(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

morning mummies. Aiya, if I had known so many mummies were posting last night, I wouldn't have passed the lap top to my hubby to play bejeweled 3. I bought that game for him as Xmas present but he can't install on his netbook cos he has no external DVD drive. :p

pixie, thanks for coming in at night to 'support'.

itok, I also get Raeanne to sayang me when I am feeling sick or frustrated. oops, will it cause stress? :p

blackbatz, forgot to answer your question. I have the slow cooker, the tiger magic pot n the pressure cooker which I used to make pork ribs soup. but end up I use the pressure cooker more cos after just half an hour, the meat is really very very soft. but the tiger pot does save gas n electricity lar.

morn mummies!
wow, pixie and grumpus, ur no.2 is coming out so soon... new year new family addition, how nice!

grumpus
u want them to share the same bday? then try for it bah! :p

im still struggling which date to op....i dont like star sign aries muahahahahahha

Morning, mummies!

Pixie,
Counting down liao, going to see your princess soon!
I think it is ok to be emotional occassionally although our tods will find it weird (coz normally they are the ones who cry. :p). I like to fake cry to my girl sometimes to seek for her comfort (silly and dramatic mummy). Let her sayang me once in a while mah... Hahahaha.

Your CC so new and sure can open in time??? But just finished reno maybe can be quite dusty too?? Do you want to consider to delay X for 2 weeks into the CC first? Just my thought.

Blackbatz,
Hi5! I got the same down feeling about school opening. Wish next week will never come. :p

Kitsune,
Happy studying! That day hubby was asking me if he should go for CFA or MBA... He was comtemplating coz he said no energy to study with work and family so busy. I can't agree more.

BTW, where is Kam?? She never posted yesterday and today...

pixie,
what about pisces? hehe

kitsune,
wow, decide to go for the course already ah? must be very busy thereafter.

itok,
the coordinator very fierce hor, she didn't tell me about not saying bye bye to my girl when i share my concern with her. she just assured me that they know how to handle and it's very normal.

luvv
oppps sorry i mean i dont like star sign pisces. i rather take aries....but i cannot make it for aries lah...

krystle
yesterday we walked pass the CC, they were bz cleaning up the place....last week we stepped in to inspect the place, it was dusty yes coz just finished reno...
hope they can spruce up the place by next week?

till now still no phone calls frm them leh. maybe MCYS approval not given LOL

Season Greetings to you mummies !
Hope everybody is fine !

Kitsune
Bejeweled 3 ?? how is it different from bejeweled 2 ? I cannot find this app in iphone leh.

Ya where is Kam har ? I wanna ask some cc related questions too.
I start to have anxiety about putting Tate in cc. I duno what is it going to be like. It's like me having to go cc tat kind of feeling.. duno what to expect kind ? U know what I mean ?

And I would like to ask if I should take a full day leave on 3 Jan to be with him the whole day.

Funny thing is this YWCA has no orientation and no time table yet wor. Principal told me they will try out the time table and see how it goes cannot confirm yet cos they are toddlers. But dont they use back the same time table as last year's N2 classes ma ? Strange right ?

They have not asked me to purchase uniform too. Just showed me a list of things to bring along with him that's all.

Tate told me the other day that he doenst want to sleep at cc.. say wanna sleep at home. *faint*

chaye
some CCs no need for uniform leh...
i dont even have a list from my CC wor...

maybe YWCA schedule more angmoh pai....play by ear kind?

pixie

Have have uniform de. But principal say just come in few days w/o uniform and see how first. Everything like play by ear hor.

Your cc is new ma just completed reno you lagi got to wait. hehe.

Are you taking full day leave on 3 Jan to be with X ?

chaye
my CC no need for uniform leh...dun tell me last min must buy uniform, totally sianz...

i wfh on monday so i wont be taking leave....
just dropped him off, monitor until 9am, then go home work for a bit, then pop downstairs to take a look again during the "learning" hour....monitor on/off lor

their infant care is BIGGG and NO TAKERS yet!!

kitsune & krystle,

i think if "fake cry" and let our kids sayang us is really ok.. they wont be stressed lah. i was talking about the real serious crying and sobbing.. which they are still emotionally not capable of handling but although they are so young, they will feel inclined to care for us and make us feel better and if this is too often, it actually causes stress to build up. but then again, this is just a theory coz diff books will be pro different theories i think. just that i could see the weird look on my boy when i cried badly once...

magic cooker
kitsune, so the magic cooker still need to cook or just throw in raw food and it auto cooks liao?! :p sorry im really dumb at cooking and literally thought of it as "magic"... and can cook rice, porridge, soup etc? so what is the difference between this and the slow cooker?

luvv,
im not sure. coz i go for the saturday class and remember all along, i thought we can accompany them for the 1st few days and it's only when i start chatting with u then i realised they dont even let us in on the first day. that was when i asked the coordinator and she warned me like, dont EVER say the word bye bye, dont even utter out bye.

Pixie shld I will jiayou.Ks start new job, v busy! Kry,ur hb taking cfa?mus reg early exam cheaper.is he accountant or banker? My hb also keen nt I pour coldwater hisjob so siong liao

Kitsune
After u mention abt it, now I remember, I did tat disappearing act when I left my girl at my in law's place last time!! She was abt 2 yrs old then. She would cry but at least I know she get 1 to 1 attention from mil who will pacify her.

Blackbatz
I use the thermal pot for my soups. But no brand, Endo I think. Cheap tats why my mom bot! So far ok la. Heard Takashimaya got other jap brands quite good but exp lor.

Pixie
U due early march ah? I m 28 wks this wk. Just went check up, bb is ard 1.3-1.4kg, he say good size. So far I put on 4kg but look like a balloon! Hee..

Pauline and all the mummies,
Thanks for the reply to my "pot" question..Isetan sale tomorrow la, selling the "magic" pot at $88 for 1st hundred customers. Was wondering if I should get for my mum. Maybe let her decide cos I can't cook. Paiseh..

Haiya..I think I have separation anxiety from my bed and family..

Aqua,
My hubby is an accountant, he also just changed job as a Finance mgr so maybe he has the thought.
I told him up to him as long as he has the money and time for family. But sounds impossible right?

Mom2Nat,

U said ur gal cried for 6 months when she entered N1 and when she talk about school, she will also cry? Then how did you cope? Would she refuse to go to school and you had to force her?

mom2nat
i due 14th march...i just passed my 28th week, now serving 29th weeks. wah meaning we got very close EDD wor!!
at 26 weeks, my gal oredi @ 1.3kg....big boned like me

blackbatz
i will have separation anxiety from my iphone and my boy bah, if i were to select....hahahah....

itok
as far as i know, you heat up the inner pot till boiling point, once it reaches this temp, off your pot, transfer to outer pot. no need gas, electricity...food will be slow cooked

its same as slow cooker but saves elect nia

Thanks, Krystle, Luvv. I must be more hardworking liao, afraid I'll fall asleep during class. :p

Krystle, I got MBA and hubby got AFA (his school sponsored the course cos he was initially supposed to teach a new module on money management). But we are not making any money from it. kekeke.

Chaye, bejeweled 3 is PC game, not iphone.

Itok, oic, then should be ok cos mine more of fake cry and bellyaching. Usually when I'm not feeling well so that she can sayang me then leave me alone to sleep. kekeke.

For magic pot, you must boil the inner pot with ingredients over the stove until it starts to boil furiously, then put the inner pot back inside the outer pot to 'continue cooking' for another 1-2 hrs at least. But for pork ribs got to boil for a while before you can transfer back to the outer pot unless you don't mind the meat is a bit tough. Also, got to prepare the soup early. Eg. if dinner is at 7pm, got to boil the soup and put into magic cooker at 5pm. The magic cooker (pot) for porridge works on the same purpose. I bought one for RaeAnne's porridge last time but I don't like the texture of the porridge, cooked grains with a lot of liquid. Porridge cooked by slow cooker is better cos really soft and looks like congee.

Blackbatz, hi5, I'm tempted to go Isetan private sale tomorrow too but actually I got nothing to buy lar. I bought the Endo pressure cooker pot from Isetan Private Sale previously, I think that one is a good buy cos less than $100 after additional 10% discount and they give you a free glass cover (which you can use when you just need to reheat the soup).

I finally bought X3 Nokia for hubby this morning. Went down 3 times on separate days but always cannot get iphone4. Give up liao lar, plus in the end not worth it cos if hubby does not sign up data plan, the iphone4 is $748. Buy then sell and buy new nokia phone, will end up spending more or breaking even. :p

Pauline,
Magic pot like not veyr magical.Your hubby very IT savvy type lei..Nokia X3.Will refrain from gg. Eh, your no.2 like quite big liao hor. Pixel also, so fast gg to deliver. Sigh!

kitsune,
so meaning, the ingredients must also be fully cooked before we transfer to outer pot to continue cooking? or is like can half cook, then if gg out, just transfer to outer pot to continue cooking till fully cook? hahaha.. sounds like a "rao4 kou3 ling4"

eg. 5pm cook ingredients in pot till 50% cooked
5.30pm transfer to outer pot then go out and bring outer pot along
5.30pm-7pm continue cooking
7pm eat dinner that is fully cooked??

Kitsune,
JIAYOU on your new course!
Aiyo, you forgo the big bright career for your daughters mah. 伟大的妈妈!
BTW, what is AFA???

Blackbatz, no lor, my hubby not IT savvy at all. He wanted to buy cheapest phone around but I'm the one who insist must have camera (so that can take children's pics), memory card (so that can transfer children's pics to new phone next time) and must have wifi (cos we got wireless network at home then he no need to keep borrowing my iphone to check school emails). keke. But after recontracting mio plan, the X3 only $48, so still cheap lar.

itok, can be half cooked if you like but I won't take the risk in case not cooked properly esp for meat. But for porridge, it's ok to transfer once it boils (even though the rice grains are not cooked through yet).

But the magic pot for soup is quite big and heavy, nobody will bring it out lar. Only the small pot (meant for cooking porridge), easier to bring out.

Thanks, Krystle. Not weida lar, I think more because I'm lazy and want to take a break from working life then bah. keke.

AFA is Associate Finacial Analyst. My hubby only took the first few modules but he didn't renew his 'license' after the 1st year (cos that was paid by school). But he said he returned the knowledge to his lecturer liao cos never apply it at work. :p

Pixie,
pisces good ma *tsk* ok agree a bit tad emotional and dreamy which i am..haha

Pauline,
was about to ask you abt the pressure cooker, will go ISETAN to get them tmr since there are good deals now too. hehe

Luvv, go for it!
The pressure cooker is very good for cooking bak ku teh, herbal chicken soup, ABC pork rib soup, red bean/green bean soup, soya bean soup (to make yong tau foo soup base) etc. Supposedly, can use it to cook 'Kong bah' (braised dark soya sauce belly pork) too but I don't have recipe for that so never tried before. :p

Pixie,
eh emo i agree la but VERY not me lo... but i can say i'm very positive. Indecisive at times but mostly no (especially when comes to buying things muahahahaha :p)

finally got a call from the new CC....only coz i dropped them email this morning asking them about the status.
still no approval given by MCYS yet. earliest is next week. meaning x wont start school on 3rd jan liao...
i told them how long will it take for the cc from getting approval to operational ready. they say immediate (aka next day) coz only waiting for license; everything else has been done.
ok lah, noted lah, but hor, you never brief the parents on what to bring, your rules, your schedule, your curriculum, how u expect me to put my child into your cc the very next day rite....crazy

as of now, including x, only 4 kids
good ratio!

luvv
oh really? positive?
i know a lot of Pisces ppl who are emo, cannot make up mind, very negative leh

ok u consoled me a bit liao heehee

kry, ur hb was promoted from acct to FM? he v capable leh , he was from poly previously or he got a degree?

for me, CFA is no-nO, i am quite lazy to study nw... and my memory is failing me . i am jzu contented being a small fly... haha

kitsune, u also got MBA, wow.... reali wei da mummy, forsake ur career coz of ur 2 kids.i am sure once u decide to come bac wrkforce, u will be a hotcakes...
nwadays, qualifications are so important, esp in certain field.

kitsune, byw, to take the real estate course? do u need to join certain property co like era or orange tee before u can go for the course?

I'm helping my friend to find out, haha, pls dun supspect me hor ;) Anyone has good confinement lady to recommend? Her EDD is Jun/July. Thanks.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
itok ~ Did your boy attend zoophonic weekend classes before? If so, dun worry too much. At least it is not a totally NEW environment for him.

My boy (dec baby) was only 2yrs3mths when he attended the N1 last time as i started him in Apr. Thankfully, his crying game ended in 3days. Think your kids (Jan babies) shld be more prepared as mostly turning 3yo soon, dun worry.

Some tips:
i) You may wish to "brainwash" him that he is going to attend the class w/o you.
ii) Tell him that his classmates's mummies are also not allowed to go in too. Assure him that you or babysitter will be juz outside the classroom waiting for him. Well, if dun say "BYE" is also good. But shld not sneak away.
iii) Prepare a nice or his fav snack for him as there is a break in their lesson.
iv) If all above still don't work. Buy a small encouraging gift or food & give it to him after the class. Let him know that he is a big boy already & did a good job & can attend the class w/o you now ;) BUT dun do it everyday, pocket will burn big hole.

All in all, most will still cry for days or weeks or even mths. Every kid is different. You may be surprised if your kid didn't even cry at all so dun underestimate them ;)Juz keep on encouraging them, they will walk into the class happily soon. Don't worry, mummies, jia you!!

Guess what, this morning my boy also told me he does not want to attend school next week. Faint!!! Cos of the school holiday break in dec. Guess i have to use back the above suggested methods again, haha ;p

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Steph, kam, pixie & mummies in the west...
Are you all interested to bring your kid to gym class @ SAFRA JURONG? Trial class is only $10. Look fun!! But they only open to enquire after 1st jan.

http://www.bazgym.com/safra jurong.html

Hello all!
Miss me ya :) I am a SAHM for 2 days cos XY's nanny went for a small operation yesterday and only discharged today. Yesterday still send HR to cc, but today decided to keep him at home with us, he has been fantastic! Brought them out to the little ozone indoor playground and Met Tongtong and Shaun, cos they live near there. I am so lucky that both of them decided to take nap together an so now I can come in before they wake up.

Re: starting school
My advise is to talk to the teacher and follow their advise.
Don't insist on your own way. The teachers should know very well how to help them settle down using thier own tried and tested method. If you insist, then they may be lost and not sure what to do.

Re: thermal cooker
I just got one. But haven't been successful yet. According to the manual, just have to boil the soup with all ingredient in for about 20min, then leave it in the outer pot to further cook for another 2 hours, making use of the retained heat. But first trial failed. Didn't try again, maybe this weekend bah. But my feeling is that is not that magical after all.

Aqua,
Thanks for praising my hubby! We got to know each other in same Poly but he got ACCA later. He never went to local uni. Hahaha, he was not promoted but more like switching jobs and moving up the corporate ladder. Yes, slowly from accountant -> Accounts Mgr -> Finance Mgr. The team he handles grows bigger each time. Hahaha, I hope one day he will become a CFO and then I can quit job, stay at home, shake leg and be tai-tai.

But this line quite tedious right? Especially comes to mth-end...
I don't want my kids to take up accounting next time. :p

Pixie,
Ya loh, who dares to put their kid next day after approval. I think that is why still not many kids in that CC, coz parents are monitoring the situation first and see how. Maybe don't want their kids to be "guinea pigs"?

JanBB,
You sure not you asking for confinement??? Hahhahaa, normally say said for friend will turn out to be asking for themselves. Hahahaha...
OK, trust you lah, just joking!

Hey, thanks for the tips! Good point on the snack, I overlooked that. I really don't know what to bring for 2 hr's lesson. My girl's bag so small how to put so many stuff?

Things to bring for 2 hrs' pre-nursery:
1. Water bottle
2. Diaper
3. Extra set of clothing
4. Snack
5. Toy?? (Advisable??)

krystle,
NO, toy is not allowed. And you don't want to let I bring her toy to school cos you don't know who would touch it and may bring germ home.

Krystle,

TOYS??? Think better not cos will attract other kid's attention & can even lost the toy or fight over the toy. Item 1-4 is what in my boy's sch bag ;)

As for snack, you can bring bread, muffin, cupcake or even "bao"? Depend which food your gal prefers. As long not too messy in the class. My boy told me his classmate had FISHBALL NOODLES in class for snack. Is really true as other classmates also said so.

Thanks for your trust, haha!! Muz stress again, really not me. Anyone can refer me on this?? She is only 3mths preggy but a few CL she called was already booked. My previous CL was recommended by itok & was booked too.

Chaye,
If your cc allow you to accompany him, and if you prefer to "witness" his first day at school, then why not. But not all cc allows that.

krystle

Tate's playgroup doesnt allow toys at all. Strictly NO NO. Snack is provided for him so I dun have to bring. Basically he goes to playgroup with just a water bottle. No extra clothing, no extra diaper.

Kam
Can I ask if I shd stay with Tate full day at the cc on the 1st day ?

Okay. Times up. Gonna cook their dinner before they wake up. Then it's bath time, dinner time, play time, and the routine :)

And I go back to work tomorrow (half happy half sad).

oh kam

our msg overlapped. Principal told me I can accompany up to 3 days ! But if he's fine then just leave him after day 1 will do. Of cos I wont stay for 3 days. The reason why I ask is wont there be other parents will be there to "witness" as well ? wouldnt it be very crowded hor?

my girl also starting pre-n nex week, i also drag to bring her to sch, coz sure she will start the drama mama n cry all over!

chaye, best u stay truout first2days, then u know the teachers n their sop better. more confident in entrusting ur boy w them.

kry, snack may nt be necessary, depends on ur girl meal times n her sch time. i tink it wil be good to pack a small hanky in her bag, incase she need to wipe her hands dry. or pack some tissue. if the sch is aircon, mebe standby a cardigan too.

Wah Kam
you come and go so fast ! hahaha

aqua
duno leh.. I feel like just taking a day. Maybe next day ask the father take !

Pixie
May I know who is Kristine Khoo and Edelynn Lam in FB har ?

my girl also starting pre-n next wk. i dunno whether i want to deliver #2 early or later...hahahhaa
one things for sure, there'll be a lot of crying....
my girl's JG teacher told me that when her own son started school, he cried for 8wks!!
imagine a early childhood teacher's own kids go to school also need so much time to adapt...faintz

Itok
My girl was v sticky to me. When young, pple look at her or go near she cries, dun even need to touch her. She whined n cried when GG sch at N1. On n off kind. Usually when i drop her off she cries but i look thru the glass later, she is playing happily. However, when I put her on sch bus, she din cry!! Prob more fun.

The food gotta b cooked when u put in the thermal pot. It helps u keep warm n make the ingredients softer. But I dun trust it to cook halfcooked food.

Pixie
I m due 24 march. 10 days after u.

aqua, thanks but no leh, anyone can take MBA. just need to take GMAT first. anyway, my MBA confirmed no use cos I didn't change jobs nor get promoted because of it. :p

for the real estate course, just need 4 o level passes, then pay $780-$980 for the course. no need to be attached to agency first.

Pauline,
Busy watching "Breakout" la...
U jia you with your course. Do you intend to do property full time? I'm also thinking of becoming a SAHM but no income lei...very scared..

blackbatz, oic, if I watch also no head no tail cos keep missing episodes. :p I want to start as part time agent first, if I like it n doing well, will consider to go full time. Sahm, sure u can one lar, last time I also very scared but as long as u watch your expenses n reduce your debts, should be ok. or for u can take no pay leave first, even better.

Blackbatz
Can la, ur mui mui bag becomes a few month's allowance Liao lor. Once u have been enjoying ur freedom n income, v hard to totally lose it n b sahm. U enjoy ur hols w ur 2 boys? This hols drive me nuts. Everyday they fight n argue. Early morning like orchestra outside my room, cry, scream, shout blah blah... N I m so tired scolding n disciplining them.