(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

i find lady bosses are usually more workaholic especially those without kids. they are not obliging and its hard to negotiate with them. my hb's female boss kids are quite grown up already, she often works late and goes back to work on weekends too, siao 1, like life revolves only work. so she expects her staff to do the same, my hb hates her to the core, always complain must find new job, but yet no action yet. NATO!

im working 5 days week, can leave on d dot too, so im not complaining. but if can WFH, largi best! ;p

kam, that's good. today is Raeanne's turn to have fever. 38+ deg n she is very grouchy even after taking med. she hates to be sponged though hubby tried to do it in the morning. :p Mil supposed to bring her home from cc today cos both hubby n I r busy today. so hubby going to bring her to mil house cos dun want the two kids to cross infect.

Oic, ok if both also need to do ot, might as well get the higher pay one. I never knew architects got to work so hard, maybe that's why they need to study 6 years of uni for our local u.

luca
my ex boss is also lady but shes very obliging coz she got 2 kids (but teenager years kind). at least she is understanding lo
my current boss is my good fren and she is TTC....honestly i think she dont understand totally what entails a FTWM but she is obliging too bah....

kam, kitsune
hope your kiddo get well soon!

pixie,
good for u, maybe cos they been through before. its more of those without kids.

hope all d kiddos will be free of virus as new year is coming. my boy is in d midst of recovering from his running nose.

Wishing everyone Happy New Year in advance!
So fast all our kids are turning 3 next month...

pixie,
Thanks. HR already no more fever since we woke up at 830am(!!). He is just as usual, except not keen in milk.

So nice to have this extra day to spend some nice time with him. Cooking him lunch, then later can hug him and take nap together :)

kitsune,
We don't give med, as usual. Cannot let him see the med, cos he very very keen in taking med, once he sees it, he wants it!

mom2nat
i very gian to go isetan! the nearest one is at PP....thinking of going to PP during lunch for a look but take cab there and back, chor leh...and if i dont buy anything...super boliao rite!

update us on the sale hor!

kam
ooooooooo i love that feeling too. i woke up this morning to find x sleeping ontop of my chest hurhur

mom2nat, thought isetan private sale was yesterday, u didn't go then? I am too tired to shop, but made appt to go facial at 5pm cos got many pimples recently.

kam, yup, I know. u n Tongtong not keen to give med to kids. believe in natural way to overcome virus. My hubby n i r more 'practical'. between giving med n knowing fever will definitely be controlled for the next 3-4 hours or keep monitoring n sponging n hope fever comes down. We chose the former lor cos we dun like to see RA miserable n grouchy from fever n we dun like to take chances n add unnecessary stress to our lives. :p but of course everyone is entitled to their own ways.

Hello, mummies!

Today is my last work day of 2010! But unfortuntately got issues and need to do some urgent follow-up and reporting to management. Sianz... Thought I can relax abit at home today.

Pixie,
There is no 'free' lunch for tier#2 in my case. I got night calls occassionally on weeknights. But so far, don't have to work for weekends lah coz system shut down also cannot work.

Kam,
I also think your hubby's job so tedious. Wish he could have sticked to the old one but one will never know how is the new job like until you try. Yes, got to agree those female boss w/o kids (married or single) will definitely never understand our situation. Some more your hubby is guy leh. The boss's mentality is for guy will be career first (family is taken care by the wife liao)... so she won't be so sympathetic to your hubby and let him go home early to be with kids. This also applies to all our husbands' situation bah. As much as we would love them to spend quality time with the kids, they very hard to get away from work on time.

Kitsune,
Hope RaeAnne's fever is better now. I also same as you, don't want to risk and face the stress of fever. My coll's boy (1 week older than my boy) was hospitalised for 10 days due to fever viral infection and rotavirus... Poor boy...

Mom2Nat,
Happy shopping! I can only shop tomorrow. Need to get swimsuits for my kids. Any recommendations for cheaper swimsuits for 3 yr and 1.5 yrs? My budget is around $20 to $30/pcs... Prefer those full suit type. TIA.

krystle
i oso got night calls mah. i considered "lucky" liao, only 1 or 2 calls a week...my boss + my team mates got almost daily night calls, some till 1am or so kind
and i have to do installation at odd hours due to time difference (i support all the weird weird countries)....no time off given one wor

abt swimsuits
i always get them from those wholesale shops....sell rejected USA clothes kind?
shop-in oso got sell cheap
else, kiddy palace lo

im so happy today!!
managed to get groceries on offer, especially baby detergent n softener...

and....since yesterday, x has been kissing my tummy goodbye every morning. he insisted must do that before going off with hb to mil place

so sweet of X...he already know how to sayang meimei liao!

Any recommendation for nice restaurant & good food at Dempsey Hill?

Pixie,
You mentioned the wholesale shops... not sure where and which type leh.

Luca,
Checked out Tampines Giant, above my budget (at least $30+) and not very nice....

steph
dempsey...issit got tawadang? i think have. their pork knucles is VERY GOOD
or maybe u tried before liao oppss u more foodie hunter than me

krystle
hmmmmmmmm, if i ever pass by these kind of shops i will take pic n show u
those shops everywhere leh, selling lots of sports apparel, kids clothes, ladies tank tops...all the basic wear.
hey bedok central got 1!!
its errr...at NTUC, go towards the direction of post office...along the whole stretch of shops got 1 of this "wholesale rejected" shop
but dunno that branch got sell kids swimwear or not lah, so u can try ur luck

Steph,
I heard brunch at Jones Grocery is quite nice (although have not tried).
I tried the ranch home before, it was ok lah, not too fantastic, only love there coz got Ben and Jerry's ice-cream.
This Sat, I am going to Barracks for brunch with friends. Read the reviews like not bad too.

Pixie,
OK ok, Bedok Central one I am not sure coz always lost there. :p But got some slight ideas lah... Maybe will check it out next time I go but really I hard go there. :p

BTW, there is a Jap restaurant opened next to Bedok Library. Don't try that. Not that nice.

pixie,
yes yes there is Tawadang Microbrewery at Dempsey but is a dinner treat so will let host decide. but hey i will keep that in mind when i next visit!

krystle, oh dear, rotavirus? your colleague never bring him for vaccination?
I got extra swim suits for my gals during bhg sale but they r from the wagon n odd sizes left. they were cheap though only about $10 each but they were sesame street designs.

krystle,
ya their designs abit not so nice. i bought mine around $27-28 ba.

any of ur kids wearing cros? i thought of buying for my kids online, but not sure the sizes leh, can enlighten me?

krystle,
I tried Barracks for dinner 3yrs ago & food was generally nice, i love their braised veal cheeks & corn-fed wagyu rib eye beef! yummy...
oh do let me know your reviews aft u visit Barracks for brunch ok? tks!

Don't try The Prime Society cos the steak was disappointing & ex too! I still remember my steak was served cold, not even close to lukewarm!

itok,
yes correct, i saw its in metric n inches, duno how to calculate leh. my kids wear slippers, 27-28, but its those fake crocs. ;p

luca,
i get back to u tonight when im home- but i thought, u can also measure ur kids' longest toe to the heels to see how many inches then that will be the size?

yes, correct, supposed to measure last 9, but forgotten. thought of securing the order fast, afraid dat the spree is gona close soon.

anyway thank you for ur kind help. ;)

krystle
i tried that jap shop u mentioned about. i agree, not nice. the price is foodcourt prices though. just free flow green tea
amk central oso got 1 branch leh

Kitsune,
Ya loh, my coll is from CHina and she said never heard about this virus. And for the 1st 5mths, she and her boy were in China so not aware loh.

But Rotavirus vaccine is not compulsory so some may not take too.

My friend said OG got 20% storewide so planning to go down to check it out tomorrow...
Isetan got sale ah... but sure very crowded leh..

krystle, oic, yes rotavirus vaccine probably not common there. at first I also debated whether to give since I am breastfeeding n control their diet quite strictly. but in the end decided to give cos if they have diarrhea, at least I am assured that it's nothing serious.

Pixie, yup I gave rota to both gals too. But I'm debating whether to give hep A jab to Raelynn. I gave to RaeAnne but like not very necessary leh cos she hardly eats seafood.

Sigh, RaeAnne's fever spiked up in the afternoon and evening. Brought her home and gave ibufen. She keeps insisting to take out her clothes cos she said she's very hot. Poor thing, keep explaining to her that it's the fever that makes her hot, not the clothes but she doesn't understand. :p

Happy New Year to all!

Kitsune,
HR fever came back during his nap yesterday (he was so obedient to take a nap as I told him he was a bit sick so need to sleep to get well sooner). He was all very active and the fever didn't bother him at all. This morning temp went down to below 37.5 but a bit warm to touch. So I brought him office with me. Since it's half day and we are going to have a party later :)

Kam, raeanne's fever is still at 37.8 too despite taking panadol syrup two days ago. :p she is also having a eunny nose n we dun have med left so hubby wants to bring her to see dr cos tom PH, clinics won't be open.

So good, your company allows u to bring Hao Re to work. oh, think he will enjoy the party.

Happy new year to all mummies!

Happy New Year 2011 !

Rotavirus... I didnt give my boy leh. How serious can it get if infected ?

Kam
wah your office so good have party !

Happy New Year to everyone!

Kam,
Nice that you can bring HR to work.
I can only bring my kids to work once in a year when my coy has an event for the employees' kids.

Chaye,
I also never realised Rotavirus can be that serious. I think it causes high fever, tummyaches. According to my coll, the doc told her need 3 to 7 days to get well but her son stayed in hospital for 10 days (also because her son has hernia condition so all crying made the hernia condition worse). She said her son could not eat nothing for days and have to be on drip.

Today I am on leave and the start of my long weekend! Going shopping again at OG.. Gosh already 10am and I am still at home!

what are your plans for later, mummies? since its half day or a no work day for everyone (except SAHMs)
after lunch + nap, i most prob bring X to JP, buy fm (got discount leh!), and buy a tier milk dispenser. prob see got any bigger bolster for him or not, since his is too small for his size

kitsune,
That's why. It's like no point feeding the fever med, isn't it :) Hope RA gets well soon anyway.

Chaye,
Only today leh, cos half day mah.

Rotavirus can be very serious!

krystle,
Happy shopping!!

im going buffet lunch at Sakura Buffet restaurant to celebrate my 7th wedding anniversary.
then to my sis place with d kids for countdown.

wow luca, happy anni

sigh...me no half day, only early release at 3pm...i will go to JP to buy some party stuff for Sunday for my boys birthday celebration!

steph
oh really? i tot she will check about why CP rejected her batch#3 orders? later i call her lo...

later i also going JP!!!!!! see u there?? heeheee
i'll be there ard....hmmm 3+

Kam no lor, cos without fever med, temp was 38.5 or more n she was super grouchy. last night after ibufen at 11pm, her temp remained at 36.8 deg (i last measured at 230am). then this morning at 630am then it went up to 37.8 cos ibufen effect wore off Liao. but at least she got a good night's sleep never wake up at all so though the temp was 37.8, she was her usual self this morning.

Pixie
Aiya, dun go shopping unless you got something to buy! Or else go liao, sure spend $$!! I tot nothing to buy, end up oso spend quite a bit. I walked from 1-9pm.

Kitsune
I didn't wan to go Isetan private sale, cos long queue and I nothing to buy. I went yest to exchange an item I bot wrongly. So waste time hor. Robinsons oso 20% off. Maybe places sale, but the crowd oso a lot ah!

Krystle
Full suits oso got thin or thick material. Tat time I bot the thinner one from Cerisi, on sale, I think $20 or so. But the thicker ones from dunno wat brand, is more exp lor, like $50+. Since now dept stores have 20% off, can go take a look.