(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

pixie,
when newborn, timing sure clash one cos they feed so often!
later on when older i dunno how already. will just 'walk one step see one step' lah
actually still not too bad lah. i hv mastered the art of bfing bb and free hand hold the milk bottle for lexie...kekeke

kam,
#2 latches every 2hrs or so. hb is on one month leave and mil is here for one month also. so at least lexie's meals, bathing, and all the washing is settled.

krystle,
think with #2 we also more relaxed lah. not so gan cheong abt everything.

yvonne,
hb currently on leave so he sends lexie to school everyday. when he goes back to work i will resume sending lexie to school

toking about hb on leave....

today so disappointed with hb, he changed job (again!) and i c-sect 4th mar, his last day @ old job is 7th, new job is 8th...
ask him to defer his new job for a couple of day, he say dun need, coz my mom at home to help...
pls lor!! my mom is not the mom/dad of the newborn. he simply not eager to spend time n bond with bb
then say new job require him urgently...im my heart, i was thinking, you not boss/CEO of the company leh!
then i asked him, job or bb more impt...he said both....winner lor
to me, job + $$ anytime oso can earn back. moments with bb is for life; past liao no more liao!

the sad part is still must come from me to ask him "can you defer"....no heart to take initiative....
answered me no liao, see that im not happy then say ok i tok to new boss n ask

dont even feel like seeing him later at night

XY, yup, Aunty Lezhuang likes to put RaeAnne to sleep on tummy sometimes too. Raelynn not really cos she's a better 'sleeper'. Any position also can sleep, hee. I was talking to hubby, 4mths should be able to flip halfway at least, how come will kenna SIDs. But the nanny also garang lar, can wait until 4 hrs later then check the baby. If RaeAnne or Raelynn nap for more than 2 hrs, I'll check on them liao. Paranoid. :p

Pixie, don't be angry lar. Your hubby more MCP so to him, new job and supporting family is very important. Somemore, you said before, you earn more than him leh. Of course, he's always trying to get higher pay and more prospects job for your sake. Now got 1 more mouth to feed, he also got pressure.

My hubby ah, even though I'm in brace and he's got bandaged hand, still wants to go for his tuition lor though we are short handed at home cos he said tuition equals to $. At least now your hubby knows that you r not happy, he is willing to compromise. I remembered last time during X's time, he was even more bo chap right? Don't worry, after Xandria is born, you 'dneh' him and tell him his little princess miss Daddy lor.

Krystle, just weighed s, he is 15 kg n 100 cm tall. I m fortunate that he has never been a picky eater although he is vegetarian. I read much about toddlers health n u dun need to worry. If she doesn't shoe interest in food, just let her be. She will walk to the table to pick up food if she is hungry. It's even ok to let her go without food for 1 or 2 days except water. U will be surprised that she will eat everything after the fast. Anyway, this theory might be too advanced n difficult for u to accept. I just wanna assure u that u dun need to worry lo, since her weight n height is ok now. Just make sure she eats healthy food will do, cuz that's the foundation for good health.

Xy, I can understand ur worries! Ya iron is very important . Share with u what I give s for iron: molasses, sunflower n pumpkin seed, seaweed , leafy green veg. Food containing vit c helps iron absorption. So give them fruits , fruit juice or veg when u feed her meat will double absorption rate. I dun quite like the idea of feeding iron supplement though, anyway,if she doesn't want food, maybe giving the pill is the best solution. Hope carrie will outgrow the anemic condition soon!

Mandy,
Yes, B is in Daisy B so it's also teacher Susan and Bai Lao Shi. How come I didn't see Jayden? I'm always quite early so I get to see the morning session leave...I'll look out for him next week.

Grumpus
Wah, you order confinement food only ah? I can hardly cope with 2 kids and a new maid now. Can't imagine 3 kids!! YOur parents or in laws helping you?

Pixie
Hugz... We preg, oso more emotional and wan more TLC. When I gave birth to #1 in France, my hb had impt meeting tat whole week. Normal birth there is stay 5 days!!! So poor me, stuck in the room, nothing to do all day. How lonely hor... Men and us diff priorities. To them, they with us oso cant' do much. And I guess your hb oso excited abt new job.

Tongtong,
Thanks. After hearing comments from doc and mummies here, I should learn to relax and let go (just let her be, if she is hungry, she will eat). Now slowly accepting this fact. But for my parents and PIL (the older people), they find it harder to accept. Think they may even scold me if I just let my girl to be (not eating)... :p

morning mummies!!
no one reporting in today?

i was all dressed for work and wanting to wear shoes n all liao when i realised x was feverish to the touch...aiyah fever, so in the end couldnt bring him to cc, have to stay at home and look after him. luckily i got bring laptop home

Pixie
So u sahm today. Oh sat I went check up, 31wks, bb abt 2.1kg. I din put on weight, nurse was like... Errr... Din eat ah. But I eat a lot leh. Maybe not enuf sleep. So total gain at 5kg for now. U go cu every 2 wks now?

kam
i didnt intend to WFH today ley, coz i will be having a midnight call on tuesday, so planning to wfh on wed, and on wed night, i have another midnight training to conduct; so planning to wfh on thur oso...
so die die today must step in but x is sick, mil bz with newborn...so bo bian lo

mom2nat
my next checkup is this fri, which is 3 weeks from the previous. the next one is 2 weeks from this week kind liao. fortnightly....
i think week30 my bb was 2kg....

Morning, mummies.

Pixie,
Hope X will recover soon.
Haiz my girl's fever is gone but both kids down with cough and flu. Was so busy looking after them over the weekend...

pixie,
u very efficient leh, got ipad so fast.
Hope X gets well soon. wah u D cup, really 一山比一山高 ;)

krystle,
sometimes old pple might not understand coz 心疼grandkids mah, its like that, hope its just a passing phase, n Issyen will start to eat more soon.
my #2 is down with flu n cough for more than a week liao, still havent recover, sianz!
hope our kids will be okay soon.

ah shucks....i realised i have another training to conduct on thur night 10pm - 11pm....tired siaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

luca
D cup is ONLY WHEN im bfding lor...else, im few cups downsized one lah, i wish oso i got perm D cup heehee

it's so weird! x has been nursing a cough for many many weeks liao, ever since we've moved in. no phlegm, just cough cough...
we think its a 冷咳....
then on sat, it was quite bad.....and he's got runny nose...
sunday too...
then today came fever

i didnt gave him any medicine, just lots of water...i think he oredi pee-ed 6x since this morning liao

Pixie,
Hi5! I got a night call from 11pm to 12am on thu night too!!! Wonder how am I going to keep my eyes open... Normally after I put my girl to sleep, it will be 11pm liao... No time to bathe, to do laundry etc... Think Fri morning, I will online from home a little late...

krystle / luca,
Oh, hope your kids recover fast!!

krystle,
Ya, I know what you mean when the grandparents nag about the lack of food intake. Even my mum who is a very open-minded grandma, also got very worried when he saw HR not eating well. It took me a long time to convince him that it's actually okay. Like I weighed HR in front of her every week to show her that HR was not losing weight. I also showed her that I offered the same amount of food to HR every day without fail, but if he refused, I didn't force. She accepted that finally. Before that, she would chase after HR the whole house with that bowl of rice, and tried persuading him, one more spoon, just one more spoon......

I have done a big mistake also, that is, I let him watch tv while having dinner when he was not eating well. A big big mistake. Now he couldn't eat so well at the dining table, and may explain why he didn't eat well when we dine out. I am hoping to cut this bad habit slowly. Before that hor, every meal was on the dining table and without tv one, sigh!

Kam
My kids oso bad habit, eat in front of tv

Pixie
Wah, u might b having a big bb!! Doc told me dun take too much carbs or sugar. Bb will get big if too much.

I used to get a nudging cough, doc asked if any Reno or construction GG on nearby. Could be tat irritating me.

I bot my delphin vacuum cleaner!!! Hoho... Hopefully reduce the dustmites ard.

Kam,
I am another guilty mummy too. Bascially my family also eats infront of TV.. the parents (me and hubby) are so used to it so we let our kids follow too.. It will be very hard not to coz I know over at my ILs' place and my mum's place, TV is also on during meal times.

RE: eating

That makes me thinking of doing a "poll":

1. Does your kid eat in front of tv/iPAD/iPhone/other entertainment?
2. How long (a range) does him/her take to finish a meal?
3. Does he/she eats veg?
4. Does he/she eats better/more if his/her favourite food is served?
5. Does he/she eats better or poorer at the restaurant?
6. Does he/she snacks a lot or often?
7. Do you think he/she is a picky/fussy eater?

Feel free to add on more questions........

That makes me thinking of doing a "poll":

Kam: Yes, 90% of the time.

Kam: 20-30min

3. Does he/she eats veg?
Kam: Yes

Kam: A bit, but not too significantly.

Kam: Poorer.

Kam: No.

Kam: No

pixie,
hope X gets well soon. You also takes care too, don't catch the bugs.

Poll
Yes, in fact our whole family does.

2. How long (a range) does him/her take to finish a meal? 20 - 45 mins

3. Does he/she eats veg?
yes

4. Does he/she eats better/more if his/her
favourite food is served? Yes but only slightly more
5. Does he/she eats better or poorer at the restaurant? Poorer

No
Yes, she will stick out her tongue to taste the food to see if it's to her liking.

pixie: no. but sometimes when we are outside, he's finished and we have not, we will switch on the iphone to let him watch something or play games when its our turn to eat.
pixie: good days, 15mins; bad days, 30mins
3. Does he/she eats veg?
pixie: yes.
pixie: yes
pixie: 50-50 leh. its always hit n miss one...so nowadays i tend to remember what he likes to eat when we dine out. its mostly sushi he likes
pixie: it depends...mid morning or mid afternoon snack = yoghurt, bread, biscuits, juice etc...does this count as snack, kam?
or we give yakult after his meal if there's no soup served
pixie: no. but i would think he eat depends on mood kind...i can serve his favourite food which he loves to eat yesterday and he can totally reject the same dish today

mom2nat
i oredi cfm having a big baby. during the detailed scan, sonographer told me long limbs n big stomach. and after my 5th mth onwards, everytime i visit the gynae he will tell me big baby.
good thing about my gynae is, he will never tell me to cut down on carbs/sugar, or he will say i cannot put on so much weight. he's not judgmental at all, as long as bb and mother is healthy.
i so wish he was the gynae for my #1....saves $$ and not so harsh. my prev one kept saying i put on weight etc lar

pixie & krystle,
i got a conference call this wed from 11pm-12.30am too! haiz!

Mom2Nat,
how much did u pay for the delphin vacuum? Is this the one where previously some mummies were talking about the sales person coming to our house to demo?

itok
ohhhhhh we poor mummies LOL
hey, i know your job very demanding, so if you have such late call, still must step in at 9am or official working hours the next day?

pixiepixel,
depends, coz sometimes I have meetings at 8am the following morning then damn sian. otherwise, come in around 9am.
i think if im pregnant like you, i wont be able to take it man. u still steady pom bi bi!

Mom2nat, congrats on your buy!

Itok, yup, both Delphin n rainbow have free demo (free small stainless steel pot for delphin), mom2nat n I bought delphin. I bought silver series 2k plus, think mom2nat probably bought gold series bah, 3k plus.

Pixie, krystle, itok, your jobs so siong, still need to take night calls. Jia you!

Here are my answers...

Yes.

30 mins but she does not eat much...

3. Does he/she eats veg?
No.

No. Nowadays she is not eating anything much except for sweets/snacks.

Eats just as poor in restaurant.

Not at home. But not sure about situation in IL's place.
Definitely YES!

1. Does your kid eat in front of tv/iPAD/iPhone/other entertainment? Sometimes for dinner, lunch at cc. Today, teacher said she asked for second helping, so happy.
After she came back, she took 6-7 slices of tingkat sliced pork n 5-6 pieces of tingkat sliced gourd.
2. How long (a range) does him/her take to finish a meal? In cc, 5-10 mins. At home 15-45mins
3. Does he/she eats veg? Usually no, Only likes certain veg, prefers the stem
4. Does he/she eats better/more if his/her favourite food is served? Yes, but her fav food changes faster than seasons so hard to predict. :p
5. Does he/she eats better or poorer at the restaurant? Better! She got 重口味, she likes tingkat food a lot cos usually saltier than home cooked food. :p
6. Does he/she snacks a lot or often? More so at ils house.
7. Do you think he/she is a picky/fussy eater? Sometimes ESP when sick or when she has ulcer.

Luvv: Yes, in fact our whole family does.
pixie: no. but sometimes when we are outside, he's finished and we have not, we will switch on the iphone to let him watch something or play games when its our turn to eat.
krystle: Yes
kitsune: Sometimes for dinner, lunch at cc. Today, teacher said she asked for second helping, so happy. After she came back, she took 6-7 slices of tingkat sliced pork n 5-6 pieces of tingkat sliced gourd.

Luvv: 20 - 45 mins
krystle: 30 mins but she does not eat much...
kitsune: In cc, 5-10 mins. At home 15-45mins

3. Does he/she eats veg?
Luvv: yes
krystle: No.
kitsune: Usually no, Only likes certain veg, prefers the stem

Luvv: Yes but only slightly more
krystle: No. Nowadays she is not eating anything much except for sweets/snacks.
kitsune: Yes, but her fav food changes faster than seasons so hard to predict. :p

Luvv: Poorer
pixie: 50-50 leh. its always hit n miss one...so nowadays i tend to remember what he likes to eat when we dine out. its mostly sushi he likes
krystle: Eats just as poor in restaurant
kitsune: Better! She got 重口味, she likes tingkat food a lot cos usually saltier than home cooked food. :p

Luvv: No
pixie: it depends...mid morning or mid afternoon snack = yoghurt, bread, biscuits, juice etc...does this count as snack, kam?
krystle: Not at home. But not sure about situation in IL's place.
kitsune: More so at ils house

Luvv: Yes, she will stick out her tongue to taste the food to see if it's to her liking.
pixie: no. but i would think he eat depends on mood kind...i can serve his favourite food which he loves to eat yesterday and he can totally reject the same dish today
krystle: Definitely YES!
kitsune: Sometimes ESP when sick or when she has ulcer

Kam,
Judging from your poll, my girl has the worst eating habits! Haiz... big headache. MIL is still chanting to send her to CC. I also think in CC, she will be train to eat better and healthier... Too bad no opening for this year...

Yes. In front of TV
20mins to 45 mins
3. Does he/she eats veg?
Yes, only those veg that he like, Eg. broccoli
Yes, he will eat much more, much faster.

Yes, normally we will have 1 dish of his fav stuff order. Plus more tasty due to MSG, more salt etc.

He does often now, cos he drink only 2 oz of milk before school. Lunch at 11am.. so he will be super hungry in the afternoon after naps. Will ask for milk, rasins, honey stars, biscuits, bread, bao, cakes etc Seemed like a growth spout to me now

So so. all depends on his mood if he wants to eat certain food or not.

Feel free to add on more questions........

kitsune: Sometimes for dinner, lunch at cc. Today, teacher said she asked for second helping, so happy. After she came back, she took 6-7 slices of tingkat sliced pork n 5-6 pieces of tingkat sliced gourd.
mcfluffy: usually yes because that's the family's habit

mcfluffy: good days 10-15mins, bad days 30 minutes? feels like forever...

3. Does he/she eats veg?
mcfluffy: only certain vege like broccoli, long beans, lettuce. usually will say, "eeee... vegetable" and refuse to eat any other green looking thing.

kitsune: Yes, but her fav food changes faster than seasons so hard to predict. :p
mcfluffy: Yes, can eat a lot of her favourite food.

kitsune: Better! She got 重口味, she likes tingkat food a lot cos usually saltier than home cooked food. :p
mcfluffy: depending on the food or whether she's hungry or not. nowadays can manage to sit and eat with us without the need of whipping out iphone/ipad to entertain her.

mcfluffy: YES!!!! She seems to be hungry every hour or so.. snacks on everything from fruits to biscuits.

Luvv: Yes, she will stick out her tongue to taste the food to see if it's to her liking.
mcfluffy: not really. Just don't quite like vegetables nowadays.

Hi all, I'm experiencing painful piles for about a week liao.. any home remedy for it ah? Too paiseh to see a doctor leh.. but it's really causing me so much pain... Once i sit, I don't want to ever move.

krystle, hehe.. judging from the number of
you have posted, i can see you're not too happy with your gal's eating habits too. hehehe

krystle
Going to CC will not help, cos I doubt the teachers there will really have time to make sure they will finish their food. Teacher have feedback to me that Xavier never takes his snack in school. I think that is due to too many distraction, he didnt even eat his cake when we do celebration in school.

Anyway got a little incident to share. One day, I notice that Xavier changed his spare clothes for the first time with 5 other classmates, out of a total of 8. Quite surprise and I thought they had some water game or painting activites. Xavier cant tell me an answer.

When I reach home, I realise that his shirt is all stain with chee cheong fun sauce! Think they had a food fight/play in school!

Icy: Yes. In front of TV
mcfluffy: usually yes because that's the family's habit

Icy: 20mins to 45 mins
mcfluffy: good days 10-15mins, bad days 30 minutes? feels like forever...

3. Does he/she eats veg?
Ict; Yes, only those veg that he like, Eg. broccoli
mcfluffy: only certain vege like broccoli, long beans, lettuce. usually will say, "eeee... vegetable" and refuse to eat any other green looking thing.

Icy: Yes, he will eat much more, much faster
mcfluffy: Yes, can eat a lot of her favourite food.

Icy: Yes, normally we will have 1 dish of his fav stuff order. Plus more tasty due to MSG, more salt etc.
mcfluffy: depending on the food or whether she's hungry or not. nowadays can manage to sit and eat with us without the need of whipping out iphone/ipad to entertain her.

Icy: He does often now, cos he drink only 2 oz of milk before school. Lunch at 11am.. so he will be super hungry in the afternoon after naps. Will ask for milk, rasins, honey stars, biscuits, bread, bao, cakes etc Seemed like a growth spout to me now
mcfluffy: YES!!!! She seems to be hungry every hour or so.. snacks on everything from fruits to biscuits.

Icy: So so. all depends on his mood if he wants to eat certain food or not.
mcfluffy: not really. Just don't quite like vegetables nowadays.

Mcfluffy,
You are so clever! Caught my clue of the number of
I have posted ya? Hahaha, yes very unhappy and yet nothing I can do about it. Yesterday during lunch at home, my girl was as usual holding all the food in her mouth, hubby got angry and reprimanded her. Caused her to cry..
Still not eating even kena scolding.

I had very bad piles once when I was preggy with #2. I just let my gynae see and he gave me oral med and prescribed a cream from pharmacy which is effective. But the cream, you need to have doc's prescription then can buy. So better see a doc if it is causing discomfort.

Icy,
Understand that teachers won't be supervising every kid but I am more like hoping for peer pressure... If my girl sees everyone eating their own food, hopefully she will follow suit?

<font color="ff0000">The poll so far from 7 mummies</font>:

<font color="ff0000">Shockingly 5 out of 7 eat in front of TV! 1 sometimes, 1 no.</font>

<font color="ff0000">Ranging from 15-45 mins</font>

3. Does he/she eats veg?
<font color="ff0000">3 yes, 2 selective veg, 2 no.</font>

<font color="ff0000">4 yes, 2 slightly, 1 no.</font>

<font color="ff0000">2 yes, 2 depends, 3 no.</font>

<font color="ff0000">3 no, 4 yes.</font>

<font color="ff0000">3 no, 2 maybe/sometimes, 2 yes</font>

krystle,
really depends bah. Like Xavier, he is not comfortable with the environment then he refuse to eat. I wonder if also due to the fact that he too used to eating in front of TV.

krsytle,
Don't feel bad lah. If I were to do this poll a 2 months back, I would have equal if not more
than you. See, HR's eating habit has improved so much, so can Issyen, trust her and trust yourself!

My 7 yo did eat much much better when he started cc. From never ate a string of veg to happily eats everything. Depend on the kids bah, and the cc, and the main carer :)

Krystle, peer pressure works for my gal, she will finish her food quite quickly, think she was 3rd out of 6-7 kids to finish her food n put the bowl into the pail. But got to endure the first few weeks when she will either eat very little or even reject lunch totally, then bring home i still need to feed. When she was not eating well at cc cos still adjusting, my fil said dun let het go to cc cos she's not eating. Grandparents r like that lar, always want the grandkids to look 'pui pui'. ;p

Krystle, my niece is also like that. She can take up to 1 hour to eat! The maid feed her until sian... like your gal, she also like to just hold the food in her mouth, especially when watching tv. I think she just forgot that she is eating?? Anyway, I don't think she has the mood to eat after being scolded leh :p
My niece tend to eat slightly faster when she is eating together with my daughter coz she would want to follow my daughter.. or vice versa. So maybe your daughter needs some motivation too?

re: piles
hmmm... maybe i do have to let the doctor see after all...
Need to have mental preparation first.........

Kam, wow.. 5/7 of the children eat in front of the tv. Is it because the parents do that themselves? My hubby and dad for sure LOVES eating in front of the tv.

Pauline,
yeah.. why do the older generation like kids to look "bui bui"? I always feel that my mum likes to force feed my gal, resulting in her size now.
I don't want her to be like me!!! She has already got a big big big tummy!

Kitsune,
No lah, next year confirmed need to send her to CC. Coz MIL said no more maids for her! She had enough coz the maid is driving her nuts. So I need to start looking for CC... But the one downstairs fully booked this year, next year have to see first. And I need to check out another CC in the Community Club slightly further. If that one is also full, I seriously don't know what to do... Maybe I really got to quit job liao.

And I heard my BIL and SIL (hubby's younger bro) want to TTC for next year. So likely MIL will need to take care of the newborn then she will not be able to handle both my kids... Haiz... Tough decision... I wonder if my FTWM days are ending soon...

Mcfluffy,
What sort of motivation will be good? I don't want to reward her to snacks, just to entice her to eat...