(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

chaye
yes lor...so right now, as much as i hate his corporate style, i LUN coz i know my hb will "terek" (pull back) on beatings coz hb always say "heart pain to beat x"
then might as well dun beat lor!

x is so well behaved i dont understand why hb say he is so notti

but hor, i must say, 1 thing good came out from the gathering @ my place was my hb could compare x with the rest of the kids and he ack few nights ago that x is in fact quite a guai kid...
hooray!!

pixie,
You know which mummy I mentioned meh?? How you know is different one?

chaye,
You need to try out all methods and see which one works for T. I sometimes ignore him, sometimes ask him if that's the right thing to do, something ask him to tell me what he should do, sometimes I hug him tight and tell him he makes a mistake and should not repeat again and should say sorry to whoever concern, etc etc. Soft disciplining is very good cos both you and your kids are calm.

kam = calm :p

I duno why I got so worked up ytday for such small matter. Life got to move on...
thanks for your tips. I will write down and try it out.

Pixie,
Your SIL is really not automatic. But your MIL also cannot chase her own daughter now. Say do confinement there, then finish and go off loh. I also did my confinement at mum's place and although it is convenient but hoh I don't want to stress my mum's life too. Sorry to say but really an inconsiderate daughter.

Haiz, your hubby is like my bro. My bro is commando + his hot temper, always beat until his boys badly. And Kam is right, the boys learnt and they started to beat each other too. Once he even cane my younger nephew until really big red lines running behind his back and the poor boy cannot sleep at night. Caused my mum and SIL to cry coz everyone heartache. How to change my bro, I also don't know. The only time he will soften is when he interacts with my girl loh. Sometimes told my SIL, give birth to a girl then my bro's temper will be softern for sure.

has been some time since I posted- will usually try to read the posts at night before i zzz but ive been working very late recently, i can hardly read a few posts then dozed off already.. have been feeling very down recently due to work again. Anyone who noes of company hiring Finance/ training related positions, pls let me know =P

Re: beating our kids

Poor sleeping habits can really drive us nuts. I am also like krystle, cannot be patient with my boy's poor sleeping habits so will yell and beat him in the middle of the night. i always feel v guilty after that but sometimes i really cannot control my temper. there was once i was really so angry that i carried him out to the rubbish chute area (just outside my door) and left him standing there and my husband quickly went to "rescue" and carry him back home.

I always try to use soft disciplining first but sometimes, it doesn't work and he turns even naughtier, then i will raise my voice loud liao. but i turn weak whenever i see any child cry, i will feel v "sayang" for them and immediately stop scolding.

Re: mystery mummies
so many mystery mummies! Can reveal?

itok
my sis company is looking for finance ppl coz she is from finance dept...but she say it would meant that she is asking someone to come into a shit hole
thats why i kept quiet lo

if you keen, i ask my cousin, who is a recruitment person to help u look for jobs?

luca
not really. my hb was comparing x to the whole bunch of kids. he didnt point out "who's and who's kids" etc lah.
boys will always be boisterious lo....outgoing sorts always become good and quick thinking entrepreneurs keekeee

krystle
i oso hope x2 come out will soften my hb...he feels that if his parents caned him and he turned out well, he should be using the same style on his kids *faintz*

last time and now is so different!

i agree my sil not auto but what can i do? im still an "outsider" in a sense. whatever she do, im sure its mutual agreement between her n my mil. my mil very kiasi, so she dun dare to say no to her kids one de...

her children sometimes rude (i think) to elders, esp my hb's bro...she oso never ticked them off...
i cant stand her weakness

mattress protector
may i ask where can i buy and how much is it? want to upgrade my gal tilam to a good mattress since she is now sleeping on her own bed but worry that she might pee/vomit. TIA.

chaye
i went bali last oct. wat info u need?the airtix is cheap! i took airasia and cost me 2A1C1I for $900. u want private villa with swimming pool? kuta is very touristy and crowded. i stayed at nusa dua and its mostly resort/hotel type but quiet. mayb u can try seminyak or ubud? check out this -http://www.singaporebrides.com/forumboard/messages/4/956081.html?1286306516 and there are many bali threads from singaporebrides.com.

kam
take later flight to hk and stay 1 more day so that it is not rush too.

Pixie,
Totally agree. Such disciplinary thinking passed from generation to generation!!!

Coz last time my dad also beat us real hard. Now my bro's turn, and next time his sons... gosh...

I better got to remind myself not to beat my boy again. My hubby always said his genes very good (my FIL don't beat children so bascially my hubby's siblings are quite good). :p Hubby worried about my bad genes... Haiz...

All parents like that Kiasi one, pamper children (next time I will be too maybe). How about talking to your SIL's hubby? Maybe he will persuade his own wife????

Itok,
Still looking for greener patches? Haiz, is it all Finance jobs hard to do ah? My hubby said so leh. That time I sent you my coy's openings not suitable ah? I can check with my hubby if he has any openings, but location in AMK you ok?

I used to cane/scream/yell at B alot cos there was a phrase when he was really difficult to handle. But nowadays I seldom use the cane liao...I think WE have both come to realised each other's limits so communication and discipline is much easier. B just needs to look at my face and he'll know what to expect from me...hahaha...so usually he'll "surrender" otherwise he knows I'm gonna ignore him. It drives him crazy when I ignore him so no caning required at all and he'll start behaving. But that's a result of many months of battle lah.

Sad to say, now my hubby is the one who uses the cane cos B is still testing his limits and bullying my hubby all the time. I don't interfere except to explain to B what he has done wrong and asking him to apologise to daddy. I also want them to find their own way of communicating and understanding...although they do it the hard way.

yvonne
wahhh!! kudos!!
i hope i can emulate you and LUN while hb canes X but i cannot bear to see my son crying coz papa beat him...
i will explain to x what he has done wrong and ask him to apologise to papa....too...
AND at the same time angry at hb

u very kan kai
))))

superbee
thanks for the thread. Ubud like a bit far from the map ya but I heard it's quiet and not so touristy. where is nusa dua ? hahaha. Yes I'm looking for a pte villa with pool kind

I ordered the waterproof mattress protector from the same thread as pixie provided. Quality is good.

superbee,
I bought a matress protector from the same BP as Pixie's posted. Just received today.

Talking about this, HR has been off diaper at night for almost a week now. No bed wetting at all. Think he can really control his bladder very well. He came to me last night and said want to take out his underwear. I too lazy to wake up and didn't link it to that he might want to pee, so I asked him continue to sleep, and he did. Few minutes later, I wanted to move him to a better position and only found out he has wet his pant. Just a small patch, didn't get on the bed. So I brought him to toilet and he peed a lot! Keke, me so lazy to wake up loh (cos have to save the waking up for my gal). I am so thankful he is so auto in getting out of his diaper, else I think it will be a long while till I would start training him.

Yvonne,
Ya, ya, the ignoring works very well for us too. He is very scared if i don't talk to him. But hor, he learned that too! When he is angry with him, he ignores me, until I apologize or till I do something to make him happy again :) Also we taught him to say "thank you", etc, we have to remind ourselves to do the same too, cos whenever we don't say it, he would catch us and tell us off!

Superbee,
I have booked the ticket! From Tiger Airways, eventually, cos it's a huge savings of $600+ as compared to the best price from SQ. For 4 of us, 2A1C1I, only $1k, very good hor. Then can use the money save to spend on better accommodation and dining, and buy more stuff for the kids :) Decided to stay 5D4N cos of the saving from air ticket, so we will have almost 5 full day in HK (morning flight out and late afternoon flight back). Already booked the Disney Hollywood Hotel for 2 nights. Another 2 nights in town, looking at The Excelsior cos my colleague can ask her hubby to book at corporate rate, which is very very attractive. Almost all set :)

Kam,
You booked Tiger Airways? But there is no food/inflight tv in the plane right? Can your kids stand it for that 4 hours???

Thought better to have some food and entertainment to keep them busy...

krystle,
Yes, decided on Tiger since it's a short flight (slightly under 4 hours) so can save the $600. We have entertainment leh, the trusted iPhone loh. Enough to entertain them. Food very easy lah, just bring some biscuit along loh, and my kids are easily satisfied with a bottle of milk :) Last year when we flew to Shanghai via SQ, didn't really use the inflight entertainment leh, and HR not interested in the food also.

pixie,
Not that I kan kai but I believe hubby also have the right to discipline B but I will tell him if I think he's too harsh. Problem is he's inconsistent, sometimes he will discipline and sometimes he just let it slide so I guess that's the reason why B is still testing his limits.
For me, I try to be consistent, if I cane/discipline him over a matter, I'll try to do the same each time he does it...end up I may cane/scold him all the time over the same matter but eventually he'll understand that it's not acceptable lor. I ever tried the soft approach but realised it confused him and he got wrong signal...thought it's ok to behave that way. So I "hen xin" and decided to be tough on him...makes me guilty sometimes but at least I see some results now. Problem is he's only scared of me lor...bully everyone else.

Can help me to type those below in chinese? I'm trying to categorise a set of DIY chinese flashcards but lousy me can't rem how to write the chinese character. No chinese dictionary (hardcopy) at home or software in my PC to help me.
Thank you so much ;)

Pls dun laugh at me hor (So paiseh) though i also find myself real silly, such simple word i can't write. Can go back to pri 1!!! Faint, haha.

1) Animals
2) Numbers
3) Body parts
4) Food
5) Opposite

Can help me to think of a title? (dunno how to term them.)
6) Things that we wear like clothes, shoes etc.
7) Element like sky, water..etc

Thank you so much ;)

Recently found out that my boy can read some chinese character cos taught in school. So decided to work on it ;)

Juz to share the how i DIY my chinese flashcards.
i) Buy a book (very cheap kind abt $2) consist of picture & chinese character.
ii) Cut them out.
iii) Paste on the blank flashcards. (Picture in one card & word in another card) ~ Flash picture then word behind.
iv) Sort them in different category with a tittle. (Taught by shichida)

mom2nat
babeship one is old news liao leh!!

janbb
i dunno how to help u coz i oso dunno how to write the chinese wordings
opposite?? how even to SAY in chinese?

pixie,
is ok, thanks.
Opposite ~ Fan(3) Yi(4) Chi(2)?? hanyu pinyi also correct or not, faintx2!!! my chinese shld stab me... haha..
I can speak but i can't write.. hai, sad...

Kam,
(Kao Ni Le!!) Depend on you ok, think u are good in chinese ;)

JanBB,

Hope I use the words correctly (mummies, feel free to correct me):

1) Animals 动物
2) Numbers 数字
3) Body parts 人体器官 / 身体器官
4) Food 食物
5) Opposite 相反词 / 反义词
6) Things that we wear like clothes, shoes etc.衣服饰物 / 服饰
7) Element like sky, water..etc 自然环境

Janbb,
My Chinese is not fantastic either but I try to help you.

Kam or Kitsune can definitely help you better.

1) Animals 动物
2) Numbers 数字
3) Body parts 身体部位
4) Food 食物
5) Opposite 反方向/反面

6) Things that we wear like clothes, shoes etc.
身上的物品
7) Element like sky, water..etc 元素??

But hoh is Sky an element??? Sorry not to correct you but I am confused too.

flashcrards is an easy way to teach our kids how to read. been doing it with my gal and realise how useful it is. She can recognise many sight words and common words too.

Just to share a simple way is to:
1) buy vanguard sheets from popular (think 40cents only)
2) cut it out into rectangle
3) write the words you can to teach on it.
4) flash it or show the words to your child.

1 vanguard sheet can write at least 30 word cards..

can even use to play word games with your child with the word cards too..

JanBB,
My girl is also starting to recognize some Chinese words, thanks to my MIL.
Yesterday she proudly show us 大,小,高,低,前,后

krystle,
keke, we posted about the same time :) Think yours is more of direct translation :) Let's see Kitsune's version. But she didn't report here yesterday. See if she appears tonight.

A big thank you to Kam & Krystle ;) LOVE U mummies, a great help to me ;)

shannonbaby ~ u can juz buy blank flashcards from popular @ $1.95. Is call Besform "Plain Cards", (203mm x 127mm), in 50 pcs. Save u trouble from cutting ;)

Agree, flashcards do wonders!!

I have also DIY a set of simple "ADDITION" flashcards. Will update pix @ my blog ;) mummies can try this out.

1) Use stickers (eg, CARS)
2) Paste on the flashcards.
(eg 1 car + 1 car = 2 cars)
3) Write out the equation on another flashcards
(eg, 1+1=2)

Simple right? Try to use their fav characters. Improve their counting skills & understand the concept of addition. Subtraction flashcards can be introduced too ;)

pixie,
thanks for giving me some positive hope. sometimes i would prefer to think my boys r playful rather than naughty ;p
last sat, i beat #1 with hanger, real hard for d 1st time coz usually i just use it to scare them nia. ever since that time, whenever he was naughty, i will ask him if he wants me to beat him like that day, he will guai guai ting hua. hopefully, this will work for a long time ;p

Janbb, shannonbaby,
good job, both of u are so hardworking in teaching ur kids.

luca
your kids are pushing boundaries very hard. thats what i can observe....
but i do think that its perfectly normal for them at this stage, particularly both are boys and their "pushing" rub off each other. it escalates...then as parents, feel like tearing out the hair, hor

like my boy say "slowly, slowly"

hihi, Kam, looking for me? These few days, I was busy watching korean italian pasta drama dvd that my hubby bought. Finally finished it. :p

Pixie, wa, mystery mum again. So good. Is it QQ?

Today, busy trying to call re HK disneyland F&E packages but no luck. So exp and all the morning flights from 3-7 June sold out for CP. UA timing too lousy. If by tonight, hubby still dun want to decide then June no holidays liao. Sigh.

Regarding translation, what I found online is antonym ['/a/ nt/&/ nim] 名 反意字;反义字. Must credit Krystle for recommending me translation assignments, that's why I started looking for translation resources online but I stopped doing in a while liao cos hubby said got to spend 1 night to translate 2 page document (cos I'm not so good) but pay peanuts only $20-30, told me no point doing. ;P

thanks pixie for the link. will check it out.

chaye
ya ubud is a bit ulu but it's greeny and we went there for day trip to see the rice padi terrace.
hohoho.. r u going on a honeymoon trip with your hb only?? :p nusa dua is at the south of bali where ubud is in the north. kuta is in the west. actually there r so many private villa in bali and it's all depend how much u wanna pay..

kam
wow the flights fare is cheap! cos i paid $1.2k for 2A1C1I wor..
u can bring your own food (eg bk,macD or home cooked porridge for XY) and water up the flight too. but of cos u say its for your children to consume. ;) i usually bring 1 hot water flask + 2 children water bottle up the flights. so far no need to surrender them cos i declare that i have 2 kids. they do sell food onboard and cost ard $5-10.

krystle
i took tigerair and airasia for the past 2 trips with my gals and they r ok with the budget flight. like what kam said, we also entertained them with iphone, inflight magazines, books and some simple toys like small doodle board that we bring onboard. most of the time, they zzzz on the flight one so no issue at all.

pixie,
precisely lor, now u know better wat kinda challenges i faced everyday. really trains my patience well. i had to curb with my temper which i feel is getting worst

Kam, thanks, yes thinking of that too, u flying tiger?
Is timing better than jetstar? But June airtics sure very exp even for budget air.
R u going Disney hotel first or city hotel? Do u know if taking taxi into city hotel exp? I always book FNE package with transfer so not sure. :p

kitsune,
taking taxi into the city (kowloon?) will cost abt SGD$30-$40 one way.
sounds ex but if u take the airport express train it will cost ~SGD$30 per person for 2 way.
so for 2 adults it will already cost SGD$30 for one way, plus u still hv to transfer to the mtr to get to yr hotel. lugging yr luggage plus kids, to me it's better to just take the taxi.
unless yr hotel comes with free transfer

kitsune
from airport to hotels(be it at kowloon or hk island), u can take the airport train which cost abt HK$100 or airport bus which cost HK$20+ (abt 40-60mins journey) or HK$40+(abt 40mins to town) type. i usually will take the hk$40 type unless i going there for biz trip then i take airport train cos can claim.

Kitsune,
Yup. We will be flying with tiger. 4 of us only $1k. You can try for your preferred date in June, you may be lucky to get a good price still since it's only feb now. Airport transfer I won't worry lah. There are always cabs :)

Kam, thanks, I've checked Tiger, about $1k for 4 air tics too but the morning flight 6.50am is very early, I'm not confident that I can rouse the kids up so early. You ok with that? :p Jetstar has an afternoon flight out only on Fri and 3 jun - 6 jun (my initial dates) are BLACK OUT dates for Disney hollywood hotel promotion (with free buffet breakfast), so 'lucky'. So may have to change dates to 7-10 June. Ultimately, will see which dates the airtics is cheaper cos I think breakfast can't cost too much bah. Anyway, hubby still undecided, keep asking me to make the decision but I want his buy-in so prefer him to decide mah. Duh... R u staying 1 night or 2 nights at Disney hollywood hotel? Park view or garden view?