(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Chaye
Kristine Khoo is my personal friend. Why? You know her too? As for edelynn lam, I dunno. Perhaps related to kristine's hb coz his surname is lam too???!

Krystle
when x started pre-n frm 30mths onwards. He got water bottle, snack n school bag. Then the snack got eaten up while on the way to school. Then the water bottle sling accross chest, bag became empty shell. In the end bag kept in dusty corner while only bring water bottle to class. Nothing else liao...super Bo liao

Thanks for sharing on what to put in their school bag! I didn't think of putting extra diaper, clothing and cardigan.

Janbb, since jayden attended e daily programme do u know how is e snack time like? ( provided all branches follow same programme) coz my son has egg allergy, this limits a lot of things he can bring to eat.

Haiz, I still need to rush back to work after bringing my son's school...my Company at first don't even allow me to take AM leave. Although I know we can't accompany them in class but no matter what it's still his first time gg to school I would hope to take leave to be there for him. So feeling rather upset w the company.

Mom2nat, u r expecting #3? oops must hv missed out the updates all along! Congrats and u r v brave!! I still am not mentally ready for a second one

Hey seems like we also hv quite a few east side mummies?

hehe, suddenly so many posts, why I always miss the action ah? :p

pixie, my mil doesn't like Raeanne's Stephen Joseph backpack last time so she bought a smaller Disney princess backpack for her. End up everything cannot squeeze in ESP her weekly A4 folder. :p err... I just had yummy laksa for supper n I am not even pregnant so no excuse. my jeans r too tight around the waist Liao. -_-

mom2nat, I enjoy school hols cos hubby is around. but since your kids got no school really tough for u. at least Raeanne spends half day at cc, n that one no school hols so i can go Pak tor with hubby in the morning.

itok, u still up too?

kitsune,

dozed off after my last post coz gotta get up early in the morning.

the pak tor time in the morning is good rtg! have some time off for 2 of you... i will try to take leave to pak tor too, although it's becoming more and more difficult!

I am back to work!

Talking about #3..... no, confirm it's not me. But hor, I missed my period for 1 week, made me and my hub so scared, really really scared that accident repeated again, was soooooo relieved when my period started, never been so happy to have period :)

Morning all

LOL at Kam
my period always CD26+/-...no chance will be late unless accident.
Yesterday hb asked me about vasectomy. I was surprised & asked him why...he said after vasectomy, sperm are still in his ejaculate or just empty bullets meaning same amount of fluid in his ejaculate but no sperm so pregnancy wont happen? haha..I am not very sure either.

steph,
My period is usually quite on time, +/- one or two days, 1 week delay is very unusual.

Think vasectomy means empty bullets.

kam
you 1 day never post, got ppl looking for u wor

steph
i always will never get over your CD26...super short CD and i will kill myself if i kena such CDs.....

kitsune
huh, PG still got A4 folder? we only got the "555" communication book wor, at most!

pixie ya RA's pg gives a A4 folder containing 1 week's work on fri. then we take out the worksheets n return next mon.

but now new cc, only small notebook.

Kam,
yup if i kenna 1 week delay, i will panic too!

oh...wanna check with you all...my ariston water heater (drum type) is leaking from my ceiling...corroded and abit rusty after 7 years. The leaking is from one of the outlet (red for hotwater). I wonder if i should get a plumber to repair or ariston servicing agent? Any idea? TIA

steph
after 7 years??
usually plumber bah...
the corroded part, can seal up + put silicon...hopefully can use longer
else, change new water heater liao!

kitsune
oh yes hor, RA PG got worksheets one hor....
mine dont have...purely learn thru play

pixie,
Will still have some "worksheet" one lah, like those colouring sheet, tracing letters/alphabets sheets, etc. For HR's cc, these "worksheets" are given to parents during the "parent-teacher meeting" at the end of the term.

pixie,
yup aft 7yrs...is that consider long or too short? if can repair with min cost then repair loh, if can't then gotta change new one...gotta spent $ again

arhh finally sent my email to the salvation army for donation of my pre-luved sofa since new one will arrive January!

steph
7 years is not long not short, i think the lifespan is usually 7-10 years wor
if its just outlet leakage, you can get plumber to seal up the part. drum still working mah

kam
during my "parent-teacher meeting", all they showed me was x's crafts + colouring sheets....no tracing letters/alphabet sheets....i think they really dun touch on academics leh

hey if u read my post yest, i wanna ask you more "cc" qns leh....

pixie,
X's cc only 4kids ah...so nice, i like small class so teacher can concentrate on the child better. Z's playgp for N1 (yr2011) ratio is 2:15...huge class! I've rec'd the daily schedule for N1 & is more or less same as per toddler's schedule.

pixie,
Do you think tracing letter is academics? I personally think learning through play it's not about whether you teach a kid ABC, or tracing letters, or to read a book, or not, but it's HOW you teach them. It's the process, not the outcome. Outcome is the same. Eventually all the kids HAVE to know ABC and to write ABC.

Sure, what are the questions you have?

Morning, mummies!

Thanks for the advice on what to bring to school. I also think toys are not a good idea. Whatever they want to play will be avail in the classroom right?

Kam,
False alarm?? I got a scare too when once my period was late for 1 week (normally will be earlier like Steph, CD 27+). But later think also not possible why scared myself when hubby took precaution.

Steph,
Wow, your hubby is considering vasectomy? Yes, I think it means empty bullets but not alot of guys are willing to do that. If he does, it show how much he loves you.
Most of the time, I heard is the ladies doing the IUD or tubal ligation...

steph
errr so right now, for year 2011, our tods are now in N1 rite?
coz right now they only have 2 groups; and the group that X is in is called toddler group leh i.e 30mths onwards.
to me, 30mths onwards oso called pre-N or N1 rite....
but this cc still call 30mths onwards "toddler grp"....i tot 18mths - 30mths = toddler grp?
*confused*
btw, in the previous little wings kindy, its also 2:12 class size leh

kam
hmmm point taken. im not saying that the previous kindy no good, im actually more for it that they focus more of learning thru play instead of sitting down to do lots of worksheets.

cc qns
1. do we need to bring face towel?
2. if the bath towels get changed everyday, will they dry it and put into the bag, or "damp damp" still then throw into the bag liao (i.e immediately after bath)? then machian whole day stagnant in bag, not smelly ah?

Pixie
Oh Kristine is your personal friend huh? I duno why she end up in my fb and in my SIS fb too ! And my SIS doesn't know her too ! Lolz. I found tat she has a list of forum mum in her fb too. Haha shall delete her then. Thks.

Lexie just had her pre-N orientation today. The class is very big too. 2 teachers to 18 toddlers!!
good thing is she seems quite excited to go to school. she can follow the program and instructions quite well...

krystle,
I still very scare leh. Cos my XY was a result of an accident mah :p

We went to Underwater World on Saturday. Now I totally agreed with you it's a waste of money. HR got excited for like maybe 10 minutes before we went downstairs. Once we were in the tunnel thingy, he was so bored. The Dolphine show was okay, but he obvious didn't like it. My gal enjoyed it though. I think the show was quite okay except the host, who made the whole show less interesting. She has a China accent, speaks pretty fluent English, but sounded lack of the enthutiasm and definitely lacking the charm of a host. Her tone was very flat throughout the whole, even during those highlights, she cannot make the crowd excited type, if you know what I mean. Wonder why they engage her as the host. The dolphines are very cute though.

BTW, there is a promotion now at UWW. Adults only pay the kids price meaning only pay $14.90 instead of $22.90, think till this Dec only. But I didn't bring my NRIC so I didn't get the discounted tix. Because of the promotion, the UWW was super duper very extremely crowded. Luckily we were there early. By the time we left, we could hardly walk.

Pixie,
No face towel.
Yes, the towel is damp damp kind cos they through in to the bag right after the bath. Okay lah, no smell leh, so far.

krystle,
haha...i asked the same qn to my hb if he's considering vasectomy, he say no lah, just curious to find out. my coll did IUD then got infection leh. tubal ligation can be done easily if u've got C-sect during delivery else for natural delivery, my gynae will not encourage to do it cos need to be under GA & he think we are still young (below 35YO).

pixie,
for little wings cc,
playgroup 1 = toddler group (18 to 36mths)
playgroup 2 = N1 (3YO)

for Z's cc, i didn't bring face towel (not required) Bath towel yes. If cc bath him, i gotta change towel daily. They will not dry the towel cos imagine cc gotta dry all towel, no place to hang. The damp towel will throw into the plastic bag immediately after bath. Since Z only went half day, his towel still ok, no smell.
But my FIL did feedback to the cc that why do they need to change the child's clothing if it's not dirty. Usually Z arrives cc at/b4 9.30am in his fresh school uniform & by 11.30am, cc bath him & change to his home clothes even though his uniform is not dirty. So now the teacher take note & will only change clothes for Z if there is outdoor class or water play activity in the AM. Otherwise, he wears his school uniform back home.

Pixie / steph,
Aiyoh, this PG/N1/N2 thing is forever confusing. Why can't they just use the same nomenclature for cc/kindy? Someone should write to MOE/MCYS to feedback.

According to MOE website:
Kindergartens are ‘schools’ that provide a structured 3-year pre-school education programme for children aged 4 to 6. The 3-year programme consists of Nursery, Kindergarten 1 and Kindergarten 2. Kindergartens function daily, five days a week, with schooling hours ranging from 3 hours to 4 hours each day. Most kindergartens function at least two sessions a day.

So meaning,
4yo = Nursery (some use N2)
5yo = K1
6yo = K2
7yo = P1

So before 4yo,
3yo = Pre-N (or some call it N1)
Before 3yo = PG?????

steph
in the new cc that x is attending
playgroup = 18 to 30mths
toddler = 30mths onwards (aka N1)

why different naming convention for the same little wings ah?? *scratch head*

oh shuck, dont tell me must wear uniform in x's cc too!

kam
but some N1 starts as early as 30mths...so Pre-N or N1 can be 30mths onwards or 36mths onwards....

BUT cc issit different? coz u know, kindy are under MOE while cc are under MCYS...different standards as you said

that said, steph's cc and mine cc are the same! just different branch. just these 2 centres alone oredi got different naming convention.... i oso confused

steph
always welcomed and always convenient; just for you. i havent place order for this spree yet, lots of eyes roving behind my back in the office :p

steph, my sis is placing final batch, first payment received basis, so if you keen must post & make payment asap liao
she will end her spree of final batch by today

Pixie, like what Kam said, it's more of colouring worksheets and artwork. But they are done by the teachers lar, at most, RaeAnne helped to paint with her hands or helped to paste the artwork onto the drawing block paper. She is good with the scissors so I can see some are really her own handicraft cos she always cut a bit crooked. keke.

At Elfa,
18mths - 35 months - Prenursery 1
36 mths - 47 months - Pre nursery 2
48 months (4 years old) - Nursery

Anyway, RaeAnne has slowly adjusted to the new school after 2 weeks cos she can now say bye bye to hubby instead of crying and whining every morning. Somedays, usually when she doesn't get enough sleep, she still cries and whines but as long as it's not everyday, I'm happy. She still refuses to wear uniform to school though. -_-

Noticed that she is also getting a bit better at feeding herself. Yesterday, I put her rice, and bowl of soup (with pork ribs, potato & carrots) in front of her while I went to the kitchen to take the tomato fish for her (need more time cos got to avoid the boney parts), she started eating on her own. After half a bowl, she got distracted and hubby woke up so I got him to feed RaeAnne while I fried eggs to 'jia cai'. :p

So far, no 'lessons' until Jan, the first month is for them to orientate themselves and play since it's a new environment. I think it's a good practice. But hubby did comment that spend so much $ every month for her to play. kekeke. But I told him at least got 1 hr of English and 1 hr of Chinese lessons everyday. So hopefully can save $ on Chinese tutor in future.

Next Sat, RaeAnne is starting on weekly Yamaha Music Wonderland class. But class starts at 12noon, hope she won't be too sleepy/grouchy when it ends at 1245pm cos still need to bring her home to shower and drink milk before letting her nap. :p

luca
hmmm u can just collect from my sis's place hor since living nearby....

i oso ordered some tops, all the same same kind of graphic tee like steph

hey steph, dont forget, 3T is actually for 2.5yo boys hor!!

yes, easy peasy.

i dare not order too many, coz not sure if my boy likes it. He chooses his "gai gai" clothes now and he only wear those dat were worn before. so hard to psycho him to wear those new ones which he said not nice. headache man!

luca
same....my boy gives his approval of the tops i choose for him to wear. so its always yes or no from him when i shake out a top or bottom...headache

so nowadays i try to online shop in the daytime eg weekends and ask him to choose which ones he like

i usually choose "safe" colors, which i feel he's more particular about it.

so young age already know how to choose clothes to wear, duno whether to laugh or cry.

pixie,
Is the childrensplace clothing (tees) small cutting cos 1st time ordering? 3T size states for up to 94cm & 14kg...if Z can't fit, maybe for R loh but if small cutting then i change all to 4T to play safe!

steph
amongst so many online shops selling children's clothing hor, TCP has the SMALLEST cutting lei
reduce the size by a good 3-6mths kind
now, i sure order 4T for x....he should be able to wear them liao
3T is for 2.5yo - 3yo boys. your Z and R almost same size? i reckon u better get a mixture of 3T and 4T just to be on the safe side (so that both boys get to wear them)

luca
harnor. if we go out, i must shake out top by top until he say yes to a particular one....i can take out more than 5 tops before he say yes to the 6th or 7th one...faint

steph,
Looks like the cutting is small leh.

No wonder XY can fit in to a childrenplace 2T dress, and it's already getting tight now.

Yoyo mummies. It's Tate's bday today ! Hehe. Brot him to library and had jap lunch just now. Went back to library ard 3pm and tot there's a story telling session today but last min say dun hv wor. So many parents and children were waiting there ! Sigh

Steph
You mean Z is still on half day cc ? Did u miss any lesson tat r taught in the afternoon ? My principal ask me not to bring him back in the afternoon if he's fine at the cc cos there's lesson after their nap time wor. But I duno wat lesson yet so is the principal !

just downloaded a yearly family budget planner from online....one of my goals for 2011: continue to budget strictly!
(shoes, clothes, bags, makeup not included heeheehee)