(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

luca
my apps actually if i never delete hor, overshot the allowed 11pages. heng i got jailbreak my iphone to allow more spaces + having folders. i never upgrade to OS4 so i dont have folders function. but jailbreaking my phone long time ago allows this function. sama sama lah

i have ard 300-400apps...........just now delete some stuff, left 3gb left...very insecure with such low disk space leh heehee

steph
huh, philips so ex!! but i tot for shavers, braun like more trustworthy brand...老字号 etc?

tongtong,
dr said it's virus leh. i guess u catch it like how u catch any virus lor.

kam,
want to check with u, what did u feed HR when he had his stomach flu? pd said to stick to bland and easy to digest foods which is essentially only porridge. but i think my girl xian of porridge already. also porridge not so filling so she gets hungry very fast, but at the same time she can't eat much each time so wondering what i can feed her in between.

hey mummies !
just received a call from YWCA cc !!! got a place for Tate starting Jan2011 ! Full day child care at $350 after subsidy. They increasd their fees wor.
This year is only $267.10 next yr is $350 !!! I think they know there is demand and increase their fees !

So this Thurs no need to go to PCF le... but my sis say I boliao leh got maid still send boy to cc then maid so eng at home
now make me wonder am I making a wrong move...

krystle,
actually its just like 4 months away, not very very long lar hehe probably by then got newer version of iphone 4 liao.

pixie,
eh i thought there's once u jailbreak n something went wrong to ur hp, in d end u had to switch back to original? so u jailbreak again?

so many?!!! oh my, do u really use or need so many apps? ;p

grumpus
correct, my gp told me before, stomach flu and even diarrhea can be contagious wor

chaye
GOOD NEWS!! congrats!!!

luca
yes, if you jb and something is wrong, you can reset to factory defaults, meaning un-jb....thereafter, you can jb again (and again, and again, and again)..........

i have lots of downloaded games. not fun liao then delete them away. so i deleted away lots, but still stay in my library mah

pixie,
ya dat i noe, so u r bent on jb-ing it lar. i jb once, but later learnt that the warranty will be void, KS switch back to defaults.

like very luan leh if its still in ur library. usually i will remove it thoroughly, but still keep those paid apps.

Pixie,
Wah, so many apps. I hardly used any apps. Even HR lost interest liao, I have to force him to play with the apps.

Chaye,
Good news! Congrates! Aiya, no need to think so much lah. Try first lah. If good for T, then continue loh, if no good, can withdraw mah.

Grumpus,
Stomach virus is indeed very contagious.

We didn't change his food leh. He just refused to eat. And when he started to eat, he eats the usual rice and noodle loh. If Lexie has no more vomitting, and if she is willing to eat, think she can eat any food bah. Maybe less oily.

Kam,
hmmm ok thanks. prob now is she's not really eating. and when she eats she complains tummy pain/uncomfortable then dun want to eat anymore. scared her stomach too empty cos she got lots of wind, keep burping and farting

chaye, just let T go to school la, she is not sian staying at home with the maid meh> hehe. anyway, maid got housework to do at home ma. unless your maid is so good that she can teach T :p

grumpus, maybe you wanna ask ur gal what ';s the food she wants to eat if she doesnt want porridge? but maybe must tell her that she cannot have oily food for the time being.

Chaye, $350 for full day CC is cheap wor. Mine is $470 for half day CC only leh. And yes, I've got a maid like you too. Worse, I'm not even working.

But I want RaeAnne to learn more since she is already talking and understanding a lot nowadays. And I want to look for some form of work next year so I can't continue with 2 hr playgroup is tough cos will have to tax MIL a lot if I work. So even though it's very exp for me now, got to bite the bullet and get her settled her in CC before I can find work next year lor. :p

Don't care about what your sis in law say lar. Maids are not reliable and they definitely can't teach Tate. If CC turns out to be good for Tate, then sack the maid, cos salary and levy already costs more than $500+, save more $, even better.

Grumpus, I will cook bland food but those that she likes eg. chicken macaroni, chicken porridge or fish ball noodles/bee hoon.

tongtong, kitsune,
thanks for the advise.
haiz, she has totally no appetite. everything also dun want to eat. this morn she said she wanted noodles. tot she was feeling better so made her some macaroni soup for dinner.
end up she see the bowl only run away say dun want. ask her what she wants, everything also dun want.

did manage to coax her to eat a few spoonful of plain rice with soup only. and that was her dinner.

she had some fishballs with porridge the last 2 meals and i think that she's not digesting them well cos she keeps burping and i can get the smell of fishballs.

just 2 days and she's gone so skinny already *sob sob*

Grumpus, have u tried durians? Keke no offence meant, just wana make this holiday a lighter mood. It's ok if yr gal don't wan food after numerous vomit. She could be scared of the feelling. Give her milk for time being n most imptly, keep her hydrate. Take care.

mylvera,
hahaha my girl hates durians!!!
thanks for the advise, even milk also must coax her to drink but quite glad this morn she drank a small bottle. i also do try to keep her hydrated and sometimes give her glucose water instead of plain water.

grumpus, if she doesnt want food, just let it be, but as what mylvera said, keep her hydrate. it;s normal that she doesnt have appetite cuz not feeling well ma. i suggest you give her fruit and veg juice or veg soup. at least you dont need to worry about the nutrients intake. if you have juicer even better, juice your own.

tongtong,
thanks! that's wat i've been doing. i've been cooking her porridge using veg soup so if she doesn't eat the porridge at least i'll let her drink the soup.

she's much better today, managed to eat half bowl of porridge each for lunch and dinner.

yooooooooooo mummies
no one in here today?

luca
jb wont void ur warranty in a sense.
if you jb and you need to bring the phone for repair, just restore to default/factory settings lor.

Yay!! It is Friday!!! Busy doing last min packing for our trip to japan early tomorrow morning.... Hubby bringing J there for Disneyland and to celebrate our 11th year wedding anniversary....

Kam,
can't join u on the playdate cos we are not back yet. Although J has been asking me to bring him to ur place :p

Mandy,
Long time no see :)

Have fun in Japan. I am sure J would love Disneyland!!! Oh, and Happy Anniversary! 11 years, sure a good reason to celebrate.

Oh, J misses Aunty Kam huh :-o Never mind the playdate, wait till next one.

pixie,
its a hassle for me lar. anyway ever since the appolus website is down, there isnt any free apps for me to dl. so just stick to default.

hi mummies, was out yesterday for dental appt so didn't post though i did check in. Hee. raelynn did her first poo job in potty, hope there is more to come.

Twinkystar,
Hahahha, hope you enjoy your trip ok? Nice time to see Autumn leaves now. Disneyland is sure fun for J.
Hope all those info I gave are helpful.

aye, friday liao then everyone started to pop in to post liao hurhur!!

mandy.....have FUN!!

kitsune
wah!! RL so fast can poo in potty liao? X just started only wahahhaha...

btw mummies, some good news....
my maid is coming in dec (if no delay), hooray!
fast hor? my trusty (and a bit rusty) aunt is a super customer for this maid agency. being the very very very nitpicking auntie, she got super high expectations of her maids so she has selected one, done phone interview
23yo, rabbit horoscope (my aunt even nitpick about matching 生肖 one...faintz)...1st timer working

can i ask mummies with maid:-
1. if i take the course online now, and my maid delayed. is there a "validity" to the course? i.e. must take course and take maid within x months?
2. the maid levy i have to pay thru wat? got ppl tell me some $$ is deducted thru CPF....which one issit liao ah?

another good news
yesterday took half day to attend a meet the teachers session since pre-N term is over for X. boy im glad that i didnt skipped it. it took me 1.5hrs to travel to the school (from my office), just for a short 15-20mins chat. dont seemed to worth it rite. coz after that still must trek my way home...
but the main teacher whom i spoke with she is very positive about X. she said although he is the youngest in the class, he is very confident, super motor skills (meaning can run and jump very fast, need to chase after him lar), and good vocab (some words he knows while the older kids dunno)...
they all cant bear to see him go on Tuesday (last day of school term). she kept saying x very cute and is a child who craves for routine...
speech wise, she said that yes although he is slow, but he makes his meaning across in short sentences, is good enough for his age liao.
insightful discussion, and i get to keep his pre-N portfolio. list down all his capabilities (grading) and artwork in a file....

sorry for long post!

pixie,
Seem like X is doing very well in school according to the teacher. You can fang xin to let him move on to full day care come Jan2011.
Hey...i didn't know got such thingy as pre-N portfolio?? Hmm...Z's parent teacher session will be on the 4th Dec...i will find out more from his teacher. Yesterday Z kena bruised upper lips! Teacher told my FIL that he fell down & knock (dunno where?)...dunno how exactly but i think teacher mentioned him jumping up & dwn
i think i will call the teacher later to find out...can't wait till 4th Dec liao:p

pixie, haha, hers is prompted by babysitter lar not self initiated but i am happy none the less. 1 poo job in potty equal 1 diaper saved.

Wa, good job for xandall! raeanne's current playgroup never has review so I can only look forward to parents meet teachers next year when she goes to cc. :p

next fri, they r having annual outing to the zoo. I am thinking of bringing raelynn too since she can walk Liao. but must buy a ticket for maid too then. Hee.

pixie,
That's really great news!

Steph,
think all cc will give a portfolio for the parents to keep after the parent-teacher meeting. But ya, this kind of thing (falling down) don't have to wait till the meeting lah, call the teachers asap.

We went for our parent-teacher meeting last Saturday. But it's focused on the montessori and chinese classes, not the "normal" classes. HR is doing well and he seems to enjoy montessori teaching a lot. His montessori teacher said she has seen many super/hyperactive children improved on their attention span after attending montessori classes, not sure how true. His teacher also observed that he is a perfectionist :) His Chinese teacher said his mandarin is good, can talk in full sentence, and HR showing off by reciting the 三字经 in front of his teacher without us prompting him so, his teacher was surprised he already can recite so much :)

steph
we are having the same centre - little wings. they will give you a kindy portfolio, with your child's photo in front. then they will assess your child's capabilities, plus their past artwork all filed at the back. like a souvenir lah. not bad rite

kitsune
i think PG got no such review, but kindy have bah. furthermore mine & steph one is running like a business, so their ISO must be "gao gao" one - hence got such stuff for parents LOL

pixie, it's ok lar. only pay $130 per month so can't expect too much. Anyway, the teacher always tells me when I pick her up so I know her strengths (very good at talking n scissors n looking after her things but not good at sharing n dough work or pasting cos she doesn't like her hands to be dirty). Raeanne has so much artwork that I threw away most, only kept a few that I know r truly made by her. Mid dec, she's going elfa cc Liao, think she will bring back even more artwork.

Kam,
how often is this portfolio given to parents? annually or after parent teacher session?
Alas i tried calling the cc jus now but no one pick up then i remember that the cc closed for today due to teachers off-site training. So, no class for Z today.

pixie,
yes i remember the principal mentioned about the child's portfolio...meaning they do keep records/track of the child progress & artwork etc. During my last parent teacher session in Aug, i did not went down to the cc, i talked to the form teacher on the phone only & nothing was mentioned with regards to his portfolio. I guess probably bcos Z was still new to the CC (joined July)...

steph,
HR's cc gives us the artworks after every terms end (meaning quarterly) and the montessori report book to read and sign to acknowledge. But I have only attended one parent-teacher meeting as HR is only here for 4 months. Not sure how often they do the meeting. When the 3rd term ended, no meeting, just gave me the report book and artworks, but that could be because HR was only there for 1+ month then.

kam, how much is hao re's cc fees? Thought Montessori is very exp, what is it exactly? i still dun know what is their teaching methodology. Suaku.

kitsune,
Not too ex cos it's not branded and it's at CCK. Monthly fee is $800 before subsidy.

Montessori uses special designed materials for the kids to explore, and they use real life material for the kids to play with. I don't know exactly how the class is conducted though. And the kids only get 1 hour of montessori class every day. I haven't read up much.

Hi Kam & Pauline,

Re: Montessori School of Thoughts

Juz to share my findings. No offence to montessori. Correct me if I'm wrong ;)

My hubby & I had almost put my boy in a Montessori early this year but something hold us back. I was "alert" by one of a shichida mother who has placed her son in Montessori many years ago. She shared that her son has difficulty coping in pri school. Strange to us, thus, I did find out more thur' kiasu parent website (You may wish to go thru' under this section to give u a better view).

I have also asked another friend but seem that her son in P2 this year has no problem at all. She tried to explain to me why some Montessori kid is unable to adapt in singapore pri sch system.

Eg) The teacher is teaching ABC today. If your child is able to understand what is "ABC" today, the teacher will teach the child "DEF" tmr. If those slower child is unable to understand "ABC", the teacher will con't to teach until the child is able to understand. Which is good cos the teacher will ensure the child fully understand then proceed.

But when enter s'pore pri sch, the education system is totally different from montessori method. Do you think the teacher will wait for you to take things slowly like before?? The teacher will juz move on & those slower montessori kid will definitely suffer.

Also, montessori kids are group into 4-6. They learn in very small group. When enter pri sch, is such a "culture shock" to them cos small group learning has became a BIG class.

The pros abt montessori kids are that they are very vocal, very independent & strong in motorskills. They are trained to decide which activity they like to do everyday. They used "real knife" to do cutting with teacher guidance. Is very "ang mo" style & some mummies here actually did a gd job with their kids at home too.

But there again, there are many montessori school in s'pore. Some are fully authentic while some are partial. Every kid is different, some can cope it very well while some can't. So do find out more before confirming the pre-sch for your kids.

Kam,
So after the subsidy, you are paying $500? That is alot to me leh... But then again, school with montessori curriculum tends to charge more.
But if HR is coping well there, then that is the most impt pt.

Janbb,
Thanks for the montessori explanation. I did not much abt that. Well, I am not so into Montessori or any other teaching methods. I just put my girl in neighbouring PCF next yr and let her learn and follow our typical PAP teaching... I think in this way, she will have better adaptability when comes to P1.

Oh, is J attending Shichida Kindy? Coz heard it closed down... Hope J is not affected.

BTW, I think you are very success in your home teaching efforts with J (thru your blog). Very impressive leh! Whenever I read your blog, I got the urge to become SAHM and teach my girl just like you do.

JanBB,
I am impressed! You do more homework on Montessori than I do! Thanks for sharing.

I do not worry at all. For HR's cc, the Montessori class is only conducted one hour per day. Other than that, it's like any other cc. His class size is not small though, just like his previous cc.

But you are right on the every kid learns different things part. And it's actually good for HR cos he learns fast. So ya, it suits for some but not all.

Maybe I should go and sit in to see how the class is conducted. I asked to do that when I wanted to enroll HR, but we were rushing to get a cc for HR that time (remember the big hooha we had with his previous cc) so I didn't go and sit in at the end. So we just signed him up without finding out more, cos only montessori cc have vacanccies and we like this cc the most.

krystle,
你又提起我的伤心事..... We have $0.00 subsidy :-( For full day cc around my place, be it Montessori or non-Montessori, it's around this fee, ranging from $650 to $1100.

Krystle,

J is in zoophonic daily class. Shichida is enrichment sun class to develop right & left brain. No connection to the kindy at all. I have learnt a lot from the class as 1 parent is supposed to sit in together with kid. He has attended 1 full year there which i think is enough & I hv decided to pull him out next year. But I will still con't to do their home practice at home.

Cos there are many other areas to expose him at the age 3-4 ;) Call me KS mummy, haha. I'm looking into music, speech & drama class. Btw, can you share with me on the music class @ Funan? Is it good? Or Yamaha better?

Haha, you make me blushed. No lah, sometimes i actually feel that I didn't do much at home. There are good & bad times with them at home. They can make us very happy this moment & angry the next minute. So need to learn to swallow it & move on, haha.

Kam,

No problem. But I also hearsay. So better attend the class & find out more. Anyway, think shld be no problem for jan baby cos no matter how slow, still have lots of time to catch up.

I really dun dare to risk cos my boy is dec baby. I juz need a simple school that can prepare him for P1 will be good enough, haha ;)

Juz scroll up the previous posts.

Wow Mom2nat ~ Congrats!!!
U & mylvera are my idol ;) Mother of Three!!

Dunno why my boy keep telling me that he wants to carry baby whenever he sees a baby outside. Haha, hinting me to have #3 kekeke???

Are you all interested to do a x'mas gathering for the kids this year?? Since last yr was b'day bash, why not arrange a x'mas gathering for kids & mummies in dec??? Anyone interested? Annual meeting for the kids to show face ;p ??

Kam,
不好意思!我不是故意的!
I thought PR also have subsidy...

But at least, HR does not have to serve NS next time, right?

JanBB,
Seimpi @ Funan was not bad. But I already pulled out my girl coz so suay the teacher was changed in Jun and the new one sucked big time. It is entirely the teacher's problem, not the school. Even though the school offered another class (whose teacher is really good according to some parents), but the timing was Sun mid and late PMs which clashed with my girl's nap. So have to give up. Anyway, she is starting N1 next year so let her get used to proper classroom environment first.

For music appreciation, I still think better to start from 4 and if the child is interested. You know how hard it is to get a child to sit at the keyboard and playing the notes now. They are simply too distracted... and most of them will start running around and disturbing other kids too...

krystle,
Wrong again, hehe.... HR has to serve NS :-( As PR, we don't get all the good things, but for all the not-so-good things (like NS), your gov won't leave us out for sure, haha!

JanBB,
I am interested! I was thinking of asking the mummies if we should have a gathering in Dec/Jan.

What's your suggestion?

kam, Janbb, thanks for sharing. I asked cos a fellow feb09 ftwm mummy is putting her gal at half day cc with montessori n it's $700+ AFTER subsidy. I find it very exp so I wonder what they do.
I asked hubby before n he said for Montessori, they basically sit in different clusters n the kids choose which cluster they want to be in n do their own thing so I dun really know what exactly except that hubby is not keen on Montessori. maybe for the reasons that Janbb cited.

Wa, Janbb, i think u spend quite a bit on jayden's education hor? got zoophonics, shicida n upcoming music/drama. I want to do the same but got budget constraint so must find work next year. I have signed Raeanne for Yamaha music wonderland course in Jan11. will share if it is good.

Pauline,

Is the same to me. If you dun invest when they are young, what happen if they can't cope in pri sch? We will still spend a bomb, throw them into many tuition centre. At that time, even more stress. Prepared them early better then cry with them next time. At least now, they learn thru' play with no stress at all now & they dun even know what is stress ;)

To me, building up their basic foundation is more impt. Of cos, i didn't expect them to be scholars or fetch the top results. Can pass with average score every year & proceed accordingly will make me very happy already ;p

The old saying "Can study mean can study, cannot study also bo bian" (read in hokkien, pls, haha)

Kam ~ We do a simple x'mas gathering if the rest are interested. Find a date, time & venue ;) Dun need prepare anything extra like last year, heehee. Already know each other faces very well liao ;)

Kam,
Opps, I am wrong again... (as usual).
Haiz, our govt so smart and calculative...
And yet, many still wants to become a SG PR...
My China coll is very sad coz her baby boy's application for PR was rejected... Now have to engage lawyer to appeal.

Been MIA for long time, came in to read some from Jan 10 thread, coz my 2nd girl is only 9 kilos, and she is not meaty even though she eats alot. ;-( I think it's normal since she is so mobile now.

Now, let me send you the link about Montessori and of course depends on what you want which education for your child. No offence anyone. ;-)

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Montessori_method

Montessori is to teach a child become very independent, and prepare everything for her future academic.
Because children who studies Montessori are very independent, therefore it will take a bit of time when they transfer to normal school system.
The simple like this: montessori students no need to get permission to go to toilet, but in normal system, they have to ask for permission.
Montessori children do not disturb others while they are busy & they expect the same.
Montessori method brings up a calm person because teachers/parents show them respect, understanding and give them time.

Montessori has no trademark, therefore, many many institutions/ child care around the world copy their method & modify at the same time.

To train a child to this method, it takes 9 years (from 3 years old to 12 years old) so that they can become the best of who they are. The older the child is, the better chance for transition to normal school (easy to cope)

Just to say, most of Montessori students in AU have very good academic, they will continue to very best school/ uni in the future without any difficulties.

The only thing about Montessori (for my concern) is that they don't focus on music/outdoor activities much

If you say Montessori students may slack when they go to P1, then you should read about Waldoft education. ;-)

Just share my understanding here. I may not have typed all what I should & know about but I hope it's good enough. ;-)

krsytle,
Aiyoh, so sad hor. I also heard from my colleage that her friend's (China) girl's PR application was rejected! The parents were so devastated as they have to send they baby back to China :-( Wonder what the gov is thinking - either they don't want so many PR from China or they want to force them to become citizens?

JanBB,
Sure. Thanks to FB, we know can recognise almost all mummies and babies easily. You get the ball rolling lah.

blessedbaby,
Thanks for sharing. Looks like I am the only one who didn't read up on montessori but sent my kid to one :p

I actually have no preference on a particular education system, be it Montessori or Waldolf. Every kid is different, so there is no "right" or "perfect" education system that fits all. So to me, it's more important for the parents to understand their kids and guide them along, according to their likes and dislikes, strength and weaknesses.

Montessori certainly has it pros and cons. What I like most is that they give time to the students to do whatever they like, with full concentration, which may help them to establish the love of learning.

I read parenting materials of all sort. Whatever fits my taste and whatever I think useful for my kids.

Currently I got hoked of Charlotte Mason. But not much time, so still touching a little only.