(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Had problem posting just now. Congrats on your good supply. Yes, for newborns, got a lot of reasons why they cry so must investigate thoroughly. When Raeanne was 1 week old, ahe kept crying due to a bad skin infection but we thought she was hungry, colicky or fussy. Still feel guilty now. :p

Pixie,

I admire you. You are such a strong person.

But I guess is time for your maid to start kick in in full gear in assisting you for some child caring duties. Why your hb dun bring her to help? Sorry hope I am not offending you.

Hello mummies thanks for your concern.

Kellie
no offense taken. However our intention for the maid is to clear all housework so that we can spend time with our children. We don't hire maid to look after kids and this has held true till today. But just a mth tho into her role with us.
I'm thinking if I really need help the most is I'll aak her to jagah after my bb coz easier to look after a bb than a toddler (IMHO)

Yvonne
yes. X spends lesser time with daddy so daddy thinks x is very naughty, can't stand his antics. And x don't like my hb n prefers me so tend to whine more when I'm not ard. I think my hb super pissed today. Even feeding him the nasi lemak lunch, he told my boy cannot use finger to point n touch the food. I was like WTF??? Cannot touch food??!
I kept quiet. Left my hb to deal with my son since we agreed when it's his turn I have to keep quiet. But so uptight for what? Don't want shower oso angry. Then don't shower him now, try another time later lor.
My hb running out of gas liao I think. I kept telling him to have more patience for x1. Worse come to worse, I rather hb takes care of x2 in his spare time while I handle x1....

Kam
thanks for ur words.
I can only hope x2 is a guai as x1....ultimate wish. And touchwood...till now still ok leh. Yesterday kept crying coz hungry. Now milk came in liao she super contended. Only thing is she's making my nipples very sore ouchhhhhh

pixie,

jia you! I am sure X1 is also trying to get used of having a mei mei thus why he is whiny at times.

I also ask my maid to jaga my kids for awhile when i need some help, esp when my hb is not in town etc.
most impt, dont stress yourself up so that you will not gana post natal blues..

Pixie,

I am like your hb actually. Impatient with my no.1 but with no.2 I am very zen. Relax and not so worried abt many things. It just my hb pattern towards my gal makes me feel annoy.

Think having children can sometimes put a toil in our marriage but is part of the whole deal as well.

morning mummies

blackbatz, thanks for your villa recommendation. I hv found a villa to stay on my last nite back to kuta. Other nights will be in mixture here n there :p

Pixie
my hubby is like yours leh ! He cannot handle Tate at all. Always says he's naughty. Well, if this is how u view him he will always be like tat in your eyes ! So usually my weekends is pre-occupied with Tate. I cannot leave him alone with my hubby de. Sure will have commotion. Duno why must hubby be so hush to him. On the other hand, he's more patient with #1 maybe she's a girl tat's why ? If she cries, he softens, if Tate cries he gets even more impatient de.

Anyway, perhaps your hubby will be like mine prefers X2 more ! So u can continue handle X1, hubby take over X2. yeah !

Happy latching....

hi all mummies,

anyone got any idea how to claim the maid levy relief. i understand only working mother can claim this but i was hoping there is a way that my hubby can claim this since i am no longer working.

He have heard from his fren that there is a joint couple claim where there is this selection. Any idea?

Kam,

First consultation + polishing was $60 when we went that time. It was a very very quick job.. polishing done in less than 10mins? Or maybe it was just 5 mins. Worth it for us because C was in a good mood that day, the dentist was very pleasant and explained everything to C before she did anything. In a way, I think that helped to reassure C that the dentist wasn't going to do anything painful to her.

Actually I think HR is not the fussy type right, so maybe he don't even need to go to this dentist.

Pixie,
Wow.. your ss is very "tok kong"!! So fast already can pump so much?? x2 probably drinks quite a bit also right.. she is probably a very hungryyyy baby ;)

mylvera,
heehee.. judging by x2's size, i think x2 drinks quite a bit. My gal needed to be fed very often last time too... and she was about x2's birth weight too :p

mcfluffy,
Thanks for the info. So far, HR had never fussed when we brought him to his PD, and never cried when taking jab. Dentist is a new experience, like you said, good to let him have a good experience. I would most likely bring him to the same dentist. Cos the School Dentist Centre one hor, we don't have subsidy and have to wait till May, might as well bring him to a private dentist for (hopefully) a good first experience.

mylvera,
You making your grand apperance again. How have you been? Still mad busy at work?

mcfluffy,
yes the dentist is not too bad, she managed to clean off the black stain off my #1's front teeth. heard from the nurse dat shes not full time based there, more at Paragon.

Is ur ger's cavity bad? what is she gona do in the next appointment?

Kam,
Yeah true.. better to make it a good first impression.

Luca,
Yes.. she's usually at Paragon. Only at Woodlands on Wednesdays I think. But not really a problem for me since I stay nearby.

My girl's cavity is not too bad I think. Just a tiny black dot on her molar. The dentist said she'll do something which I didn't catch, but she mentioed that the noise might scare her off so she didn't want to do it on the first visit.

I never had a cavity so far so I also don't know what she is going to do. Hehe...

mcfluffy, luca,

i call up smileworks at Paragon to ask abt 1st consultation + polishing charges, the lady told me is $50 + $60 to $90 respectively! Wow...why different branch charge diff?? Hmm... I was about to make appt but now i think twice cos v costly ($110)! Can i have the dentist name...maybe i go woodlands branch.

Steph,
Rental is more expensive in Paragon that is why.
High class location.

Still thinking if should bring my girl coz I am afraid she will be terrify by the dentist. She is ok with GP as long as no jab... So abit hard. My SIL questioned why am I bringing her to dentist at such early age? She said she started dental on my 1st nephew when he went to P1 (actually is compulsory by school).

chaye,

Went ismile. Woodlands branch.

SY,
Paragon's rental more exp ba? I think C's dentist is called Dr Ronglin.

Krystle,
hehehe.. if her teeth is ok.. then don't need ba :p I might not have brought C to the dentist so early if not for the cavity
Actually, I didn't know what it was.. thought it's better to get it checked out. Furthermore, C still drinks milk at night, so her teeth is not very clean despite us trying to brush her teeth every morning and night. So no choice, had to find a dentist!

steph
yalor I brot my #1 there years back cost me $90++ le. But I called up last Fri, the lady said there's a promotion polishing/scaling cost $60 leh

krystle,
the staff told me some dentist can request to waive off 1st consultation charge for 1st time customer. Other treatment charges will apply accordingly to standard price list, be it Paragon or Woodlands branch.

I am half hearted too...but i think best to go for a basic check cos i observe food gets stuck easily in his teeth after my boy's meal & he is using his hand to remove it.

mcfluffy,
Thanks for sharing the dentist name!

chaye,
Paragon didn't mentioned abt promo...she just said polishing/scaling from $60 to $90. More ex than my Q&M dental check leh!

Steph, Mcfluffy.

My girl also still drinks milk at night so bound to have some residue. So far I checked her teeth, only slight yellowish, no cavity. Because of the last feed, I always requests her to rinse mouth before going to bed. Hope it helps abit.

Kam, krystle & pauline,

Can you help me in the chinese flashcards tittle again. Thank you so much ;)

i) 4 seasons (i.e Chun, xia, qiu, dong)
ii) Weather
iii) Utensils
iv) Things that we use (i.e bag, umbrella, pillow)

Not a good day for me :-( Just came back from a meeting with those VIP, and been told that our institution is going to be closed down, due to lack of funding. Only good thing is we will have 6 months from now to go through the transition. I feel very bad that I am being very selfish, cos I am already sick of this job (mainly to have to deal with all the politics and bureaucacy) that I didn't fight for the survival of our institution :-(

It's good that I will have to start something new 6 months from now. Force myself to find a new job (hope it isn't too tough to get one). But hor, at the same time, me and my hub are seriously thinking if we should take this opportunity to unroot and go back to Malaysia.

Rem someone kana UTI recently rite? Haiz, sad to share that i got it yesterday too. Terrible nite i had, can't sleep at all. Went down to A&E hospital close to midnite. Now on antibotics & hope the "burning" feeling will go away soon. Didn't know that UTI can cause pain in kidney & even high fever to the extreme. Luckily, my mum offered to babysit my kids (though they were both sleeping) & i can make a trip to the hospi with my hubby before it got that serious. Even with the med after that, I can't sleep the whole nite at all. Kept going to pee with slight blood. The pain is worse than delivery, faint.

JanBB,

i) 4 seasons (i.e Chun, xia, qiu, dong) 四季(春,夏,秋, 冬)
ii) Weather (天气)
iii) Utensils (工具/用具)
iv) Things that we use (i.e bag, umbrella, pillow) 日常用品 (书包,雨伞,枕头)

Kam,
Thanks for your prompt reply ;)

Oh dear, so sudden? How come stat board can closed down? Is it self-funded? Did they give you any compensation?

Good luck to u job hunting ;) If not, juz be a temp SAHM for the time being.

JanBB,
Not the whole stat board close down, just some small parts of it, us being included. I kinda know it's coming this new FY, cos those toppest management didn't support/appreciate us.

Thanks! I need lots of good luck! No lah, can't be SAHM, too much bills to pya.

OIC. Dun worri, you got a PHD, sure can find a job soon. You still have half a yr to look for new job. Jia you!!

Btw, your hubby found a new job?

Kam,
Don't have to feel responsible. Sometimes this is just a top mgmt decision, and I think not matter how hard, it can be very hard to change that type of decision (coz involve other political issues, you know).

Like janBB said, there should be a good compensation package for you if you leave. Or is there any possibility to transfer to another dept within the stat board? Maybe a good idea too to root back to M'sia. Sometimes I also think Singapore is too stressful.

Kam,
oh dear...that means alot of ppl gonna be out of job? any compensation or perhaps like relocation to another dept? but like what janbb said, u got PHD...sure easily find a job. Come my co & work?? my co hiring many positions...

Janbb,
hiyo...UTI is really agony...speedy recovery!

steph,
this ismile is like PD, while Q&M is like GP hehe see how much u wana pay for their services lor.

Janbb,
its me who kena UTI. but i was very ok after d antibiotics and painkillers. hope u feel better soon, i know its a horrible feeling. thou now im ok liao, sometimes i got d urgent feeling, d system like nt as good as before liao. really must be careful even after recovered.

Kam,
with ur degree n experience, im sure u can find a new job soon. hope u can stay on in sg lar, else we sure gona miss u liao ;)

JanBB,
Oh dear, hope you are now feeling better. Drink lots of water and although painful but don't be afraid to pass urine. Coz the more you kept, it will not get better bah.

luca,
how many days of antibotics did u take? Mine is 5days. Faint men. Now still can feel the pain when urine. Pray hard that i can sleep well tonite. Angry with my hubby cos he "attacked" me in the middle of the nite. So "lucky" to got it. I warned him that i will never ONZ him for "surprise supper". Make me suffer so much, sob sob.

Steph, krystle
thks ;)

Oh ya, steph, did u visit the carnival juz outside our blks over the weekend? Heard muz pay 50cents/5min to play at the "castle" slide.

Kam,
I also feel "Bu she de" when u mentioned that you going back to m'sia leh. Haha, realised forum chat has helped us build a very strong "Gan Qing".

Janbb,
i didn't cos Z was sleeping but i have full FOC view from my living room (see my FB pic) of the kite flying carnival! The kites were really huge & of many variety. At night, we saw many kites of LED...so beautiful leh! The castle slide was a v small one & it was pretty windy that day!

Thanks! Don't know leh, my job opportunities are very little. Just have to try hard bah.

krystle,
I know, it's the top management decision. But I think we could have run at least one more year if I try. But I didn't.

I hope my colleagues will have enough time to find a job in 6 months. They are all still young-ist, but most are committed and about to start family, so stressful financially also.

Not sure if I still want to work in this stat board.

steph,
Sure! You PM me your co's opening, I don't mind to try :)

JanBB,
Take care! Take antibiotics dutifully, don't miss a course, it should heal very soon.

Mix feeling leh. Wanna go back cos it would be so nice to see families more frequently. But hor, I can't deny Sg is safer for the children, and it's hard for us to move since we are living here comfortably already (though stressful).

Janbb,
5 days too, but doc said need at least 3 days to clear, faint lor. heng d medicine work within a day else i sure die of pain :S

steph,
yes mine also $60, i was expecting much more lor n was happy dat she cleared my boy's old stain. only + pt is dat can choose bubblegum or strawberry flavor of polish which might nt have for Q&M, nt very sure thou.

steph,
Ya hor, your blk face there directly ;) That's nice. We can only see the kites but can't see the crowd in the park. Is there a kite-flying craze in west only or all over s'pore? Yes, the LED kite is beautiful. Heard cost abt few hundreds bucks leh.

At hosp now for review, dr said recovery not perfect but got new bones so still ok so can take out the brace. ;p

Janbb, my answers same as Kam.
hope u recover from uti soon.

Kam, oh dear, a pity to lose a job with regular hours cos u said no need to work ot at all. Will it be easier or tougher for u n your hubby to find a job in Malaysia? salary lower but cost of living also lower I guess. Will miss u too.

Kam,
Oh, on contract basis, the top mgmt is soo cunning... But come again, nowadays most coy will go for contract staff too...

How about going into teaching??? Since you have PHD.

Luca,
The bubblegum n strawberry flavor polish sounds interesting! Q&M not specialise with kids dental service so that's where ismile charges more bah. Thanks for feedback!

Janbb,
Yah I agree now seem to be the kite craze season. The park outside JP oso crowded with kite enthusiast, flying kite on a hot sunny afternoon without shade!! Yup LED kites cost at least eighty to few hundred bucks from simple basic size to complicate design LEDs!

Re: Disney On Ice
Aiyo, hb now then say wan to go and watch, so today I finally bot the tix! If he said so earlier, I would have gotten better seats!! Who else gg ah?