(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Mei,
4th Dec i can make it! I forgot that i'm not working for the 1st half of dec..lolz..need to change

Re: Gathering in Dec 2010

Interested mummies:
1) kam (prefer weekend cos only have 1 day of annual leave left :-( )
2) pauline (sat late am or late pm is good for Dec except 11 Dec whole day (still in Taipei) & 18 Dec am. 13, 14 Dec also ok. But not 15 Dec cos it's RaeAnne first day at Elfa CC so cannot 'ponten'. :p)
3) tongtong
4) janbb
5) steph (13, 14 or 15th Dec, i am ok cos i am on leave)
6) luvv (prefer weekdays but sats 4th Dec and 11th Dec will be good too!)
7) superbee(prefer weekdays. weekend also ok but will have to bring both my gals & maid along cos hubby is not in sg for 2 mths. :-( prefer somewhere that is accessible via mrt or bus if possible.

hihi... haben been active here but been following when free... wonder if you gals can still remember me.. #2 jasper born on 7jan.
Count me in for the gathering ya... Once firm can PM me in case i miss out the thread.
Saw some of you send kiddo to zoo-phoenics & i can read. Which one better?

RE: Gathering

Since most mummies are SAHM, probably it's better to do it on a weekday to avoid the weekend crowd? How about 13th Dec (Monday) so FTWM can have a long weekend?

Or if you guys prefer weekends (so that daddy can join or for the logistic issue), then 4th Dec probably is the ideal date?

We do a vote than we quickly chop the date (only 2 weeks left leh). As usual, we cannot accommodate for everyone, so have to depend on our "yuan fen" lor.

<font color="ff0000">Please cast your vote for either 4th Dec or 13th Dec.</font>

Interested mummies:
1) kam (13th Dec)
2) pauline
3) tongtong
4) janbb
5) steph
6) luvv
7) superbee
8) mei
9) rachel

Interested mummies:
1) kam (13th Dec)
2) pauline
3) tongtong
4) janbb
5) steph
6) luvv
7) superbee
8) mei
9) rachel
10) luca (4th)

<font color="ff0000">Please cast your vote for either 4th Dec or 13th Dec.</font>

Interested mummies:
1) kam (13th Dec)
2) pauline
3) tongtong
4) janbb
5) steph (13th Dec)
6) luvv
7) superbee
8) mei
9) rachel
10)luca (4th)

hello mummies
wanna check if anyone had lobangs to replace toilet doors (sliding ones) for my mum place in sengkang.

btw anyone know any brand for UK water heater which a flag as logo, my mum is trying to describe to me but I had no idea what brand she is talking abt.

Posted on Thursday, November 25, 2010 - 11:30 am:       
Please cast your vote for either 4th Dec or 13th Dec.

Interested mummies:
1) kam (13th Dec)
2) pauline (4th Dec)
3) tongtong
4) janbb
5) steph (13th Dec)
6) luvv
7) superbee
8) mei
9) rachel
10)luca (4th)

wah thread so quiet.I'm going to bring C1 later for the strawberry shortcake show, anyone going also?

Vote for the gathering,
either date is good for me leh...difficult to choose. if we want to avoid the weekend crowd, Dec 13 will be a good choice.

Interested mummies:
1) kam (13th Dec)
2) pauline (4th Dec)
3) tongtong
4) janbb
5) steph (13th Dec)
6) luvv
7) superbee
8) mei
9) rachel
10)luca (4th)
11) pinkstars (13thDec)
really hope to meet you all! will be back from beijing for 2 months

Mylvera,
come leh, my girl wants to meet her 同年同月同日生 friend...keke and i want to see your very pretty YX also!

Interested mummies:
1) kam (13th Dec)
2) pauline (4th Dec)
3) tongtong
4) janbb
5) steph (13th Dec)
6) luvv (13th Dec)
7) superbee
8) mei
9) rachel
10)luca (4th)
11) pinkstars (13thDec)

luvv,

not cos i dun wana go ... 4 Dec i got medical appt .. unless in the pm? 13 dec already got staff on leave.. so i cannot crash ...

Interested mummies:
1) kam (13th Dec)
2) pauline (4th Dec)
3) tongtong
4) janbb (4th Dec, pm only)
5) steph (13th Dec)
6) luvv (13th Dec)
7) superbee
8) mei
9) rachel
10)luca (4th)
11) pinkstars (13thDec)
12) mylvera (4 dec, pm?)

Pinkstars ~ Welcome back ;) Didn't meet u before but used to read your blog ^.^

Kam ~ Any other better date to suit all mummies?
How abt 3dec(fri), Hi-Tea?? (Also long weekend for FTWM). Btw, sat is x'mas which means there is another 1 day off-in-lieu leave for Yr 2010 ;)

Very quiet thread...knock knock...

janbb, thanks... not able to update blog coz it's blocked in china...
not able to view most of your blogs too, so gave that up too... sigh...

I am here!

pinkstars, welcome back! You are mother of 2 liao right? your boys izit Isaac &amp; Ivan?

hohoho...my private chauffeur is here to pick me up from work

Have an enjoyable weekend ahead mummies!

JanBB,
I am okay with any date actually. My hub said we are not going to see the Walking with dinosoars, so I can do weekends too.

steph,
have a good weekend!

What a bz week it has been! I packed alot alot while hb was more slacking. But we still managed to shift everything by today. Couldn't imagine the junk we threw out over the past few days....incredible...
Anyway will be staying at mil place for the next 2 weeks. Will be unpacking all by myself next next wed-fri sobz sobz. I've got no one to help me unpack...sibeh jialatzzzzzzz

anyway re: gathering
I'm ok for 3rd dec (or any weekend). Janbb, what's with fri 2nd dec? Issit a public holiday in sg? Blur liao!

<font size="+2"><font color="ff0000">Should we fix the GATHERING on the 4th DEC then?????</font></font>

It's THIS Saturday leh, we gonna confirm it fast so people can make plan.

1) kam (13th Dec)
2) pauline (4th Dec)
3) tongtong
4) janbb (4th Dec, pm only)
5) steph (13th Dec)
6) luvv (13th Dec)
7) superbee
8) mei
9) mylvera (4th Dec, pm only)
10) Pixie (4th Dec)
9) rachel
10)luca (4th)
11) pinkstars (13thDec)
12) mylvera (4 dec, pm only)

Kam, looks like almost equal votes for 4th Dec and 13 Dec. I'm ok for 4th Dec but forgot RaeAnne has Yamaha trial class in the morning. I think I can only make it around 5pm, after her nap. :p

hi mommies

long time no "see" u all. Just decided to pop by today and suddenly read all these BAD reviews on Waldorf education by blessedbaby. Felt the need to "defend" them

Blessedbaby
I'm a little appalled of the things u said about Waldorf...from our conversation last time, i tot u did extensive research of both montessori and waldorf system, but coming in here and sprouting almost nonsensical stuffs about Waldorf being all fairy tales and daydreaming REALLY proved that u know literally nothing about Waldorf. If u dunno something in-depth enough, DO NOT anyhow bash them and say u dont believe in fairy tales. Are u implying that parents worldwide (me included) who chose Waldorf are parents who believe in fairy tales? Waldorf is NOTHING fairy tale. Yes, it encourages kids to be creative, but reading what u wrote about Waldorf clearly points to me, u have the same misconception of Waldorf education systems as of other parents.

I'm not into bashing Montessori, but if u want to compare, here's what I think of:

1) Montessori kids are rigid and NOT independent. Contrary to what u said, WALDORF kids are the ones that promotes independence and waldorf kids are more gentle and sharing. Montessori encourage kids to work at their own play/work station and no sharing in the early days.

2) Montessori promotes only ONE way of learning style. If a stacking block is provided the child can only learn ONE way to play with it, ie stacking it vertically, god forbids if the child play with it any OTHER way, she/he will be corrected immediately. Whereas in Waldorf, the child is free to play with and explore the block in any way he/she likes (with the guide of the teacher) cos Waldorf believes eventually the child WILL learn the vertical stack. THIS encourage independence. AND creativity. It does NOT promotes daydreaming and fairy tales.

From my discussion with Waldorf parents worldwide, esp HK, Waldorf kids in HK successfully immersed themselves into intl schools. They may have a hard time initially (about 3-6months to adapt) but becos of their ability to adapt and learn fast the fun way (learning is not stressed as academic but the fun way), they will excel the normal students who were being spoon fed the knowledge (ie Montessori)

Personally, i dont believe in one system being superior than the other. There will always be 2 side of a coin and pros and cons to any system. But the key thing is to KNOW more in-depth before giving out your comments like this.

It is widely known that Waldorf education was founded much earlier than Montessori. a TRUE Montessori way a decade ago is a rigid way (which works for some parents) hence the MOntessori now has actually adapted SOME of the Waldorf way ie LEARN THRU PLAY. Lots of other education center has adopted this form of advertising which was derived from the original Waldorf system. There's not much TRUE Montessori schools anymore, particularly in Sg. (I dunno much about Oz so shall refrain from commenting on that)

I'm sorry with all the CAPS but honestly, i wish u refrained from bashing the Waldorf system if u havent done in-depth research (i know u said u did, but it's obviously not the case here). I'm not defending them simply becos Rylee is in a Waldorf school but i really believe in it. Rylee's going to start Reception Year at 4, and Primary 1 at 5yrs old here in most of the intl schools anyway, so she'll be out of the system in a year or so. But if they have a primary school of waldorf, i'll be the first to sign up. But that doesnt mean i'm a parent that BELIEVES or LIVES in a fairy tale.

Disclaimer Note : No offense to mommies in Sg that DO NOT believes in Waldorf and going the conventional route. Pls accept my apologies if i offended anyone in the process of explaining myself and educating Blessedbaby on her bashing comments.

Oh and your comments as follow:

In short, Waldorf Education is arty approach:
- focus on artistic and imaginative play - <font color="ff0000">errr...yes they do, but it's good for their brain</font>
- focus on fairy tales - <font color="ff0000">Rylee is in Waldorf school and NEVER ONCE does the teacher focus on fairy tales! In fact, i wont say it's against, but it definitely does not promote fairy tales, esp Disney ones. The stories that teachers told during story time is generic and the books displayed are generic too. It's the parents (me) that exposed the kids to fairy tales. (Disney)</font>
- focus on ceremony / ritual - <font color="ff0000">this is bad? In my opinion, this one actually enhances the child's understanding and respect of different cultures. I wouldnt say it's ritual, but we have different theme on certain weeks like Mooncake Festival, Christmas, and even Deepavali (where indian kids are minority here). It helps the kids to understand different ceremonies of different racial group and respect them.</font>

Basically, teachers at Waldorf don't teach your child anything, but they expect your child to know EVERYTHING.

<font color="ff0000">Teachers at Waldorf DO NOT expect the child to know everything. They just DONT push them to learn and TRUST that the child himself/herself will learn it in time when she's ready. For eg, reading and language. Its done thru songs and story time. Counting is done by involving the kids to bake and counting the no. of apples required to bake an apple muffin etc.</font>

For me, I chose Montessori because my kid(s) love to get involved in 'real life', how things work, doing 'adult tasks' for themselves, problem solving etc. To me, Waldorf is more on the (wonderfully) abstract imaginary creative side of the brain, which would suit kids who spend more time in that sort of space mentally - arty, individualistic types.
<font color="ff0000">this is actually the same aspect of Waldorf too. We also use glass cups, proper brooms etc to assimilate the kids into the adult world.</font>

I wouldn't risk myself (or my children's futures at least) by letting my children wondering dreaming for the rest of their life if I let them follow Waldorf for 12 years. I think it's only good for 1st few years of life then it will come down on how they are going to integrate with normal school when they don't know how to read (by Pri years)?

<font color="ff0000">....AND parents of Waldorf are RISKING our children's future??</font> This is the most offensive statement. Which upsets me, blessedbaby. Think before u open ur mouth.

Oh and to add, dont u know "the first few years of life" is the basic core foundation of a person's life. It is what help to shape how the child grows into an adult.

I've a few friends here in HK that enrolls their children to Montessori schools by thinking MOntessori promotes independence too. Bear in mind this school is very TRUE blood Montessori. Within 6mths, ALL of them withdrawn their kids. They didnt go Waldorf cos it's a little out of the way, but they went the normal mainstream route. Their responses of reason? Too rigid and children dont learn to share. One kid even pushes another away cos she told her mom "Mommy, arent we supp to play with our own toys and others should jus wait for their turn?" Yes, it taught them to wait for their turn at different "workstation" but they're not taught to play TOGETHER in harmony and solving conflicts of preschoolers. One mom said the environment is so cold and no kids giggling and enjoying themselves. Having said that i know this method works for some parents. So this mom pulled the kid out and back to mainstream route where her daughter is smiling again with her friends.

None of the Waldorf parents i know pulled out of the school with the reason of not liking the school or thinking the system is bad. Speaks volumes of the two systems, dont u think?

And if u think Waldorf kids grow of to be dreaming for the rest of their life", then allow me to make the same sweeping statements for Montessori kids ...will they grow up to be selfish and self-centered (not sharing) and rigid OCD adults? Sounds a bit unfair rite?

To all other mommies, sorry for the 2 long and ranting (bordering on anger and injustice) posting. Bad day.

Mylife, oh oh, cool down! No point getting so upset because of of difference in opinion ma. I m a waldorf mummy too n i did get upset after reading injustice comments about waldorf too but after a while, i think as long as we believe what is best for our kids then dun bother so much about others comments, just like people arguing about different religion, dun u think so. just respect what they think is correct ba.

Anyway, ur comments about montessori kids playing at their own n others wait for their turn is really true. That is what the teacher told me too. I mightbhave to send s there if I really need to cuz it's nearest to my house. The thing that comforts me is that their playstation or arts n crafts are mostly wood stuff like waldorf, n got lots of finger play. However the doll has got features la :p anyway, s doesn't like there when I brought him there though. If everything doesnt work out well, I might send him to waldorf kindergarten at the east lo.

Hey cheer up, don't be angry Liao .

tongtong
thanks for trying to soothe my anger. Haha. Erm, this is not about keeping my own opinion to myself leh. i've always think like u, as long as our kids are happy, that's all that matters, and of cos, i DO NOT impose my thots on others...but this is erm...a bit different leh. To me, it's an outright insult. Granted, if one thinks Montessori is better, go ahead, but u dont have to be condescending to any other method or insult other methods just to prove ur selection is better or wiser right? If talking about religion, one should also just say the reasons why u chose that religion, and not put down the other religions KNOWINGLY, right?

I do not know if i'm considered "friends" with her, but she has came to me privately several times asking for comments/opinions/advices about Waldorf, knowing fully well i'm a "waldorf mom" and i've always try my best to let her know what i've learned from the school and now she comes in here all almighty spouting nonsense about waldorf being a fairy tale...erm, it's hard not to take it personally and feel it like a slap on the face, u know?

Just like breastfeeding, u all know i'm passionate about BFing, but i do not and will never impose my beliefs on BFing becos i firmly believe "to each its own". I dont go around saying "parents who feed their kids FM are putting their kids future at risk" becos i know lots of kids who are on FM are thriving well too!

It's another issue for u cos if the kindy location makes more sense then try to make it work. Personally, i'm not against Montessori and i do think children are very adaptable. Like i said earlier, there're always 2 sides to a coin.

Janbb
Tks
having 3 GG to b challenging ESP my 2 v active. Jumping ard all day n arguing n fighting.

Krystle
My girl at Seimpi Funan sun class, wkday at Whitesands. Good teacher makes a diff I agree. I still contemplating if wan to start Elliot cos 2 hr a wk draining me. Can't imagine sit in w E!!

My life, oh, now I understand why you r so furious about it. Ok la, dun be angry anymore ok, if not later u imsomnia leh. I m already tired of being angry with s as I feel that i have lost my authority over him. Very jia lat, that is why i wanna send him off to school again. Ai, I feel very lousy leh honestly.

ya I m not against Montessori too , just that I prefer waldorf which is nearest to my principle lo. Same as u hehe.

Wa, whole day i don't dare to come into post after seeing 3 'angry' posts. Luckily, Tongtong helped to defuse some of the tension.

Can I share some happy news? Haha, I got a new laptop at Sitex yesterday, traded in my old unstable HP laptop that has been in and out of the service centre 3 times so far. After selling old iphone3 ($450) and trading in old laptop ($250), I only paid $149 for my new lenovo laptop. hehe.

Steph, Kam, guess what. Delphine came for demo today and my hubby was so impressed after he cleaned our queen size mattress and suck out all the dirt that he decided to buy it. But we got the cheaper, silver series and over 3 year installment plan lar so each month only need to pay $80. This time, I'm the one who tell him even though the machine is good but no need to buy lar cos I'm not working mah. But he thinks the old vaccuum cleaner cannot make it liao cos it emits smelly air plus we need something to clean mattress regularly (RaeAnne peed on our bed again today, last week she puked all over her mattress
). So he thinks no point paying $ for cleaning services on ad hoc basis.

The salesguy who came down was also very nice and patient, not pushy at all so that also helped cos my hubby doesn't like hard sell too. So, if anyone wants Delphine referral, look for me ya. For a free home demo to clean 1 mattress or 1 sofa, you can get a free small stainless steel pot that can be used to cook porridge for kids. If I get enough referrals, can get 3 stainless steel pots so I also gain lar. hehe.

Pauline
Why my angry post makes u feel scared leh? Ur not the one who did this mah. Sorry fo scaring u

To all mommies

I apologize for my outburst. Paiseh. But really feel the need to speak out. I'll retreat back to my "corner" of the world now :p u all can contd to talk cock

Tongtong
Hahaha. Thanks for thinking on my behalf. Tats why need to vent out otherwise will brew inside and worsened the insomnia hahhahaha

Ello.. Wow.. read such a "hot" post in the morning.

Just want to say that everyone has their own beliefs. In education, there are many schools of thoughts. Just depends on what you subscribe to.

Morning all!

Mylife,
You certainly have your right to speak out. Just like blessedbaby, she can also share what she thinks. Maybe, just maybe, the environment at OZ is very different from that at HK leh. What she said may not be true but that's what she thinks. And I don't think anyone here will choose or not choose either education system for our kids just based on what she said.

I seconded mcfluffy, that each parent has their own beliefs. And that there is no one single education that can fit all, so we do what we think is good for our kids loh.

kitsune,
Congrates!! You own a Delfine now!!! Enjoy!

tongtong,
What happened to S or to you? Sorry didn't get back to you on meeting up yesterday. Cos I really didn't know what to do or where to bring him to. Only on Sunday night, I decided to bring him to lunch with daddy followed by a movie. Otherwise would love to meet up with you and S.

<font size="+2"><font color="ff0000">RE: GATHERING</font></font>
So how? Saturday PM? I would think it would be better to host at someone's place.

Re: gathering

Count me out. Sorry, but the boys are down. Better not let them go spread the virus. Furthermore, tis sunday my elder son has to perform for the grad concert. So sorry..

Pauline, my friend also bot delphin n referred me for the free cleaning. But delphin came once Liao, can come again??

Kam, nothing serious happened la, just that I am tired of getting angry with s when he dint listen to me. But I feltnguilty after every time I raised mynvoice, so felt very stressed. N many ppl including parents urging me to go back to work, so very stressed. At one hand i want to take care of him, another hand they saw me giving myself stress when looking after him thus I became stressed, so I felt very lousy, dunno whether yo can what i mean.

kitsune,
I was thinking to getting the free demo but also very scared they hard sell and make me chase them out of my house...hahaha!

tongtong,
Don't get too stressed up. Me also very depressed cos B too free at home and has been behaving very badly these few days. Whacked him liao I also feel guilty but he doesn't listen no matter how many times I say. I'm praying so hard for the holidays to be over soon...sigh.

Mylife, dun know what to say mah, like walking into warzone, can't possibly ignore the 'artillery' even if I am not the one who started the 'war'.

Kam, thanks but should congratulate my hubby. keke. This Thurs is the training session at my house but the sales guy said he will train the maid n us personally since he stays nearby n cos I requested for him to train us how to vacuum ceiling fans. oh yes, I got a free steamer too so hope that will help get rid of stains in the mattress.

Tongtong, I ask for u.

Yvonne, I know what u mean. but this guy is very nice n patient. imagine he waited 20 mins for me cos i was selling RL's used birthday party stuff to a forum mummy. he never hard sell or use scare tactics which I dislike. his style is to let the machine do the selling, n recommend us the cheaper range (function all the same except only 2 power settings) n add free gifts when he can.

The other day I met an ex-colleague who quit her job to be SAHM. She has a girl and boy. Funny thing is now she sends both her kids to full day cc so she eng eng go shopping everyday...good life hor.

Yvonne, hehe, your colleague quit to be a real 'tai tai', good life.
maybe she will tear her hair out with 2 kids alone at home? I think as a sahm, I tend to be more harsh on the kids when they misbehave cos face them so many hours a day instead of just a few hours at night. :p

yo mummies
finally got posts liao. i also kept quiet coz it was a very tense situation....red hawk down ley....

btw, mylife, wont comment on the issue but just to cheer u up, the vitamins gummies i ordered online for you (as a gift yah, dont say NO) arrived liao so next time you come to sg i will pass u. not so fast expire lah

tongtong
last friday (last day of packing), i was having a bad runny nose (due to the dust), had to look after X, and pack (hb went to work - 1st day of work in his new job), running fever due to the nose liao....i couldnt take it, i was shouting and very short tempered with X the whole day. i also VERY VERY guilty. after shouting at him i always feel very guilty. usually he spill soup or rice i will say "its ok, lets go clean it all up later after your meal" but i was going "%$^FYTF^%##$~!! arggg!!!" to him on Friday...
very bad hor?
after hb came back home, we sat down and i told him about this matter, i realised my stress rubbed off onto him and he was on tiptoe most of the time coz he dunno when i will burst out again
aiyah heartpain. i feel that im not a good SAHM leh, if i ever get bz for a certain period...how how how?? LOL

kitsune
my 13 year seahorse mattress is a little tattered and we dont have the $$ to change a new mattress now so if they can come to my house for foc demo, i dont mind lar...but hb must be ard? my hb also dun like pushy sales leh

tongtong,
OIC. You have to learn to relax if you want to be a SAHM. Like Kitsune said it, you have to face him so many hours a day instead of just a few hours at night! Maybe you can use a little notebook to jot down what and how he makes your blood boil. Then at the end of the day, after he goes to bed, you read the little notebook and see if there is anything you can change accordingly?

We are very "lucky" lately as HR has been a good boy, very good boy that we enjoy spending time with him so much!