(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Pixie,
It's the usual viral fever. Let him rest and drink lots of fluids. He is fine.

Haha, luckily I never know of Grohe or Blum or whatever branded stuff, money saving for me :)

Never mind, spend all you want but if you are selling your JE flat next time when your MIL moves, cannot recoup your investment hor. So, better stay longer to enjoy your grohe mixers and blum fittings. kekeke.

contractor very good at 'upselling' you. Last time, mine also like that. At first I didn't want to hack my toilets cos still usable though the design very 'orbid', very different from the resort style that I like. But he convinced me to change cos he said most people don't like their butts to touch something that previous owners etc have used for 7 years. And sometimes, the toilet and flushing not very good liao, next time want to change even more difficult cos cannot upset the waterproofing so must hack everything. But I draw the line at the flooring, die die refuse to hack even though the colour clashes with my resort living. Cos if I redo flooring, got to budget at least $10k more. :p

if u can, buy ur electrical appliances from those neighbourhood stores,nt sure if it is called Goh ah bee ?

usu prices much cheaper than best, harvey... n free delivery, sometimes they giv freebies if u buy more..

aqua
yes i did check with goh ah bee but their prices for the hob n hood i wanted r more ex than another neighbourhood shop. plus i bought all my appliances n big ticket items from another one of these shops in JE for my SK flat 5 yrs ago..so i called them today too...after comparing prices liao then decide lo
sure cfm get from neighbourhood shop

Aqua, hehe, I bought everything from goh ah bee too. Saved a lot compared to best denki but got to keep going best denki to compare and copy down model no. kekeke.

Sigh, wish I can move house or do renovation to my house. I want a built in tv cabinet so that can get a nice LED TV. My existing tv cabinet is too small for LED TV and hifi. :p

pixie,
i thought u r just doing minor reno, but now like got so many things to change. :p
when are u shifting in?

hope X's fever will b gone soon.

pixie,
You can get reasonable good price from Kong Tai Electrical Trading #01-221, 504 Jurong West St 51, Jurong West
p: 65658924
I bought alot of elect appliances from them at gd rates

luca
i not doing minor reno ah
i tearing the whole place down....literally
only keeping the parquet flooring of the rooms, even marble floor in living i hack away

i shifting 26/11
even cannot finish also must move coz the new owners for SK need to move in (agreed during sale)...at most we stay at mil place

kitsune
dun buy cabonet, buy a console. tv junk to another room or donate...then can get "NICE LED TV" liao
console very cheap, go ikea lah
LED TV go by installments
heeheee...am i tempting you?

I oso have 6 pple at home. Alt wk my mil comes by to help me when I go out, but tat means 7 pple at home.

I paid the fees Liao. 2.5 hrs v fast but they back, take lunch nap Liao. Time pass faster.

Pixie, no lar, can't tempt me cos I won't get LED TV yet. Main reason is cos my sofa is still flushed against the wall ie. 90 deg to the tv, very awkward to watch tv this way no matter how big/nice the tv is. Bo bian cos I wanted the gals to have bigger play area and easier for us to keep our eyes on the bumper mat instead of blocked by the sofa. I'll get a LED TV if I confirm don't have no. 3 and I find work again. kekeke...

But I'm trying to sell some of my furniture cos the house really too cluttered liao. Just bought a big cooking set, a little tikes golf set and a post office playtent for the gals. My hubby want to faint liao. :p

What's the difference between tv console and tv cabinet? I need a place for my hubby's DVD collection leh... :p

luca
my console prob havent settle
this weekend im going to get some spray paint samples from my dad...he works in construction etc line mah...and if the paint colour is close enough, i'll get my dad to buy for me and i DIY myself lor, what to do...sobzzz

yesterday the new owners came, with electrician, plumber, and dunno who else...super big team...i so scared they look at my tv console. i have a DVD casing of tom & jerry over that ruined part...heeheee. cover up lor

kitsune
too bad....then get a small one and install in masterbedroom? LOL

pixie,
about buying electronics, buy extended warranty if possible! the electronics doesn't last as long as it used to, both my new tvs broke down once, new air con once, new hi fi system once..my old appliances lasted for more then 8 years without any hiccups...

luvv
oh really ah?? my appliances at current place never break down leh..
except the plasma tv. top left oredi errr out of colour liao i think we used it too often or wat...

any mummies know plasma tv can last for how long?

Pixie, yup, tempted to install in MBR but my MBR is so small and narrow (major flaw in the flat design), cannot install tv on the wall facing the bed. As it is, I only have 30cm walkway space between my queen size bed and the wall to walk to my wardrobe. Cannot let tv eat into that space. Unless I install a tv arm then it will look like hospital room.

I read that plasma tv cannot last long because of 'burn in' effect but I also can't explain the technical reason. :p

Steph, r's wheezing is due to asthma?

Pixie, don't worry abt x fever, he is just trying to getbrid of rubbish in his body. Give him lots of juices like watermelon apple grapes lemon orange, water, n sleep, that is all he wants. N not brufen, if u choose to believe me :p

Kam, ya bring mask if the haze still bad when u go uss. Or just go to indoor lo. Hr will enjoy the donkey show. If u wanna see water show hor, sit on brown seat if u dun wanna get wet. The other seating colors All will get wet cuz the performers will splash water on u. Hehe.

Aqua, I m good! But bz with s cuz he din nap. If he naps, that will be a good day for me. Good that today he naps ! I catch mine too, need rest cuz I lost voice Liao hehe

Thanks all the mummies for your fan inputs. Finally bought my ceiling fan for the gals' room today. In the end, bought a small baby fan (Alpha LK1) cos hubby thinks the room is not that big and he feels small acrylic fan blades are safer for kids. Costs me almost $300 including installation. For the same price, I still think bigger fan will be more powerful but I think RaeAnne will love the new fan.

4646626.jpg

The fan is so cute! i didn't know there's such fan, i chose my fan from catalog and get my contractor to buy and install for me...at cost price

Luvv, just tried the fan. It's good for Raelynn who is just under it. But not good enough for my 'oven' RaeAnne who insisted that it's hot even at setting 2 because she is away from the fan. So end up I still have to switch on her usual standing revolving fan. But hubby still thinks it's not good to have such a strong ceiling fan in the kids' room.

Oh well. At least it's silent and cute. We can always change to a bigger ceiling fan after the gals grow up. :p

kitsune
wah!! nice fan

tongtong
i believe u!! but hor, i tell my mil not to leh, she very worried so in the end gave 1 dose of bufen to X during the night...after i took him home, i didnt gave him any medication at all liao

morning mummies!!
another new week, im to serve week20 this week....

on sat, i was all set to visit my orthodontist, x wasnt feeling well, he just pointed to him tummy and say "oil". i rubbed some ruyi oil onto him. 2 mins later, he came to hug me and then threw out all his bfast of half boiled egg and biscuit....so smelly not because he vomitted but because of the egg-fishy smell. i had it all over my hair, clothes, body etc. mopped the floor thrice i still could smell it...yuks...
in the end cancelled my appt, brought him to see doc. doc says got lots of wind, gave him colimix. didnt gave him coz he didnt complain of stomachache....
but hor, after his vomitting, his fever disappeared. doesnt look like viral fever to me??.....hmmmmm

Morning all!

Pixie,
Glad that X is well again! May still be viral fever, probably stomach virus since it caused vomitting. He is well when all the bad stuff had been forced out.

RE: Universal Studio
It really is soooooo small, that we managed to walk 2.5 rounds without feeling too tired. HR wasn't too excited about the whole thing, but he did enjoy the shows. I myself am a Disney fan, so USS' just not my cup of tea. It'll be a long time till we visit USS again (unless we have some visitors whom we have to accompany them to).

Pauline,
there's only 2 settings? yes you're right, can always change to a bigger one next time :)

Pixie,
Hope X is feeling much better already, no more fever means he's getting well!

Kam,
did HR take any rides? i'm planning to bring bigc there for her birthday, we just went disneyland in June, hopefully the rides there are as good for tots. Sounds not that interesting...hmm...

luvv
thanks....x no more fever after he vomitted...cleared liao...
but he's so thin now. even neighbour remarked so

harnor, also thinking of bring x leh...if not interesting no point going hor

Pixie,
after he recovered, can start to fatten him up hehe...or is it also cos he grew taller, that's why looks thinner?

and the tickets are so expensive...don't know justify for it or not.

Luvv / Pixie,
HR took 3 rides only in total, and he didn't want to go for another round (he said 一次就好了), even though there was no queue, surpringly!!!

He took the Enchanted Airways, which is a junior roller coaster ride. He enjoyed it and wasn't scare at all, even clapped hands when we landed. The Magic Potion Spin was such a tiny ferris wheel that HR didn't even bother to look at it. I tried to persuade him cos no queue, but he just walked away.

He took the caraosel party-go-round at Madagascar. Nothing fancy, which I think they could have made it a lot more interesting, but it's just plain boring, even the music is not lively. And it's totally stuffy there!

He also took the Accerelators, which is like the spinning cup thingy, but a much larger "cup". The spinning was quite gentle though, HR sat through it well.

There is also another merry-go-round thingy at the Jurasic Park, HR refused to get on. There's another Treasure Hunter whereby you sit in a jeep and bring you to explore the ancient Egypt. This one meant for children, but the queue was too long (1 hour) so we didn't wait.

That's about all the rides suitable for children. The rest were for older kids or adults. Probably we could get on to the Jurasic Park Adventure also, but that's the longest queue, 80 minutes, my hub wanted to go very much but didn't want to queue.

We watched ALL the shows available - the Shriek 4D, the Donkey Live Show, the Steven Spielberg's Light, Camera, Action, Waterworld, and Monster Rock (live rock n roll musical). Each show lasted about 30 minutes, so we spent a good 3+ hours waiting and watching shows. And surpringly he enjoyed the live musical show most, not the Shriek.

Having said all this, I think I might be too bias (cos I love Disney too much)? All other mummies who have been said it's fun leh. Or maybe I have been too honest :)

luvv
just taken lunch with x, he could barely ate few spoonful of porridge, but he kept asking for chicken...hope his appetite returns...

harnor, dunno tickets justified or not leh

but kam, so many shows?? i think x will like it....

btw, so weird, no queue? was it becoz of the haze lol

Kam,
im planning to go zoo this wednesday to celebrate #1 birthday , can u suggest some of the must see place n show? from the website, they provide the suggested itinerary, is that good enough, as in cover everything?
i think somebody ask u this before, but hope u dun mind repeating again, thanks! :p

Pixie,
To us, it's okay, cos those "coming soon" rides are not suitable for the kids anyway. But for those adults who could have enjoyed all the rides, I think it's not justified for them, that 3 rides are "coming soon", and they only get $5 dining voucher and $5 retails voucher back.

The junior roller coaster was at 15minutes queue when we got on. Then when we walked pass the 2nd and the 3rd time, it's 10 min and 5 min queue already. I remembered Steph said it's 45 min when they went on a Friday for this ride! After lunch time, there was no queue to almost all the shows! Tickets sold out, but don't think it's crowded at all.

Only the Shriek and Donkey shows are more suitable for toddlers. The Steven Spielberg and the Waterworld ones have lots of loud sound, gunfire, etc. But then even XY was okay with it, so guess it's not too frightening after all.

Best fun for us was when we were at the waterworld show, a performance came to sit right next to HR, and asked if he speaks English (cos the kid on his left doesn't). HR said yes prondly. Then the performace handed him a waterhose and asked him to press to release water, asked if HR can do it. HR said loudly yes. Then he and I happily sprayed water to all the audiences in front of us, hohoho, that's really fun!

Luvv, there r 3 settings but setting 3 is too strong for raelynn who is right under it. But dun know is it because it was a cool night, raeanne wet the bed twice last night even though we only switch on the ceiling fan and at setting one. I am so tired today. Sigh.

Thanks, pixie. It is a good fan if your room is small. My hubby comain very cold after he gave up n went to sleep with raeanne last night. But then, he is not an oven toaster like me. :p

Kam, I also heard use not so suitable for young kids. Hr is so brave, think raeanne will freak out if the performer approach her.

Pixie, glad that x is well now. S is thin too leh, n he looks tall? Not sure leh, he is around 14.5 kg n 97cm.

Kam, I dun think I will visit uss again too cuz I am never a fun person, hehe. We went cuz my sis wanna go in. I din take the ride at all, they took, keke. Think I wasted money going there lo.

My maid has a bad toothache..brought her to the dentist fo extraction. Rotten tooth was so bad that dentist had to slice open the gums to take out the tooth..Total Damage : $278

blackbatz
Wah piang... Sian leh, you gotta spend so much on her rotten thingy. Sigh... My maid had a toothache for q sometime, but she tell me she can ren until go back home leave. So when she went back in June, she got it pulled out! Heng ah, or else I gotta burn a hole in my pocket!

tongtong, hihi, now SAHM, free only at night ya?

blackbatz, ouch! Heartpain for you. Her dental hygiene must be so terrible that the dentist needs to cut up and remove the tooth. Is she fili or indo? :p

hey mummies, (especially the ones with girls)

where do u get yr girl's shoes from? my girl outgrows her shoes very fast but her feet still very small and slim. most shoes look too chunky on her or the smallest size is still too big for her

errr and cheapo mummy not willing to spend more than $20 on a pair of shoes :p

any suggestions?

grumpus
Wait for sale. As the kids get older, the shoes get more exp! You can try Isetan, Taka or Robinsons. But no sale, min oso $29.

blackbatz
wah winner liao lor!! mine also need to slice open but that was coz the root was too deep inside...GA somemore leh

tongtong
huh S is heavier than my boy! last month i weigh X, is he only ard...hmmm...13.5-14kg? then now he sick liao, became thinner. plus he is tall too...should be ard same height as S?

grumpus
i also have shoes prob for x! i find that boy's shoes not much variety and he outgrow his shoes very fast....it tought to find sandals
any ideas too, mummies with boys??

grumpus
i know OG in chinatown, their kid's shoes dept is very extensive. from cheapo to real expensive ones. can take a look!

yesterday i went to fetch my boy from kindy, the kids were lining up to "knock-off"...and some lady came up to the double glass door to look for someone. the china teacher opened the door a little to speak to the "customer. then she didnt realised that there were 2 kids at her legs - X and another classmate. then she closed the door without checking...
and X fingers kena stuck between the 2 panels of glassdoor....cried like crazy

the senior teachers all scolded her, she apologised to me also

i wasnt pissed actually....or should i? the middle and ring fingertips were red n swollen....X says not painful after a few hours. initially he didnt even dare to pick up anything from that hand...

i told her sternly that she should check before closing the doors...she kept saying sorry

i heartpain for X only :p coz sick, then no appetite, then fingers kena stuck

Hi Kam

Saw your fotos on FB and you guyz shd hv enjoyed the day ya ? hehe. That reminds me to put up my overdue fotos !

Pauline
I have the similar fan in my children's room too. The disadvantage of this fan is the light is too dim. once you on it the fan will on first and it's at top speed. you have to use to remote to press back to level 1 and on the light. Is yours like that too ?

pixie
I'll be so furious with the CHINA teacher and wd hv raised my voice at her. But on second thoughts for the sake of my kid and to show them some correct form of upbringing, I would not do that :p

so what you did is correct. Told her sternly...