(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

luvv
you know what ? My GM/HR came to look for my boss last evening. Asked him to persuade me to stay in this dept eventho my boss is leaving the dept will still be in tact and need support. So my boss told me this morning loh. Ask me how ? So his baton will be passed to the AGM below him. So indirectly my new boss will be this AGM lor whom I dun really mind la. Then this morning this AGM called a few of us into his room say we will continue as a dept as long as the company needs us. So I stay put lor and see how it goes.

Then the other dept which I've mentioned that there's a vacancy, called me. I got to reject her politely saying that my dept still functioning and need me here ..

But seriously a lot of work load has been lifted off since the whole china team is fully functioning in China instead of in Sg. Just have to 走一步看一步

Krystle, luvv, yup the promotion for Marriott vacation club presentation is really good, only $120 for 3 nights stay n the resort is very kids friendly.
If not, I won't be able to stay in such a posh resort. :p

Luvv, June trip is because the maid is on home leave n I dun want to 'suffer' at home. Kekeke. :p

Chaye, if can keep the job then try out first bah. Not good then move on.

tongtong,
Thanks!! Yeah, another iPhone user :)

Luvv,
Thanks! For now, think will stay put in Sg.

Chaye,
That's great!! 以靜制動,以不變應萬變 :)

krystle,
I am not busy. But there are lots of things going through mind.

Kitsune,
$120 for 3 nights is very good deal, somemore Marriot leh! But I cannot make myself to sit through such presentation... Kena conned once already and don't want to try again.

Chaye,
Good for stay put awhile and see how the situation goes. If workload lifted alot also good, more time to relax, less stress??

kam
very chim leh. wat's that means ?

kitsune
wah $120 for 3 nites is cheap until lao sai ! hahahaha !

krystle
too relax also sian ma. used to run here n there tho busy but happy kind. Feel so wanted. now so "eng" feel a bit lost so I come here more often

Chaye,
Maybe you will get very busy again when things are more settled?

Ops, sorry, realised it's traditional chinese, not simplified chinese. Should be 以静制动, 以不变应万变! Meaning stay put as where you are is the best tactic (in winning the situation). Observe and see what happens around you, but you don't make any move. Got it :) It's from one of the 孙子兵法.

Can I check whether any kids are like this too?

Or perhaps "shannonbaby" ~ Pls help me with these since you are in the teaching industry, thks ;)

This morning, my boy's teacher shared with me that my boy will CRY out when comes to seatwork that he is unable to do. She quoted an example like writing without dotted lines. When comes to certain letter that he is unable to do it. He refused to write & keep saying he cannot & even cry there.

I was quite shock to hear that cos my boy is ok at home. I know that there are still some alphabets & numbers (eg,5,8,9 which is more diff) that he is unable to write now. But I never push him as understand that a dec baby is really too young to accomplish some of the nursary worksheet. If he can't write at home, he will request me to dot & he trace it over.

I dun think the teacher force him or scold him if he didn't manage to do the work.

What shld i do? Why my boy has such strong reaction? I always tell myself "writing & reading" cannot be done by forcing & juz a matter of time. Come one day, they sure able to make it, that why i juz take it slowly. But now, my concern is whether he will feel demoralise in class as perhaps most of his classmates may be able to do well in writing already & he feel the stress?? Haiz, maybe is me getting his stress now, haha.

Janbb
Did the teacher able to observe why is your boy's reaction so strong ? Did they scold or force him ? Or maybe you can try asking your boy why. Or hv I tried letting him write w/o the dotted lines at home and see his reaction ? Hmm...mine also dec bb. I've not started him on writing :p so far hr brot back term one works r all coloring and pasting like wat he did in playgroup before.

Chaye,
The teacher is also puzzled & that's why told me abt it. I dun think they scold him & force him cos my boy likes the teacher a lot & have no complains so far. Yes, I tried to ask him to write (number 1-10) without dotted lines at home. He is able to do so except number 5, 8 & 9, he will stop & ask me to dot. I encourage him to try & told him that even write wrongly is ok as i will juz mark & correct after he finish. He did try & write 5 in opposite way & write 9 like p (also opposite) & number 8 is the toughest, can't curve properly. After i corrected him & told him to redo those that is wrong, he refused. Somemore, he only write (1-10) 1 time a day, not that he repeated a lot of times.

Is it my boy's school is more demanding? How come yours still like playgroup? Like that also good, at least your boy still enjoy nursary ;)

ya hor, any more dec baby here? elmo?

janbb,
I think J is feeling stressed? Perhaps the pressure to meet expectations is too great for a 3 year old. I know he's considered 4 years old cos he's dec 2007 baby but he's actually a year behind those born in jan 2007. Mind if I ask which school is he in? Learning should be fun for kids. They shouldn't feel stressed out at this young age, I don't think it's healthy cos they're too young to deal with it. If he's feeling stressed in school then probably let him relax more at home instead of doing more worksheets? I don't mean to offend you but 3 years olds need to play and have fun more than anything else...ABCs and 123s can wait.

Janbb
Is ur boy in the 2007 class? Maybe tats why they are required to learn to write. Actually hor, at this age, no need to write lah. Tell the teacher if he doesn't seem to be in the mood, just do something else. He is not graded, can't catch up doesn't mean he is losing out oso. I know some kindies that are acedemic based, some not. I am thankful Elliot's is not. He only learnt to hold a pencil recently! In sch, they usually paste and stick. No big deal lah, they gg to hold pen for the rest of their life ah! Heee... It is more impt he enjoys the process of learning and is happy in sch.

Hi Janbb,

Amanda also behaved the same way in school before. The teachers commented that she has very high expectation of herself and thus she cried when she could not do the writing on her own.

The teachers told us that they had observed her and concluded that Amanda is comparing herself with her classmates who are now progressing to the next stage of writing which is without the dotted lines. As for her, she still has to do a lot of tracing and colouring to build her hand strength. Thus, the teachers actually put her at the corner and encourage her to write it at her own pace. I think she has improved and now she actually wanted to join the group to do more writing. So I guess the teachers' encouragement are really important. Dont worry la, I think ur boy will adapt well soon. I think just need to encourage him more and yes, to enjoy the process of learning.

my colleague whois a SAHM now, her boy born in Nov 07, oredy noe how to write a-z , n doing simple maths sum liao. she's giving much more intense training at home than in school. sometimes i wish i can be a SAHM to achieve such things. but i think its up to individual, some juz learn things faster than others. ;p

Hi luca,
I really feel tat it's the capability of the kid. My son now still cannot recognized ABCs and write 123! Though he attend sch since 18mth!

Hi l
I am attending a 2-day course today and tomorrow.

Luca,
Depending on the parents also. If I were to be a SAHM, I won't do any worksheet till he is K2! Just bring them out to play everyday :) Now at cc he is doing some worksheet, we close one eye, as long as it doesn't stress him. So far his cc is not academic type, which is just nice.

I am a SAHM but my girl doesn't do any worksheets at home. She cannot write abc n doesn't know maths at all.
We just read a lot to her, do lots of craft n play lots of pretend games.

Jacelyn
Prob cold. Disney on ice leh. If not cold become on water Liao. Hee...

Kam
Tat was wat I did lor, brot my gal out often, go for shows n frens house. But diff parents diff mind sets.

Luca
When E attended Julia Gabriel early last yr, his classmate could colour nicely within the picture!! 2 yr old. Elliot couldn't even paint within the a4 paper then. But I din bother la. Diff abilities.

Jacelyn, Mom2Nat.

Regarding Disney on Ice, I think it depends where you are seating. Bought Cat 1 last year so it was nearer to the rink, slightly cold and I did put on a jacket for my girl. This year I bought Cat 2 but for precaution sake, better bring a jacket along.

Well, I feel they are only 3 there should be some childhood for them. Dun force them otherwise they will become too stress and phobia against sch in future!

my colleague doesnt want to start "pushing and stressing" her kid only when he gets older cos she thinks by then it will be too late to change anything and it will be even more stressful on him cos he had never faced that before. she really puts in alot of effort, duno if i can do dat well even if im a SAHM hehe ;p
My boy doesnt know how to write abc yet also. so far we didnt start him on worksheets, more on reading books nia.

Hihi, I am back from Phuket.
I am sahm but besides half day school, Raeanne just plays with her toys n watch DVDs. We read bedtime stories to her n that's it. ;p we got some tracing n joint the dots books at home but she rather play with stickers.

yvonne, mom2nat
He is in zoophonics, yr 2007 class. I was told by other classmates' mummies that this school focus a lot on academic. By K1, most of them able to write in sentences & read K2 level books. I also agree that 3yo kids shld have more fun. At home, i did reading most of the time since i became SAHM last yr. Only start writing this year. And the rest of his time, he is watching DVD, doing puzzles, drawing, playing toy cars & stickers. Quite a balance schedule that i planned for him right? Play time is more than seat work.

Elmo,
After reading your post, i think my son is STRESS as his character is quite KS too, always want to finish his work first in class. Perhaps when he can't write, he freak out & cry. Guess, i need to talk to the teacher tmr & try your method. Thks.
Very "Lugi" to have a dec baby hor.

Last nite, i tried to talk to my boy, encourage him to write & tell him not to cry again in school. After that, i told him to write his name without dotted lines. Glad that he can do it ;) I told him those letters or numbers that he is unable to do so, muz try next time. One day, he can write all & shld never cry over small matters in school like this again. He said "ok" to me. Hope really ok in school (cross fingers).

Janbb / Luca
Actually I am a lazy mom. Elliot kept saying he wan to do homework(like jie jie), but I lazy to sit down and teach lah! Cos his attn span v short, then I find it so troublesome to take the books, colour pencils, sit on that short ikea chair with my huge melon.

mom2nat,
U have a valid reason to be lazy mah, preggy is always tired ;)

I'm the opposite, my character is very "hardworking" only on things that i like to do. Since I quit my job to become SAHM, i have taken this career seriously. Quite silly to have such thinking hor, haha. Cos i dun want to do nothing with him at home. Else i would be better off to return to workforce. Well, different mummy has different expectation on their kids ;)

Mom2nat,
can wait till u give birth ba, anyway its soon. or entrust this job to ur hb ;p

Janbb,
same like u, my colleague also quit becoz of her kid lor, dats y she feels even more responsible for her child's upbringing and education.

luca,
yes yes, precisely!!! I feel this way exactly. Sometime also creating unnecessary stress to myself. Will worry that my hubby feel that i dun do a good job. Recently, he suggests to place the two kids to CC since both are more than 18mths now & he knows that i prefer to work. But I simply can't do it to my kids. Haiz, slap myself for being so stubborn.

Btw, do u still rem that your menses has any delay after the UTI antibotics? Faint, my "da yi ma" is very late!!!

Luca
My hb not too concern abt their academic side. He will read and teach them, but not for the milestone kind, more like spend time with them.
Give birth liao, 3 kids, lagi no time!

Janbb
I stopped working 8 yrs ago!! My dad will say, go university liao, stay at home!!! Then I say, nurture my kids... but most of the time I stoning ard! HOw I wish I more hardworking.
Hb say dun aim to do too much with them, just spending time and being there for them is good.

Janbb
Ya ! dec bb very lugi
mine dec bb also lor :p
But I'm also quite relax on T cos he's second child and I already know children will no matter what at a later stage will know how to write ABC and 123. hahaha so in this sense I'm not as kan cheong. As you are a SAHM so you have devoted all your time on him and doing all these writing skills becomes a part of his daily routine le. I think it's fine la. How long is his zoophonics lesson ? 2-3hours daily ?

chaye,
zoophonics is 3hrs for nursary class. Yes, i think i'm also more lazy to start any activity with my #2. Never read any books to her before until now (very guilty). Juz started flashcard that takes 15 mins recently & not daily somemore. #2 is deprived of everything.

Rem wendyg said "LOVE can be multiplied". Think there shld be a second line "Quality Time is also divided"

Dec bb sure lugi de, even more so when they start schooling. if i can get to have another kid, sure plan for beginning of d yr bb.

Janbb,
looks like u gona be a SAHM for a long time liao, since 放不下 d kids. nvm lar, enjoy the process, but dun get too stress up on muz do a good job, since u oredy did ur very best.

eh my UTI was a week after my menses leh. u r saying urs is a surprise supper, n now ur menses late, does it mean #3?!

Mom2nat,
my "excuse" is also got 2 kids, not so much time as my colleague who only has 1 ;p

janbb
I worked in a bank for 3 yrs, then left for france with my hb lor. Come back liao, can't let go taking care of my girl. Sigh... tats how I got stuck with this "job"... not tat I tai tai hor.

ya, love multiplied but time divided. there are only 24hr in a day wor. No matter how much i sacrifice - no social life, no shopping, no TV, no personal books, no part-time studies etc.... i can only spend 1hr a day with my boys and gotto divide by 2 of them. If only child, then he gets my whole hour undivided attn.

BIG Wave to wendyg ;)
Haha, mention u & u appear ^.^
Yes, this is what i realised after being a mother of two. Time flies, it was abt 2yrs ago that i post this question when preggy with #2 & my #2 is turning two soon ;p

luca,
pray hard that surprise supper will not turn out another surprise to me, duh!!

wow i'm so glad i can post msgs again... means i can cheong for BPs n sprees hohohoho

to all the mums who hv my hp number, can u send me a msg with your nick coz guess what.... i lost all the contacts when i lost my hp 9 months ago hohohoho

tks ah

wendyg,
welcome back! u mean all this time u didnt post msgs, is becoz u cant post n not becoz u dun wana post? ;p

Janbb,
good luck.

i thought my id n pw was locked so i din bother to try... and i also busy la. as usual. not playing FB games either.

and now i gtg... ciao

Janbb I thnk ur boy is just being kiasu . So young yet he started to feel stress Liao? Btw just to share if kids r stressful they tend to have weaker eyesight. This is what I read one hor so I can't verify also. Anyway I salute u! U r really hardworking n devoted to ur kids

Krystle, was reading facebook. didn't realise the friend whom you said came back to sg from Japan w/o hubby is my ex colleague Amelia. :p which line is her hubby in? Hospitality? Why cannot come back tog?

Did I read somewhere that Mom2Nat already delivered #3??? Gosh, I thought still preggy leh... Paiseh... Congrats!!!

Kitsune,
Yes, she is the one loh. She does not want to come back but for the sake of her boys... no choice. Yup, her hubby in hospitality line... Got to stay on there to fight battle coz cannot just leave all the staff there like that... A very responsible man he is.

Krystle
Thanks, but no, I m still here la!! GG sg expo later! Hee... Hope everyone goes isetan sale then expo not crowded.

Mom2Nat,
Still preggy ah? Paiseh... :p
Hey, you still run around alot, just like Pixie leh. When I was in my last month, I was practically lazing at home every day....