(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

steph, I also kaypoh, is it enemum? she got two boys I think.

kam, pixie, krystle, I am trying to make $ by getting the iphone4 to resell it to hp distributor. ie I get iphone4 from singtel after recontracting then sell off bn iphone4 at $950 to hp shop then buy cheap nokia hp for hubby cos he dun want iPhone4. but in the end I never queue today lor cos overslept. :p

Merry Xmas to all the mummies!
we bought a turkey from ntuc n i baked some potatoes, blanched some veg n have a cosy xmas dinner. after that, let the kids open presents. happy cos i got Xmas n anniversary present from hubby.

Kam and Pixel,

Sorry to disappoint you! I'm definitely not that 'mystery' mummy la! TTC-ing for so long and no luck, either I don't know how to calculate or I'm lao mu ji liao! Sigh! Besides, age is catching up with me.

Most times, I'm running around like a mad woman fetching my son from his enrichment lessons etc. Other than that, buying from BP or overseas spree. By the time I come in to the thread, everyone has gone home liao!

I disappeared for the 2 past week cos I heeded Mom2nat's advice not to strain my right eye. Then, had Lasik done on my left eye 2 days ago. Finally, can say bye bye to my spectacles already! Phew! If Mom2nat is reading, she will ask me to rest my eyes again!

I really love 女人我最大 but where got time to make up like those OL gals. Wake up at 5.45 am. Rush time mad to school. The show makes everything so easy and niffy.

Merry Christmas to everyone!! Got a Miu Miu bow bag from hubby..ya!!

blackbatz
How come you din do both eyes tog? I got over and done with it, so happy I had perfect eyesight the next day. But I heard if you dun take care, might get myopic again. And age catching up, long sightedness might set in oso.

Wah, so sweet of your hb!!
Btw, are you on FB?

Mom2nat,
My surgeon is quite special. He only does 1 eye at a time. Besides, my deg per eye is > 1000, plus astigmatism of 100. Two days before doing my left eye, I had to stop wearing soft lens on my left eye..So I was 1 eye jack..Now perfect eye sught liao. so happy. Eyes all must take care one..We can't run away from lao hua. sigh!

HB knew I wanted it, got it from HK while on biz trip. The last time he got me a bag was 5 years ago. So I have been nagging him. Like that, still consider sweet or not.

Yaya..I'm not FB lei..try [email protected] to rest my eyes liao..zzzzzGodd night mummies.!

mom2nat, I know SNEC surgeons like to operate 1 eye at a time whereas private surgeons usually do both at the same time.

Blackbatz, good for you. I also wanted to do but haven't done assessment. Plus don't know whether mid 30s do still worth it or not cos going to get long sighted soon leh. :p

Pauline,
I had the same consideration but I have no choice as I cannot wear contact lenses anymore. My eyes trun red and itchy the minute I wear contact lenses. In the end, just decided to go for LASIK to solve my problem once and for all.

When I hubby did his LASIK at SNEC 7 years ago, they operated on both eyes at the same time. I heard that SNEC only does 1 eye at a time now to reduce infection rate. Some years back, their patients suffered from a severe eye infection after their LASIK op. From then, I think they changed their practice. I had my done at Jerry Tan.Shinagawa told me that I only had 92% chance and can only do 1 time, no enhancements.

Mom2nat, I have an FB account, [email protected]

blackbatz, oic, is Dr jerry Tan good? I always go to Phyto hair spa at Wheelock place and very tempted to go for review but don't know who is good. How much for 2 eyes? Why Dr Jerry want to do it separately since not SNEC?

I really don't know. It's his usual practice. He wants the best result for his patients but his price is also the best among all..I went to shinagawa, told me I only have 92% chance of achieving perfect vision. Of course, I didn't go them. Went to Jerry Tan, he was very confident and assuring. Really plonked all my AWS on this men. Actually I can't find a lot of info about him online. His biz is really through word of mouth, mostly expats and Indonesians.

Christmas period was feasting and feasting, what about you pixie? Back to work today? no off-in-lieu?

Morning, mummies!

Finally the last week of 2010.
This year is not bad for me, at least get to travel alot (Europe, Japan etc).
Now only keeping fingers crossed that everything at work will be smooth this week.

Blackbatz,
Wow, a Miu Miu bag! Nice! Your hubby has good taste leh, he chose the bag for you or you chose it?

Pixie,
How's your Christmas celebration?
Went to SIL's house on sat to celebrate hubby's nephew's birthday (Christmas Day boy). Then yesterday brought my boy for MMR + Chickenpox vaccine. Cried the wall down. Hahahah , kena poked 2x. :p Super crowded at clinic and there was even a patient down with chicken pox in the waiting area! How freak out I was!
Then later went Changi Airport to have lunch... nothing much...

Just now called up PCF and was so frustrated. Coz the PE attire I bought for my girl was too big and would like to change for a smaller size, called them now and got no answers coz the staff knows nothing... Sianz, ask questions she only said you have to check with principal when school opens.

krystle
i think the admin or auntie knows nothing one leh, that time i called for some stuff, also kept saying wait for principal to be back in school....

next week start CC liao, they havent even started the enrollment exercise....winner rite

afternoon mummies,

hope everyone had a good break during xmas holidays- esp for FTWM, it's great to be able to spend the quality time with our family right?

have some "out-dated" queries to check with you all:

1. First day of school
I read from the threads that a lot of your kids had already started going to daily playgroups/ cc etc. My son is attending school for the first time next week, a daily 2 hour programme. How did you cope with letting them going in to the class on their own? The person-in-charge at my son's school told me i should not say "bye bye" to him when he goes into the class coz they will feel we are leaving them. She said I should just walk away, or tell him I am going to toilet/ buy something. Is that true from your experiences? Coz I thought, we need to tell them "bye bye" to let them know we are leaving and they are to go into the class? And tell them we will come back later to fetch them... instead of just walking away or "bluffing" them we are going to toilet but they will end up keep waiting for us to come back right?

2. Nicks and FB
I think you may have already "clarified" this long ago but I still can't reconcile some of the mummies here to the ones I have on my FB. Anyone can share the "matching" with me?
I only know pixiepixel, kam, steph, QQ, Janbb, Luvv, Kitsune, fennie...

3. Gathering
Is the gathering still going on?

itok
1. errr the prev school that my son attend (also 2 hour prog) never say must/must not say byebye leh...maybe they lax? but i thought its good to say goodbye properly instead of "bluffing" them coz our tods 3yo liao should understand the meaning of short term separation

2. you should list those names in FB that you dunno so that we can tell u they are "who" in this thread lah

3. wah, tough qn! it never materialize ley!

pixiepixel,

1. yeah, my thoughts exactly. Coz I thought they are not so easily bluffed by us- we need to say bye bye properly. but she was very firm when she told me... like NEVER every utter the word "Bye" coz I shared with her my concerns about him crying non stop when I am gone.

2. ok.. the names in FB that I donno are:
- audrey ang
- jennifer lim
- windy chan
- priscilla cheong (i think this is Mom2Nat?)
- tracy chia
- hannah chia
- agnes chin
- yvonne guo
- wendy Goh (I think this is wendyg?)
- cheryl khoo
- edelynn lam
- maureen lee
- serene lim
- yah ling lim
- MY Low
- Hazel Lua
- serene ng
- joy irene tan
- esther tan
- verene ting
- yating yeo

A lot leh! :p

3. haha... guess everyone is busy with family outings during this holiday season. U moved house recently? Where u staying now?

itok
i stay at jurong east liao...near chinese garden mrt....very windy place lah, no need fan/air con...the wind howls a lot here :p
downside, i have no supermarket/food places near me so im basically lost if im hungry or need to buy anything...
oh well

i only recognise some, coz they're in my list too
- audrey ang
- jennifer lim
- windy chan: windy
- priscilla cheong (i think this is Mom2Nat?): bingo
- tracy chia
- hannah chia: blessedbaby
- agnes chin: aqua
- yvonne guo: issit shortygal?
- wendy Goh (I think this is wendyg?): bingo
- cheryl khoo: cheryl
- edelynn lam
- maureen lee
- serene lim
- yah ling lim
- MY Low: mylvera
- Hazel Lua
- serene ng
- joy irene tan
- esther tan
- verene ting: verene
- yating yeo: shannonbaby

btw itok, just my 2cents, if your child does not have separation anxiety then its ok for you to say byebye...if your child has it then i guess its all right for you to bluff him for the 1st few days bah...

Pixie,
Really ah??? Sometimes I wonder what is the staff doing there... I got the letter to notify us about the orientation and even gave us the tel no to contact and yet when we call, no answer??? Ridiculous leh.

X's CC not yet start enrollment?? Isn't it a bit late since next week starting lessons? So weird...

Itok,
My girl is the same as your boy, starting school for the 1st time next week. I still have not thought of whether to say bye bye or what... Really have to depend on the situation and react. Ya..., will say bye bye until the door is closed. These few days have been 'brainwashing' my girl that she needs to go school alone, without mummy...

So long didn't come into the thread. Just moved house so busy. Got a big Christmas gift. My laptop was spoilt on the xmas eve. Now wanna repair also cannot cos still under warranty need to bring back to the shop where i purchase, but i dunno where i placed the receipt!!! PC shop dun wan to repair as there is still warranty.

itok, krystle, usually the books said we should give a cheerful short good bye then tell the child that u will come back n fetch her/him. so that the child does not feel abandoned. but yes, some caregivers/teachers prefer different methods. my ils definitely prefer us to sneak out than for us to say goodbye directly so that they dun have to deal with a crying toddler.

for bubble tea lovers, by the way, there is koi at tampines interchange Liao so next time easy to get my bubble tea fix.

Krystle,
My hubby only knows that I have been going to the boutique without buying. He bought the bags cos I kept showing him and he bought it during his biz trip to HK. I found a MM boutique right beneath his office. So far, he only bought the ring correctly. It will be a long time more before he buys me another one.

I'm sure you bought a lot of bags during your Europe trip. My friend told me that LV now limits 1 item per passport, regardless of wallet or bag.

------------------------------------------
Preparation for school :

Prep your child by saying he is a big boy and will have to attend school by himself. No matter what we say, on that day sure bound to cry a little. Some children will wail loudly, some will sob etc..Give them a few days to adjust. I remembered that my elder boy took school bus, so he was happy to be on the bus and adjusted well after the second day.

Even though he is going on to P2 next year, I kept reminding him that school will start on the 4th JAn. They need to be mentally prepared to wake up early in the morning etc.

hey, thanks for sharing.. seems like different methods and yeah, i think it depends on the level of their separation anxiety.

krystle, i also tried to brainwash my boy that when he is 3 yrs old, he will go to school alone without mummy but he keeps saying he dont want to go. i think he thinks 3 yrs old is still very very far in future.

kitsune, the koi queue was super long on xmas eve when i passed by that I dont have the patience to wait =)

Yes, no doubt there will be crying... Haiz, hope I myself will not cry. :p

Kitsune,
There is KOI at Tampines??? Where??? Finally can satisfy my KOI cravings.

itok, yup off peak times queue not so bad. hehe.

krystle, it's at the old HDB branch office building facing interchange. A cash converter just opened next to it.

I remembered some time back some of you mentioned about the "magic" cooker. Cook half way, then keep in some thermal thing and the soup will cook by itself?? Correct me if I am wrong cos I'm quite idiotic when it comes to cooking. Which brand is the most reliable in the market?

Itok,
You will be surprised that some P1 pupils also cry until like nobody's business. Adjust your methods on that day and let the child take each step in stride.

Re: 1st day of sch
Personally I dun find it right to just "disappear" when we put our kids in presch for the 1st time. Doesn't it make them feel more insecure? I think we shd try to reassure them over and over again, like mommy is right outside, dun worry.... blah blah... But prob the teachers have more experience in this than me lah.

My girl cried for 6 months when she went N1. Come home still whine, think abt sch oso cry... She had bad separation anxiety. Even until now, we go shopping mall, I gotta be in her area of radar detection.

Elliot is the opposite, he hasn't started sch, but when I tried putting him in sunday sch without the maid 2 weeks ago, he can't even be bothered abt me, happily went in.

I think assuring the child we will be back for them is impt. Errr... but I have seen cases of parents having separation anxiety instead. They are the ones feeling sad leaving the child! Opps....

itok
if i tell my boy when he reaches 3, he oso dunno "when" he will reach 3yo, so perhaps a bit vague for them to understand.
i just tell my boy, ok in few more days (everyday is few more days), we will be going to school...

anyway my boy is super sociable type so he always has no prob adjusting to new environment.

krystle
its a new centre, just finished reno 1week+ ago, after that immediately MCYS inspection, and they said approval from MCYS takes 2 weeks. thereafter they can then contact parents, else its kinda "illegal" to contact parents when even MCYS approval not given...
but they stressed that they will have to open in 3rd jan leh...so i hope miracle can happen hurhur

aiyah, moved away from sk liao then tamp got KOI!
anyway i think its spreading slowly liao lor...since its so popular

Mom2nat, I agree with you. But I play by ear lar, if in school, I will say goodbye and let the teachers handle her. But if at ILs house, if we say goodbye and go, RaeAnne definitely will throw tantrum cos she will want to follow us and ILs will be unhappy that we create more trouble for them so we got to sneak off or wait until she has fallen asleep lor. :p

Pixie, haha, Tampines has almost everything lar cos big estate mah. Texas chicken just moved into Tampines Mall too, direct competition with Popeyes which is at Century sq. Good lor, no need to go Expo to eat Texas chicken anymore. My only complaint is that Metro moved out and never moved back. I love Metro's household/children dept. The renovated Isetan has no household/toys dept (i don't understand why :/) while BHG's household dept is super small. :p

blackbatz, tell me about it. My hubby going back for meetings this week but he kenna reservist from 11 Jan so won't be in school much. keke.

I'm going to go for my part time real estate studies from 17 Jan. Sianz to travel to HDB hub so far away. Anyone working near there? I want to find lunch kaki, my course is Mon, Wed, Fri, 10am - 1pm. :p

kitsune
i read the "complaints" from night-shift mummies here and decided to be on night shift today leh heehee

btw, never even tried popeyes or texas chicken or wendy's etc...SUAKU hor?
btw, yes agreed with u, metro was better in that sense and after BHG moved in, i never went there anymore coz i never liked BHG's style hohoho

kitsune
about HDB hub....
only if i can time my gynae appt with ur lunchtime....but i take time off so must be end of the day kind for me
gynae located in TPY central mah

TODAY IM VERY HAPPY

1. i was abit emo today and i cried infront of x. i asked him to hug me and he did so
me: xandall, mummy is very sad, so mummy is crying
x: its ok, its ok... *pat*pat* my back 4 times

2. i went to my parents place with x in tow (long journey...again), and he was talking non-stop from 4pm to 7pm
im happy coz....FINALLY MY BOY CAN TALK LIAO

and yes, once he started, he simply cant be stopped....i think he called my dog's name like 100 times

tongtong
aiyah no good to cry infront of your kids leh. X was looking at me in a weird way before he asertain that "ok mummy is crying"...

Today Im ftwm n sahm all wrapped in one (like glutinous rice in lotus leaf-sticky, hot, and nutty heehee), end of the day I oredi lost patience liao. Hb was working late so managed to grabbed 15mins with x before x went to bed.

Kudos to all sahmssssssssss

In 15mins time, i have officially 9 weeks more till the birth of my child. Panic. Coz haven't started to prepare anything yet!!!

Pauline,
Ask your hubby if he suffers from severe "withdrawal" symptoms like me. Some more I'm just a small fry, he's on the SMB..Meeting is super siong ah!

oh ya..nobody has given me any advice about the magic thermal cooker or pot yet...Can someone help me..Thank you ah!

Mom2nat, u r right! Sometimes it's e parents who hv separation anxiety and I am one of them. Everyday I worry about him settling in school coz I jus picture his crying face I cannot bear it liao. I think just gotta be more hard hearted and hope it'll be fine.

Yeah better don't cry in front of our kids. There was once I was v upset and I cried in front of my son, he also had a weird look on his face then said mummy crying, why mummy cry? I quickly stopped coz I got a feeling that if I continue he may cry with me! I once read a book that also discourage us to show sadness or anxiety in front of kids coz they can sense e vibe easily and will feel inclined to "make mummy feel better". If this happens too often, they experience a form if stress instead coz emotionally they r not able to handle it. Sounds a bit too far fetched from how this topic started but jus to share with u guys

Blackbatz
I know nuts about cooking but I'm also awaiting feedback on this magic cooker. My colleague swears by it saying it's v good and she brings along for all holidays. I've seen at taka before but that time e sales Aunty didn't really explain properly when I enquired and told me it's similar to slow cooker?

Kitsune,
I stay very near toa payoh! Hehe....

Pixie,
I hv 1wk left to 37wks and I haven't washed anything yet! I still need to readjust my cot level back to the highest.

Blackbatz
abt magic cooker. But got lots of brands leh. Perhaps the more famous ones r those jap brands bah. Once u heat up the inner pot, then the food can be cooked from the heat liao. In a gist lah.
But I dunno which brand good coz I dun have one. Eh grumpus got one issit?

Grumpus
wah u lagi winner!! My cot is still packed flat at at my parents place. Hurhur...

luvv
very fast hor
my EDD is officially 14th march, but im going for c-sect, so will do it @ 38weeks, which means i have to c-sect end of feb or beginning of march
meaning i have jan + feb + 1 week left of 2010....makes 9 weeks lo...

my EDD is 23 Jan. once cross 2 Jan i'll be 37wks so anytime after that i can deliver already.
Lexie's bday is 14 Jan, think they'll share the same birthday??