(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Ok took the list to take a look.

To bring to cc daily.
1. Water bottle
2. Bath towel
3. A set of clothing to change after bath
4. Comb, toothbrush & mug (will teach them proper way to brush teeth after meals)
5. A cotton bedsheet (120x90) for his mattress. To change weekly.
6. Plastic bag for soiled clothes

chaye,
yup Z still on half day, maybe after CNY (Feb), we will gradually try full day. No hurry since my ILs not working. Afternoon activity starts from 4 to 5pm, is either music & movement or storytime, no proper lesson (worksheets) kind so teacher said no problem if i bring him home woh. Outdoor activity or art & craft are usually done in the AM.

And <font color="0000ff">HAPPY BIRTHDAY</font> to Tate!

chaye,
Z is 07Jan2008...i still remember i was chatting with you &amp; QQ the night before i gave birth to Z cos my EDD was 23rd Jan...haha...time flies.

Oh pixie,
suddenly i remb AhCapp &amp; Hammies08...they know #2 gender buay?

Thks Auntie Pixie !

Ya Steph ! There were only 3 of us chatting here then ! I rem that. Haha. Z is Jan bb shd not hv worksheets at cc yet. Tate just turned 3 but forced to be age 4 when hit 2011.

steph
hurhur...u very kaypoh leh

but hor, i oredi forgot how "big" was i when i was having X1....jialatz hor? i think this one is a lil bit bigger bah? since X2's weight is hefty

Chaye,
Ya loh, year-end kids are like that. Being 'forced' to grow older by 1 yr.
Happy Birthday to Tate!

Pixie,
Ya loh, show us your sexy tummy! Hahahaha. My #2 is heavier so tummy also bigger. :p After 15 mths of delivery, my tummy is still there... Sianz... I don't even dare to find out what is my current weight now.

i dont have relevant pics now to show you all but OTT a bit; here's how x's cc looks like....its just a portion. still got music room and another dunno what room...

4939311.jpg

4939312.jpg

Pixie,
Still have leh, like 4,5 mths' preggy size...

Sometimes when I took photos, my tummy quite obvious.
Sad leh.
My hubby scolded me everyday complained fat and yet did no exercise. :p But I very lazy and no mood to go gym anymore...

steph
special request i will accede, tonight if got energy i will take pic, post here tmr. i dun want post in fb lar, fb is so "OPEN"
i have lots of housework to clear tonite shucks....

pixie,
The cc looks quite okay leh. Best of all, all new toys woh!

And my flexi working, most likely no go :-(

But good news is XY's nanny should be able to take care of her till she is 2yo. So we will just stay put like now. I will try harder to come to work earlier so can go home earlier.

kam
did you receive a reply from your HR dept? what did they said that its no go ah?

yes, even the storybooks are brand new...
in the infantcare section, cots, rockers etc all brand new

Pixie,
Ya loh, but to my hubby, giving 2 kids is no excuse leh. He insisted I have to exercise.

Oh, my request to work from home is REJECTED by boss!!! Sianz, so suay another coll asked before me and got approved!!! Coz that coll's baby only 6 mths old, and her ILs and parents cannot take care. She tried infant care but baby got sick quite frequently so withdrawn liao. Now got a new maid so she said need to work from home and monitor maid to take care of baby. No choice lah, she got better reasons than me....

But I told boss to let me fully work from home for Jan coz my girl starting new school and he said ok. Then after that, only need to go office once a week can liao. Not too bad lah, hoh?

kam
those u passed me hor, i got time then i watch lar but most of my free time, i laze ard than watching them....now hooked onto new KOR drama, so my mind is all about my 韩国偶像s

krystle
to me, your request is as good as APPROVED!!
to go to office only once a week is something that many many mothers would want leh....u super LUCKY!!

i will take 1 day of maternity leave and wfh 1 day per week after i come back from maternity leave....if after the whole 10weeks of such arrangement and no hiccups in work, i will tok to my boss and request this as perm arrangement lo

meaning wfh 2x a week

krystle,
I second Pixie, that's already as good as approved! Going to office once a week is great! Your coy is hiring or not ah? But I can't speak Jap :)

pixie,
HR said there is no written policy for this (I was like duh, of course there was no policy that's why I have to ask HR mah). And she said they have checked through records and so far no one is doing it. My last chance is to ask my direct boss when I do my appraisal review next month, but I have to think of very valid reasons.

kam
your HR super bo liao...of course no one doing it thats why im asking, can YOU allow or not mah....
kaoz...ask A, answer B leh!!!

valid reasons?
you tell your direct boss that you are spending less than 2 hours a day with your kids, making work life (during weekdays) very unbalanced....
dont count kiddos sleeping time lah that is

Pixie,
Oh, it is? As good as APPROVED?
You are not the 1st person to tell me that. :p
I told my friends and they all jumped and said I am very lucky liao. Just that if approved officially, I can even claim $150 from coy leh. That is good enough to pay for the daily broadband and tel costs due to WFH leh. So now got to fork out from own pocket.

Tell myself better than nothing... Anyway, I just transferred to this dept this year, cannot demand too much bah....

So you only planning to take, 2.5 mths of maternity leave first? So fast going back to work ah... Ya quite shiok right to just go office for 3x a week. Hope your boss is ok but should be alright. Most bosses prefer such arrangements rather than taking the full 4 mths.

pixie,
Talking about work life balance...... it's all talk and talk and talk one lah. They never do anything to make it happen. And to think of I work in Stat Board leh, kinda gov job mah. Gov also don't have policies to encourage work life balance. Then on the other hand keep asking people to give birth. Feel like they just want the babies to make up to their targeted numbers, doesn't really care how we take care of them. Okay, I am not so qualified to say this since my kids are not part of the statistics, but I am just disappointed loh.

I doubt if my boss would care how many hours I can spend with my kids. Who would he?

krystle
3.5mths of maternity leave, balance 10 days spread over next 10 weeks, every fri off, monday wfh...meaning i stay at home from fri - mon lah

my boss is not all right leh. my close colleague say prove her by performing well within the 10weeks period lor

you 1 day go back office only...if me, i sure die happy

Kam,
My coy is hiring but the other depts are not allowed to work from home coz they have to support local site's operations. For my dept, we deal with overseas counterpart so allowed to do so. Even said so, it is not so 'open' or 'official' you can work from home. My boss also asked me to keep low. Hahaha. Are you interested? But Tampines leh, and mostly are hiring manufacturing or software-related jobs... Not your forte right?

Ya loh, what is the purpose of HR? Of course to deal with such requests lah. Employ them for what. Nobody does, does not mean cannot right? Challenge them! But in the end, HR may say if your boss is ok then fine. I think talk to boss more effective.

Valid reasons:
1. Travelling to/fro home, office, CC to fetch kids is time consuming.
2. You have no external family in Singapore who can help you to take care so need the flexibility.
3. Hubby is very busy and cannot help you to take care even after work hours.

I can think of 3 only.

kam
i agree totally
all talk only. my company super pro work life balance, in our UK office, everyone is being encouraged to wfh...and my angmoh colleagues can wfh here coz its their "culture". but for the local singaporeans, they have to be stuck at their desk...you will be suay if you have local boss, lagi cannot wfh.
so...why double standard? KNS one lor

govt say say but in the end, even if company impose this WLB, must see if HR got impose or not. if HR impose, still must see if your direct boss got impose or not

i written to ST forum about this liao leh, but who is listening to us wor

krystle,

ur company hiring anot! so good to be able to work from home. Tampines some more!!

u r very lucky leh... i really envy you. I want to take leave also cannot

krystle
#3 boss/Hr dept wont accept. this is not their fault....that your hb works late
but #1 or #2 is logical...u get what i mean

kam
you spend how long travelling to and fro work?
eg if you spent 1.5hrs from home - cc - nanny - work and another 1.5hrs from office - cc - nanny - home, then use this 3 hours and tell ur boss u could be more productive clearing office work

having flexibility (in local terms) usually means putting in more working hours but can MIA as and when required

other EU countries definition of flexibility is actually not like that one lo

pixie,

really is "shang xin shi"!!

my company, even if i leave on the dot at 5.30pm also will kenna the "look" or "suan" by colleagues coz our culture is to work late one.

Itok,
Hahaha, like I said yes my coy is hiring but WFH really depends on boss and your dept culture. Even though my coy also pro work life balance. If you are interested, can pm me and I can forward the details. But please, if come for interview, don't ask if can WFH ok??? Coz it is not 'official'! Hahaha, sorry for emphasizing.

But apart from that, my coy's benefits are real good, especially for families. But in terms of pay wise, not as competitive as market rate. Got to give and take in this aspect.

krystle,
Thanks for helping me to think of the reasons. But you know how people work here, they like to pass the ball around and around and around and around...... till no end.... now HR said ask boss, boss said refer to HR, then HR say have to refer to "upper management", then upper management say depending on your work, then I say my work is okay to WFH, then they say refer to HR, HR say refer to your boss....... You got what I mean?

I am not even sure if I want to bring this up, cos it might affect my appraisal cos my direct boss is "old" man, older generation won't appreciate work life balance loh.

kry, so envious. ur boss is so understanding, if i hav such a boss, i dunmind takin a lower pay but profamily co.

kam, yep..'kan kai', gov sector can be political, i advise u to keep a lower profile, else u kana blacklist, ur promotion will be at stake.

Kam, aiya, me and hubby both Singaporeans, both my kids are singaporeans. I also worked in a govt linked company. So What?

Also cannot work part time (let alone draw full time pay and work from home). My ex company wins Family Friendly Firm Award every year somemore leh. But the ironical thing is the HR colleague who submits the FFF application every year did not even get her work part time nor 1 year no pay leave approved. End up she left 1 week before me. The HR director still dare to say to us: "Nowadays, youngsters very li hai, all want to quit job to look after kids'.

RUBBISH LOR! If you give you flexible working options as stated in your FFF application, why would we leave? But it really depends on your boss also lar.

My previous dept, there is a colleague who applied for 2 years no pay leave to accompany hubby to US for his Masters studies AND APPROVED. 2 year no pay leave got no precedence before, only 1 year no pay leave and even that was very rare for my company HR to approve. Then, she came back from US, got pregnant in less than 6 months, apply to work part time for 2 years, ALSO APPROVED!!!

So, it depends on whether you are the blue eyed gal of your boss and whether your boss is powerful enough to convince HR lor. -_-

Kam,
I definitely know what you mean. No one wants to take the responsibility of implementing such policy so everyone is "tai-chi-ing" around.

Kitsune,
So it seems no much difference whether public or pte sector when comes to WFH or no-pay leave etc??? I used to think in govt sector, you can get no-pay leave easier so it is not that true after all?
Coz my aunt works in a minister and she managed to took 5 years of no-pay leave to look after my cousins. But when she wanted to apply the 6th year, her boss hinted that she may not have a job by then she returns so she had no choice but to return to office.

Everything boils to whether you have an understanding boss and how far he is willing to go the extra mile to fight for the rights for you.

I agree mummies.
Companies may have flexible what not pro family blah blah but it boils down to if HR got follow thru AND if ur direct boss allow or not. Sighs

人在社会 身不由己呵

Kitsune,
Tonight I am really on night shift cos HR is running a fever. He wasn't sleeping well so I am sponging him and he is sleeping soundly now. Keep myself awake for a while and take one more temp before I sleep. Last measured was 37.9C. Hope fever subsides by tomorrow morning.

RE: Work life balance
Kitsune,
Wah, your ex-co can be like that meh, claimed the award for nothing one ah.

Krsytle,
You are absolutely right! No one wants to take tbe responsibility and get the blame of. And yes, all depend on how much your boss is willing to go the extra mile for you.

But really, talkig about work life balance, Asian countries are way way way behind and most likely our generation would get to enjoy if it does really happen at the end.

My hubby is so stress at work. Totally no WLB. His lady boss married but no children so put all her time in her co and expects every one to be the same. Think my hub will have to move on the another job soon. Sigh!

Okay. HR's temp dropped to 37.1C already. Better catch some sleeps before he wakes up again.

If you see me here tomorrow meaning HR wins the battle. Else have to stay home and take care of him, meaning no time to log in :) Good night!

Aiya..mummies
Too bad..can't join in the conversation about work life balance. I have a lot to rant..Must take it offline. If not wait they track me down, I die. But it's very funny lor!!

Krystle, ya lor, and I worked almost 8 years at my previous company leh. That's why so 心寒 and quit to be SAHM. After all, if even a company whom I have contributed 7 years plus and has the FFF award also don't see the value in retaining their staff. No matter which company I joined, also will be similar. -_- Your aunty very lucky, can get 5 years no pay leave. I want 1 year also don't have. :p

Kam, oh dear, why fever? hope HR's fever stay down.

Sigh, everything looks good on paper one lar. Actual things that happen, only the staff will know. :p Your hubby's boss sounds like my ex AD lor. She was also married for long time and no kids. And super micro manage. Wants staff to work as late as her even when it's nothing impt. I think your hubby should have stuck with the job that his friend referred him to instead of hopping to this one. There is no free lunch. Higher pay for a similar position almost always means crazy hours in Sg. :p

blackbatz, yup, can understand. I can rant and rave since I've quit. But I do like my ex manager and ex colleagues lar. Will go and meet them for lunch when free.

The woes of e working mums! We must start a PM to rant and rant man!

Kam, I am in e same situation as ur hubby and same as Kitsune's ex company- know exactly what u mean.

Kam, hope HR is ok now.

Stay home with HR today. Fever is gone but still a bit warm to touch. May not pass the check at cc so might as well spend time with him.

Kitsune,
Think he might have caught a bug when we went to the little
Ozone indoor playground. Glad he is very strong to fight it of without med intervention :)

Doubt the other job would be better. Cos that one huh, during interview already said have to do a lot of OT :-( think his profession is like that leh, can only switch line but he doesn't know what he can do. Maybe just change to another company and pray for good luck to find a not so workaholic boss?

Itok,
Aiyoh, you poor thing. Must be tough for you. For me, at least I can go home on the dot everyday without fail and never have to do OT. Guess I shouldn't complain too much then :)

morning mummies
still on WLB topic huh...sighs

so to summarize:-
tier#1: permanently work from home
tier#2: step into office once or twice a week
tier#3: work in office 5days a week but leave on the dot, no need OT
tier#4: work in office 5days a week but must do adhoc OT
tier#5: work in office 5days a week and OT everyday
tier#6: work in office 5days a week and OT everyday, also chipping in weekends

i think SAHMs belongs to tier#7: work 7days a week &amp; OT all the time, no leave, no pay increment, no AWS, no bonus etc