(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

pixie,
for X1 cc fees, u can use X2 CDA to pay for it too
your #2 should be getting $6K CDA (from govt if u top up $6K at one shot) & $4K bb bonus? Pls take care hor...being your nearest neighbour...if u need help on 12th Feb, pls shout (call me) & i'll be there for u!

chaye & pixie,
i oso buy from fuusha cos my coll bought it from her before & she said v good (really 100% waterproof)!

krystle
jan08 time, we only have how much max to claim from cpf? i oso forgot the limit...or has the limit been increased since the baby bonus announced in 08?

if eg its 5k, split between hb and wife, each fork out 2.5k from CPF...all in all, we only will still only have 5k paid by medisave mah, rite....
(5k is just a number i pluck out from the sky lah)
i had to top up 2k after all deductions for x1 in 08!

krystle
no, my cc bill is just my spendings and my overseas spree purchases.
my maid fees is 2.7k
cc 1st time fee is 1.4k
insurance is ard 1.5k
PLUS credit card bills 2.3k
--------------------------
grand total 7.9k
--------------------------

krystle,
Wah so good? No need to top up. I normal delivery leh, after claimed max limit, still have to top up leh.

pixie,
but the overseas spree, you are going to get the money back from the spreeists, right?

steph
can i ask you some qns hor
1. i contribute max 6k rite? then govt contribute dollar for dollar...meaning i will have 12k in the CDA a/c, right bo?
2. by when i have to make the topup of 6K? during opening of the CDA? or what?
3. i go where to topup? OCBC or SCB branches issit?
4. i know i will have ATM card but how do i tell the PCF to deduct the monthly fees from X2 CDA a/c? giro?

kam
that one is milkbags, so mostly are for my own use since im delivering soon. i purposely bought 1 big carton to last me thru my bfding career. moreover now exchange rate favourable mah
sell of to regulars, also slowly. get back de $$ also spend away kind :)

Steph,
I think Pixie's cc bill is not childcare bill, is credit card bill. :p
$4K bb bonus is also given in 4 installments, not 1 shot.

RE: Toilet traning at night time
How are we going to do this? There was a few days HR woke up totally dry! I think he is ready to go diaperless at night. But I am very lazy to wake up in the middle of the night should he need to pee. How ah? Just don't wear diaper for him and see how it goes?

pixie,
1. yes u r right.
Children Development Account (CDA)
This is a special savings account. MCYS will provide you with information about the opening of the CDA when your child joins the Scheme. All your children born on or after 17 August 2008 will be eligible to open a CDA. You may choose to open your child's CDA with Oversea-Chinese Banking Corporation Limited (OCBC Bank) or Standard Chartered Bank (Standard Chartered). A CDA can only be open with one of these banks. The person who manages the CDA on behalf of the child is called the trustee. As a parent, you can nominate yourself, your spouse or another person to be the trustee. The trustee must be at least 21 years of age and is not a bankrupt.

Saving for Your Child's Future

You can save any time in the CDA until 31 December in the year your child turns 6 years of age either in one lump sum or by instalments. Deposits can be made in any of the following ways:
- Cash, cheque or via Standing Order;and
- Funds transfer through the ATMs of OCBC Bank or Standard Chartered (depending on your chosen CDA bank), phone banking or internet banking.

Matching Government Contribution

The savings you contribute to your child's CDA will be matched dollar-for-dollar up to the cap of $6,000 each for a first and second child, $12,000 each for the third and fourth child and $18,000 each for the fifth and subsequent child. Please note that the amount of matching Government contribution may be pro-rated if the child is not a citizen by birth.

The savings will be matched in the following month. For example, if you deposit $500 into the CDA in January 2009, the Government will make the matching contribution of $500 around the third week of February 2009. Kindly note the bank's requirements with regard to the cut-off time for deposits made on the last working day of the month.

For the Government to make a matching contribution, it is your total savings (deposits) into the CDA that counts, not how much is left after withdrawals. Do note that interest earned is not considered as a contribution and will not be matched. Savings above $6,000 each for the first and second child, $12,000 each for the third and fourth child and $18,000 each for fifth and subsequent child will not be matched.

The unused balance in your child's CDA will be transferred to his or her Post-Secondary Education Account (PSEA) in the year your child turns 7 years of age. You may continue to contribute to the PSEA until your child turns 18 years of age and receive the Government's matching contributions subject to the combined CDA/PSEA matching contribution cap of up to $6,000 each for the first and second child, up to $12,000 each for the third and fourth child and up to $18,000 each for the fifth and subsequent child. The funds in the PSEA can be used to pay fees for post-secondary education in Singapore for your child and his or her siblings. The PSEA is under the purview of the Ministry of Education (MOE). More information on MOE can be found at MOE's website at http://www.moe.gov.sg.

Uses for the funds in the CDA

The money may be used by all your children to pay for:
1) Fees at Approved Institutions which have registered with MCYS under the Baby Bonus Scheme:

a) Child care centres;

b) Kindergartens and special education schools registered with the Ministry of Education (MOE);

c) Early intervention programmes registered with the National Council of Social Service (NCSS); and

d) Healthcare institutions licensed under the Private Hospitals and Medical Clinics (PHMC) Act.

2)​MediShield orMedisave-approved private integrated plans.

Click here -> Approved Institutions to search for the Approved Institutions.<font<<<<> Approved Institutions can be identified by an Approval Letter displayed at their premises.

The funds cannot be withdrawn in cash. Withdrawals from the CDA is made via interbank GIRO and NETS at Approved Institutions only. For payments via interbank GIRO, please enquire with your Approved Institution. You will need to fill up an application form to use interbank GIRO and submit it to your Approved Institution. The bank will issue you a Baby Bonus Card. You can use this card to make NETS payments to AIs from your child's CDA. It cannot be used to make payments at other places or to withdraw cash at ATMs.

The funds can also be used for principal-protected Singapore Dollar fixed or time deposit accounts approved by MCYS and offered by OCBC Bank and Standard Chartered. You may enquire directly with your chosen CDA bank on the use of CDA funds for such deposit accounts. The full amount deposited in the fixed or time deposit accounts, together with any interest earned, must be returned to the CDA upon expiry of the term of the accounts, or before the CDA is closed, whichever is earlier. The CDA funds cannot be used to pay for any penalties due to the trustee's premature withdrawal or termination of the fixed or time deposit accounts. The penalty, if any, will be recovered from the trustee directly

3. you can open a CDA acct with either OCBC or SCB branches only. You can top up via internet transfer if you already got a existing acct with the bank.

4. Ask Little Wings cc for a GIRO form for X1 cc fees for deduction from X2 CDA a/c. Fill up the form &amp; submit to LW &amp; they will do the rest. I did mine &amp; no problem

Kam, Pixie.
Gosh, I can't remember the details that much also about the payment. All the admin stuff done by hubby and I only know 50%/50% split from CPF. For both my deliveries, each time total bill was only $2.9K (considered cheap liao for Gleneagles) so never hit the limit if 50/50 bah...

Pixie,
Maybe you need to ask other mummies here what is the rough estimate cost of c-sect in Mt. A? I think Mt. A charges more than Gleneagles...

Some answers from me... Not sure if correct.
1. i contribute max 6k rite? then govt contribute dollar for dollar...meaning i will have 12k in the CDA a/c, right bo?
Yes.
2. by when i have to make the topup of 6K? during opening of the CDA? or what?
By 11 mth 6 years of X2, before she turn 7.
3. i go where to topup? OCBC or SCB branches issit?
I think after you open CDA a/c at either OCBC or SCB. There is no passbook, only have CDA card. But I forgot my PIN number...:p Think can also top up via cheque.
4. i know i will have ATM card but how do i tell the PCF to deduct the monthly fees from X2 CDA a/c? giro?
You need a CDA deduction form from PCF, fill up and submit to PCF. They will do the rest.

kam
when you see HR woke up totally dry is time to train le ! good for you ! I'm waiting for such a day to happen. Tate's diaper is always soaked with lotsa urine the next day.

For #1 when I saw no urine the next day for a few days I told her she can go diaperless le ! and we just did and viola ! no accident. Maybe girl easier ? I duno.

Pixie
I stayed 5 days at TMC with c-section I only need to top up 100+ which I was like SHOCK cos so cheap :p. I opted for 4 bedder and free upgrade to 2 bedder. That's wat I did for both deliveries to save money as advised by my gynae. kekeke

krystle,
oh i see...blur me:p
yup i knew about the 4K bb bonus not 1 shot.

Cash Gift
The cash gift is given out in 4 equal instalments over 18 months from the birth of your child so that you can use the cash for new expenses arising from your newborn. The first cash gift is given within 3 weeks after MCYS receives your properly completed forms. The subsequent cash gifts are given when your child is approximately 6, 12 and 18 months of age. The actual date of credit is usually within 2 weeks before or after your child turns 6, 12 or 18 months old. You will be notified by post after the money has been credited into your account. See Table 2 for the cash gift schedule.

The cash gift will be deposited directly into the nominated bank account of the parent or another person (the Account Holder). The Account Holder must be at least 21 years of age and is not a bankrupt. Where the child is also eligible for the Children Development Account (CDA), the Account Holder must be the same person as the trustee who is managing the CDA. Please note that the amount of cash gift may be pro-rated if the child is not a citizen by birth.

Pixie,
Hahaha, you forgot to include X2's PCF fees next time... cannot all used by X1 and not X2 right? So this 12K cannot last that 3 years you mentioned...

Actually I am intending not to touch CDA a/c until my kids go pri sch. Then use the amount and deduct for pri sch fees.

Kam,
You can consider to train HR but maybe better to get the mattress protector bah...
My girl is considered toilet trained already but I still put diaper coz me lazy mummy. 80% of the time she will wake up dry too but got occassional accidents like y'day, she peed at night in diaper.
Think I want to settle my son's learning to walk issue first before tackling my girl's night toilet train issue.

krystle,
I already touch R's CDA a/c for Z's cc fees &amp; also for both medical bills(HFMD/jabs/etc) from PD/GP visits
Now left peanuts. Gotta top up!

kam, you can train HR but like krystle said, put on mattress protector. Shaun still needs milk before sleep so no chance to train him yet hehe.

Hmm... I maybe wrong... I read and it seems unsaved savings in CDA a/c will be transferred to PSE a/c. But that one is different from edusave a/c and cannot used to pay pri sch. PSE a/c is for JC, uni fees...

Can anyone advise???

krystle / chaye,
Think c-sect can claim more than normal delivery. But hor, Chaye, you stayed 5 days leh, still cheaper than mine, same hospital, hmmmm, why ah?

krystle / tongtong,
I don't have a mattress protector. Plus HR sometimes sleeps on his own mattress, but will come up to our bed in the middle of the night. Then I have invest 2 mattress protector ah.

He still drink 240ml of milk, sometimes more, right before sleep leh. But he can hold the pee. The first thing in the morning when he wakes up is ask me to let him pee, and then put on his underwear, he is obsessed with his underwear.

kam
unfortunately, x is still having diapers on at night and in the morning its always full + he poo every morning into diapers when he wakie (good or bad habit? i dunno)....so hard to escape from overnight diapers

btw, drypantz got offer frm guardian ah!

chaye
ok, i dont mind taking a 4bedder at Mt A but i am not sure if they do upgrades most of the time, must check "market" liao heehee

chaye
i just checked...
2bedder=SGD2350
4bedder=SGD2100
difference of 250SGD, not that much, will still stick to 2 bedder lo....

kam
cos I 4-bedder ma.

steph
Ya I'm using CDA for Tate's cc fees too. Some of my coll not touching it at all. She says next time can take out to use wor. Duno when le. Now use and next time use is the same ma. I've calculated. The money inside is only enuf for 2 yrs of cc fees wor.

wah i just discussed my maternity leave with my boss
i will have every friday off after i come back from ML in june. but that means i cannot wfh anymore on mondays wor

SOB SOB SOB SOB

and i can start wfh only last week before i pop. 28th feb onwards

kam, then he is ready!! er, if you think he wont have accident then no need to invest in mattress protector?

pixie, yea i think pooing in diaper still, a habit. hi-fi, shaun's diaper is full every morning too!! heis just not ready yet for night though he is toilet trained for day since 1 year ago.

tongtong
got few times, he requested to put on diaper in the day. we scratch head, dunno why...
in the end he make the gek sai face + stance...then we realised oh...he wanted to poo in diapers...
hit n miss one, coz daytime (if no poo in morning) he will poo in toilet bowl one leh!

when will our boys start to have the morning poo in the toilet ah...sighs...

eg today he woke up, came out to look for me. i asked him "you got sai sai?", he said "finished already"
want to drag him to toilet oso cannot. how to train!

tongtong
i will take 3 mths maternity leave...
followed by 10days annual leave...
making it 3.5 mths of non-interrupted "maternity leave"
thereafter come back in June, start my work...every friday for the next 20 weeks off...long weekends lah
by then end of october liao, x2 oredi almost 8mths old...longer weekends can catch more milstones imho. coz i did the same for x1

pixie, i mean shaun already sit on toilet bowl to poo 1 year ago. but at night still on diaper. i think x maybe doesnt like to sit on toilet bowl. did you get him the toilet seat?? let him choose the toilet seat he likes. as for maternity leave, i wonder whether my boss will let me have straight 4 months too.

QQ,
Confirmed rabbit baby - pixie, mom2nat, hammies, babyship. That's what I can remember of.

Chaye,
Oh, ya hor, I very pampered, I insisted on 1 bedder :)

tongtong / pixie,
Maybe I will ask him and if he wants to try. HR just went total diaperless a few months ago, now is ready for night time. Like very fast hor. But he does have very good control of his bladder and bowel movement. If we ask him to hold (while look for toilet or while driving), he can really hold. He is the opposite than S and X. He die die doesn't want to poo in diaper anymore. Even pee also refused. There was a time he wanted to pee when he was driving, I asked him to pee in the diaper (XY's one), he refused, then I gave him a plastic bag, he happily peed inside and it's a lot!

Chaye,
I think CDA a/c money cannot take out and used. If after 7 years, it will be transferred to PSE a/c (used for JC, poly, uni fees). IF any unused amt from PSE a/c, will be transferred to CPF. So not likely can take out de...

If that is the case, once my kids start CC and if I top up $6K, then will use for CC fees instead. :p

kam, shaun doesnt poo in diaper anymore since 1 year ago la, but he is still on diaper for his bedtime pee. yea i think the later you are toilet trained, the earlier you are trained at night? hehe. cuz s toilet trained since 1 year ago but 1 year later still wearing diaper to sleep. hey yea, get ready plastic bag in the car just in case he wants to pee! but i always ask him to pee first before hopping into the car. else will ask him to hold , unlesss he said cannot hold liao.

kam, oh you are very pampered hehe. i also opted for 4 bedder but upgraded to 2 bedder one. i think ok leh, still got privacy. and can take care or chat with my neighbour somemore :p

Shannonbaby,
I initially thought can used for pri/sec school but after reading MOE website, it does not seems so.

Why can’t my child make use of the PSEA for his educational expenses at primary, secondary and junior college levels?

PSEA is to be used for higher education which is more expensive. Education at primary, secondary and junior college level is heavily subsidised by the Government. There are financial assistance schemes, scholarships and bursaries in place to help parents with the expenses.

Why is there a need to transfer the surplus funds in the PSEA to the account holder’s CPF-Ordinary Account when he turns 30?

The PSEA is aimed at post-secondary education at the pre-employment stage, generally between 18 to 30 years of age. After age 30, it is likely that the account holder has started employment. Hence, the balance is transferred to CPF OA for other uses.

To add balanced amount in CDA will be transferred to PSEA.

f a Singaporean is eligible for a Children Development Account (CDA), a PSEA will be opened for him in the year the child turns 7 years old to receive the balance from the CDA. If a child is eligible for CDA and has unspent balance in his CDA, the balance will be transferred to his PSEA in the year when he is 7 years old.

Tongtong,
I agreed! Better to use it up now before 7. Saving it for higher education seems too far. Anyway I have already bought savings insurance for both my kids and they will obtain a sum when 18 years. That should be enough for their higher education.

Just now lunch time chatted with a very close friend on mine on FB. His wife (whom I also know but not that close) is pregnant with #2, but at the same time hor, diagnosed with cancer. Haizzzz, I am so sad, totally no mood liao......

krystle
Ya agree too ! that's why I'm using it now. Why wait. Moreover that amount of money is not enuf de.

Re : Insurance
I have not bought any insurance for Tate. Can you share with me what savings insurance you bot ? I think is good to have those that you bot ie a sum when 18 years old.

tongtong
x can poo @ toilet bowl more than 6mths ago liao, with the kids seat cover lor. but he will try to poo 1st thing in the morning inside diaper. if no poo in the morning, he will poo @ toilet bowl....but got few times he asked for diaper coz he wanted to poo inside diaper.
so its really hit n miss one leh!

QQ
thank you thank you :)
BABYDUSTsssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssss to you

Accompany hubby to hosp for his follow up dr appt.

Kam, I insisted on single room too cos I am light sleeper n I want hubby to stay over with me in hosp, plus ward Staff usually treat single bedded patients better. I dun think I am pampered though. As my ex manager told me before, how many kids will we deliver in our life time? Not as if we will have 5-10 like the older generation. Some $ to me no need to save, Kekeke. If really disciplined, cut down on luxuries, can Liao.

Chaye, I topped up $6k immediately after RL is born i. Dec 09, up till now earned $80+ of interest. So, I think I will let the interest roll until RL is 6 years old then wipe it out for RL n RA's cc fees.

kam
huh really ah? what kind of cancer? issit in beginning stage? can cure??

chaye
i bought for x1 when he was before 3mths old.
i can tell u what i bought for him...if u keen lar....pm me
i just love my agent. she will come to visit me, do all the paperwork, explain. and dont bother me unless i need her help. i just love such agents. no need to rcv nuisance calls like "keen in product XYZ?" every now and then

Chaye,
I bought Prudential insurance for both kids, called PruSave. At age 18, #1 will get $60K and #2 will get $80K. I will use these as higher education for both. Hopefully will be enough, just worried if they choose not to study in local uni then maybe not enough. Whatever left after higher education will be for their weddings. :p

I think you can specify which maturity age you want to set. Can range from 10 years onwards. Of course the mature amount also up to you. And if you want, you can opt to draw some amount say $5k every 5, 10 years whatever... Prudential will adjust the interest and mature amt accordingly.

Kam,
So sad for your friend... what type of cancer?? I wonder will it affect the baby inside?
I am pondering if should go for full body check up next mth, still thinking coz coy provides free checkup for age 35 onwards... But very scared to hear doc say I got serious illness leh... Sometimes, maybe better not to know????

Kitsune,
I also think my stay at single is worth it. really the treatment is different and very attentive. Hubby did not stay over coz need to pay for his boarding fees. I just want my own privacy and convenience, as well as allow my family to visit me in a better env. :p

kitsune,
I have phobia of hospital, esp to stay in hospital. I sure have to have my hub to stay with me. If my hub can't stay overnight with me, I would freak out and probably cry the whole night :p No matter what's the cost, I have to take 1-bedder. Not really pampered lah, cos one night at TMC is cheaper than those lux hotel stay :)

pixie,
It's nasopharyngeal carcinoma (NPC), meaning cancer detected around the nasal and upper tract respiratory system. He didn't want to tell me which stage, but it's not early stage. Can cure bah but his wife insisted to keep the baby, so making the treatment a bit more challenging. Plus hor, my friend is outstationed at Bahamas now leh, his wife so poor thing.