much guilt aft yelling at rylee, can see the fear in her and i know deep down, this is not good. So instead of reading up books on how to handle kids and their tantrums, what i do now is i read on how to handle MY temper. I learned to walk away and give MYSELF time out to calm myself down. I'll just tell her Mommy is angry and i need to calm down. She will cry and run aft me. I make sure she's in safe place and then i go into room and breathe. That way i control myself, not yell at her and recompose myself. She also gets the "time out". When i come back out, usually, the "atmosphere" will be calmer and i'll talk to her again, and she also gets to see how i handle my anger and frustrations. But im jus halfway there, still working on it. Sometimes still lose my cool and blow up...but i really really need to seek anger mgmt! I dont want my girl to grow up like me cos i think i was influenced by my dad who is always shouting at us!

Kam
I totally agree on Terrible Threes! I think they are more in tune with themselves now and therefore KNOW what they want and VERY persistent in it. Headache! I was also quite shock to see HR kick XY that day cos i know u always say he's very gentle and hardly ever jealous. Maybe only now he starts to "want mama all to himself" hehehehehe

Tongtong
yes my sis still sells California bb stuff. I dunno which one you want? Can pm me? My younger sis is the RP runner lah

mylife
I got try the ack part hor but usually x is not keen that I'm
showing empathy and understands him. Haha...hmmm...I do it at eye level n speak in a calm tone but his meltdowns he refuse to listen to anything. I realised that if I carry on to do what I want to do he will stopped crying after I finish it my way. He LL accept one de heehee

Krystle
thanks. The sad news is I'm gonna be a single mother of 2 soon.
Mummies pls dun ask me why but I'll let u all know when the time is right. Now for some reasons I cannot explain till it's over

Hey Yvonne u r not alone coz x does that too. Thr ezlink tap part sound was muted or spoilt only got light up to show you've tapped out successfully and he insist need beep. Then behid got passengers too I had to yank him off the bus else we miss the busstop
it's not funny lah mylife. It's really very routine for x nowadays. He's someone who craves for routine n security kind of kid leh

hey btw mylife how many tubes of desitin do you need? I told my sis liao leh but we want to know how many tubes u need so she can set aside stock for u mah

pixie.. i am sorry to hear. pls drop me a pm if u need someone to talk to.

btw, i am most likely having another princess.

I posted here coz mummies here are most supportive but I have my reasons. Hopefully next week it's over. I just want a resolution asap.
Please please don't post abt this in fb or here. I may be monitored yah. Zip zip!!!! For my future!!!

pixie
i'd like to get 3 tubes of desitin pls. i meant talking to them before they meltdown ie when they r about to..i also know when they r crying nothing we say or do can chg or stop their crying!

hugs to u..wat happened? dont rush into any decisions. u hv just delivered , emotions r low.

Pixie,

Don't be rash into things. Jia you anyway! you have always been the strong lady here, if things can be resolved, that will be the best :)

Pixie,

Think through carefully and seek another neutral 3rd party's opinion rather den rush into decisions. like wat mylife says, could be hormone being funny.

pixie,
Why our boys so persistent over such things hor?

Don't let your hormones get to you ok...think thoroughly then decide...no need to rush through something like dat...you always have our support here.

Pixie
When I gave birth to #1, I got so stressed up looking after her, always quarrel w hb n think of -ve things. Try to relax more. This is a time u need a lot of support.

Yest I had a big fight with my mom. She is always interfering w how I teach my kids!! They can't handle the kids yet say I harsh. Hb so pissed w the grandmas.

Pixie
We r not in ur position. So we dunno what ur going thru on a daily basis. All I'm saying is rem to weigh ur choices (kids included) before coming to any final decisions. Ur one of the most confident and positive thinking mommy that I know.

pixie,
You are always a positive thinker. Things may not go the way you wish it to be, but over time, it will get better/resolved. If you need to talk or to vent, we are always here, okay!

Not hormones lah, no worries mummies, u all know me I dun let feelings affect me....so definitely not like 一气之下 u know heehee
just don't post anything abt this anymore for the sake of my future. As I said I may be monitored leh

Wah so touched. Of course I will think it thru

on a lighter note, just taken off my braces. I feel so naked!!!
It's been with me 4yrs plus liao, huge part of my life leh. Abit 舍不得 hehe

Pixie, when I read your first post about needing more $, I didn't expect it to be so serious. I hope things can be resolved, but dun rush things. Sometimes, the fastest decision may not be the best one because emotions r too raw n the person cannot think straight (not necessarily you). Jia you!

pixie,
i felt naked too when i removed my braces, but very happy dat i finally can brush my teeth more cleanly. keep smiling ya ;)

Pixie,
Me too, I can help with X. You can drop X at my place during the weekends if you need to run some errands.

Luca,
I like what you say - keep smiling ya!

Luca
oh I didn't know u had braces too no wonder ur smile so nice. My first reaction was...aiyoh my teeth so yellow!! My orthondist said that's the majority of the ppl's first reaction when braces removed heehee

yoyo...how's everyone doing?

aqua,
bb girl...that's nice! Congrats!

pixie,
Hugs...i can go to your place with bak kwa to cheer u up k...just remb we mummies are here for you! hey, i paid your sis for the shipping liao

Kam,
^5

pixie,
thanks! true lor, coz can see teeth more clearly mah. i think the color will get better. my dentist ever told me before, yellowish teeth doesnt mean dat its not healthy, n her teeth is more of d " black" side.. probably too much coffee! ;p

aqua,

pixie,
Yez, I was thinking to visit u n baby after your confinement. Let me know when u are free or need someone to talk ok. Rem i told u i can "fly" to JE. Hope everything turn out well, take care.

aqua,
Congrats ;)

Super hot weather!!

Grumpus
E dun wanna nap. I no time to coach #1 with her work. Maid n mil can't handle E, he will run ard shouting or disturbing us. I can't bf in peace. Imagine I have CL now. Dun have how?? I din even have time to lie down today.

Yest my mom n mil like tua pek gong, sit there watch me play with 2 kids. They 2 adults can't do my 1 person's job. They keep saying the kids dun listen to them! Tell me pek cheek or not?

Raeanne refused to eat dinner today n turns out she was feverish, must be cos she slept on the bumper mat on moon night n caught a cold. If Tom still not ok, will skip school for her Liao.

Mom2nat,
aiyo poor u. so many adults in the hse and still can't handle the 2 kids. unfortunately it's like tat when u hv multiple kids.
ok lah, u deposit E with me

kitsune
Oh, then you monitor her tonight. Hope she is ok.

Grumpus
So nice, you take E ah... You will faint ah! Hoho...

Look at my schedule tmrw.
8am #1 ballet exam
8-1030am #2 go to sch
950am #3 checkup
1145am #1 eye checkup
250pm my gynae check up

Hb and i gg to split ourselves to attend to them? Hmmm...

Mom2nat, thanks, she ko after taking med just now. Hope she gets well soon. She started coughing since yesterday. Last week, got a bit of runny nose. But we only self medicated but never bing her to see dr yet. :p

Mom2nat, wa, your schedule so packed? I remember Nat just finished piano exam before you popped right? Sometimes, I wonder how much enrichment classes I should sign RaeAnne up for. Now, she only has yamaha music every Sat afternoon. And I'm not keen to add more. But hubby thinks that she doesn't seem to be very interested but I think it's too early to tell. So we've agreed to give it another term to try out. I wonder if at 3 years plus, it's too early to know if she has any interest in music/piano lessons. Or should I let her try ballet or swimming instead? :p

I am also worried that I'll end up like my cousin, her no. 1 has shicida, jap and music classes while her no. 2 has music and shicida classes. She initially wanted no. 3 but she changed her mind cos she said she's too tired ferrying the 2 kids for enrichment classes over the weekend. She is FTWM and her kids don't attend childcare so all the classes cramped over the weekend. Her MIL and maid look after the kids in the weekdays and her younger sis helped her bring her no. 2 for music class on Sat. I don't want to deprive my kids of fun and games but yet I don't want to miss the 'prime' 0-3 yrs stage when they are supposed to learn things fastest. Dilemma. :p

Mom2nat , jiayou!

Pauline , actually I started learning ballet n piano at around primary school. But hor I dun have interest at all leh. Ballet wise is a waste of money but for piano I learned till at least grade 7 . But still I dragged myself to learn one leh tot I would cultivate interest gradually but no leh , I can't concentrate as I chiong for exams too. Ended up I myself felt super stressful. I think 3 yo still early to tell unless r tells u that she is keen or shows interest. Just my 2 cents worth la

kitsune,
Actually 3 year old really too young to show interest leh. Having said that, I intend to put B in Art class and Taekwondo class next year...hehehe. It's enrichment classes provided in school so he'll just have to stay back for 2 days a week for those classes. I'm doing more to train his patience (Art Class) and also an avenue for him to use up his excess energy (Taekwondo)...haha.

kitsune,
Me and hub have been thinking of when to send our kids for music classes. This was what I found:

You may be wondering if your music-loving child is ready for lessons. Most kids are ready for formal music instruction between ages 5 and 7. The piano is a logical place to start — kids who learn keyboarding skills also learn the fundamental musical concepts needed for other instruments or even for vocal music. String instruments are another good place to begin. Brass or wind instruments can be more physically challenging and may not be appropriate until the fourth or fifth grade.

If piano lessons were a dreaded chore for you growing up, they might well be for your child. Likewise, if you force musical training, your child likely won't embrace it. But if your child expresses an interest in learning to play an instrument and seems consistently and genuinely enthusiastic, consider giving it a go.

Ask yourself these questions before starting lessons:

Playing musical instruments makes physical demands on kids. Does your child have the appropriate physical development and fine motor control to play?

Can your child focus on one thing for 20-30 minutes?

Does he or she understand and manipulate letters and numbers?

Has your child had adequate musical exposure?

Can he or she keep a steady beat, identify incorrect notes in a familiar song, and repeat basic rhythm and pitch patterns? (If the answer is no, work on these skills before beginning formal lessons.)

Are you willing to attend the lessons regularly and help ensure that your child practices?

Do you think your child will be willing to practice? What will you do if your child doesn't like lessons?

Initially we thought of starting him at the age of 3. But now we have decided to wait for 2 more years (or sooner/later depending on his readiness). He is very keen on music and our answers are mainly yes to the questions asked above. But he would be even more ready in another 2 more years. Meanwhile we focus on more play.

I do agree with Yvonne and Kam that age 3 is still too young to tell what our kids are interested in. In general, I think most of our toddlers have short span of attention and not so ready to pick up musical instruments.

Although we heard stories that some kids picked up piano since age of 3 but those are really in-borned and talented kids. To be frank, how many kids are like that? I can only say that my girl is not one of them.

I let my girl attended music enrichment classes for 1 year and it clearly showed that she is only interested in singing and dancing but not piano for sure. When we practiced in class, she was very restless and did not understand the notes at all. I have to accept the fact that piano is not her cup of tea.

I would wait until she is 5 or so, hopefully by then she is able to express her interests and I just let her learn whatever she wants. For now, I just want her to enjoy her daily pre-nursery classes and freedom of childhood. Anyway she will be facing alots of pressure in life later and I don't want to put on pressure for her now. Same applies to writing (yes, she can scribble but not write). This is just my thought.