(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Who is on night shift today? Ended my training ard 30mins ago...
Prior to that had few slices of bak kwa....yippeeeeee it's the start of bak kwa marathon!

Pixie, only lonely me on night shift. No one to talk to, Dawn was here but left... Feeling a bit down today cos came back from dr review, condition not worsen (good news) but still need to wear brace for 6 more weeks (bad news). Next review is 7 mar, so close to my phuket trip on 14 mar. Already paid everything in full, hope I can still go for my trip lor.

Eh, bak kwa heaty leh, don't eat too much. I just had Macdonalds double fillet o fish supper just now. Yummy!

kitsune
awww thats a long long way to go to take off the braces! meaning u cant go visiting during CNY n all??
yah man, really hope can take the braces off before phuket...its a fun place, have fun!
u staying which hotel?

no worries about the bak kwa, its my final goodie before i pop (apart from milktea heehee), i always drink lots of water
this time round hb q for 3 hours for a bak kwa from chinatown hawker. its good..
perhpas i buy some after the cny public holiday at bedok...there got another good stall too!

Dawn,
Hello there! You are one of the many silent readers ya :) I also can't remember seeing kitsune on the aquaducks trial, you went for 2 trials is it? Ya lor, post more often, join in our big family :)

kitsune,
Stay positive, at least it hasn't gone worse even though you have to take care of two young kids. Rest more whenever possible and you will be fully recover before your trip!

Pixie,
And there will be bak kwa coming all the way from Ipoh for you :)

pixie

i'm coming back sg from 31 jan to 5feb. does ur sis have any ready stocks for CB products? generally the everyday lotion and the calming bodywash.

also one tube of desitin? pls email me ok? thanks!

mylife
ok will email u
wah u so late then tell me u coming back ah....

luca
the queue was short but got some customers kept asking the ppl in line to help her buy bak kwa coz of quota...hence 3 hrs
my hb said actually only 10+ in line...no need 3 hrs one rite...he got angry lor...the ppl behind him oso angry
just inconsiderate ppl lah

kam
ooooooooooooooo love u dip dip...yum yum
i just had another 2 slices....jialatz, if i finish the 500g today (which is very very possible) my hb sure scold me one leh...
i rather go outside n buy n stash at home muahahahahah

Pixie,
So fast feasting on bak kwa? I still have not seen my 1st pcs of bak kwa yet coz asking SIL to order from her office (got promo).

But I am suffering from very bad heatiness, my left inner gum is swollen and very painful when I eat and brush teeth... Want to recover soon leh...

Mylife,
This time coming back for such short period of time?

Kitsune,
Maybe wearing the braces for another 6 weeks will aid in your recovery? I think you will get well before your Phuket trip. Have fun! But maybe avoid those high velocity outdoor activities, in case you may accidentally injure your neck again. Don't forget you just recover ya.

Kam,
This time round your family will be staying fully in your hometown? Or any plans to bring the kids to nearby cities or other states for exploring?

pixie
Heee.. I oso eating bah kwa and CNY goodies. I will plonk myself down, take tubs by tubs and munch munch munch!

My mom told me tampines central opened a KOI, I so tempted to buy, but I lazy to queue ah

pixie,
Muack muack :)

krystle,
Yes, we will be going to Cameron! Will stay one night there. My cousin is around, so he will bring us around. I spent my childhood there, but totally forgotten about all the touristy stuff already.

Then Ipoh has the Sunway Lagoon with hot spring water. We haven't tried, so might go this time round.

Other than that, it's preparing for CNY, spending time with families and friends, and going around to visit relatives and friends loh. This year 1 week only, can't do much liao.

mom2nat
i never had the chance to buy new year goodies leh.
my mil gave me a tall plastic tin of love letters, just within 1 day i ate half of it liao...jialatzzzzzzz
dont know where got sell nices ones, and everytime buy liao ekkkkkk not nice to eat at all so never dare to buy CNY goodies liao

Pixie
I hardly buy too, only specific ones tat i buy every yr. Otherwise my mom will buy/order or pple will give. Usually can't finish! NOw my kids always pestering me for the goodies, put there too tempting liao mah.

Pixie
Hehehe yah lo. So busy with Rylee starting kindy, then my mom got food poisoning, then spread gastric flu to me. Aiyoh, I almost forgot cny is next week!

Krystle
Yah. Actually last min decide to come back. Like only a month ago, before that ding dong thinking shud we spend it in HK. Hubby need to go back work so the rush. Actually I also want to come back HK quickly so a) rylee doesn't miss school at all and b) very ma huan since my SG house is very sparse and I want to travel light :p SG really is feeling less and less like home now

Pixie,
I still have not buy my CNY goodies yet, prepare the angbaos, spring cleaning not done, nothing is done! Very jialat...

Mylife,
OIC, then you can't attend the gathering at Pixie's hse on 12 Feb loh. Kind of understand your feeling of SG is gradually not your home. I also thought I have the opportunity to experience an expat's wife life but never had the chance. If only I can be like one of my friends, her hubby is posted to Tokyo! I definitely will follow w/o hesistant! Actually when I was preggy with my girl, my hubby was almost kena posted to Bangkok for 2 years... Luckily he quit and left the coy.

pixie,
Are you fan of pineapple tart? I have tasted the best ever pineapple tart, bought from a CNY bazaar at my workplace. So nice that even my hub who doesn't like, ate a lot. HR loves it too, and so is my girl. We finished everything liao, left with nothing for CNY.

Kam & chaye,
I wanna check with you. You got a package for couple spa at Adeva Spa right? How is the package like?

I saw a promotion on Young Parent magazine that offer couple spa getaway at $138 nett (US $470 for 90mins) Offer till April 30. Not to sure what is included in the package yet.

In case, any mummies interested. The promotion code is OC1265-AS.

icy
oh I also cannot rem the details le.. it's written here orginal price of $556 now only $128 for 60mins. So maybe yours 90mins for $138 is better deal ?

Kam
wat pineapple tarts are those ?

Chaye,
Normal pineapple tart, melt in the mouth type, with very buttery pastry and excellent pineaapple. From Baker World LLP, think their shop in sengkang or serangoon, can't remember which one.

I just bot one from Pine Garden near my hse there. Wonder if it's nice or not.

I wont purposely go to sengkang/serangoon to get pineapples tarts la :p

chaye,
They came to our workplace for the bazaar. It so nice that I actually considered to get from them next year. This year too late liao, they have sold out and stopped taking orders.

wah so popular and nice har... you are making me drool le.. I love pineapple tarts especially those with soft and buttery crust. oh btw, is the pineapple hidden type ?

chaye,
Yes, yes, yes, very soft and buttery crust. Pineapple hidden type. Very the nice leh, seriously.

krystle,
Because I love pineapple loh. I would buy 1 piece after lunch almost every day.

The love letters I got from the Feb08 mum, Garfield09, is pretty nice.

Bak Kwa I am bringing one to Pixie's place. Come for the gathering lah.

Krystle
Expat wife only good if hubby gets those indecent amount of $$$ mah! Hehe. Yah I jus saw from Kam's FB about the gathering. Too bad I'll be long gone then. Haha.

Usual offer to jan08 mommies. Anyone wants me to get anything from HK?

stephy, kam, mom2nat, thanks for the advice/ The pd also prescribed zyrtec to my boy for his flu i think...i din noe can buy zyrtec OTC from guardian?

Kam.. my boy not taking antibiotics i think... aiyah.. i very lousy mummy, just started wrk full time , din even have time to check thru what med he takes.. in laws will help me give. :p

Mom2nat, my elder ger also take ketotifen, is into her 2nd bottle now, it really helps to control her allergies.. but i hate to rely it for long term. The zyrtec is like ketotifen? or is it more of medicine( to cure)?How abt singular? i am so confused between all these. There is this doc i am seeing, he always give his own "brand" of cough syrup meaning he doesnt say what contents.. but it does work for my ger.. .. but the fedyup thing is that he always give so small bottle so if the cough comes back have to see him again. Do u all bring ur kids to e doc every time they are sick? Or if roughly the same symptoms, u all will self-medicate with previous medicine? I tend to self-medicate or just wait till they auto recovers.. but darn.. the stupid doc , give so little, cant self medicate must go and c him and he is not cheap even though he is a gp... any advice? Just go and ask him for more med? will they allow?i always go to him cause he is near, caring towards kids.. he noes my ger's history, and he opens at night.. my boy's pd closes at 430.

Re: hou zao San
Some other mummies in my boy thread also discussing abt it, they say super effective to remove phlegm but so expensive..

Xiaoyun, can get from any medicinal shops in JB? But sorry hor.. just wondering if they sell cheaply is there a possibility of piracy? :p i very scared leh..

kam.. i think u would like the pineapple tarts from my student's nanny too. Really very nice, i ordered many bottles on behalf of my frens too.

Kam.. i am planning a trip to cameron too.. can i check is a weekend trip do=able for cameron?

Kam, wah I love pineapple tarts!!! All the talk about tarts making me salivate!
My mum used to make them before Celeste was borne... But now no time to make

And I haven't bought any cny goodies for my house yet!! Where got sell nice ones?

hello mummies
reporting for night shift again coz i have a training in 30mins time; last training for this week...next week have 1 more before CNY

just now i almost went crazy liao...
in a short space of 2 hours, i brought X from mil place to JP to collect his cake for cc tomorrow and back to my place, he has at LEAST 6 MELTDOWNS....
i had to CONTROL my temper and be acting cool about him sitting onto the floor, bawling and screaming his lungs out while strangers throwing us looks...
he had meltdown in train, outside macdonalds, everywhere.
whenever i say no to his request he will just sit down onto the floor and cry....

haizzzzzzzzzzzzz

now i got gastric because of the stress

qn for mummies:
1. does your child throw tantrums in public?
2. how often would that be? at least once per outing to shopping malls/parks/etc? or perhaps once every # of outings?
3. how do you cope with such tantrums? please be specific
4. what do you think is the reason for your child's meltdown in public?
5. what steps do you take to prevent further incidents from happening? or you dont take preventive steps?

while putting x to sleep, i had a small run through with my thoughts. me and hb both understand that x gets very whiny and throw frequent tantrums before, during, and after he gets sick....i hope this is just a passing phase....even my mil told me he cried many many times since she brought him back from cc till i reached her place at 6pm...

hope tomorrow is a better day for all of us

Genice
YOu can ask the GP for more med. Sometimes when I run out, I will go and buy instead of consultation. Doc oso told me, when the child is having mild symptoms, we can self medicate first. Cos sometimes gg immediately, the doc oso cant' really tell isit a virus or bacteria, or stomach flu or wat. But of cos if serious, quickly go see doc lah. Usually I stock up on cough, running nose, anti histamin and panadol.

As for the diff kinds of medicine, you can check with your doc. Pay consultation liao... ask more! haha...

Pixie
Did you answer me my qn abt sleeping ah? Do you sleep well now? I wake up a few times leh. I sleep from 12+ to 5+am and still wake up like 2-3 times. Really zombie ard all day.

mcfluffy
welcome to late-night-club!

kam
i dont have a like or dislike for pineapple tarts as im not a big fan of pineapple....unlike u, i eat pineapple (the actual fruit) like less than 10times in my life....no matter how much "eyes" they take out, my tongue sure kena bitten everytime. so even pineapple rice i oso try to fish out the pineapple bits hahahah

mom2nat
i still sleep well, but i cannot sleep on my sides. once i do so, my back will start aching. so i have to lie flat.
i can wakie to pee once a night but im excellent in "lun-ing" pee since my prev job so if i can lun till morning, then ok lo...provided i dont sneeze, coz full bladder + sneeze = leak pee pee leh! do you have the same problem?

u wakie liao cannot go back to sleep? 3rd trimester tend to have insomnia hor? for me still ok, coz i am more tired than being awake

Pixie
I am a light sleeper. I haven't had good sleep since I have #1 liao. The worse starts at 3rd tri, then bb born lagi no sleep. sigh... I can't lun, will wake up every few min kind. V irritating. End up every am after 2 kids go to sch, I KO on the sofa like a lazy dog!

I find sometimes I sneeze oso need to squeeze, incase pee come out!

yippee!! training cancelled!!

mom2nat
hey ^5 i oso light sleeper....everynight i put on ear plugs coz hb snores ._.||
but recently really hectic lifestyle (new house, new maid, new cc, boss on long leave/mc), so i am really really exhausted...
u lagi jialat, you have to wakie early for the school bus rite....and you have 2 imps at home...i have 1 hurhur

i think most mummies dun have good sleep since their 1st baby came out from tummy, no worries...i oredi 习惯 le ley...prolly u find it harder now coz we are expecting + 3rd trimester is most shiong

Pixie
Good lah, you can go sleep liao. I am so drained today, cos Elliot refused to nap and he was fussy in he evening.
Morning #1 hb fetch, but I wake up 5+ to make lunch boxes for her. #2 take sch bus at 730am. After tat I stone until 1030am, he comes back.

Your in laws used to help you look after during weekdays right? My kids with me all the time leh! My girl slept with us until recently we shifted both to their own rooms.

When your #2 is out, then you know juggling 2 v siong ah! IMagine my kids dun go childcare, only go a few hours kindy.

Genice,
I heard from my cousin, who lives in Cameron, that the traffic is very bad nowadays on weekends, worse if it's holiday, and worst during CNY. Other than that, a 3D2N trip should be just nice. Nowadays most people will do a detour to Ipoh for food sampling cos the new highway going up to Cameron is close to Ipoh.

I don't give my kids medicine unless the doc prescribes antibiotics, or if they are really lethargic. Let them self recover. Thankfully they are pretty healthy. Both haven't taken any med for more than half a year liao.

Pixie,
Can't really answer your questions. Cos my kids, esp HR, has never thrown a big tantrum till sat down and scream kind. The most he would cry and we can get him calmed down easily by talking/reasoning with him.

Haven't packed our lauguage yet. Might have to stay late tonight. Luckily starting tomorrow I am off work already, hurrary! My 11 days holiday starts now!!!

Kam n kitsune, yah brought them to 2 trials cos the 1st trial the gal was having runny nose, so couldn't go down at all. so must have met u all at different trials!

kitsune, do take care...hope u get well and recover properly b4 your trip!

kam, yes usu silent readers cos at night not many pple on the forum liow. haha...u off to malaysia for 11 days? enjoy yourself.

Re: Meltdowns.
Only my boy will have meltdowns though not frequently...screams and cries loudly when he can't get his way.... very embarrassing. Will try to carry him to one quiet spot to calm him down, usually within 3 to 5 mins...which is like eternity.

Mom2nat
now my mil not looking after my boy liao so no such luxury...sick I oso need to request to work frm home n look after him. Cannot depend on mil liao.
Harnor, #2 come out v shiong coz x is really very close to me n I most prob throw #2 to my hb if I'm putting x to sleep etc. Heng maid coming

my mom is having very bad tempers due to menopause n furthermore she is very unreasonable woman to start with. Somemore now her legs r no good. I will be suggesting to her that I will order confinement tingkat and get maid to do hsework while I take care of #2 all by myself. So my only prayers is that x2 is a very ez bb to look after...bo bian liao. All by myself is really very scary. Scared didn't do a good confinement, body won't be good when growing older leh

kam
wah congrats to your 11days of happiness. Now holiday mood, pack or no pack oso very happy rite

abt tantrums:
good for u that hr dun have such meltdown. X started having these since half yr ago and they r getting more n more frequent. Reasoning helps but these few mths not working well liao, sighs

Morning mummies......
Groannnnnnn
my last post and this post is only 8-9 hrs apart but I didn't sleep at all...x suddenly had fever at 2am plus. I just went to sleep at 1am plus then barely an hr he had fever. Whole night monitoing him and putting on blankets onto him so that he can sweat it out to break the fever...he woke up many times, and I gave him lots of water during the whole night.
Today in d end cannot go cc to celebrate his bday. Bo bian, will bring cake on Monday make it belated.

I'm soooooo tiredddddd
I packed my bag ready for work but can't go

mil kept nagging me to give him cough medicine, but x die die oso dun want to drink leh. Mil oso say give fever meds...old ppl kept saying give meds, I listen oso sianz.
My eyes r closinggggggg. I still hve work to do, lunch to cook, and gynae appt later. How I wish I have a butler right now!!!

good morning mummies !

Pixie
sayang sayang.. it must be tough on you ! big tummy and yet got to take care of X ! how is X now ? fever still there or lower ? take a rest when he's sleeping. Lunch can ask mil to cook simple stuff ma. Your butler shd be your mil for the time being. Ask hubby to drive u to gynae appt later

Pixie, do u usually give him anything after he takes his medicine? Celeste used to hate medicine because she would vomit after drinking fever medicine. But we learned to give her sone water and a sweet to wash off the medicine taste and she slow learned to accept drinking med. Nowadays, she willingly drink med and even ask for more!
I think the trick is to make it seem like drinking med is not horrible. Don't force if he don't like. Try again when his mood is better.

Pixie,
Seems like you are having a tough time now...
Take care. Got any other colleagues who can help you to backup work?

I think X had meltdowns yesterday maybe because he was starting to feel unwell. I know X is a good and obedient boy in general so there must be a valid reason for him to behave that way.
Hope he will recover soon ya. So sad he can't have his celebration at school. But are you sure you want to bring the cake to sch next Mon??? Coz that will be another 3 days, not sure if your cake can keep that long. Even yes, I think better don't bring coz the cake will be eaten by little kids... If got any tummy discomfort (touch wood lah), then not very good and will kena complained by other parents too. To be frank, I would not want my girl to eat a cake that is kept for a few days (sorry for being frank, but this is my view). If you have prepared party bags, then just bring on Mon to distribute. The cake you keep for your family to celebrate with X bah...

My girl does not have meltdowns in front of us or outside, only when she is at MIL's house. I know she is bullying my MIL and taking her for granted. I think she will have it once every 2,3 days bah... That day MIL cannot tahan and complained to us. We reprimanded her very sternly and 3 days have passed, these few days she is quite well behaved at MIL's house. Keeping fingers crossed...

Pixie,
Or you try mixing the med into milk? I used to do that for my boy.

Hugs pixie...hope X is feeling better. You take good care.

Mom2nat,
speedy recovery to Elliot too!

Now the hospitals seeing a rise of flu outbreak cases...pls take good care everyone.

krystle,
my #2 will reject the whole bottle of milk if his milk got a weird taste, can't bluff him at all
Usually i will use force-feed method, no choice

pixie,
Z's cc will be celebrating the official opening of the centre on 12th Feb (Sat). Mr Lim Boon Heng, Minister, Prime Minister's office & Member of Parliament for Jurong GRC will grace the event as their guest of honour. Little Wings cc was opened in Mar 2010 offering only infant care & nursery care service...now is extended to kindy care too! Then again, the cc seriously still needs room for improvement.
Nowadays raining so heavily but still the cc blast on full air-con (my FIL told me that the cc is very very cold when he step into the main entrance &amp; saw the principal &amp; teachers wearing jackets!) Maybe these teachers really have no sense of childcare cos for such a cold wet weather, they should adjust the air-con temp to maybe like 27deg or higher or maybe turn on the fan/open the windows instead of air-con ? Well...my FIL was sure the air-con was definitely <20deg. Haiz...

thank you all mummies for listening to me grouching...

x is having meltdowns at least once per 1/2 hour, wherever he is. just now at home, he asked me where is the power ranger cake (that ive collected yesterday at JP), i bluffed him at nai nai house (coz if i told him at home, he sure insist to eat NOW), and he just lie down onto the floor and started screaming and crying for his power ranger cake...

its been the whole morning like that. i seriously hope its a passing phase. like krystle said, my x is guai by nature, dunno why this week is soooooooo terrible...super stressed liao...

in the end i started shouting at him so loudly that he stopped. he dun like me to be angry; and it was the first time i "roar" so loud that it got his attention...
i literally screamed leh...i know its NG but reasoning dont work, ignoring dont work, scolding him dont work, distraction dont work. i wont try caning. so i had no choice but to shout very loudly to "grab" his attention

then he finally stood up and apologised to me when i prompt him to. then guai guai go to dining table and eat lunch. *sigh* i hope this is just 1 off time of my shouting coz seriously i shouted so loudly that my throat hurts now....

even if i dont follow him to a certain place he will lie down onto the floor n cry
even if i leave him for a moment to keep some laundry he will lie down onto the floor n cry

omg....i really going crazy...i told my hb just now i having mental breakdown soon....
work so bz, x sick and cant recover, super painful backache, everyday rushing here n there

i think preggy too emo liao hurhur

krystle
we ordered 2 cakes, 1 for cc, and 1 for tomorrow. the one we collecting tomorrow, will be for Monda@cc. while the power ranger cake that i've collected yesterday night will be for tomorrow (actual day) celebration lo...like that, within 3 days for both cake...swap them liao no choice

my son dun take milk and the cough mixture is the typical brown kind prescribed by GP so its a weird mixture bah. i told him if he dont want to drink cough medicine then must drink lots of water...so he is gluping lots of water now

mom2nat
hope E recovers soon too yah!

steph
x's cc got aircon but they usually dont switch it on coz not much kids ard. if they do, they sometimes open the windows etc...and sometimes i even sweat there leh...so, no such problem

correct now very cold weather, aircon no need onz for such super strength...u feedback to principal before liao rite

Steph,
For my boy, I used to mix med into milk or use the force method. Recently out of blue, he decided that he wants to take med from syringe directly and willingly! No more force method so I am very happy.

Ya loh, nowadays weather quite cooling, no need to on aircon the whole day. CC should adjust temp accordingly. What are they doing? Anyone feedback to them? I have to agree with you that the CC needs lots more improvement. You want to write letter to MCYS if more and more unpleasants issues pop up???

My girl's pre-nursery class on contrary, will open window normally after 1 hr of lesson for a while. I think it is ok. But my MIL very funny, asking me why open window, want to save money on aircon is it??? I was like |||, see different people different thinking.

Pixie,
Ya, preggy contributes to being emotional. Don't get too upset. I know recently X also cries at CC plus the fever, all these taking a toll on him. But scolding is inevitable lah. Since he is already behaving that way. At least he listens now. If he continues to meltdown, got to keep on stern with him (although he is sick). Coz all these crying and screaming may even make the fever worse (rise in temperature coz he exerts more much energy in crying/screaming)...

After lunch, engage him in some other activities to divert his attention then let him nap awhile. Hope the rest of day will be better for both of you.

Oh, you got 2 cakes then just swap bah. I forgot cough mixture are normally dark in colour so also cannot mix.