(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

pixie,
Z's cc oso got comm booklet with his name on it but i never use it before. The teacher didn't make it a habit to use it cos not compulsory. PCF cc really no standard

Phew..R finally slept 15mins ago...he was having a major meltdown (cried non-stop & literally screaming for 15mins) when my hb's frds came over to help carry my old sofa away

yup yup, mcfluffy and pixie, I am still at #1 too. and i think forever #1 too until I can find a job with better work life balance.

mcfluffy, i read ur post on your gal's teacher... haiz.. really not very good huh. i know how you feel coz last yr i put my son at a daily playgroup, the teacher there also shouted at him. and scared him so much that he don't dare to go to school. and when i tried to talk to her, she said if my son cannot stop crying, then just have to stop school for him. and when i told him my son got egg allergy, she just isolate him to sit in a corner by himself and can tell me, that is how he will be treated since there are so many kids, she cannot guarantee she will watch him closely not to go and eat other children's snacks that contain egg. i was really very upset when i knew of it.. and felt guilty that i still kept forcing my son to attend the school when it's actually the teachers who are making him so unhappy and afraid. so it's right that u withdraw her.. =)

Janbb, kam, luca, yup, finally managed to speak to fil about our injuries tonight n hinted to him about our 'problems' after discharge but I am not keen to stay at their place n dun think they will be keen to stay with us but dun know they will agree to come over in the day to help.

luca, I also dun know why. maybe they have their hands too full with Raeanne being sick or because they think children should not go to hosp or maybe they will only come if we drive them but now we got no car, how to ferry them? :p I miss my gals so much.

itok, thanks, I am so sian that my ils dun want to bring my kids to see us too. Like so unfeeling but cannot dwell on it liao so I will feel worse so I must concentrate on getting well so that can see them soon.

yvonne,
Yes, after rashes broke out, fever should be gone already. Take care.

mcfluffy,
No lah, I guess all his classmates about the same. But I haven't heard him count leh. Gonna "test" him. Elmo's Amanda also can do advanced jigsaw puzzles. We are at CCK. HR is with one of the montessori cc.

Elmo,
I second the rest, if A speaks so well with her classmates, shouldn't be anti-social? Pixie's suggestion is good, should ask her teachers/principle put in more effort to help her gain confidence.

kitsune,
Hug hugzz. You have your hub with you, so it's not too bad lah. Take it as a break from the girls? And they are well taken care of by the grandparents, don't worry. Just focus in getting better first. The rest all can be sorted out.

kam, yup my hubby has follow appt for his hand tom so after that maybe can try to discharge if the brace is ready n fits well. Actually, my hubby misses Raeanne so much while I missed Mei Mei cos at least I could talk to Raeanne on the phone last night n tonight but i can't talk to Mei Mei. :p

Pauline,
ask them to take cab or offer to pay the cab fare for them to bring your kids to see u?? Hint them u miss the gals ;) Feel so torturing for u not to get to see own kids esp one is unwell. Dun think so much & get well soon.

I will be on nite shift these few day too. Hubby overseas again & i dunno why i can't sleep early whenever he is not around.

Since you mummies so interested in the monthly report, I copy and paste it here. His is a montessori so the report was focus on the montessori lessons.

Month: December 2010
What I have done in school:

1. Practical Life:
- Washing & drying hands/ use of the toilet
- Pouring water fr 1 jug into another
- Free walking in a line
- Silence game – Whispering names
Comments:
HR is familiar in using the toilet. He can walk in a line. He knows how to use his soft voice and whisper the names of his friends.

2. Sensorial:
- Knobbed Cylinders Ex.2
- Broad Stairs
- Secondary Colours
- Long Rods
- Plane figures - Presentation Tray 1
Comments:
He is very eager in doing the Knobbed Cylinders ex.2. He is familiar with the secondary colours. He is very curios with the long rods.

3. Math:
Number Games 11-20
Counting beads 11-90
Comments:
He can count and recognize numerals 11-20. He can count 10-90 also using the counting beads.

4. Language:
Tracing Letters Set 3 – e, h, r, m
Comments:
He shows enthusiasm in writing. He can grip the pencil properly.

5. Cultural:
Clock – Teaching the hour & half hour
Months of the year
Art & Craft – Sponge & Finger Painting
Comments:
He is able to say the months of the year after his teacher. He likes to do art & craft.

General comments:
HR is adjusting well with his Nursery class 2. He can easily grasp information and has a good concentration towards Montessori work. He has well-focus in doing puzzles. He uses words and makes sentences in communicating with his friends and teachers. Well done!

And end with 2 photos taken during his montessori lesson.

Pretty good hor. Got newsletter (first time receiving) too :)

JanBB,
Me too! Supposed to go to bed an hour ago already cos both kids are asleep and I am having bad headache this evening. But the more I want to sleep, the more I can't sleep. Hub still at work. Think I need to force myself to shut down the PC.

Universal studios vs Hollywood after-hours
Would like to get some feedback on these 2. Will be gg to rws end of this month so donno which one is better. Heard the Hollywood after-hours is value for money since our kids can't take most of e rides in universal studios - is that true?

Kam,
Very precise report from HR cc. Their activities seem to be very interesting too ;)

Btw, what is counting beads? Those abacus? HR's concentration muz be very good to able to count up to 90. Think u can really "fang xin" as he is in gd hands @ the cc ;)

My boy can read & recognise 0-100 but he can lost count easily if the item is more than 15. Sometimes, i saw him re-count or missed out the item. The only method i taught him is using "crossing out" the item that he has counted. Wonder any other better method can be used to improve counting skills??

itok,

check out my blog. We hv visited that hollywood after-hours few mths back. If no intention to take rides then juz go for this. Only $5!! Heehee, Kam also shared this gd lobang here too.

Btw, i came across a mystery mummy with #3 in her blog ;) Guess Guess Guess ;)

Janbb,

Same here. My son can recognize 0-100 but will lose count if more than 15 then gotta recount. I also used crossing out method coz I donno of other methods!

Pauline, just read about your accident, so scary! Rst well n take caree ok! I wonder whether ur hub drove very fast on the slippery road?

Mcfluffy, me still #1 la.

Wah, another mystery mummy'!!!! Make me so gian . Who is firm to stop at one ah?

Gathering: can't confirm cuz will be back to hometown and had gatherings too on 12 n 13. But may gatecrash if I got time n can make it.

Hello, mummies!
MIA today coz super busy at work... Haiz... work is piling up but I totally have no mood. Only has mood to accompany my girl to school, this Sat's birthday celebration, RWS stay and next week's actual birthday celebration and Polliwogs after that.

Just now went for dinner with girlfriends.

Re: Comm book
Issyen also has one too. 1st page is all the important info like parents' contact number etc, kid's food allergy etc... So far also blank inside. I don't know what to write.

Kam,
HR is sooo clever, up to 90??? Issyen can only count up to 20. :p Hope the school can help to train her up to catch up on academics. Really leh, taken care by ILs or parents is a disadvantage of kids' learning... Mainly on watch TV or go playground play... Now Issyen can sing all those CNY songs (coz MIL got VCDs...
)... Haiz....

Kitsune,
Good to hear that you finally break the news to your ILs.. No choice coz both you and hubby are so badly hurt, cannot totally rely on maid alone too so they have to help bah...

Maybe they are too shock, coz more or less distrupted their CNY plans bah...

But you just concentrate on recovering ok? Yes, definitely will miss your girls right? But maybe better to keep them away from hospital lah. Old people (like my mum) also do not like to bring young children to hospital. My mum only allowed the kids to go maternity ward (she said ok coz got newborns).. but not the other wards (she said got virus flying around)...

Itok,
Good luck in your job hunting!

I have been to hollywood after-hours only and that time only $2. So quite ok lah, worth that $2. This weekend will go again for the after-hours to catch the fireworks, also to bring my bro's family and mum (coz they never went USS before). But I saw on RWS website that there is no fireworks on 22, 29 Jan... Just to let you know...

Janbb,
Mystery mummy with #3... Is her nick starts with B?

Janbb, I dun think it's the $ coz they do take taxi on their own to go gai gai but maybe like Krystle said, wary or pantang of hospitals. but I think got exceptions also lor, what if me n hubby were seriously injured, u dun even want to bring them to see us meh? not outsiders leh, we r their parents after all. my hubby asked about RA a few times. Guess what my mil said, she asked my hubby why he never go n visit my gal. So obviously the thought that she can bring her over never even crossed her mind lor. :p

kam, HR so smart. Raeanne until now count 1-20, will always skip 16. :p anyway, ILs never let her attend school n just now FIL Tom also dun want her to go. I think whole week no need to go Liao, next mon will have problem adjusting her to school again. :p

Thanks for sharing the Hollywood after-hours visits. How about anyone who have been to universal studios in e daytime? Was it fun for your tots and are there any toddler friendly rides?

Morning all! Yeah, Thursday already, just one more day to weekend

JanBB,
I read the mummy blog also. Guess she is not ready to "announce" it here. And she has not been active in here.

Those counting beads etc are all montessori materials. I have never seen how it works though. Yes, his current cc is pretty good, and most important thing is he seems to be very happy there and seldom cried and refused to go.

Wow, J can read and recognised 0-100, that's very good, you have done a great job! I have never done counting with him at home, so don't have a method to suggest.

krystle,
it's true. No matter what, kids bound to learn more at cc/kindy than at home. No doubt about it. Except for some very capable SAHMs who can take care of the kids and still have energy to do all those learning stuff. Watching TV is a big issue.

Itok,
I have the answer for you about the universal studio in my blog - http://babyhaore.blogspot.com/2010/10/family-day-at-universal-studio.html. Yes, not many rides there can get on, but it's a experience. Steph is another mum here who has brought the kids to USS. The after-dark is good value for money, though you don't get to see much of the USS, just to have a feel of it.

kitsune
*big hug* mayb ur inlaws still dun understand the "seriousness" of ur injury, dats y didnt bring ur gers to visit u. dun tink too much, hope u be well fast.

Janbb, Kam,
cant sleep probably not used to sleeping alone? i slept with the boys for like 3 yrs, if now i have to sleep with hb on the same bed, i might feel "weird" too. :p

did any1 booked for the spa deal yest?

today's deal is malacca trip. nvr been there b4, anything nice, esp shopping?

Luca,
Thanks for the reminder! I just booked it (the spa deal), still valid for another 15 hours or so.

I also sleep together with my kids. But my hub will be sleeping in the same room also, either on the floor mattress, or if HR sleeps on the floor mattress, then he shares the queen size bed with me and XY.

hey luca, kam,
thanks for the spa link & reminder!
i am tempted on the 2nights cruise to malacca/KL on balcony cabin...hmm

can i join in e gathering?

Re: Gathering/playdate at west side (pixie's hse)
Date: 5th or 6th? or 12th or 13th?
time: early morning? eg 9 or 9.30
We can keep the playdate short, about 1 to 2hrs, after that, we can go for our own lunch(activity)/visiting relatives)

1. steph (12th, 10am)
2. luca (5th)
3. Kam (12th, 10 am)
4. mcfluffy (12th, morning 9, 10am.. C wakes up extremely early)
5. elmo78 (12th morning anytime)
6. lynn
TBC:
5. janbb (12th, 10am)

SY: I will write at least once per wk in Ray"s comm book.. cos i need to kw how he is doing in sch and wat he does, learn or eat etc.. Cos he is takin sch bus so i dont get to see his teacher, althot sometimes she will call my hp once per wk to update..

Kam: well done for HR!

Pauline: Maybe ur inlaw dont wanna ur girls to see u in pain? Hav a speedy recovery, tak gd care!

Pixie: can still order e sambucol? collect fr u at bedok? i can collect on behalf of Mom2nat if she wanna order too.. ur boy e only 1 in e class?

Re: Gathering/playdate at WEST side (pixie's hse)
Date: 5th or 6th? or 12th or 13th?
time: early morning? eg 9 or 9.30
We can keep the playdate short, about 1 to 2hrs, after that, we can go for our own lunch(activity)/visiting relatives)

1. steph (12th, 10am)
2. luca (5th)
3. Kam (12th, 10 am)
4. mcfluffy (12th, morning 9, 10am.. C wakes up extremely early)
5. elmo78 (12th morning anytime)
6. lynn
TBC:
5. janbb (12th, 10am)

lynn...state your date + time preference bah!

morning mummies !

Pixie
I've transferred $$ to your sis ytday le.

Anyone bot the spa yesterday ? I did wor.

i been to adeva spa, its quite posh i think....the massage is good....but i have package at ultimate wellness at shaw liao so i didnt sign up
i went for their facial for $30 (trial). although trial, they didnt scrimp/save on the facial that much as compare to the others....but still got scrimp/save lah...
not too bad, should try!

Lynn,

Chaye,
I just bought this morning
When are you planning to go?

Pixie,
Looks like 12th is the preferred date. Is it okay with you? We can then set on 12th Feb? Would you all still be very busy visiting relatives on that weekend cos it's 初十 already.

kam
most likely I will go in end Mar during my wedding anniversary kekekeke but must chk my menses period too ?

Thanks Mummies for the advices!

Actually I feel that Amanda's cc is quite good. They would update us regularlyby comm book, weekly emails w photos and monthly updates on her progress. At least the teachers will provide us with feedback whenever we drop or pick her up from school.

During the feedback, the principal and English teacher actually want her to pick up the necessary skills by Jun 11 as they feels that there is some gaps between her and her peers. But I feel that cannot compare lor cos she is the youngest in the class (born 29 Dec 07) and she only started school in Sep 10. Thus a bit stressful for her. Fortunately she didnt say she does not want to attend school.

Overall, the environment is good! All the teachers dote on her as she is one of the youngest in school and so small built. Hope they will give her more time to build on her skills. I usually bo chap in teaching her at home cos I believe to let her learn at her own pace. Now I make it a point to do writing with her at night. Now me Kiasu mummy no.1!

Hi mcfluffy,
Sure will go for the trial at Funan ctr then. Hope Amanda will enjoy the lesson!

Kitsune,
Hope u are feeling better now! What a scary accident! Fortunately ur 2 girls are not in the car.

Kam,
HR is so good with his puzzle. I love the videos u posted in FB of him doing the puzzles. He is so engrossed in getting it done. Well done HR!

Re: Gathering/playdate at WEST side (pixie's hse)
Date: 12th Jan
time: 10am
We can keep the playdate short, about 1 to 2hrs, after that, we can go for our own lunch/activity/visiting relatives)

1. steph
3. Kam
4. mcfluffy
5. elmo78
6. lynn
TBC:
janbb (12th, 10am)

lynn, luca, can you make it for 12th?

ok today about cc...still huh

today i called up the principal to check on X's progress (as a whole) rather than today's progress. today he cry (no tears though) and say dont want to go to new school as usual. wake up 1st thing say dun want to go to new school liao.
in the end, need to bring a bottle of bubble soap to school to entice him. yesterday's ruse was the playgroun *sighs*

me and my hb thinks that x is not being engaged during the first 2-3hours of cc, thats why maybe he feels bored and dont like school...after today's talk with principal, im more relieved liao. coz principal said, apart from the core curriculum that the cc provides, teacher N gives extra 1-1 sessions to X (especially during the times X is alone in the cc). they include drawing, painting, body + music movements, outdoor walks, playground visits, water play etc etc

i just want x to be engaged instead of playing the toys every morning...sooner or later he will be sianz one...i know my rascal too well liao....

and yesterday, had a talk with hb about x's sleep time. we put him to sleep usually at 8.30, find that he cannot fall asleep that early nowadays. seems like he is really growing up and need lesser sleep. so today onwards we will put him to sleep at 9am instead. *there goes my early freedom*

and yesterday, x insisted dont want diapers. he had some poo prob yest (poo-ed twice within an hr and the 2nd time was all watery) so we insisted on diapers but tonight if he insist we will not let him wear diapers but wake him up for pee in the middle of the night. hope its successful!

Wow, I look at HR's cc report and again, I'm impressed by the cc. very systemic, lotsa formative assessment which is very good for the parent. And so many different activities. I think we all want a cc like that too.. Kam, can share how much you pay or not? Expensive?

PCF Sparkletots fees quite low.. so we get peanuts for service also isit? 一分钱一分货?Haha..

elmo78, so you going for the trial on 15th jan? you called already? We can meet there then..
Are you in FB? What's your name? I added many mummies in FB but only know a few by their real name. keke.

tongtong, I should be stopped in #1 liao. Already 3 years age gap.. my hubby don't want #2. He says 1 is enough!!! Heh.. But I think 1 only very lonely. Like now... everyday my gal so lonely. Sometimes I reach home, she don't even give me a chance to sit down. Must play with her immediately kind. Can see how desperate she is for company. ;) But boh pian... hubby say NO.

Luca/Chaye,
We may go when we come back from CNY holiday. We took the Monday off. So can send the kids to cc/nanny on Monday to go paktor! Haven't paktor for a long long long time liao.

elmo,
Oh, that explains. Cos A is the youngest (Dec baby) so it's understandable she is a bit slower than her peers. Must be careful not to give her too much pressure, sooner or later she will catch up. Learning should be fun. If the kids find that learning is fun, they would love learning and continue learning for the entire life. You can make the "studying" fun also, like let her choose what activities she wants to do (you let her choose between writing a Dora workbook or a Mickeymouse workbook, for example). Let her take the lead, give her more chance to make the decision, she might like it more.

A is also very good in puzzle mah. HR didn't do it often now, that day was an odd day that he suddenly wanted to play puzzles.

pixie,
That's very good leh, 1:1 attention! But think X may like children accompany more than teacher accompany that's why he refuses to go to school.

mcfluffy,
Not too ex. $800 before subdidy, so mid-range bah. So about the same price as most private cc?

One kid is really lonely leh. You rape him lah

kam
wah Montessori is so good ! I wonder my YWCA cc izit so detail but I doubt so la :p HOw much do you pay for montessori every mth ? 700-800 after subsidy ?

kam
true true
thats what i tell the principal too. x likes to mingle with kids...too friendly liao
on the way to cc today, he oredi said hello + goodbye to 2 different "uncles"....haiyoh....so malu

mummies, i have a new topic!!

i have moved in to my new place for more than a mth, i used to get the sewage odour from the toilets and kitchen area. the contractor told me is coz they havent put in pipes n all so the smell wafts up....OK...i accept that

1 or 2 weeks later, the sewage smell NO MORE inside the 2 toilets BUT i still have the very very strong sewage smell emitting from the kitchen sink, and especially from the washing machine drainage area...

what can i do to eliminate that? i dont have spoilt pipes since every pipe in my place is NEW...

suggestions please? apart from the usual baking soda, hot water, bleach, vinegar, charcoal, salt, mr muscle etc

thanks....

chaye
nolah, its within my house mah, should be some still-water problem lurking in the existing pipes?

anyway, its old estate. whenever i walk at the ground floor, i can smell the same sewage odour at some area. maybe i should call to check...hmmmm

anymore ideas?

chaye,
$800 before subsidy. I have no subsidy, remember?

pixie,
No idea from me. But if your new house is just renovated, then the problem may not be at your home? Is it only you who can smell it or your hub said the same too?

You should just call and complain and they will do something one.

You know hor my unit outside is very dark not because no light but it's because the wall and ceiling are stain with soot due to those buring of incense by previous previous owner.

I endured for a year liao and finally call and ask when will they do painting for the whole block, they told me got to wait another 2 yrs leh so I told them about my problem. They came and access and painting was done the next day within 2 hours ! DONE ! Now I got a clean and bright corridor !

Just try calling and ask no harm de

huh i would think that it seems like my house issue leh....

anyway i called up town council, they say they will call plumber to check the pipes on the ground floor (since having the same sewage smell). if fixed liao i still have the same odour at my unit, then its my prob liao

fair lah

but for them to fix the pipes (if they really find a prob), i think takes few mths *faint*....they fixed the facade at my masterbedroom area, it took them 2.5mths leh