(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Hi, mummies.
Can ask what is your toddlers weight now?
Coz my girl is a picky eater and she weighs around 14.5kg with height 96cm.
Do you think it is still normal range?
She has not been eating much recently and her only food intake is her FM... Although I tried TCM, Lysine supplements, all did not worked. She is just not interested in food.
I am thinking if her weigh is still normal range, then I don't have to worry that much.

krystle
Elliot oso abt that weight and height. V hard to feed. He is much lighter than my #1 at the same age, but well, diff kids diff lor.

Krystle,
I think Xavier only 13.5kg at most and he is 98cm. He doesnt eat a lot, milk intake also lower recently. And he runs about so much, I think he is underweigh but since me and my hb also underweight when we are kids so we think it is ok.

krystle,
HR is about 15kg for the last 1 year or so. Lowest at 14.5kg when he was ill and didn't eat for a few days, and heighest at 15.6kg, when he eats well and didn't fall sick. Mostly hovering around 15kg.

Think your girl's weight is pretty good already leh. If you look at the growth chart, 14.5kg for girls is between 50-75th percentile, which is average.

Same as height. Also at 50-75th percentile.

HR has been through poor food intake for 2-3 months. Now he is eating very well. When he didn't eat well, I just let him be, but I continued to offer him food, just when he rejected, I don't force.

krystle,
i am from Feb08 thread.
i can shake hand with you on the picky eater club. but my girl is so much smaller than yours. she's now 11.9kg and <90 cm.
she's not interested in meat &amp; veg. and now doc diagnosed that she's got anemia, supplement with iron. made us so worry.
i think your girl's height and weight is good. don't have to worry so much.

krystle
X is 14kg for now...
his food intake is see mood one...i seriously think he is going through growth spurts...sometimes eat a lot...then tapered off...then shot up again...
14kg is without alot of fm intake yah

Thanks to all the mummies who replied my concern.
Think I should just let her be and don't worry that much.
Haiz, just that every meal time is quite frustating for me, especially initially. I can nag and threaten her to eat her food but she just chewed and chewed and don't swallow. Normally after a few mouthful, she will said she don't want liao. Haiz, my parents and PIL all very worried loh. But like nothing we can do further.

That day went to consult doc, he said a picky eater can even last until 6,7 years old then will start to eat normally again. Then he also said don't force them to eat as normally it will create adverse effects.

So I think I just have to see 'open' and let it be bah... If she is hungry, she will tell me and just let her eat what she wants.... At least she never rejects milk.

Kam,
Thanks for sharing percentile info. Good to hear that my girl is still considered as average.

Icy,
Well, I have been increasing my girl's milk intake since she does not take food, and she still can finish all. I also think she is underweigh coz looks skinny... But maybe it is her height as I see she is taller than her classmates. I tried to give her Pediasure but she told me she does not like that milk. Luckily only bought a small tin to try. So now at night give Pediasure (to finish that tin) and the rest will be Friso 3.

Xiao Yun,
Really shake hands here... very 无奈 right?
So you bring your girl to PD and he said she is lack of iron? Haiz, so have to take supplement then can help?

krystle
x oso on pediasure coz he dont take fm so pediasure is the best choice for now liao
got some periods he loves it, some periods he reject pediasure totally one leh...
i oso nver force lor. let him drink milo or cereal

Pixie, thanks for info, maybe I should buy the $5 sim card for my hubby too. Now with hubby at tampines polyclinic to change his hand bandage but never bring iPad cos no extra sim card. :p

Krystle, Raeanne only 13 kg, less than Issyen. No need to worry.

krystle,
very sad cos we have always tried very hard to make sure she gets balance diet and she's excellent eater before the age of 2.
she was hospitalized due to high fever recently. blood test was done to find out the cause of fever.
incidentally found out that she's anemia. so now got to take iron supplements - which she hates as it's black color and the taste is awful.
we don't like the idea of taking iron supplements (1) the absorption rate is very low (2) will cause constipation.
no choice but to let her continue with the supplments. will let her try red meat and liver if possible.

btw, i talked to a dietitian while in hospital about changing her formula to pediasure. her replied was that all formula are similar. no need to change.
regarding the supplement to make her appetite better (e.g., appeton), she said can try and it works for some kids but not all.

Pixie,
I ordered the mini cupcakes from Sweetest Moments. 30pcs in 1 box, costs $28.90.

Kitsune,
I went to do some research, yes it seems taglite is very very slow just like what pixie said... our iphone4 3G speed is 3.5MB but that supplement microsim tagged to is only 0.35MB...

krystle,
C1 is 14.5kg ht 96-98cm, around the same as yours, mine's picky eater too but if we feed her, she will finish 90% of her food. milk wise, she drank little too, range from 180ml to 600ml per day.

Xiao Yun,
Yes, my doc also said just give normal FM is good enough too. So no point to change FM ya?

I let my girl take Appleton Multivitamins + Lysine chewy supplements. She likes it but so far have not seen her appetite improve... Just continue to let her eat loh.

Are there any iron supplements designed for kids? Like chewy type so maybe your girl will be interested to take that?

re: weight and height
B is 15.6kg and 99cm. He only lost 0.1kg from being sick for the whole of last week. This week his appetite returned and he wants to eat all the time. But I control cos I don't want him to overeat since he just recovered. At this stage, I think their weight will remain more or less the same for the next few years even though they will grow in height. So it seems they are losing weight but it's becos they are gaining height. They can't continue to gain weight cos they'll become overweight.

Re: Formula
I just changed him from Friso 3 to Grow. I cheapskate mummy cos he say he want the "giraffe milk" and it's cheaper than Friso 4 so i change lor...hahaha!

luvv
wah!! ur c1 still have 180ml
our max that we can push to x1 is....errr...4 scoops of pediasure...meaning 1 small full cup. thats for 2 portions i.e. 2 scoops per session only...sometimes i sneak in half a spoon or 1 more spoonful, he dont want to finish the 1/2 cup of milk

krystle
ok thanks....i will check it out

krystle
ooooo i had sweetest moments for x's full mth last time, i think they have improved their menu liao looks good...but got delivery charges, a bit bo hua unless i pickup myself from their office
then i think i go buy a small cake since the cc not much kids

Krystle, oic, then maybe no point to get another sim card. But iPad cannot make phone calls, if put my simCard in then cannot answer phone calls right? :p

Xy, poor Carrie. Has she been discharged yet? My friend's daughter has been anaemic since young so she gives a lot of liver, iron rich veg n red meats. I think our tots will prefer food to med. Or maybe buy those gummy supplements if they have iron. Carrie likes sweets right?

krystle,
yup. from the experts, no point changing the FM.
apparently i can't find kid's chewable iron supplements. she has been taking nature's plus multivits too (that consists only 28% of the daily recommended iron consumption).
probably should start her with the Appeton too. didn't know it has got the chewy form.

hmmm....i should experiment with baking and hopefully come out with own baked muffins for them instead?
lazy lazy lazy....

pixie,
ever since she's starts sch, sometimes she drinks 210ml x 3 times a day (this is when she finished her milk everytime)..err too much or too little? i know some tods are drinking 240ml each time. but not sure how many times a day though.

pauline,
thankfully she has discharged on Wednesday, currently recuperating at home. but she still showing tiredness. not sure because of the anemia or the reason viral infection.
as mentioned earlier, she takes chewable multivits but it's not enough to meet the daily needs.
liver , red meats are the best as easiest to be absorbed. i give as much raisins as possible too. next i will give her prune juice, hope she will like it.
problem is - she doesn't like food (proper food to be exact)

krystle,
You saw my post on FB about my gal's weight, then you start to get panic? Kekeke.

I learned that it's important not to label our kid as "picky eater", esp if they have been eating well but just suddenly rejecting food (not I said one, an expert said this in a magazine article). It's just a a phase and they will go through it. Be careful if you label her as picky eater, then you might start to only offer her food that she likes, hoping that she can eat more. If you do that, over times, she might become a "real" picky eater.

Yvonne,
Wah, B is growing up very well! I don't know how tall HR is, around B's height bah.

Pixie,
HR takes at least 3x240ml= 720ml FM a day. Sometimes another bottle if he goes to bed late. Guess the FM helps him to maintain his weight, to a certain extend.

Xiao Yun,
Poor thing. What caused her high fever? You sent her to KKH? Some veg is also high in iron, like bayam, can try that. Think you shouldn't worry too much if she is at the borderline. If she is not to severely anemia, won't affect her health bah.

Pixie,
Yes I just love Sweetest Moments, their full month packages all nice and also their cupcakes too! I also ordered for my boy's 1st birthday last Sep.

Ya loh, with delivery charges not worth it. My hubby went to pick up the cupcakes lah. My girl's pre-nursery prefers cupcakes for birthday celebration coz easier to distribute. They don't encourage those whole cake. If X's CC is ok then just buy a small cake will do. I remember you said not alot of kids there right now?

Kitsune,
Yap, if insert your own sim card into iPad then cannot make phone calls. :p Dilemna hoh. And just also cannot tether ipad to iphone!!! Stupid leh... But jailbreaked iphone can tether with ipad coz you just have to install an app that will turn your iphone to wireless modem.

Kam,
Hahaha, you caught me!
Ok lah, just seeing XY's post reminds me to check with your ladies... Coz wanting to ask but recently supper topic more hotter....

Kam,
probably we subconciously labeled her as picky eater and now she's been a picky for nearly 1 year.

we are also advised to keep offering food to her. over time, she might accept. i admit that i just don't have the patience to let her starve a meal or 2.

yes, she was in KKH. i passed the virus to her.

what's bayam? i only know that spinach, brocoli are high in iron.

krystle
i think only perhaps 4-5kids...plus 2 teachers + the aunty (cook), maybe the smallest cake 0.5kg can liao...everyone eat a little slice...
i would get cake coz x1 likes to sing happy bday song and blow candles...

my dad's bday in dec 2010, we had to re-light the candle 3-4 times and let him blow out even though it was not his bday. he cheap thrill boy lar

kam
wah!! thats alot! to me, at least. sighs, i wish x can drink this much...

yeap agreed with the suddenly rejecting food thingy. x1 goes thru this all the time. if those period he dont want to eat i oso never force. he hungry will come n ask for food one lar. i stopped worrying liao

so.....JB ur iphones lor, then can use tethering to create hotspot to surf on ipad

quick quick go do...jb-ed iphone is so much fun

krystle,
Supper is really out of topic loh. This thread should be discussing about topic like our toddler's weight, etc mah. But then again, also cannot without supper

My girl is super weight one leh, don't compare with her, she is even heavier than HR when he was at her age. She is girl some more. She is at the top percentile, a few months out of the chart
Her nanny just messaged me, telling me she might be able to continue taking care of my girl, I am so happy! She is such a great nanny that we don't want to let go. Without her, XY won't be this healthy and won't be growing so well loh.

kam
xy's nanny has been changing her mind on/off for quite sometime liao hor?

talking about nanny...
did anyone read the article on today straits time "home" section? 1st page

Xiao Yun,
Sorry to hear that your girl has anemia. I had anemia too when i was younger but the condition tapers off when i grew up. The red blood count will dropped badly only when i had heavy menses, other then that, nothing much. Even during my 2 pregnancies, the count did not dropped much too. Don't worry too much.

Kam,
supper not out of topic la, it's the balance to our family lives..hehe..our thread is onz for anything to discuss...*wink*wink*

pixie,
are you talking about the 4 months old SIDS? i read it online...hiaz...my C2 also 4 months old, that also means the mother just went back to work only.

Xiao Yun,
When HR rejected food that few months, he can eat nothing for the entire day, except his milk. We just let him be. But we were firm that not to offer him junk food as substitue. When he is hungry, he came to us. You just have to learn to relax a bit bah. Since they can speak so well now, they won't starve themselves, will surely come to you when she is really hungry.

This is my recent post about my non-picky eater :) http://babyhaore.blogspot.com/2011/01/non-picky-eater.html. Now, he eats everything, esp likes the greens.

Pixie,
Not she changed her mind, but the other mum. That mum of the boy whom XY's nanny is taking care of, said she might want to place her boy at full day cc after her #2 is borned in May, cos he is 4.5 years old already. Her newborn will be taking care by XY's nanny. So now have 1 slot for XY lor. But then her, that mum still hasn't confirmed yet. So we just wait and see loh.

What's the article about nanny? I don't read newspaper leh.

luvv,

thanks for your words as a 'guo4 lai2 ren2'.
we can't stop worrying as it might affect her development especially she's showing signs of lethargicness and complaining of headache.
she's already quite slow in terms of learning compared to her peers, and will the anemia affect her concentration, etc...
haha.. parents just can't stop worry about their kids. :p

grumpus
hows ur #2 doing so far? tell me more leh heeheehee....i kinda lost touch with newborn liao...
u coping ok? since u dont have confinement cept the food
bfding ok?

pixie,
my #2 is doing well. just a little bit concerned abt her weight gain cos i'm on tbf. i know she's not losing weight lah and got lots a pee and poo a day. just hope she's putting on weight well enough. her jaundice was quite high so still monitoring by PD and hv to go back and check next wk. crossing my fingers that the level has dropped. otherwise PD wants to do a full panel blood test.

i guess i'm lucky cos she latches on very well so it make my life very very easy. no bottles, no pumping, no sterilizing. lexie goes off to school for 3hrs every day, plus traveling she's out of my hair for abt 4hrs so i hv some time to myself.
the difficult parts are morning getting lexie ready for school, nap times, and bedtime at night cos lexie still insists i do those and inevitably it will clash with #2 feeding.

i think seasoned by lexie liao cos i'm surviving on 2-3 hr blocks of sleep at night but i still feel quite ok. my sis was saying that time when i had lexie i looked tired and xian all the time but now with 2 kids i'm still so energetic...hahahaa

grumpus
wah good for u!!
x sleep straight throughout so i dun dare to think of all the night feeding n all, kept waking up to feed....

hey x oso insist i put him to sleep leh...clash ah? shucks....i really must plan a proper timetable liao. at most i ask hb to do the feeding when im bz with x. but that means must half pump, half latch

麻烦!矛盾!

Xiao Yun,
Cos he was a very good eater before he turned 2. So we just persisted. Hope your C eating better soon. How's your #2?

Grumpus,
You are doing well! How often your #2 latch? Is your hub around to help?

Pixie,
My experience hor, is that I always have 1 bottle of EBM in the fridge (I was very lazy to pump). So whenever there was a clash with HR sleep time and XY feeding time, my hub or my mum will feed XY the EBM. Sure will clash one.

Grumpus,
Good to hear you are coping so well in your confinement. I totally hate confinement.

Funny thing is that I also felt so much better when having #2, lots of people also said I looked better and not so tired...

Kam,
Good to hear XY's nanny willing to take care. I was abt to ask you this issue too. But will you be worried that XY's nanny is taking care of the newborn, so maybe this means lesser attention will be on XY since she is the bigger kid? Coz newborn sure need lots of attention and XY is still at a tender age.

Luvv,
Ya loh, we still can talk about any other topics here, beside our toddlers lah. Supper is also part and parcel of our lives, it helps to contribute next gen of babies which lead to more talks and discussion ya?

krystle, grumpus
maybe we really seasoned by our #1 liao, can take more hardship now...and now to us, lack of sleep is so normal

Pixie,
Read the article, sad... But think it is a risk for babies to sleep on tummy... However how to control right? Babies will have their own preference of sleeping too..

pixie,
Actually muffins are very easy to make. That's the only thing I can bake and it just takes 10 mins to prepare and pop in a dozen muffins into the oven. 20 mins later and they're ready!

Grumpus,
Good to know everything's well with #2 and Lexie also coping well with school. Is she taking the school bus?

This B so funny...he's been eyeing his friends with envy cos they take the school bus. He keeps telling me he also want to take the school bus cos he's a big "transport lover"...loves taking the bus, train, taxis, etc. But not worth paying $100plus per month when I can take him to school which is just 2 bus-stops away right?

Kam,
big C was good eater previously, hopefully she can be like HR soon.
#2 also down with cough but not as serious as jiejie probably she has got more breastmilk protection than jiejie.

regarding the SIDS, my confinement lady likes to put my #2 on tummy too cos she's easily waken up by slightest sound. however it's only when there are ppl around then put her on tummy. and now my younger one likes to sleep on tummy too. i just let her be as she can flip here and there now.
i wonder how a 4-month old die of SIDS as they should be able to turn their head and able to do 'push up' a little bit when 4 months.

grumpus / pixie,
My gal is a poor sleeper. After she turned 4 months (before that, she slept very well), I always sleep in a block of 2-3 hours. When I thought she has finally gone through teething etc and started to sleep better, don't know why now she sure will wake up one time, difficult to soothe back to sleep. I am so used to the lack of sleep liao.

krystle,
XY is very independent type. She can play on her own very well. New born is quite easy till about 4-5 months? Okay lah, less attention is okay, as long as she takes care of her daily needs well. Our aim is to drag till XY is two years old, so hopefully by then, her immunity is even stronger and won't get all those bugs from cc. She is very strong now, but still worry those bugs at cc are ever stronger.